Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

fairylord
post Apr 9 2017, 08:40 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2017, 06:34 PM)
Q: mind to share why you accept that shared hold NOT under your CDP/name?
A: I am not transferring CDP to Maybank KE. Any shares I buy with DBS Vickers stays with CDP unless Maybank KE can give me free transfer (which they don't so won't transfer). Any additional shares I buy I will use Maybank KE. Reasons:
(i) Maybank KE buy/sell cost SGD10/transaction (not sure if they extend the promo next year). DBS Vickers to sell cost SGD25 (my 2nd issue. Buy at SGD10-18 but sell at SGD25)  sad.gif
(ii) Need to contact DBS Vickers before selling (my main issue with DBS Vickers) or else selling cannot go through (as what they told me in their email)
(iii) I don't attend AGMs (too far and no money to go so frequently). So no CDP no problem. After all, if I really want to attend, just buy some shares with DBS Vickers and buy the remainder with Maybank KE. (eg buy 1000 shares using DBS Vickers, next round buy with Maybank KE). You can attend AGM too if you use Maybank KE. Just need to inform your broker/remisier.
(iv) With DBS Vickers, I cannot apply for rights issue (only SGreans can apply rights). They will auto sell my rights. With Maybank KE, can apply for rights  rclxms.gif 

Q: Why not Standard Chartered?
A: - Simple. They don't let me have their bank account. No bank account = no trading account as bank account is they said it's compulsory to open account first. Went to 3 branches in SG. All reject me. Only way to get the bank account:
(i) buy insurance investment from them
(ii) take loan
(iii) become priority customer

I gave up on getting their account doh.gif

Also, they are not the cheapest for US. If you want to buy US ETF, be prepared for the 30% with holding tax. Only way to get around this tax is buy from ETF listed on London Stock Exchange which mirror the US counterpart. That way, only kena charge 15% tax. If you really want to buy US stocks, take a look at 8 securities, Based in HK with zero commission. rclxms.gif

Q: Which would you advice if i were a small retail trader ($2000 max each trade)?
A:
Anyone will do. If you prefer keep in CDP, DBS Vickers Cash Upfront. If you want cheaper, Maybank KE prefunded/Standard Chartered (if you can get account with them). For me I want cheaper as I am stingy with cost and since Maybank KE let be buy at SGD10/transaction until end of the year I wills stick with them after DBS Vickers promo expired in June as come July, DBS Vickers will charge SGD18/transaction. Next year, I am sure Maybank KE have SGD10 promo some more thumbup.gif

For now, I stick with DBS Vickers until end of June. Come June, I will buy from Maybank KE.

Hope this answer your question.
Bro Ram, i just checked in Maybank KE fee schedule, transferring share from other broker with CDP to Maybank KE, Maybank KE charge nothing. I guess DBS Vikers will impose fees as you are saying good bye to them, did not find any info about charges moving shares away from them.

But what's the point to transfer to Maybank KE from your current DBS (CDP which shares under your own name) if not plan to sell in near future. Unless if you wanna sell it and you wish to enjoy SGD10/sell via Maybank KE instead of SGD25 via DBS Vickers.

Hmmm....
Would like to ask if we buy a shares via Broker A linked with our SGX CDP, couldn't I decide which broker I wish to sell off the share from my own SGX CDP? Izit a must to buy and sell via the same broker even though its SGX CDP not custody/nominee sub cdp under broker house?

rclxub.gif

Thanks again.

This post has been edited by fairylord: Apr 9 2017, 08:41 PM

Ramjade
post Apr 9 2017, 08:41 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ Apr 9 2017, 08:22 PM)
Hi Bro Ram, thanks and your replies answer a lot.

Will go to StanChart to try open the accounts in next few days (as i'm cheapskate also tongue.gif ) and clarify if need to call beforehand for making any trade.

1) Wonder what are "rights issues" and "apply for rights", mind to share a link on keyword as there are a lot of irrelevant information when i googled it? Does this important for us as retail trader? fairylord << is newbie rclxub.gif

2) DBS Vickers - "DBS Vickers to sell cost SGD25 (my 2nd issue. Buy at SGD10-18 but sell at SGD25) "
Did not see any info in their website mentioning that selling would costs SGD25 dfferent from buying, good to know from your actual experience.

3) SC is..."not the cheapest for US. If you want to buy US ETF, be prepared for the 30% with holding tax."
Yes, i understand their exchange rate is high compared to others, but yet to study further on this. Will focus on sREITs in prior.

4) "Only way to get around this tax is buy from ETF listed on London Stock Exchange which mirror the US counterpart. That way, only kena charge 15% tax. If you really want to buy US stocks, take a look at 8 securities, Based in HK with zero commission"

Since you highlighting on London SE and HK SE enjoying 15% tax and 0% on commission to trade US ETF, i have updated further update tabulation in spoiler for [my] easy reference.
4a) means trade US ETF listed on London SE instead of US Exchange?
4b) "Based in HK" means open trading account in HK or trade US ETF listed on HK SE instead of US Exchange?

I thought sifu Gark meant in one of the post (in SGX counter) only stocks in US incurred 30% VAT on dividend, and nothing on US ETF. Damm it, understand wrongly i guess.

Some info wrong. Later I correct you.
Ramjade
post Apr 9 2017, 10:17 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ Apr 9 2017, 08:22 PM)
Hi Bro Ram, thanks and your replies answer a lot.

Will go to StanChart to try open the accounts in next few days (as i'm cheapskate also tongue.gif ) and clarify if need to call beforehand for making any trade.
Update us if you managed to open. Are you working or studying in SG?

1) Wonder what are "rights issues" and "apply for rights", mind to share a link on keyword as there are a lot of irrelevant information when i googled it? Does this important for us as retail trader? fairylord << is newbie rclxub.gif
See here.
Understanding Rights Issues
All about REIT - Rights Issue Part 1: Terms and Definition
REITs and rights issues: Dilutive or not?
REITs: Simply explained?l
REITs and rights issues: A Singaporean tale.

3) SC is..."not the cheapest for US. If you want to buy US ETF, be prepared for the 30% with holding tax."
Yes, i understand their exchange rate is high compared to others, but yet to study further on this. Will focus on sREITs in prior.
It's about commission + exchange rate which makes it not worth buying US stocks/US ETFs from them

4) "Only way to get around this tax is buy from ETF listed on London Stock Exchange which mirror the US counterpart. That way, only kena charge 15% tax. If you really want to buy US stocks, take a look at 8 securities, Based in HK with zero commission"

Since you highlighting on London SE and HK SE enjoying 15% tax and 0% on commission to trade US ETF, i have updated further update tabulation in spoiler for [my] easy reference.
No. Don't get yourself confuse. Only 8 securities give you 0% commission for trades done on HK and US. They are trying to extend to SG, AU
4a) means trade US ETF listed on London SE instead of US Exchange?
Yes. That's right
4b) "Based in HK" means open trading account in HK or trade US ETF listed on HK SE instead of US Exchange?
That "Based in HK" refer to 8 securities. See here https://www.8securities.com/en-trading/

I thought sifu Gark meant in one of the post (in SGX counter) only stocks in US incurred 30% VAT on dividend, and nothing on US ETF. Damm it, understand wrongly i guess.
All US stocks/ETFs that are listed in US exchange will incur a 30% withholding tax on the commission. Only exception is if they are not listed in US exchanges. But they may have/may not have tax. Eg. A US stock listed on LSE, will incur a 15% withholding fees on dividends. A US stocks kisted on HKSE/SGX will not incur any withholding tax if you submit the proper documents. 

- Maybank KE prefunded is actually SGD18 but because of promo until end of the year, it cost only SGD10.
- For US exchange, Standard Chartered charges is USD10
https://www.sc.com/sg/ways-to-bank/online-trading/
- For US exchange, you got DBS Vickers fees wrong
https://www.dbs.com.sg/vickers/en/pricing/f...ble_en_04122014
- Cimb, Maybank does not have access to LSE.
- For HKSE, only 8 securities is giving you zero commission.
Anything I miss out?

QUOTE(fairylord @ Apr 9 2017, 08:40 PM)
Bro Ram, i just checked in Maybank KE fee schedule, transferring share from other broker with CDP to Maybank KE, Maybank KE charge nothing. I guess DBS Vikers will impose fees as you are saying good bye to them, did not find any info about charges moving shares away from them.
For shares listed on SGX, the shares are not held by DBS. So you don't pay DBS anything. Unless it's shares listed on foreign exchange.
You need to pay CDP fees for transferring into Maybank KE. Only Standard Chartered will absorb the CDP/other broker fees

But what's the point to transfer to Maybank KE from your current DBS (CDP which shares under your own name) if not plan to sell in near future. Unless if you wanna sell it and you wish to enjoy SGD10/sell via Maybank KE instead of SGD25 via DBS Vickers.
- How you know you won't sell? The manager of the REITS may be replace by a lousy manager. You still don't want to sell?
- Dividend every year is decreasing while other reit dividend is increasing every year. You don't want to sell?
- When you need the money, what do you do? Ask for donations?  whistling.gif

Hmmm....
Would like to ask if we buy a shares via Broker A linked with our SGX CDP, couldn't I decide which broker I wish to sell off the share from my own SGX CDP? Izit a must to buy and sell via the same broker even though its SGX CDP not custody/nominee sub cdp under broker house?
As long the shares is wth CDP, you can pick any broker you like. Don't like DBS Vickers? Link UOB KayHian/OCBC securities/Maybank KE/Cimb iTrade to SGX CDP and you can sell from any of them.

If it's custody/nominee sub cdp, then you are forced to sell via the broker you bought from.

That's the reason you see all brokerage with direct CDP account  will charge you buying and selling of SGD25 as they can lose you as a customer if you sell at another place.

rclxub.gif

Thanks again.
This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 9 2017, 10:18 PM
kart
post Apr 9 2017, 11:04 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2017, 05:20 PM)

I haven't get mine (letter or anything other than sms from my broker) but from my family who got it already, there's no security token yet. (not sure if otw, or don't have). I believe you can request for one.

See this (select security)
http://www.maybank-ke.com.sg/contact-us/faqs/ke-trade/

If cash account, one will be given by SGX CDP. Can use one token for 2 site (SGX CDP + Maybank KE)
Judging from your reply, we do not need to use a security token, nor SMS OTP, to transact in Maybank KE website. It is fine. smile.gif

I do have a OneKey security token, since it comes with the CDP account I have. Then again, Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) is not enforced for foreigners like us, and thus we need only username and password.

Ramjade
post Apr 9 2017, 11:11 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Apr 9 2017, 11:04 PM)
Judging from your reply, we do not need to use a security token, nor SMS OTP, to transact in Maybank KE website. It is fine. smile.gif

I do have a OneKey security token, since it comes with the CDP account I have. Then again, Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) is not enforced for foreigners like us, and thus we need only username and password.
Well I guess it's perfectly fine as no one can withdraw that money from trading account as gark said. To withdraw out to your saving account, need to contact our remisier first.
ShinG3e
post Apr 10 2017, 09:55 AM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ Apr 9 2017, 06:01 PM)
Hi Bro ShinG3e, mind to share why would you opened both Cash Account and Prefunded Account?

reason is simple. brokerage fee. cash account would be SGD25 (link to CDP)whereas pre would be SGD10 (link to nominee).

Personally, i think i will be using more of prefunded on the short term as it's cheaper to do so. Once i have the grip, i can transfer all to cash account/CDP (there is a fee) for long term use.

Besides, no maintenance fee for opening both.
gark
post Apr 10 2017, 10:12 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2017, 11:11 PM)
Well I guess it's perfectly fine as no one can withdraw that money from trading account as gark said. To withdraw out to your saving account, need to contact our remisier first.
Even if they can withdraw also no use, can only go back to own bank account registered with them. Basically no one will bother hack trading account.

Unless of course they want to mess with your buy/sell queue.. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Ramjade
post Apr 10 2017, 10:34 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 10 2017, 10:12 AM)
Even if they can withdraw also no use, can only go back to own bank account registered with them. Basically no one will bother hack trading account.

Unless of course they want to mess with your buy/sell queue..  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Actually they can you know. Queue your selling at way lower price than you what you bought them incurring huge loesses to you. "From The Dark Knight Rises scene where Bane sells off all of Bruce Wayne's share at a massive loss making him broke laugh.gif "
gark
post Apr 10 2017, 10:36 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 10 2017, 10:34 AM)
Actually they can you know. Queue your selling at way lower price than you what you bought them incurring huge loesses to you. "From The Dark Knight Rises scene where Bane sells off all of Bruce Wayne's share at a massive loss making him broke laugh.gif "
Yes, they can mess with your stocks.. but they cannot gain anything from you.

Unless you got big enemies.. laugh.gif
ShinG3e
post Apr 10 2017, 11:31 AM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Apr 9 2017, 04:51 PM)
Thanks for confirmation, ShinG3e.  thumbup.gif

So, no security token for Maybank Kim Eng Trade Prefunded Account and Cash Account, right?

Also, we do not get any SMS one-time password sent to our handphone, if we transact (buy or sell shares) on the Maybank KE online website (www.ketrade.com.sg), right?
lol i didnt notice u asking me till i scroll back page

yes no security token.

no need SMS one time etc...

Key in buy, key in units. key in price, key in password - done.

elea88
post Apr 10 2017, 12:03 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2017, 06:34 PM)
Q: mind to share why you accept that shared hold NOT under your CDP/name?
A: I am not transferring CDP to Maybank KE. Any shares I buy with DBS Vickers stays with CDP unless Maybank KE can give me free transfer (which they don't so won't transfer). Any additional shares I buy I will use Maybank KE. Reasons:
(i) Maybank KE buy/sell cost SGD10/transaction (not sure if they extend the promo next year). DBS Vickers to sell cost SGD25 (my 2nd issue. Buy at SGD10-18 but sell at SGD25)  sad.gif
(ii) Need to contact DBS Vickers before selling (my main issue with DBS Vickers) or else selling cannot go through (as what they told me in their email)
(iii) I don't attend AGMs (too far and no money to go so frequently). So no CDP no problem. After all, if I really want to attend, just buy some shares with DBS Vickers and buy the remainder with Maybank KE. (eg buy 1000 shares using DBS Vickers, next round buy with Maybank KE). You can attend AGM too if you use Maybank KE. Just need to inform your broker/remisier.
(iv) With DBS Vickers, I cannot apply for rights issue (only SGreans can apply rights). They will auto sell my rights. With Maybank KE, can apply for rights  rclxms.gif 

Q: Why not Standard Chartered?
A: - Simple. They don't let me have their bank account. No bank account = no trading account as bank account is they said it's compulsory to open account first. Went to 3 branches in SG. All reject me. Only way to get the bank account:
(i) buy insurance investment from them
(ii) take loan
(iii) become priority customer

I gave up on getting their account doh.gif

Also, they are not the cheapest for US. If you want to buy US ETF, be prepared for the 30% with holding tax. Only way to get around this tax is buy from ETF listed on London Stock Exchange which mirror the US counterpart. That way, only kena charge 15% tax. If you really want to buy US stocks, take a look at 8 securities, Based in HK with zero commission. rclxms.gif

Q: Which would you advice if i were a small retail trader ($2000 max each trade)?
A:
Anyone will do. If you prefer keep in CDP, DBS Vickers Cash Upfront. If you want cheaper, Maybank KE prefunded/Standard Chartered (if you can get account with them). For me I want cheaper as I am stingy with cost and since Maybank KE let be buy at SGD10/transaction until end of the year I wills stick with them after DBS Vickers promo expired in June as come July, DBS Vickers will charge SGD18/transaction. Next year, I am sure Maybank KE have SGD10 promo some more thumbup.gif

For now, I stick with DBS Vickers until end of June. Come June, I will buy from Maybank KE.

Hope this answer your question.
ii) Need to contact DBS Vickers before selling (my main issue with DBS Vickers) or else selling cannot go through (as what they told me in their email)

Ramjade.. need contact them 1 time only for Permanent sell limit.(appx 50% of total share value). they will SET a PERMANENT SELL LIMIT base on your SGX STATEMENT.
no need contact them everytime need sell.

I do it annually .. coz increased in share holdings.

gark
post Apr 10 2017, 12:56 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Apr 10 2017, 11:31 AM)

yes no security token.

The android app is good, i dont login to the webpage anymore. All my MKE trading is done with the app. laugh.gif
ShinG3e
post Apr 10 2017, 12:57 PM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 10 2017, 12:56 PM)
The android app is good, i dont login to the webpage anymore. All my MKE trading is done with the app.  laugh.gif
yea the app is pretty user friendly. but limited features of course.

convenient for simple buy and sell that's for sure. biggrin.gif

so far i am a happy MKE user.
Ramjade
post Apr 10 2017, 01:38 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Apr 10 2017, 12:03 PM)
ii) Need to contact DBS Vickers before selling (my main issue with DBS Vickers) or else selling cannot go through (as what they told me in their email)
Ramjade.. need contact them 1 time only for Permanent sell limit.(appx 50% of total share value). they will SET a PERMANENT SELL LIMIT base on your SGX STATEMENT.
no need contact them everytime need sell.

I do it annually .. coz increased in share holdings.
They tole me need to contact them every time. Very strange.
fairylord
post Apr 10 2017, 02:02 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2017, 10:17 PM)
Anything I miss out?
Thanks for the correction and further information feeding and clarifications. Will read on the details of rights issue.

Meanwhile, update herewith the tabulation of prefunded trading account comparison for easy reference:

This post has been edited by fairylord: Apr 11 2017, 09:20 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 10 2017, 02:13 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ Apr 10 2017, 02:02 PM)
Thanks for the  correction and further information feeding and clarifications. Will read on the details of rights issue.

Meanwhile, update herewith the tabulation of prefunded trading account comparison for easy reference:

For Standard Chartered, it's wrong again doh.gif HK market = HK HKD100/0.25% (whichever is higher), UK at GBP10/0.25%(whichever is higher)

fairylord
post Apr 10 2017, 02:14 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 10 2017, 02:13 PM)
For Standard Chartered, it's wrong again  doh.gif HK market = HK HKD100/0.25% (whichever is higher), UK at GBP10/0.25%(whichever is higher)
haha, in the midst of updating, laptop just spoil... Using handheld to update.

elea88
post Apr 10 2017, 03:03 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 10 2017, 01:38 PM)
They tole me need to contact them every time. Very strange.
no need everytime. Just do one time . then u can see yr sell limit when log into DBS VICKERS.
Ramjade
post Apr 10 2017, 03:35 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Apr 10 2017, 03:03 PM)
no need everytime. Just do  one time . then u can see yr sell limit when log into DBS VICKERS.
Don't know la. They told me limit is valid for 3 days only. After that, need to request again. I haven't have the need to sell anything yet. So can't really comment...

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 10 2017, 03:37 PM
kart
post Apr 10 2017, 10:17 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Apr 10 2017, 11:31 AM)

yes no security token.

Thanks for the confirmation, ShinG3e. notworthy.gif So, Maybank KE transactions are not as stringent as using Maybank Singapore online website, whereby we need to use security token or SMS OTP to transfer fund in Maybank Singapore website.

What is the meaning of "forced" in your screenshot?

This post has been edited by kart: Apr 10 2017, 10:18 PM

315 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:14 PM