HTC Desire Official Thread V2, FAQs on First Page

pcboy
post Jun 6 2010, 07:58 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(nIcV @ Jun 5 2010, 11:25 PM)
how to use Astro?
its like your windows explorer.. tap any folders or long press for more options like rename, cut, delete etc.. u can play movie files too
pcboy
post Jun 8 2010, 01:36 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Jun 7 2010, 03:17 PM)
may i know for desire, wat type of virtual keyboard it used? does it have numberpad keypad? or need to dl the application?
Yes it has number keypad.. you can choose the keyboard type you want.. no need 3rd party application
pcboy
post Jun 8 2010, 06:18 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(maliqu3 @ Jun 7 2010, 08:55 PM)
guys, too bad for iphone fans (including me). when i was still thingking of buying desire or iphone, now i have decided who is the winner. I just read the preview about iphone 4 (it's not iphone 4g btw). honestly, it's not what i was expected for new generation of iphone. i gotta say that iphone 4 sucks for this time (better get desire).

negatives of iphone 4:
- same size of screen (3.5" only)
- still uses TFT screen (when all the new smarthphones have used amoled or even super amoled)
- secondary camera can only be used between iphone over wifi (cant use 3g) -- it's totally useless then
- uses microSIM (smaller size of SIM Card that we are using now) -- it makes us difficult if we want to use another phone using the same SIM Card
- no stereo for video recording
- no radio

i think that's all for now about the negatives of new iphone 4. we will know more when it has been released and reviewed. no offense, but i guess desire is still much better than iphone 4.
how about positives?
pcboy
post Jun 8 2010, 08:31 PM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

May I know the complete package included if buy Desire @ klcc? microsd 4gb? screen protector?
pcboy
post Jun 8 2010, 10:51 PM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(yeeeeko @ Jun 8 2010, 01:18 PM)
anyone knows how to update the facebook friend's profile photo for contacts photo. let's say, i use facebook contact photo for my friend's contact photo. he/she then updated his facebook profile photo. but I seem not to be able to update to this new profile photo. Is this something to do with htc sense?
U hv to re-link the facebook to his contact. It happened to me just now
pcboy
post Jun 9 2010, 03:22 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(galvintan @ Jun 8 2010, 07:02 PM)
While many of us guys will go for the trackball aka nipple, I still prefer the optical joystick. It's a flat button which can prevent any accidental pressing. Besides, the trackball protrudes out from your phone and is constantly rubbing against your pocket so it will eventually wear out. Or worst, your keys in your pocket may accidentally scrape it off.

The Desire is actually pretty good looking. I've personally seen the N1 and now I'm holding a Desire, the feeling is almost the same but that one protruding trackball is quite a turn off actually. Haha

Here's my review of the phone:
http://blog.galvintan.com/review-unboxing-...-desire-part-1/
I second that. Plus the hardbuttons are easy to press without have to look at the device thumbup.gif
pcboy
post Jun 11 2010, 07:36 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

GPS on HTC Desire is fantastic !! 1st, you can use the gps even in airplane mode. Unlike iphone, you must have network coverage to use the gps function. 2nd, it easily locks the GPS satellite even I'm hiding in my house, not to mention when I'm outside, it locks within 5 seconds !! I can keep away my TomTom happy.gif
pcboy
post Jun 11 2010, 09:06 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jun 11 2010, 12:41 AM)
Nothing beats garmin. Too bad it's not available for android platform phones yet. sad.gif
I use CoPilot for UK & Ireland.. I forgot Garmin is the most famous in M'sia.. used to be MSM contributor few years back tongue.gif Is there PapaGo for Android? MFM has pretty uptodate map for it
pcboy
post Jun 11 2010, 09:24 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Jun 11 2010, 01:16 AM)
Is it just me or is the weather app a bit 'confused'?? I noticed this last nite,when I updated the weather app,it's still showing the Sun even though it was like at 8 something. And this morning too,at 8,it's still showing the moon. Am I missing something?
It happens to me too.. I think sometime the weather a little bit pening.. after few hours, it should back to normal again
pcboy
post Jun 14 2010, 09:08 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha Itachi @ Jun 14 2010, 12:42 AM)
I turned on my Desire for the first time but it just keep on restarting on the home screen. I can only stop it from restarting by removing the battery  sad.gif  Anybody else encountered this problem? Is this a phone faulty or can be fix ourselves?
It sounds pretty serious to me, I believe its a software faulty and I recommend you to return it to the shop for inspection and repairs. Good luck
pcboy
post Jun 14 2010, 04:25 PM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

Last time I have buzz in my Google Maps, now suddenly the buzz layer is gone. Anyone experience same problem?
pcboy
post Jun 14 2010, 08:52 PM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jun 14 2010, 11:19 AM)
hi guys. How's the pocketability of the phone, with reference to an SE Xperia X10? Haven't personally handled the Desire/Nexus One yet.
I never put my Desire in the pocket.. Always put inside jacket or wearing a sling-pouch
pcboy
post Jun 16 2010, 03:37 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(zackloy @ Jun 15 2010, 05:22 PM)
I've encountered something strange and serious. Photos that I took with the phone mysteriously disappeared. I Googled and it seems very similar to the problem with the EVO 4G noted here http://www.androidpolice.com/2010/05/29/is...b-microsd-card/
Now trying to remove and reinsert the SD Card. sad.gif
No luck....photos and videos all gone......damn.
How about other files? Did they disappear too? How long hv u been using ur desire?really worry if it happens to me one day
pcboy
post Jun 17 2010, 08:16 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(limjonyee @ Jun 16 2010, 07:34 PM)
damn... it happened to me b4, and i tot i accidentally deleted my pics... then strange new folder began appearing on my sdcard with pics inside... now i realized it was making my sdhc corrupts. so i quickyly plug in the phone to backup my photo of the recent trip.. but it was too late... my photo jus disappeared, and after some chkdsk... manage to recover 2 photos out of 50... the othere was just recovered into many many 64kb files....

arggh! stupid phone!
So the disappearing files are photos? how about other files in other folders?
pcboy
post Jun 17 2010, 05:47 PM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(m4a1rifle @ Jun 17 2010, 09:42 AM)
Found a nice player that can play AVI, MKV, DIVX, RMVB, FLV - RockPlayerBase
Current in closed beta, you can try find the APK in google.
Much much better than yxflash rclxms.gif
pcboy
post Jun 19 2010, 02:06 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 18 2010, 02:15 AM)
I asked HTC SEA for possible Froyo updates on Desire and this was their reply yesterday.

New Response
Dear User, Thank you for contacting HTC. With regards to your query, we regret to inform you that so far we haven't been informed whether or when that HTC products will be upgraded to Android 2.2 or not. We would suggest that you may check our official website from time to time for any possible update to this issue. Thank you for your continuous support of our products and services. Best regards. Ryan HTC Hotline: 1800 238 7788 Service Hours: 8 am - 8 pm, Monday - Saturday (except Public Holidays)
froyo will be released in two weeks time
pcboy
post Jun 21 2010, 08:35 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Jun 20 2010, 09:48 AM)
anyone jumpship from iphone to desire ?

i cannot make my mind now . tomolo going to klcc get this phone.
I have both. Once u use android, its no turning back. But if u are heavy gamer, iphone is best for u.. I'm more to business, internet, email, google, mapping user. I don't play games. Only poker online hehe
pcboy
post Jun 23 2010, 02:06 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(aku88 @ Jun 22 2010, 02:09 PM)
Hey guys, just wondering if anyone else has this issue:

It's probably minor but when I set my contact's display picture to 'Facebook' I find that it doesn't update the picture when the person update's theirs. The only way I've found around this so far is to unsync Facebook and resync the whole thing and then it updates all the pictures but this is too timely. Any workaround?

Speaking of which, is there any difference if I sync to 'Facebook' and 'Facebook for HTC Sense' ?

Last thing: What mail widgets do you use? I'm using the HTC Mail one but honestly it updates incredibly slow. Plus I would prefer if it displays whatever's in my inbox and not just when I get new mail, any tips?
1. The only solution is to update the picture one by one
2. Facebook is for Android and 'Facebook for HTC Sense' is for HTC Sense.. you can try post a new status using both and take a look using Desktop
3. I use Gmail and therefore I use gmail app. Its 10x faster than HTC mail (I admit htc mail is damn slow)
pcboy
post Jun 24 2010, 04:43 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jun 23 2010, 08:15 PM)
Thanks for sharing the info. But the wait for developers is over but not to users like us sad.gif

When Apple said "iOS4 available today" .. i plugged my iphone and easily updated my iphone via iTunes. I wish Google can announce "Android 2.2 available today, please update your firmware OTA)" .. There are too many announcements by Google but the final product still not appear doh.gif
pcboy
post Jun 25 2010, 01:01 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Jun 24 2010, 04:02 PM)
dun use comp, use da adapter faster lor...

but i still facing the battery prob, need to charge everyday...

Added on June 25, 2010, 12:09 amanyone of u exp slow performance prob? sometimes after 1 day long usage our DESIRE become slow.... reboot the phone will solve the prob... aiks...
1. I never heard any smartphone that has battery last more than 2 days after mild/heavy daily use. and iPhone is the worst among all biggrin.gif
2. Have you tried 'Advanced Task Killer' ? It kills unnecessary apps that running background

0.0395sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:57 AM