HTC Desire Official Thread V2, FAQs on First Page

maliqu3
post May 30 2010, 01:44 AM

218 posts

anybody knows about maxis' data plan? I mean, is it really unlimited like digi's data plan if i choose 500MB data plan from maxis? Currently I'm using digi's data plan and if i exceed the quota I never have extra charges. What about maxis? Thanks
maliqu3
post May 30 2010, 02:06 AM

218 posts

oooh too bad then. I still prefer digi.
maliqu3
post Jun 1 2010, 09:34 PM

218 posts

anybody can tell me about the call quality? i read many complaints about it, is it really bad? how bad is it? is there a way to solve this problem? thanks
maliqu3
post Jun 2 2010, 04:01 AM

218 posts

can we buy htc desire without contract? coz i'm not interested at all with maxis packages, i just want the phone.
If we can't, then anybody wants to make a deal with me, i take the phone and u take the plan. PM me if anyone's interested.
(btw, Desire can use other sim card (not only maxis) and can also be used when i'm overseas, right?)

This post has been edited by maliqu3: Jun 2 2010, 04:07 AM
maliqu3
post Jun 2 2010, 04:12 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 2 2010, 04:05 AM)
Can, wait till 24th June. Then it'll be out on retail.
Or buy AP.
we are not even allowed to pay the retail price from maxis (rm2199) to get the phone only?
maliqu3
post Jun 2 2010, 03:01 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Jun 2 2010, 10:10 AM)
you can now buy the desire at retail price (rm2199) from maxis. i paid for one unit last nite at klcc. got their last (200th) free car charger too .. tongue.gif
Do we have to buy it at klcc? Cant we buy from other maxis' place?
maliqu3
post Jun 3 2010, 06:11 PM

218 posts

is it true if the package only includea 2gb if we buy from maxis? Isnt it supposed to be 4gb?
maliqu3
post Jun 4 2010, 03:41 PM

218 posts

if i buy Desire with contract from maxis can i use the sim card on blackberry phone for internet and BBM?

This post has been edited by maliqu3: Jun 4 2010, 03:42 PM
maliqu3
post Jun 4 2010, 06:41 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(i_bony @ Jun 4 2010, 04:18 PM)
i think BIS and normal data service is different? BIS is another different contract, unless u want to surf using mobile network normally can. correct me if im wrong.
QUOTE(SEP910 @ Jun 4 2010, 04:55 PM)
Yes, surf internet can.
BBM cannot ler... that is exclusive for Blackberry phone only.
So if i ask maxis to make it enable for bbm, do u guys think they can do it for me?
maliqu3
post Jun 4 2010, 09:59 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(SEP910 @ Jun 4 2010, 08:10 PM)
haiyaa... hmm.gif
if u ask them to enable to you,
what PIN you want to give them(maxis) laugh.gif
BB needs PIN lor..... doh.gif
I hv bold 2 with me now. I just want to use the sim card on my bb and i will use another telco on my desire. Probably i should ask maxis bout this.. Thanks anyway.
maliqu3
post Jun 7 2010, 04:28 AM

218 posts

can anybody list some other alternatives for apps store beside slideme and android market itself? coz i want to buy some apps without rooting the phone. thanks...
maliqu3
post Jun 8 2010, 04:55 AM

218 posts

guys, too bad for iphone fans (including me). when i was still thingking of buying desire or iphone, now i have decided who is the winner. I just read the preview about iphone 4 (it's not iphone 4g btw). honestly, it's not what i was expected for new generation of iphone. i gotta say that iphone 4 sucks for this time (better get desire).

negatives of iphone 4:
- same size of screen (3.5" only)
- still uses TFT screen (when all the new smarthphones have used amoled or even super amoled)
- secondary camera can only be used between iphone over wifi (cant use 3g) -- it's totally useless then
- uses microSIM (smaller size of SIM Card that we are using now) -- it makes us difficult if we want to use another phone using the same SIM Card
- no stereo for video recording
- no radio

i think that's all for now about the negatives of new iphone 4. we will know more when it has been released and reviewed. no offense, but i guess desire is still much better than iphone 4.

This post has been edited by maliqu3: Jun 8 2010, 05:15 AM
maliqu3
post Jun 8 2010, 07:22 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(qwen234 @ Jun 8 2010, 05:59 AM)
wat u mean by no stereo for video recording?
means when u record a video, u wont have good sound quality when you're playing it

QUOTE(qwen234 @ Jun 8 2010, 06:21 AM)
quite a number actually.. longer battery life.. very high resolution and 720p HD recording at 30fps.. these in particular is better than desire
sorry, i forgot to mention about the positives

positives of iphone 4:
- can record 720p HD video at 30fps -- too bad the sound quality couldnt match the video quality (no stereo)
- screen has 640x960 pixels -- it's good to have higher pixels. unfortunately, it still uses TFT screen and smaller screen size
- ??? -- maybe anybody can tell us here, coz i dont see much improvements in iphone 4 compared to previous iphone that can beat desire or nexus one

about the battery life is still not sure whether it's longer or shorter than desire. however, if u look at the specification for stand-by time, desire is longer than iphone. so we cant tell about the battery life for now.

for my opinion, desire is still better since i dont want to spend money for something expensive when it only has small improvements (iphone) and when there is a better choice (desire or nexus one). but it's all up to u guys. you have ur choice, so u make decision.

This post has been edited by maliqu3: Jun 8 2010, 08:16 AM
maliqu3
post Jun 8 2010, 12:52 PM

218 posts

- still uses TFT screen (when all the new smarthphones have used amoled or even super amoled)

This is actually a plus , Iphone 4 using IPS screen , which is better than Amoled . IPS as in the tech used in high end LCD . 960x640 reso too
-> no matter what, iphone screen is outdated. apple is only going to suck all ur money by giving crap product.

- secondary camera can only be used between iphone over wifi (cant use 3g) -- it's totally useless then

Only for 2010 , they are sorting out the 3G with mobile carriers .
-> why would apple do such thing? it's a mistake in the first place. probably, apple is just stupid.

- no stereo for video recording

But its in 720p , name me how much smartphone can record on stereo lol .
-> there is also other alternative if u think record in 720p is so awesome such as, Samsung Wave, Samsung Galaxy S, i guess there will be a lot coming out later. so dont worry.

Oh , and who cares about radio . 10 Hours of wifi means constant web radio streaming also no problem . Not to say that I'm leaning to Iphone 4 , but the negatives point you said clearly isnt valid .
-> hey, some of us still like to listen to radio. it's a plus when there is a radio in our phone. you still think my points are still not valid?

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Jun 8 2010, 11:13 AM)
At least android still get flash 10 support that enough for me to get an android phone. Hope froyo release to desire soon.
you are right. i wonder if iphone 4 has a full flash support. anyone knows?

QUOTE(qwen234 @ Jun 8 2010, 12:15 PM)
are you sure? i thought the amoled is better than ips.. it is used in samsung latest tv sets..
the only reason apple didnt use it is bcoz of costt n availability of stock considering thee massive demand for an iphone
yes you are right too. amoled is always better than ips and super amoled is always the best at the moment. as i said, apple is going to suck all your money (coz you know it wont be cheap, right?) and make a fool of apple fans as apple think the users must be stupid too (willing to spend a lot of money for crappy thing).

category of phone manufacturers based on what they are good at:
- HTC = good at making high quality phone (canggih) -- best phone maker
- Blackberry = good at making mobile chat phone
- Iphone (Apple) = good at making expensive phone with so-so quality (nothing to be amazed in iphone 4)
- Samsung = good at making new innovation for a phone, but lacks of support
- Nokia = good at making friendly-user-interface and lagging phone -- has the biggest market share for now
- SonyEricsson = good at making outdated phone

it's just my opinion ok.. no offense anyway.

This post has been edited by maliqu3: Jun 8 2010, 01:06 PM
maliqu3
post Jun 10 2010, 03:11 PM

218 posts

guys, do you think buy desire ap set is safe? will it not long last like ori set?
maliqu3
post Jun 11 2010, 08:40 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(busbos @ Jun 11 2010, 08:14 PM)
wow
how stupid
im on the 12months contract from maxis
and guess what
the 500mb data plan that i subscribed still havent active yet
n the result is rm380 data usage bill for 37k Kb usage

not only that..the maxis CS also told me that the contract still havent active yet?
really doh.gif

how stupid maxis can be
others that also on data plan for desire..u guys better check also
i took the plan from maxis centre klcc
oh really? how did u know that ur data plan hasnt been activated? just now i got sms from maxis that i have unbilled amount rm235 (I just bought it yesterday btw, and i havent made a call), but i called the cs to check my unbilled but she said i dont have any unbilled amount. and then she told me to ignore the sms. i'm afraid now...
maliqu3
post Jun 12 2010, 03:15 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jun 12 2010, 12:55 AM)
I think the same can be said about the rest of them. I just switched from Digi50 to Smart Plan and I called them twice after 24 hours to double confirm my plan has been activated. Usually takes 1-2 days (48hours) to proceed with the plan.
QUOTE(busbos @ Jun 12 2010, 01:35 AM)
i know about that
the thing is..i dont even 'subscribe' to any data plan
only normal

still it's their fault
even if it takes 2-3 days for it to be activated..they should inform me 1st hand
some more it's been ~2 weeks

more over even the contract is not active yet  rclxub.gif
so do we really have to pay since they haven't activated the data plan? i have the same experience here, i took the 500mb data plan for 12 months and got sms that my data usage is rm235., i'm a lil bit worried now.

This post has been edited by maliqu3: Jun 12 2010, 03:19 AM
maliqu3
post Jun 12 2010, 11:31 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(i_bony @ Jun 12 2010, 04:58 AM)
when i 1st bought the phone at klcc,

i asked the staff there when will the data plan will be activated, then he said immediately. so i was asking again to double check then he said confirm immediately.

but rite now i've used around 190mb..oso scared might happened the same as u guys...did u guys get sms or u guys called the 123?
yes, i got sms from maxis, says that my data usage has reached rm235. Damn!!

QUOTE(LazyJin @ Jun 12 2010, 10:55 AM)
I don't remember receiving an SMS to confirm my data plan was activated. Just ported to Maxis, my first bill was correct. If you haven't received your bill yet, you can check the unbilled amount on Maxis' website.
btw, is maxis website not working? it's always logging out if i try to click any link in the website, do u guys experience the same?
maliqu3
post Jun 13 2010, 09:03 PM

218 posts

1. talk about rooting, does desire from maxis belong to unbranded(unlocked) or branded(locked)?
2. can we really unroot back our desire and claim the warranty after that?

This post has been edited by maliqu3: Jun 13 2010, 09:03 PM
maliqu3
post Jun 17 2010, 10:03 AM

218 posts

do you guys think htc desire will get the next update after froyo? what is the next update after froyo anyway?

0.0280sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:37 PM