HTC Desire Official Thread V2, FAQs on First Page

LazyJin
post Jun 6 2010, 08:49 AM

14 posts

New Desire user reporting in. Ported back to Maxis just for this phone, couldn't resist. Phone's a blast so far, only complaint is the short battery life, but then again most smartphones have the same problem anyway.

QUOTE(dotcom @ Jun 5 2010, 11:48 PM)
Desire users, want to ask u all how can i identified my GPS is using internal GPS or AGPS ? cause everytime i switch on my GPS and it will lock my location within few seconds.... amazing fast. how fast you guys got the locking location?

I'm not sure if the Desire can be set to not use AGPS, but mine locks location within 2-5 seconds if i can see clear sky, so its most likely on AGPS on default. My old phone used to take 2-5 mins just to lock!

QUOTE(i_bony @ Jun 6 2010, 04:12 AM)
may i ask,
if we bought a new microSD, can we just straight copy paste the whole thing in the old to new? will it work properly the desire? i mean it will not create a duplicate folder or sumtin?

Yes you can straight away copy and paste from old card, i did the same with no issue.

LazyJin
post Jun 6 2010, 10:08 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(i_bony @ Jun 6 2010, 09:53 AM)
meaning u copy all the system file n all the folder to ur new memory card? then all work as normal is it?

Yes that's right. I just copied all files from old card to new card, then swapped the cards.

Note that i did this when my phone was brand new. But i don't see why it wouldn't work even if you already have apps installed.

LazyJin
post Jun 11 2010, 06:11 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Jun 11 2010, 05:52 PM)
TWO HUNDREDS AND SEVENTY singapore dollars.

Too bad we don't get that kind of prices in Boleh land. One of the perks for living across the causeway...

QUOTE(Cynox @ Jun 11 2010, 04:12 PM)
1.  How do you rate the build quality of this phone?  Do you think it will last for 2 years at least with normal wear and tear?
2.  Any minor or major annoying unresolved problems?  I heard the Motorola Milestone has some unfixed problems.
3.  Does it worth the price - RM1,499 or whatever price you bought at?

Here's my take :
1. Excellently built, should hold up very well for 2 years. As many have pointed out, the rubberised back offers good grip and one surface less of finger prints.
2. Every phone has got its own quirks. Look up the first post and make your own judgement. I've found nothing that bothers me enough to regret buying this phone.
3. Worth every penny at the moment smile.gif unless you wanna wait for the other phones that will be launching god knows when (eg. Galaxy S, iPhone4 etc).

Good luck on your purchase smile.gif
LazyJin
post Jun 12 2010, 10:55 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(cyam95 @ Jun 12 2010, 08:15 AM)
I got the same reply. the lady said activate immediately. so far havent receive any sms yet.

I don't remember receiving an SMS to confirm my data plan was activated. Just ported to Maxis, my first bill was correct. If you haven't received your bill yet, you can check the unbilled amount on Maxis' website.

LazyJin
post Jun 18 2010, 09:33 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 17 2010, 11:11 PM)
... is there a way to disable the Chinese and Thai keyboard and just the standard US keyboard? Is there anyways to turn off dictionary as well?

I don't think you can turn off the CH and TH keyboard. And for the dictionary, i think you switch off "Prediction"under settings -> language and keyboard -> touch input.

QUOTE(geniuz @ Jun 17 2010, 11:15 PM)
hello there... is there any working version GPS software for Desire?

This has been discussed previously in this thread. Just search "GPS".

QUOTE(johnsontys @ Jun 18 2010, 12:05 AM)
Guys, I encounter this situation and want to know if it is normal

2) is normal. 1) i'm not sure, but not surprised either. I noticed that the car charger i'm using (Capdase) doesn't really increase battery% even after 20 mins, and i know if you use all the services incl. GPS, the battery drains very very fast. Just my 2 cents.

QUOTE(vermins @ Jun 18 2010, 01:12 AM)
But anyone have a problem with sending out texts and sometimes it doesn't get sent?

I only have this problem if i send to multiple recipients. But Desire will auto resend until all are sent. I'm on Maxis.

This post has been edited by LazyJin: Jun 18 2010, 09:34 AM
LazyJin
post Jun 22 2010, 11:36 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 22 2010, 09:56 PM)
Some of my thoughts on Froyo FRF72 which I tested on my Nexus : http://bennyleemn.blogspot.com/2010/06/fro...uild-frf72.html
Benny - The review was very insightful. Got me seriously thinking about rooting my Desire. (Off Topic) Also enjoyed reading a few of your other posts on your blog. Never been on your blog, but i surely will from now onwards. Keep it up.

0.0508sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:43 AM