14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Technical PSN with Unifi Discussion Thread, Q&A

Isx
post Aug 15 2010, 03:44 PM

190 posts

must change cable? gahhh that sucks! any other solution?

Added on August 15, 2010, 4:18 pmgoddammnn it, i tried DMZ ps3, i tried port forwarding. i Tried everthing still psn dcs!

Added on August 15, 2010, 6:02 pmthis just f***ing blows. home plug any will get same speed?

This post has been edited by Isx: Aug 15 2010, 06:02 PM
kezman
post Aug 15 2010, 10:17 PM

992 posts

i just install UNIFI at my house, and connecting the PS3 to the router (DIR 615) wirelessly always cause my PSN to be disconnected....what i do is, i use my old router ( dir-300) to connect to the UNIFI router..and connect my ps3 to the dir-300 router..problem solved, no more disconnect from PSN..

but i think my problem is due because my ps3 only get 60-70% signal strengh if connect to the Dir 615, if connect to the much nearer dir 300, it get 100%....
kyaz87
post Aug 16 2010, 01:06 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(skypie @ Jun 13 2010, 07:37 PM)
Anyone know if Cheras area has Unifi now?

Not really sure as i check on their website ans see Cheras is Quater 4 of 2010.

Means coming soon or already has?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
im not so sure but few weeks ago tm called my house that my line can use unifi ady...but i dont want to upgrade yet
try ask their customer service... wink.gif
gizmoduck
post Aug 16 2010, 09:47 PM

323 posts

Having this problem also. Will get DC after about 2-3 minutes. Using LAN connection with static address and DMZ enabled
kezman
post Aug 17 2010, 12:26 PM

992 posts

my connection become a bit weird last night...after i log in into PSN and when i look at other people trophy, there will be message saying DNS error, but im still log into PSN.....

pakcikkantin
post Aug 17 2010, 12:49 PM

it is not because of UniFi, it is the PS3.

It will disconnect when you are idle. Idle from doing anything. If downloading, then you will stay connected.

SSJBen
post Aug 17 2010, 01:20 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(pakcikkantin @ Aug 17 2010, 12:49 PM)
it is not because of UniFi, it is the PS3.

It will disconnect when you are idle. Idle from doing anything. If downloading, then you will stay connected.
Not true la pakcik...
I have my PS3 idle doing nothing alot, never get DC also.

Those who are facing issues getting DCed is because of the wireless connection the sucky router TM gives for unifi.
Change the router's wireless from N back to G.
Problem will be solved then.
Kimichi
post Aug 17 2010, 02:02 PM

140 posts

Did u guy do any setting??
like portforwarding??
kezman
post Aug 17 2010, 03:43 PM

992 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 17 2010, 01:20 PM)
Not true la pakcik...
I have my PS3 idle doing nothing alot, never get DC also.
Those who are facing issues getting DCed is because of the wireless connection the sucky router TM gives for unifi.
Change the router's wireless from N back to G.
Problem will be solved then.
change the router all together or just change the setting inside the router to be G??

gizmoduck
post Aug 18 2010, 02:17 PM

323 posts

Hi guys, was wondering if you have any updates on this problem? I called TM and they said they'll look into it. Apparently there have been a few complaints already about this.

A friend of mine just got his unifi installed and PSN works smoothly sad.gif so jelous...

Added on August 26, 2010, 9:49 amBumping for response sad.gif

This post has been edited by gizmoduck: Aug 26 2010, 09:49 AM
Isx
post Aug 27 2010, 09:58 AM

190 posts

The router dir615 we can change wave from N to g+b if i'm not mistaken. but will it solve the problem?
Putting the static ip ps3 in dmz also dcs me from psn.
gizmoduck
post Aug 28 2010, 01:44 AM

323 posts

Hi guys, I am in testing mode now so no promises this is the solution.

According to a forumer sifu Rizvan, the dir-615 router is a bit crap so it cannot handle heavy loads and therefore is also unstable. I dunno why some are ok and some are not. Maybe it is due to the overall connection of the unifi system also.

Riz's custom router method is to use the tm modem as a bridge. Therefore you would still need your own router (and it must be a router, not modem/router) i am using dir-600 wireless router. So after the setting, the pppoe dialing will be done by the dir-600 and all ip addresses etc.

So far my connection has been stable (a few hours) and no dc as yet. upnp is available and Nat 2 without any portforwarding done. Gaming is smooth like a baby's bottom.

You can find the guide here

http://unifi.athena.my/

There are also other guides for various customizations to your unifi setup. Hope this helps!
squall_12
post Aug 28 2010, 08:42 AM

1,779 posts

how are the online gaming performance with unifi??? can we play with US player smoothly? tekken 6 for examples?

Isx
post Sep 5 2010, 02:01 PM

190 posts

hey i got a msg from tmnet.

"Here it is : First of all, we apologize for the late response regarding on your issue and thank you for bringing up this matter to our concern.

For your information, PS3 is running through G wireless mode. Wireless mode is determined from router instead of modem, thus by changing the wireless mode in router should be able to prevent from intermittent wireless connection for PS3. Wireless channel also need to be changed according to house condition, whereas if too many interference from same channel will cause interference. Adjust wireless channel accordingly between 1 to 13 and check which want is better result for your wireless connection.

Herewith we attached the guideline for RG DLINK wireless router setting for your own reference.

Should you have any queries do give us a call at 1300 88 1221 or kindly drop us a line at unifi@tm.com.my for further assistance and advice.

Thank and regards,

ALTERNATE CONTACT GROUP (ACG)"

The problem now is if you change from N to G would that affect the speed your wireless equipment will receive(laptops,ps3,handhled WiFi)

I conducted a speedtest and I got only 1.89MBPS for my laptop.
The original speed was 5MBPS.
:|

This sucks.
kezman
post Sep 5 2010, 02:07 PM

992 posts

yup...if change N to G will effect...

me too using UNIFI but can connect and play online without any problem.
what i did was, connect another router to the Dir-615 provided by TM, then my ps3 will be connected wirelessly to that extra router, not to the TM router...im using dir-300 as my 2nd router.....work flawlessly...
Isx
post Sep 5 2010, 03:07 PM

190 posts

got the guide for that or not?

can give me the full link? i cant find it on the main page

Please and thank you kind sir.!

got just dc even when using wireless g
kezman
post Sep 5 2010, 03:22 PM

992 posts

i did not follow any guide...

before this im using streamy, use the dir-300 router, ps3 connect just fine and when i install unifi, always encounter dc with the TM router...

so its like this....

now unifi setup is TM modem --> TM router --> ps3 right?

i change to TM modem --> TM router --> dir-300 --> ps3,

first, turn off your TM router, and turn on the dir-300, change the Router IP Address to one that is not the same with your TM router, TM router use 192.168.0.1, if both use same ip address, then will be clash, i change the dir-300 Router IP Address to 192.168.0.2. also disable the DHCP on the dir-300, all this is done in the LAN SETUP page.

the way is connect the dir-300 to TM router using LAN Cable, my dir-300 did not support WDS, if more expensive router got WDS can connect2 router wirelessly.

from TM router to dir-300, connect from LAN port to LAN port, then is done already, can connect PS3 through the dir-300

hope u understand, my instruction a bit messy

This post has been edited by kezman: Sep 5 2010, 03:24 PM
Isx
post Sep 5 2010, 07:48 PM

190 posts

Sorry but what is WDS???

Go chelsea.
kezman
post Sep 5 2010, 07:54 PM

992 posts

wds stand for Wireless Distribution System...
what router are u using?
Isx
post Sep 5 2010, 08:09 PM

190 posts

im using the standard tmnet dline dir615modem/router.

got any recommendation on what router I should get ???

raya coming dy I can buy a new one.

Please recommend biggrin.gif

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:55 AM