Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V7, Guide and price at page 1

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 26 2010, 10:45 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pandazhun @ Aug 26 2010, 10:39 PM)
Is bigger size usually = better tahan in heat since ultra thin laptop usually heat up faster.
at 1st thinking of A42Jv only but considering bigger size bcoz thinking it would be good to play game and watch Movie with a big screen laptop.
Don't want regret carrying a big and heavy laptop..So I'm in dilemma.
any other brand recommend?
Fujitsu or Toshiba?
heard Toshiba's screen view look better coz they manufacture TV screen?
Manufacture TV Screen? Not Samsung the best ar? haha laugh.gif
Yeap, usually bigger laptops have better heat dissipation, still sometimes it depends on the cooling system smile.gif
I don't recommend using a 15 incher especially if you are always on the go (based on personal experience hehe) I used to own an 14 incher before this.
15 inchers are not heavy (around 0.5kg heavier than normal 14 inchers), its the size which makes it rather hard to move about, knock here knock there haha

Toshiba and Fujitsu's specs cannot compare with the Asus o icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 27 2010, 08:24 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pandazhun @ Aug 26 2010, 10:54 PM)
you are using a 15inches laptop aswell, so what do you think?
I don't travel alot only like once every 2months mayb from Penang to PJ
After using my 15 inch Qosmio for some time I still prefer 14 inchers or smaller haha sweat.gif
Unless you really don't move the laptop at all, then its okay... I travel from time to time and I also like bringing my laptop around even when in my house so its still abit cumbersome LOL laugh.gif
Plan to make my Qosmio a permanent desktop replacement soon, better choose an 14 incher to save the hassle nod.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 27 2010, 11:15 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Aug 27 2010, 11:01 AM)
For me personally, I would think that 14" still big.
13.3" or smaller more ideal since I also travel from time to time.
But too bad not much choice of powerful laptop of that size.
Lookin for other powerful small laptop other than m11x.  smile.gif
Yeah, since I already have a 15 incher, will most probably look for 13.3 or smaller nod.gif
Powerful 13.3 inch laptops still got la, but 11.6 inch category currently dominated by M11x haha laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 27 2010, 02:19 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 27 2010, 02:13 PM)
if you have 14" already, should get 8.9" to travel. UNfortunately, 8.9" no more sad.gif
Toshiba Libretto W100 (Dual 7 incher) brows.gif

Need to add a "if can afford" at the back laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 27 2010, 02:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 27 2010, 02:21 PM)
i saw some people sell Mini 9 with ssd... still worth to buy?
Imho, the screen really too small le (based on 1st generation of 8.9 inch Eee PC), surf net also need to scroll up down up down up down x100 cry.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 27 2010, 02:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 27 2010, 02:40 PM)
10" also small la... no different... but when you're outside, i dun think u'll surf for long..hahah...important is portability...

8.9" vs 10"...size big different?
The difference is very big eh based on my experience haha
Perhaps is because of different resolutions also nod.gif

Still my minimum is 11.6inch... if not too strain for the eyes sweat.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 28 2010, 11:56 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pandazhun @ Aug 28 2010, 08:44 AM)
yeap, I was thinking to buy a 15inches as I thought I might use Smartphone as alternative gadget to online when I'm outside home , so I told myself might aswell get a bigger screen laptop for multimedia(watching movie) usage as mobile web surfing is gonna be replaced by smart phone....so laptop size might not doesnt matter unless u gotta bring your laptop everywhere.

why is Toshiba & Fujitsu worth a better price than Asus.apa yang lebih baik dengannya?
takkan now Asus same range with Acer and Compaq d?
Well, if you don't mind surfing the net with your Smartphone outdoors then its definitely better to get a larger lappy for multimedia at home hehe nod.gif

Probably because Toshiba, Fujitsu and Sony has better built materials? They are known for being reliable 1 even though reliability is also largely dependent on how you take care of your laptop laugh.gif
Asus and Acer has a lot of good products lately and are currently dominating the market I think haha Not sure about Compaq, don't like Compaq rclxub.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 29 2010, 12:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Aug 29 2010, 11:07 AM)
My uncle is planning to get a netbook. Any recommendations? Only criteria is it has to be slim, decent battery life and costs less than 1.7k. smile.gif
MSI Wind U160@ Rm1399? drool.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 29 2010, 12:46 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 29 2010, 11:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(noosaza @ Aug 29 2010, 11:25 PM)
which one of this is better yeah, please recommend. which one is better. every model is below 1.6k only..

lenovo g450 intel t4500, intel hd graphic.
lenovo g455 amd m320,ati graphic.
acer Aspire 4741Z, intel p6000, intel hd.
acer Aspire 4551-321G32, amd p320, ati graphic.
toshiba Satellite L510-B404 , intel t4500, intel hd.
toshiba Satellite C640-1005U,intel p6000.
fujitsu LH520, p320, ati hd5430.

all of this are freedos.. for freedos, to install windows 7 or xp, just insert the cd and run the installation rite? just like format any notebook rite? or need to change the setting in bios first? noob regarding fresh install on freedos. used to format my notebook before this.. if fresh install is same like format, can install by myself lor..
Imho, just choose the one which offers the longest warranty period nod.gif
Yeah, just insert installation CD then can already laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 29 2010, 11:46 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(noosaza @ Aug 29 2010, 11:40 PM)
intel ULV SU2300 can run photoshop or not? and can play game or not? pes 2010.. acer timeline using this CPU..

by the way, intel p6000, intel t4500, amd m320, amd p320 and ULV SU2300, which one is better? sorry for noob question here.. cheap notebook also got some choice to choose yeah.. confuse which one to buy. all offer 1 year warranty.. price is all same.. huhu
T4500>P6000>P320>M320>SU2300 according to http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Proces...ist.2436.0.html
Even netbooks can run photoshop ar laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 7 2010, 09:19 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Sep 7 2010, 09:09 PM)
Hi guys, if got seller offer me N82JQ for rm3489, should I still wait for A42JA? Since the N series supposed to be higher end? And what about the GPU, not much difference in performance between 335GT and HD5730 right? TQ.
N series should be better built and offers more features, which is why they are more expensive nod.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 7 2010, 09:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Sep 7 2010, 09:21 PM)
smile.gif Right. That's what the seller told me, but I still prefer waiting, maybe newer models and price drop thumbup.gif
Buy when you really need. If not the waiting game will go on and on and on laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 7 2010, 10:48 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Sep 7 2010, 10:44 PM)
but something i have to acknowledge..they do have nice designs
Yeah, more like "never-outdated" designs thumbup.gif
Macbooks have been around for quite some time and they haven't really been physically refurbished, not much anyway... still they look so trendy notworthy.gif
But that's about all LOL sweat.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 17 2010, 11:53 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(dagnarus @ Sep 17 2010, 10:58 AM)
looking for another lappie, this time for my sis:

main usage: internet/thesis writing hence mobility/battery life is important
screen size: 11-12inch
weight: less than 1.5kg
budget: ~2k

she's eyeing portege t210. is that a wise choice? or is there better options out there?
I don't really like the shinning materials used for the T210 but it has received a lot of praise from reviews...
Review for the T215D (different processor) here: http://www.laptopmag.com/review/laptops/to...lite-t215d.aspx
The T210's price is more than RM2k... noneed to extend warranty since Toshiba is holding an event which gives away free 2nd & 3rd year warranty.
Not sure about the M101z's weight, but can consider that 1 too, its way cheaper nod.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 17 2010, 02:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(dagnarus @ Sep 17 2010, 02:24 PM)
seems like she already set her sight on that t210. thanks for your feedback though. she would be happy for the 2/3 year warranty. as well as the price tag that i'm getting her 2089 with a free dvd writer
No prob... be sure to get the free 2nd and 3rd year warranty (original costs RM299) here: http://www.celebratewithtoshiba.com/
Grats 1st on the purchase laugh.gif
RM2089 seems fine
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 20 2010, 10:54 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Sep 20 2010, 07:20 PM)
PF T.J, how to get the free warranty, i did ask from toshiba resellers, they mentioned we've to buy it.
i think one of the benefit of this toshiba T210 is the hard drive impact sensor. but notice that the wireless is 802.11 b/g? no 802.11n, wonder whether it'll have impact on the connectivity.

by the way, browsed the net and some complaint abt m101z heat problem.

wondering how does T210 performance (compared to m101z's AMD) and also heat.

TQ.

Added on September 20, 2010, 7:22 pm

hi dagnarus, may i know where u got this price rm2089? outside all quoting rm2299.
thanks!
If I'm not mistaken (I din't buy a new Toshiba laptop haha) just go to the website (http://www.celebratewithtoshiba.com), blow out the candles, fill in your particulars then you will be given a code coupon which you can use to get the 2nd & 3rd year local warranty for free. By filling in the particulars, you will also be participating in the grand lucky draw. I haven't got the chance to test whether the codes works or whether it applies to all Toshiba laptops all not, but it should work based on the descriptions nod.gif
Best try it out asap.... because if really cannot and you really want to extend warranty, you need to do that within 30 days from the date of purchase nod.gif
Best of luck!
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 28 2010, 10:28 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 28 2010, 02:29 AM)
Can consider the Asus U35Jc...
+1
Or the Portege R700, definitely not a tank haha laugh.gif

0.0455sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:40 AM