Wireless Broadband Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread #3, 3G/3.5G Wireless Broadband

Cacti
post Aug 12 2010, 09:42 AM

43 posts

so if i dun buy the top up, can i still do the surfing although the speed is slow? or cant even open the web? like totally block unless i top up?
Cacti
post Aug 12 2010, 09:47 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ Aug 12 2010, 09:45 AM)
can be very-very slow until you fade up and wanting to topup. can be at reasonable speed if not many people using.
thanks! do u take up the talk surf package? issit seperate into 2 sim card or 1 sim card only?? is a lot cheaper compare to subscribe both package .. kinda attractive..
Cacti
post Aug 14 2010, 12:29 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ Aug 13 2010, 06:42 PM)
should be in 1 sim card

Added on August 13, 2010, 6:49 pm

-get a provider that uses lesser hops to NY server. yet, i don't know which one.
-get a provider that hops direct to US
-from the trace route reply, you can see where is the bottleneck. avoid this provider

you can test using this commnad

windows:
tracert (server name) e.g. tracert www.yahoo.com

linux/solaris
traceroute (servername) e.g. traceroute www.yahoo.com

do it on different provider.
thanks! i tested prepaid hotlink broadband. the speedtest showed my connection is between 0.9mbps - 1.2mbps at my house. but in my office, it showed 0.4- 0.5+mbps. not bad compare to other network which i tried b4.. digi dun have 3g in my area yet.. so only run edge although it also very stable! celcom unless i stand outside the road to online, or else it keep changing from gprs to 3g then back again... sad.gif

so tomolo i will go to maxis centre sign up the 3gb package! rclxms.gif

0.0300sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:34 AM