Help choose LCD TV

TSgbsaint
post May 18 2010, 10:52 PM, updated 16y ago

185 posts

Hi guys,
i'm thinking of selling my AOC 24inch monitor for an 32 inch Full HD LCD TV.I'll be using it for my PC n xbox n place it in my room smile.gif
It will mostly be used for watching movie from pc,games like MW2 n watching World Cup biggrin.gif
Trouble is i can't seem to figure out which one to buy.
I have list down the prime candidate.

1)LG-32LF20FR for rm1599 > http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=619012&hl=LCD
2)Sony KLV-32EX400 for rm2199 > http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1234347&hl=LCD
3)Samsung LA32B550 for rm2300 > http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=872728&hl=LCD

My main question is it worth it for me to add rm500-600 for the sony n samsung or should i just buy the LG??

Or maybe u guys wanna add other lcd into the mix nod.gif

Thx guys notworthy.gif
THE ZUL
post May 18 2010, 11:00 PM

The Mercurial Ben Arfa
883 posts

i vote for samsung for portable device and high contrast.
TSgbsaint
post May 18 2010, 11:13 PM

185 posts

err,
what do you mean by portable device??
THE ZUL
post May 18 2010, 11:19 PM

The Mercurial Ben Arfa
883 posts

QUOTE(gbsaint @ May 18 2010, 11:13 PM)
err,
what do you mean by portable device??
can play movie/mp3/pic directly to ur tv...just attach ur thumbdrive to usb.....
even flv format can play....very handy feature.....
neb
post May 18 2010, 11:30 PM

2,234 posts

the best way is using your own eyes to pick which TV is the best for you

pc-ox
post May 18 2010, 11:39 PM

174 posts

For Samsung 2009 model LCD (LA32B550) without USB 2.0 Movie except model with B650 and above.
For model 2010 LCD (LA32C550) include USB 2.0 Movie which can plug in USB memory drive or HDD into the LCD for video playback.
TSgbsaint
post May 18 2010, 11:59 PM

185 posts

Owh,
ok,so that's the difference.
i don't think adding rm500-600 just for that feature is worth it.

Any difference in performance,maybe the response time,image proccessing etc to make the sony or samsung more justifiable than the LG??

p/s:any LG-32LF20FR users wanna comment on the performance.Thx biggrin.gif

michael9413
post May 19 2010, 11:52 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

i duno took a look at most of the model already at last end up with Sharp LC32A66M...
color more natural... i banned Samsung a few years already non of my household Samsung CRT TV can last more than 5 yrs and a few of my fren's Samsung household products also cannot go beyond that... not worth to invest on it... cheers

go to Harvey and ask if there is still promo, the sharp i got it for RM1999 only... if you need the Sales person phone i can pass to you also he is at Sunway...

but too bad it cannot support 1080p that our xbox has coz my old xbox only with HDTV (Component) cable only, does not come with HDMI output... but it support 1080i, 720p and others also
using it for my Xbox360, DVD, Laptop... all for movies and gaming purposes only... sadly i don have a astro as i cannot give you any comment on that smile.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: May 19 2010, 11:55 AM
Lone*Wolf
post May 19 2010, 12:40 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(gbsaint @ May 18 2010, 10:52 PM)
Hi guys,
i'm thinking of selling my AOC 24inch monitor for an 32 inch Full HD LCD TV.I'll be using it for my PC n xbox n place it in my room smile.gif
It will mostly be used for watching movie from pc,games like MW2 n watching World Cup biggrin.gif
Trouble is i can't seem to figure out which one to buy.
I have list down the prime candidate.

1)LG-32LF20FR for rm1599 >  http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=619012&hl=LCD
2)Sony KLV-32EX400 for rm2199 > http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1234347&hl=LCD
3)Samsung LA32B550 for rm2300 > http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=872728&hl=LCD

My main question is it worth it for me to add rm500-600 for the sony n samsung or should i just buy the LG??

Or maybe u guys wanna add other lcd into the mix  nod.gif

Thx guys  notworthy.gif
For that product range, i will choose the cheapest in your list. 25% diff in price, man.
TSgbsaint
post May 19 2010, 04:24 PM

185 posts

Ya,
Maybe i'll go for the LG.
Chepest rite,plus i'm not that fussy bout colour or those things.

thx guys smile.gif
enriquelee
post May 19 2010, 04:37 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

TS,
Go for Samsung if it can play movie/mp3/pic directly from thumbdrive.
Coz this will save you a HD player with a HDMI cable (About RM180) and you will have better space management since there is less 1 player and a cable.
But must check what are the files that can be played direct from the usb.

Nam226
post May 19 2010, 04:41 PM

110 posts

Sorry, want to ask how come the price for Samsung LA32B550 is price at at RM2300? I have ask around some local shops, and they are selling LA32C530 at RM1800 only. C series is 2010 model but just without the wifi capability only. Correct me if I'm wrong.. smile.gif
accs_centre
post May 19 2010, 04:48 PM

4,840 posts

If they sells at RM1800, go to grab as it is new stock Display price..
Nam226
post May 19 2010, 05:02 PM

110 posts

Oh, so that's a good price to grab? Serious? drool.gif

This post has been edited by Nam226: May 19 2010, 05:02 PM
pc-ox
post May 20 2010, 09:10 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ May 19 2010, 04:37 PM)
TS,
Go for Samsung if it can play movie/mp3/pic directly from thumbdrive.
Coz this will save you a HD player with a HDMI cable (About RM180) and you will have better space management since there is less 1 player and a cable.
But must check what are the files that can be played direct from the usb.
This the supported video format from my series6 manual (model 2009). I think video format for model 2010 should be same hmm.gif (correct me if wrong). The downside for model 2009 is without optical output, can't support DTS.

michael9413
post May 20 2010, 10:05 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

hmmm it support quite a lot of format but the durability issues still haunting me...
if lower resolution movie then cannot play r??? duno the upscaling is as good as media player or not...
pc-ox
post May 20 2010, 11:57 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ May 20 2010, 10:05 AM)
hmmm it support quite a lot of format but the durability issues still haunting me...
if lower resolution movie then cannot play r??? duno the upscaling is as good as media player or not...
Frankly, I never use the Media 2.0 as media center. As I mentioned, my series6 model 2009 is without optical output. Video files with DTS can’t produce sound in LCD TV, so I just forget the feature and use PS3 as media player.

I also worried about durability issue, that why I purchased extended warranty (5 years) from retail shop and plus 1 year warranty from Samsung (standard warranty), total 6 years. I’m very satisfied with the picture quality of this model (personal preference).

I tested the low resolution video file (640x480), the TV able to play the file. But don’t expects picture quality as good as HD video file.

SOURCE = rubbish, then OUTPUT = rubbish.

This post has been edited by pc-ox: May 20 2010, 05:13 PM
enriquelee
post May 20 2010, 01:28 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(pc-ox @ May 20 2010, 09:10 AM)
This the supported video format from my series6 manual (model 2009). I think video format for model 2010 should be same hmm.gif (correct me if wrong). The downside for model 2009 is without optical output, can't support DTS.
The only down side is, it lacks of RMVB format.
michael9413
post May 20 2010, 02:01 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(pc-ox @ May 20 2010, 11:57 AM)
Frankly, I never use the Media 2.0 as media center. As I mentioned, my series6 model 2009 is without optical output. Video files with DTS can’t produce sound in LCD TV, so I just forget the feature and use PS3 as media player.

I also worried about durability issue, that why I purchased extended warranty (5 years) from retain shop and plus 1 year warranty from Samsung (standard warranty), total 6 years. I’m very satisfied with the picture quality of this model (personal preference).

I tested the low resolution video file (640x480), the TV able to play the file. But don’t expects picture quality as good as HD video file.

SOURCE = rubbish, then OUTPUT = rubbish.
well if you play it with PS3 then different story lo... it should be better than u plug into the LCD TV itself... smile.gif
the media player i mean is external side not Xbox360 or PS3 or computer... i'm planning to invest RM400 into the player so i can play any type of file that i download or even copy from other places...
with the extra media player i will not have to switch on my Xbox360 or rely to the supported format to play back mah and further more you have unlimited space to put movies... up to date, normally those media player at least support 1TB of 3.5" HDD add into it... and it can act like a common storage for me also thumbup.gif

ur extended warranty after 5 yrs then how??? kena twice already, when i started my survey on LCD my frens already told me to skip Samsung so bought sharp instead...
pc-ox
post May 20 2010, 05:12 PM

174 posts

ur extended warranty after 5 yrs then how??? kena twice already, when i started my survey on LCD my frens already told me to skip Samsung so bought sharp instead...

[/quote]

You mean your Samsung TV set break down before 5 years?

For me, 6 years warranty already enough to justify my purchase. If the TV breaks down after 6 years, I will purchase a new TV. Nowadays, TV technologies grow too fast, from HD ready, Full HD, 3D……

During my survey on LCD, Sharp is my priority candidate. At the end, select Samsung due to picture quality (personal preference).

Different people got different consideration….price, picture quality, sound quality, reliability,……..which one is your first consideration factor, then go to compare and survey. At the end, only you enjoy your TV set, not others.

0.0205sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:45 AM