[WTA] Upgrading from CRT tv, Help on choosing used plasma vs new LCD

TSNam226
post May 15 2010, 07:10 PM, updated 16y ago

110 posts

Hello all, need help on which tv model to upgrade from 21" CRT tv at home.
Budget at 2k max (but want to save money for other gadgets).
Use for viewing DVD (hoping to buy a DVD upscaling player), RTM (no Astro), soft movies (don't really know about video formats (mkv, rmvb, avi, mp4, flv, etc) but I guess can convert to one another, right?) and hooking notebook to do ms office/games?

Currently have two choices in mind...

1. Used (~ 3 years) 42" Samsung plasma tv = RM1100
Pros:
- bigger size! ;D
Cons:
- No warranty
- No HDMI port (if got PS3, can use HDMI to DVI cable to hook
- Afraid of screen burn (don't really understand, never use plasma before >.<)
- Don't know if this is HD ready or full HD >.<

Specs:
Dimensions 1027 x 79 x 630.5 mm ; 40.43 x 3.11 x 24.82 inches (W x D x H)
Weight 34.5 kg (Without stand)
Screen aspect ratio 16:9
Screen size 42 inch
Native pixel resolution 852 x 480(H x V)
Color systems PAL, SECAM, NTSC (NT3.58/NT4.43)
Sound Stereo, Virtual Dolby
Audio output power 10W + 10W (8Ω)
Power supply AC100-240V~ 50/60Hz
AC220-240V~ 50/60Hz
Power consumption 330 Watts
Video inputs;
VIDEO IN - AV/S-VIDEO
COMPONENT IN - Y/PB/PR (RCA, 3P, 480i~1080i)
RGB1(PC1) IN - D-SUB, 15P
RGB2(PC2) IN
VGA~XGA (R/G/B/H/V)
DVI IN - DVI-D type
Monitor outputs VIDEO OUT - VIDEO/L/R (RCA, 3P)
Audio inputs VIDEO IN - L/R
COMPONENT IN - L/R (RCA, 2P)
AUDIO (Stereo jack for RGB1/2(PC1/2) and DVI input, 2 x mini jack)
Audio outputs EXT SPEAKER (8Ω) - R+/-, L+/-
External control RS232C - IN/OUT (D-SUB, 9P)

2. New 32" Samsung LCD tv = RM1800
Pros:
- latest 2010 model! ;D
- Full HD (I guess higher resolution better when hooking up with notebook, if not, I can HD Ready at RM1500)
- has USB media sharing connectivity (really important for movies stored in HDD)
- 2 years warranty
Cons:
- Smaller size sad.gif
- Extra RM700 leh...

This post has been edited by Nam226: May 15 2010, 07:21 PM
neb
post May 15 2010, 08:54 PM

2,234 posts

Full HD LCD is just nice for hooking up computer

as for the pasma, it is old, no warranty and at 852 x 480, it can achieved at most 480p EDTV, not even HD ready
TSNam226
post May 15 2010, 09:46 PM

110 posts

Thanks for your opinion, Neb biggrin.gif Seems like it is worth the money to buy a full HD new LCD tv after all then. Now all I need is a good DVD upscaling player! ^^
michael9413
post May 17 2010, 09:17 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

i will skip Samsung smile.gif
coz had a problem with 2 CRT with them already not enough 5 years tata already... then need to repaired again...
just bought a Sharp LC32A66M RM1999 promo price from Harvey duno is that still on or not try to ask smile.gif
TSNam226
post May 18 2010, 07:33 PM

110 posts

Thanks, bro, will check out the model you suggested at Harvey smile.gif
art6969
post May 18 2010, 10:07 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Nam226 @ May 18 2010, 07:33 PM)
Thanks, bro, will check out the model you suggested at Harvey smile.gif
dont go that "cekek darah" shop, price little bit high
michael9413
post May 18 2010, 10:19 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well that depends bro... some is higher and some is lower... the Sharp model i did some survey at SenQ and OnKing, both seling more than the price that they offer me...
JOR23N
post May 18 2010, 10:36 PM

147 posts

I'll pick TOSHIBA 32AV700E with 4HDMI input.
Price are affordable .
SUSMatrix
post May 19 2010, 02:38 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Nam226 @ May 15 2010, 09:46 PM)
Thanks for your opinion, Neb biggrin.gif Seems like it is worth the money to buy a full HD new LCD tv after all then. Now all I need is a good DVD upscaling player! ^^
Save your money. DVD is so last decade. Blu-Ray is the future. Next best bet is HD media players....mkv files will tear any DVD apart...upscaled or otherwise.

michael9413
post May 19 2010, 02:58 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 19 2010, 02:38 PM)
Save your money. DVD is so last decade. Blu-Ray is the future. Next best bet is HD media players....mkv files will tear any DVD apart...upscaled or otherwise.
agree, thats y i don mind if the LCD TV has any usb input or not... coz all i need is a media player link with all my computers at home... even i have a Xbox 360 use already but too bad it only support AVI and WMV files only... so now looking at some media player smile.gif

QUOTE(JOR23N @ May 18 2010, 10:36 PM)
I'll pick TOSHIBA 32AV700E with 4HDMI input.
Price are affordable .
that is affordable but not Full HD lo... other than the price...

TS can get LG 32" Full HD with around RM1500 already smile.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: May 19 2010, 03:22 PM
TSNam226
post May 19 2010, 04:26 PM

110 posts

Thanks, everyone. The Toshiba 32AV700E price around RM1.3-1.4k is affordable indeed smile.gif but like michael9413 said, not full HD lor...Actually, I just thought of going full HD instead of HD ready because I want to hook up my notebook to the tv and be able to get higher resolutions to see the fonts and gaming...and well in the future, if financial allows it, play PS3 or xbox 360 on it in full HD. If this stuff make no difference in 32", then I will consider HD ready smile.gif

Sure bo? LG 32" Full HD around RM1500?? Which model oh? biggrin.gif

Hmm...I also thought of getting a HD media player but at home got lots of old DVD movie collection (even if I have time to rip them with my notebook, not enough HDD space storage), that's why I thought of buying cheap upscaling DVD-player. I'm also considering buying PS3 (with blu-ray and DVD upscaling capability) and thought it's worth it since it can do everything so managing my expenses and saving here and there now.
enriquelee
post May 19 2010, 04:32 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

TS,
FYI plasma is not suitable for gaming as it will have burn in effect.
Gaming purpose go all the way LCD.
TSNam226
post May 19 2010, 05:09 PM

110 posts

Thank you for your input, enriquelee, I have decided to buy LCD tv now biggrin.gif
michael9413
post May 19 2010, 05:17 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Nam226 @ May 19 2010, 04:26 PM)
Thanks, everyone. The Toshiba 32AV700E price around RM1.3-1.4k  is affordable indeed smile.gif but like michael9413 said, not full HD lor...Actually, I just thought of going full HD instead of HD ready because I want to hook up my notebook to the tv and be able to get higher resolutions to see the fonts and gaming...and well in the future, if financial allows it, play PS3 or xbox 360 on it in full HD. If this stuff make no difference in 32", then I will consider HD ready smile.gif

Sure bo? LG 32" Full HD around RM1500?? Which model oh? biggrin.gif

Hmm...I also thought of getting a HD media player but at home got lots of old DVD movie collection (even if I have time to rip them with my notebook, not enough HDD space storage), that's why I thought of buying cheap upscaling DVD-player. I'm also considering buying PS3 (with blu-ray and DVD upscaling capability) and thought it's worth it since it can do everything so managing my expenses and saving here and there now.
LG 32" FULL HD LCD TV - LG-32LF20FR : RM 1599 POPULAR DEMAND
from here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...12&hl=LG+LCD+TV

well I'm on Xbox360 so i don mind the things but i prefer movie from Media player coz it will not burn your DVD ROM or Blu-Ray ROM in either Xbox360 or PS3 mah smile.gif going to get a media player soon coz i have quite a numbers of movie in my HDD... BTW there is some media player which support BT download now even some support streaming like youtube and others site...
for gaming i'm going for Full HD that's why i took LC32A66M instead of the lower end model with HD Ready but better sound quality... actually buy a good DVD with good HDMI will helps, coz typical function on the different stuff so it will not get spoiled easily... if you connect to the PC then better u play from there also nicer coz the graphics card from PC is better than those PS3 and Xbox360 mah...
those TV which can use USB got limitation on playing files also that is what my fren's experience on DVD player or TV which can play file in USB... better to get media player to control all the setting haha... i can tell you the quality of the movie from a media player will be better than upscaling DVD player... when i compare my DVD playing from my Xbox the quality is better than DVD player too... i duno about expensive upscaling DVD player, but lets say u spend RM300 to get a good upscaling DVD player y not spend those $$ on Media player where u can play all sort of files also...

this is my single cents... some ppl might not be able to accept this but this situation no matter how u ask at the end u make ur own preference on the things u buy smile.gif
TSNam226
post May 19 2010, 06:07 PM

110 posts

Wah seh...really wan woh RM1.6k for full HD tv, now need to visit electronic stores to eye this model out biggrin.gif

True, I also seldom play DVD movie using my PS2 for the same reason afraid it might "damage" the lens or something back in the days and bought a separate DVD player...sayang my PS2, haha. Wow...didn't know media player can support BT download...amazing. I will try to check out which model has and its price. I read in forum here, WD TV Live seems popular smile.gif

Right on...still try to game on my 2 years plus notebook with GeForce 8600M GT as I can but sometimes missed playing those console exclusive games...but yeah, I don't have enough cash to keep upgrading also tongue.gif Thanks for your cents, michael9413.
michael9413
post May 20 2010, 09:03 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

haha... you have a lots of china brand support that BT download... try HDPro+ from bro Yangxi and Eaget M6 also... now my mind is still spinning coz have not make a full decision yet...
TSNam226
post May 21 2010, 05:53 PM

110 posts

Thanks for suggestions. Will decide between HDPro+ and WDTV Live if I'm buying biggrin.gif
azbro
post May 21 2010, 06:00 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Nam226 @ May 21 2010, 05:53 PM)
Thanks for suggestions. Will decide between HDPro+ and WDTV Live if I'm buying biggrin.gif
Why go for Half Baked Stuff?...Get the Dune Prime 3.0 nod.gif biggrin.gif
piscesguy
post May 22 2010, 08:17 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 19 2010, 02:38 PM)
Blu-ray is the present. biggrin.gif
TSNam226
post May 23 2010, 11:43 PM

110 posts

Aiks...you guys keep poisoning me with Blu-Ray Disc...soon I beh tahan and will go buy d biggrin.gif

Don't lah....I'm trying to save money blush.gif

Dune Prime 3.0 cost so much more...lol!!! ohmy.gif My wallet will dry if I buy rclxub.gif
michael9413
post May 24 2010, 09:28 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

ya lo... further more it cannot support RMVB sad.gif
TSNam226
post May 25 2010, 12:43 PM

110 posts

Good point! Hope there is firmware upgrade in the future for RMVB files smile.gif

0.0233sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:46 AM