[WTA] Upgrading from CRT tv, Help on choosing used plasma vs new LCD

michael9413
post May 17 2010, 09:17 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

i will skip Samsung smile.gif
coz had a problem with 2 CRT with them already not enough 5 years tata already... then need to repaired again...
just bought a Sharp LC32A66M RM1999 promo price from Harvey duno is that still on or not try to ask smile.gif
michael9413
post May 18 2010, 10:19 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well that depends bro... some is higher and some is lower... the Sharp model i did some survey at SenQ and OnKing, both seling more than the price that they offer me...
michael9413
post May 19 2010, 02:58 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 19 2010, 02:38 PM)
Save your money. DVD is so last decade. Blu-Ray is the future. Next best bet is HD media players....mkv files will tear any DVD apart...upscaled or otherwise.
agree, thats y i don mind if the LCD TV has any usb input or not... coz all i need is a media player link with all my computers at home... even i have a Xbox 360 use already but too bad it only support AVI and WMV files only... so now looking at some media player smile.gif

QUOTE(JOR23N @ May 18 2010, 10:36 PM)
I'll pick TOSHIBA 32AV700E with 4HDMI input.
Price are affordable .
that is affordable but not Full HD lo... other than the price...

TS can get LG 32" Full HD with around RM1500 already smile.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: May 19 2010, 03:22 PM
michael9413
post May 19 2010, 05:17 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Nam226 @ May 19 2010, 04:26 PM)
Thanks, everyone. The Toshiba 32AV700E price around RM1.3-1.4k  is affordable indeed smile.gif but like michael9413 said, not full HD lor...Actually, I just thought of going full HD instead of HD ready because I want to hook up my notebook to the tv and be able to get higher resolutions to see the fonts and gaming...and well in the future, if financial allows it, play PS3 or xbox 360 on it in full HD. If this stuff make no difference in 32", then I will consider HD ready smile.gif

Sure bo? LG 32" Full HD around RM1500?? Which model oh? biggrin.gif

Hmm...I also thought of getting a HD media player but at home got lots of old DVD movie collection (even if I have time to rip them with my notebook, not enough HDD space storage), that's why I thought of buying cheap upscaling DVD-player. I'm also considering buying PS3 (with blu-ray and DVD upscaling capability) and thought it's worth it since it can do everything so managing my expenses and saving here and there now.
LG 32" FULL HD LCD TV - LG-32LF20FR : RM 1599 POPULAR DEMAND
from here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...12&hl=LG+LCD+TV

well I'm on Xbox360 so i don mind the things but i prefer movie from Media player coz it will not burn your DVD ROM or Blu-Ray ROM in either Xbox360 or PS3 mah smile.gif going to get a media player soon coz i have quite a numbers of movie in my HDD... BTW there is some media player which support BT download now even some support streaming like youtube and others site...
for gaming i'm going for Full HD that's why i took LC32A66M instead of the lower end model with HD Ready but better sound quality... actually buy a good DVD with good HDMI will helps, coz typical function on the different stuff so it will not get spoiled easily... if you connect to the PC then better u play from there also nicer coz the graphics card from PC is better than those PS3 and Xbox360 mah...
those TV which can use USB got limitation on playing files also that is what my fren's experience on DVD player or TV which can play file in USB... better to get media player to control all the setting haha... i can tell you the quality of the movie from a media player will be better than upscaling DVD player... when i compare my DVD playing from my Xbox the quality is better than DVD player too... i duno about expensive upscaling DVD player, but lets say u spend RM300 to get a good upscaling DVD player y not spend those $$ on Media player where u can play all sort of files also...

this is my single cents... some ppl might not be able to accept this but this situation no matter how u ask at the end u make ur own preference on the things u buy smile.gif
michael9413
post May 20 2010, 09:03 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

haha... you have a lots of china brand support that BT download... try HDPro+ from bro Yangxi and Eaget M6 also... now my mind is still spinning coz have not make a full decision yet...
michael9413
post May 24 2010, 09:28 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

ya lo... further more it cannot support RMVB sad.gif

0.0123sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:48 AM