CLOSED

nightshade_nova
post Sep 13 2010, 03:27 AM

443 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Sep 12 2010, 06:37 PM)
Any idea what's the equivalent specs of this HP X23LED LCD Monitor for other brand?
I'm doing a price vs value comparison but has been baffled by a lot of "specs" that I don't really understand.
the first thing u need to know is the panel type.
TN is normal, IPS is much better picture quality.in short, IPS can make your jaw drop.hehe
second is the resolution.better search for full hd, 1920x1080 or higher.
then the input, if no hdmi, means no built in speaker, maybe leceh if you wanna plug in consoles.(like me, got a ps3)

other than that, you shouldnt worry too much, unless you work with graphics and picture editing or something.

for good deals, check this out.
save more than rm300.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1547271&hl=

nightshade_nova
post Oct 7 2010, 06:21 AM

443 posts

QUOTE(cosmicmeadow @ Oct 7 2010, 12:57 AM)
I ordered mine on 20 Sept... still nothing on the order status website, i.e. order not found!!!
Sent 2 emails to customer service thru Dell website... no response!
Credit card not yet charged though...

I have bought from Dell online multiple times... this round is the worst.
sounds like the transaction got stuck halfway through...
same like my case, not dell, but an online shop
you need to email your screenshot together...happened to me before using fpx...
the money was stuck in the middle, emailed but no response whatsoever,
they say "confirming order" for a week

after I emailed a sc(which was in my sis laptop, you dont know how hard to teach blind IT ppl), they processed my order in 2 minutes,
and dispatched it later that day
you have sc, they will process asap, if not, you'll be sitting under a pile of stuck transaction.

btw, IPS really have difference, try watching full hd movie from bluray.
but now, LED tn panels are catching up, those 120hz monitors really can display motion better, eventhough color reproduction not so good
I thought it was gimmick, until I see side by side.
120hz monitors, if you play full hd movies, sometimes looks like a recorded stage play, movement feels like the movie was recorded live. thumbup.gif
nightshade_nova
post Nov 4 2010, 05:04 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(zebras @ Nov 4 2010, 04:03 PM)
is samsung 2333tn good?
it is the cheapest 23' monitor now at rm489
its always cheapest for a reason...lol
but I think its okay la, no major issues
good for ppl with low budget

my monitor, acer h223hq has a bad gamma problem...tried to calibrate but damn hard, problem still persist sweat.gif
if watch movie, I sure change my ps3 monitor, dell u2410

nightshade_nova
post Nov 6 2010, 11:39 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(reno88 @ Nov 6 2010, 09:09 PM)
they sure will recommend you take U2311H .. DELL RM650
haha...I wont recommend dell u2311h, needs calibrating, cos iirc, every batch different, theres deviations, cant use ICC profile out of the box, not accurate
so, the full ips experience is not perfect like other factory calibrated monitors
but for the price, currently its the cheapest ips on the market. thumbup.gif

if mainly use for ps3, better get this

http://www.viewsonic.com/products/desktop-...es/vx2260wm.htm

simply because the built in speaker is the best among most monitors in the range.( but still mediocre la compared to real speakers )
plug in hdmi cable, no need to worry about anything else, good for ps3 gaming.
nightshade_nova
post Nov 11 2010, 09:20 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Nov 11 2010, 08:46 PM)
What's the best setting to use on U2410 ? Looks a little too bright sweat.gif
you might be too close to the monitor, my bro oso said too bright when he play, cos he kinda got used to the distance using old monitor.
keep the distance right and you'll be fine.
nightshade_nova
post Nov 12 2010, 12:43 PM

443 posts

http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/PixP...oad-123728.html

try download this, and if your eyes cant catch up(read the dialog in the bubble on tn panel), ips or tn panel would make no difference ( like most ppl )
it means u still see an almost blurry fast action sequence as a blurry one.I can read on tn panel, but on ips, it becomes blurred.
even ppl who can differentiate like me, doesnt too bothered by the slow response time ( except for action movies, ips panel sometimes fail, when the actions too fast, gets very blurry )

but of course, higher response time and refresh rate makes the picture fully readable with mortal eyes....muahaha
dont believe me, try the test on 120hz monitor, so easy to read the dialog bubble

layman terms:
higher response time and/or refresh rate = easy to see fast sequences, less blurred images
slow response time = on fast sequences images will get blurry/very blurry and leave silhouettes

on fps its not much of a problem, really
its just for the ppl who become nauseous when they see images blurred too much when doing quick turns in fps games
so when switch to ips, they cant play cos would make them queasy
no such thing as you lose a game cos you were seeing double, and shot your enemy's trail of shadows
ghosting on ips dont happen like the old days
only on very fast action sequences, and very rare also

so, unless you suffer from lazy eyes syndrome or something and cant catch up with fast images,
response time makes no real difference

ips WAS bad for gaming, but that was years ago,
when the ghosting leave behind 3-5mm thick silhouettes, and even burn in for a few seconds before disappear blink.gif
Now, ips is not the best for gaming, but it certainly is not that bad as ppl might think

the only problem with some ips monitor is they handle analog signal very bad
my u2410 cant handle analog signal...cant use my ps2 on it, too much ghosting rclxub.gif ....zzzz

nightshade_nova
post Nov 14 2010, 02:08 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(CallOfLegend @ Nov 13 2010, 06:18 PM)
A cheap HDMI to DVI converter come at price usually not exceeding  RM10. If u have paypal u can try buy 1 from ebay. I bought one for about RM6. Doesn't have any problem connecting my PS3 at 1080p resolution.
err...converter wont work...work only on rare cases, like yours
usually needs hdmi to dvi cable. nod.gif
nightshade_nova
post Nov 14 2010, 03:58 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(CallOfLegend @ Nov 14 2010, 03:34 PM)
I think it's more on the rare occasion that the hdmi to dvi converter won't work, such as poorly built converter or corrosion on the pins due to oxidation. In most cases it should work fine.
nope...it has something to do with hdcp, I think...dont hold me on this tongue.gif
my converter brand new also cant use la
many times d ppl bought converter and lastly resort to use hdmi to dvi cable, thats why no converter is recommended in this thread, its hit or miss

Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners

for ppl who just bought their monitors and started playing ps3, can refer there also, have all the infos

nightshade_nova
post Nov 16 2010, 06:50 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Nov 16 2010, 05:06 PM)
any1 know how much is dell U2410.
cant see any price from their website sad.gif

can share share?hehe
capriodimitri quoted a price of rm1250 for 3 years warranty, and I think theres also a seller selling here in lyn sell for rm1199.
personally, Id go with capriodimitri's, cos the extra rm50 is probably the courier's cost.
BUT!
I got my arb unit from JREnterprise for much much less brows.gif

you cant go wrong with either one.

0.0189sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:17 AM