CLOSED

MeToo
post Oct 26 2010, 06:21 PM

9,333 posts

Last weekend got the Samsung BX2450 for my wife's PC.

Last night installed it... wah lau.. first time I seen before... the screen top part is dark while the bottom part is brighter. And it's goes form dark to bright very smoothly/progressively as u scan form top to bottom doh.gif

Also, the monitor is not as sharp as I like it to be, in comparison, my Samsung P2350 looks sharper with more crisp graphics as i compare it side by side.

Tomorrow will go change a new unit and see if its better.
MeToo
post Oct 28 2010, 10:38 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 26 2010, 06:21 PM)
Last weekend got the Samsung BX2450 for my wife's PC.

Last night installed it... wah lau.. first time I seen before... the screen top part is dark while the bottom part is brighter. And it's goes form dark to bright very smoothly/progressively as u scan form top to bottom  doh.gif

Also, the monitor is not as sharp as I like it to be, in comparison, my Samsung P2350 looks sharper with more crisp graphics as i compare it side by side.

Tomorrow will go change a new unit and see if its better.
Continuation of my Samsung saga.

Took unit back to ALL-IT to change new BX2450, no stock, BX2350 no stock...

Then I take B2430, some old LCD form Samsung (by the time i abit bored liao), tested 1 unit, dead pixel, tested 2nd unit, no power at all. They took out 3rd unit, display unit, i ask them to forget it.

Finally I took the P2770H Samsung, LCD, need to topup 250+ as it retails for $1120. Tested, looks ok, fine took it home.

Install on my wife PC, eh, cannot detect at all hmm..... ok pull to my PC.. ALSO cannot detect. Maybe cable problem, I use another DVI>DVI cable. Also cannot. Then I tried the VGA>DVI cable (only my wife video card have VGA output) and it works. By now i'm REALLY pissed with Samsung liao.

Tonite, once again, will take back to try there.

2 THings here,
1) ALL-IT (PJ branch) people are reasonably helpful.
2) BAN Samsung

Added on October 28, 2010, 10:40 am
QUOTE(owikh84 @ Oct 27 2010, 12:41 PM)
Grainy or uneven brightness on Samsung LCD exists since long time ago. Some Dell LCD panels oso OEMed by Samsung having the same prob. LG Philips dont this issue but AOC is the worst amongst these LCD mfrs.
I think for me it's more the reliability of Samsung, once I finally found a working unit (my current P2350 also I needed to exchange TWICE) everything is fine and I like it. I just couldnt bring myself to trust Samsung anymore as a premium brand providing a reliable product.

So... anyone have any suggestion on a $1k+ monitor? I cannot get a refund form ALL-IT for sure...

This post has been edited by MeToo: Oct 28 2010, 10:40 AM
MeToo
post Oct 28 2010, 03:48 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Oct 28 2010, 03:19 PM)
Why not choose Dell? I don't think Dell has this kind of issue, well some people do but the numbers is small.
Go with ST2420L, my friend got it from ordering through 1 of the forumer here, you can do "dell monitor" search at Trade Section. Although it's slow delivery but the panel has premium guarantee, which not many of the local branded LCD does (I haven found any yet so far). Even with 1 bright pixels you can exchange on next business day, provided they have stock at the local agent.
And oh, they deliver to your home, same goes to warranty and service, you just need to sit back at home and relax.
Kinda too late for me, as the shop will never refund, they will allow me to change to other models/items. But I already plunk 1k+ and if I order dell means I will be spending close to 2k for a monitor sigh. Also, dell, I dont think ALL-IT carry them instore.
MeToo
post Oct 28 2010, 04:11 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Oct 28 2010, 03:52 PM)
Well, better choose other brand then, I don't really trust Samsung anymore, my last 2333SW was great disappointment, that's why I gave up on Samsung, was my best choice brand. doh.gif
Ya..... same here, imagine my dissapointment at what kind of realiability I get after buying the most expensive monitor in the whole store.

Anyway, other then Samsung (and also Dell cause that's mostly web order), what is other decent brands? AOC? LG?
MeToo
post Oct 29 2010, 11:03 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Onion-KiD @ Oct 28 2010, 07:02 PM)
but RM1120 might can get 2units 22" monitor as well.
Otherwise for nearly 1k are HP 2509p, Samsung PX2370, XL2370. ViewSonic VX2739WM?

Btw darkskies, Dell 23" IPS is not rare for their price. Thanks to mass production, massive purchase offer from many Company to manufacturer. AOC, Viewsonic, etc...

BenQ VA panel+LED blacklit caming soon. Now is a chance waiting IPS+ LED backlit from other company wakaka~ Best Best Best  thumbup.gif
Finally went to Low Yat branch to exchange the P2770H as the PJ branch dont have any stock above 700$ bah.

PX2370 is a good call, i think it's the newer version of the XL2370 which i dont think is worth the price, it's just looks slimmer/nicer but no function above the PX2370 which is actually slight cheaper (by about RM50?). I was going to get the PX2370 but alas they have another P2770H to exchange for me.

Also, I saw 2 other people buying LCD there and tested it at the service counter, the technician there did not bother to let the customer check for dead pixels, they just booted it up and show some pretty wallpaper and that's it. Buyers beware. In my case, I specifically ASK to check for dead pixel but they claim they do not have any program to display red/blue/green etc. So i had to go into windows and display solid colour wallpaer and do it manually myself.. sigh.

I also noted the Low Yat ALL-IT service counter peopel are less friendlier compared to the PJ branch.
MeToo
post Nov 1 2010, 03:19 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Oct 31 2010, 08:19 PM)
hmm.gif
nevermind, just write down those thin bezel monitors that are not available locally, I don't mind shipping them over here.

any Dell Professional or Ultrasharp users here? wanna find out the thickness of the monitor bezel.
best if both monitors come together, the bezel width must not be fatter than 1cm. Possible?
Maybe take a look at the Samsung PX2370... that might meet your needs. I myself banned samsung liao :/
MeToo
post Nov 3 2010, 11:01 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Nov 2 2010, 06:18 PM)
How about LG and Samsung?

I'm not using for gaming. Using for spreadsheet and charts. So cannot be too dull also.
A lot of Dell fan in this thread, but for me Dell's monitor, although might be good quality, the design is too old-style and "dull". I want something that looks good on my table, not some old square plastic box.

Samsung however, i lack faith in, you have to make sure you get a GOOD unit, that itself might be a real challenge...
MeToo
post Nov 3 2010, 04:35 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Nov 3 2010, 04:10 PM)
well,not being a fan of any brand here,but personally i'll take panel quality+functionality over design any given day,Those U and P series monitors are designed with function over form in mind [large stand with tilt and swivel etc,usb ports].Besides,do you look at the screen or the bezel?
Actually, can one just look at the screen and not look at the bezel/stand etc at all?

But I suppose everyone have different requirements, for me, I like something pleasant to look at. Just liek buying a car, the "look" of the car is a major consideration to many people, but when you are driving, do you even SEE the exterior of the car?

Added on November 3, 2010, 4:37 pm
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Nov 3 2010, 03:41 PM)
Dell monitors, especially the Ultrasharp and Professional series is for serious user, not for those who'll show off their monitor or for self-satisfaction, so I think myself is not the one that'll look at the cover first, panel quality come first. Samsung right now has quite poor QC after they become popular few years back, and their panel is getting out of hand, I myself have since not so fond of the brand, been fan of the CRT monitors (until 2 units broke down in 2 years, shame!).
Gotta agree Samsung QC have dropped significantly lately. Infact to the point i have personally banned them form all future purchase. My current monitor is made in Seremban.... took me 3 trips to the shop just to get a working unit...

This post has been edited by MeToo: Nov 3 2010, 04:37 PM
MeToo
post Nov 3 2010, 06:04 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Nov 3 2010, 05:02 PM)
well,i've had enough of LCDs with non adjustable stands [do they think all people have the same torso height??].It's a nightmare.If you wanna compare it to a car,my taste is for something that performs good for me,the outlook can be ultra simple for all i care,kinda like the VW Golf GTI thumbup.gif
Then again this is aesthetics,a subjective value which differs from person to person.

The current crop of AOC's Razor line of LCDs look dashing though,pity that they don't offer other panels/adjustable stands
Um.. ya.. my current monitor stand can only tilt up/down and rotate left/right. Not the best option, oh well.

As for the AOC, I actually considered/tried out their current model. But the Black/white colour scheme killed it for me.

OT : VW Golf doesnt do it for me lah, looks too... er... soft? I still prefer my 350z tongue.gif
MeToo
post Nov 4 2010, 10:53 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(jeopardise @ Nov 4 2010, 08:37 AM)
If I were u, i will buy the 3 monitor setup. more multi tasking. 27inch are too big for normal computing but very good for watching movies and gaming.
Actually that's what I thought too until i actually started using a 27". YOu can put 2 IE window side by side, etc etc.. it's convenient for workign on spreadsheet/power point as well.

Ofcourse gaming/movies needless to say.

0.0414sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:00 AM