15 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 >Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

seantang
post Oct 21 2010, 04:52 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 21 2010, 03:59 PM)
Whats fair about being blocked from using a protocol all day long? Not limited for certain periods of the day but totally blocked. I know they limit the speed after 7pm from monday to saturday and im cool with that, but totally blocking is just plain inconsiderate.
Read clause 4.6 in conjunction with 4.7... especially where it says "we (M1) shall have the right and sole discretion to determine whether the transmission violates this Agreement..."

M1 T&C

You do know what 'sole discretion' means, right?
seantang
post Oct 21 2010, 07:44 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 21 2010, 05:02 PM)
Btw, thx for taking the time to find that out for me since not everybody goes through the terms and conditions like matlock.
And that's why we have people like the idiot who wrote to New Paper complaining about "not being stopped" from using data on his mobile phone when he was roaming. His excuse... he didn't know that roaming would be so expensive because he didn't get a warning when he was surfing overseas doh.gif Laid the blame entirely on the telco for "letting him rack up a huge bill". What a douchebag.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 21 2010, 07:46 PM
seantang
post Oct 23 2010, 06:05 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 23 2010, 03:58 PM)
Funny thing is, he's been working in singapore for quite sometime so its amusing that the singapore government would arbitrarily revoke his PR. Its reasonable if the pattern also follows whereby you are not allowed to withdraw everything from your cpf, period.
How does downgrading a PR to EP make his CPF money any less withdrawable than before? If anything, that will give the now-EP holder's application to withdraw his CPF monies more basis.

seantang
post Oct 23 2010, 09:30 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Oct 23 2010, 08:46 PM)
do you want to become singaporean?
No... but I don't like to be bossed around by tuans who are inferior to me except in numbers.

seantang
post Oct 24 2010, 01:43 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Oct 24 2010, 01:38 PM)
yup.. not roaming. u will consider roaming when it change to maxis, or digi or celcom
Got to watch out though. The phone might switch networks midway during a call or data session and put you into roaming mode.

seantang
post Oct 25 2010, 11:05 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 25 2010, 10:12 AM)
In malaysia, you dont usually see worker being transported using lorries in the rain as often as i've seen them in singapore and its amusing that the country which is home to a large number of well to do citizens with LV bags are reluctant to rectify the problem.
In Malaysia, where do the foreign workers live? And in Singapore, where do they live? I think that answers why you seldom see foreign workers being transported around in Malaysia, whereas you do in Singapore. There's simply no need to.

That doesn't mean Malaysia treats their foreign workers better. Have you seen how these folks live in Malaysia, and how they live in Singapore?

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 25 2010, 11:06 AM
seantang
post Oct 25 2010, 11:26 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Oct 25 2010, 11:13 AM)
I don't count on my gov (CPF) for my retirement. I treat my CPF contribution as montly rental and medical insurance. It is a blessing for anyone who can out live the CPF withdrawer age. I will be happy, money is not so important to me at that age.
Yeah... we can't withdraw our EPF before 55 either. So what's the big deal about not being to withdraw CPF until then? Just think of CPF like a safer version of EPF.

For those folks who are not keeping up with Malaysian news... it might turn out that your CPF will be there in your old age, but your EPF will not.

EPF's RM75b for NYSE-listed mystery company?
Thu, 21 Oct 2010 11:18

By FMT Staff

KUALA LUMPUR: The government's decision to channel RM75 billion of public funds from the Employees Provident Fund to an “unknown foreign portfolio” in New York has got Indera Mahkota MP Azan Ismail worried.

"All we know at this point is that RM75 billion of EPF funds will be invested into a foreign portfolio. Who and what the portfolio is no one knows. It does not make sense.

"I'm guessing the investment is linked to the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) where the Malaysian government has a company which is listed. But todate the company remains a mystery.

"We are concerned that the EPF funds will be injected into this company to save it because this mystery company cannot sustain itself," he said.

Azan also expressed concern that there may exist a pre-arranged channel in NYSE and Prime Minister Najib Razak's announcement was a sign to prepare the channeling of public money into this mysterious company.

"I am guessing that the EPF funds will be used as capital to boost this crony company and ensure it remains listed," Azan revealed to Suara Keadilan.

seantang
post Oct 25 2010, 11:41 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 25 2010, 11:33 AM)
I do suppose the shipping container and makeshift shower and toilet facilities at an abandoned site is much better in terms of accommodations compared to malaysia's foreign workers accommodations.
How about an attap and plywood shack with no running water or sewage at a construction site sound? Ever wondered why so many 'newly completed' houses in Malaysian housing projects always seem to have toilets that have been overused, even if they are supposed to be brand new?

Anyway, I have never actually seen any FWs in Singapore live in containers before. Most of the ones I've seen live in dormitories... overcrowded, yes, but still dorms.
seantang
post Oct 26 2010, 12:22 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Oct 26 2010, 12:03 AM)
Even among singaporeans, there are some who are so call under pay.  I know because I am one of them.  What to do? look for another job?  at my age, not easy to get another job paying me my current pay.  Look at what is in the papers and the kind of requiement they ask for, either too high level for me or just not likely to even match my current pay.
If it's not easy to get another job that matches your current pay, how did you come to the conclusion that you're underpaid? If you're currently getting paid an amount which comes with requirements that are too high for you, or that nobody else will match... doesn't that mean you're overpaid? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 26 2010, 12:26 AM
seantang
post Oct 29 2010, 08:15 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Oct 29 2010, 10:18 AM)
bad news... my EP got rejected by MOM... any1 know the reason why??
I will ask the Director General of ICA and find out for you when I see him for dinner tonight. Don't worry.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 29 2010, 08:17 PM
seantang
post Oct 30 2010, 11:18 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Oct 30 2010, 09:11 AM)
License conversion you need to get a letter from JPJ for your driving records. You just tell them you wanna apply for foreign driving license (Singapore). I just get the letter recently (1 month ago), they didn't take my Malaysian license like what they did previously.
No kopi money, right?

If you don't mind sharing, which JPJ branch did you get it from? I hope it's the same at Ipoh branch. I'll try again my next trip back. Previous tries, they always insisted on blacklisting my Malaysian license unless I umm... distract their attention with kopi.

Added on October 30, 2010, 11:26 am
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Oct 30 2010, 09:28 AM)
Don't like those Singapore bike coz Modernas Elegant is my dream bike and its not available in SG.
Get a big bike in Singapore lah. BMW, Ducatis, Harleys... all fairly reasonable in SG and the best is that you can park it in public without being afraid that it'll be jacked.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 30 2010, 11:26 AM
seantang
post Oct 30 2010, 01:41 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Oct 30 2010, 11:52 AM)
And buying a bike in SG cannot get loan la. buy in Malaysia i can get loan tongue.gif
I think you can get loans for big bikes. For kapcais and Passolas, you might be right.

seantang
post Oct 31 2010, 07:37 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Oct 31 2010, 07:12 PM)
btw, is there any composite, polymer or metal manufacturing company there?? anybody got the list of the company website?? next time mayb i can look for job in those industries... lolzzzz...
Polymer... you mean polyolefins and elastomers etc?

If so, Exxon is the biggest in terms of having a mfg asset on the ground. There's also Mitsui. Most chemical MNCs have a regional or Asia HQ in Singapore, where their sales, marketing, tech service and R&D people are based. Huntsman for instance, even has their global coatings HQ in Singapore.

seantang
post Nov 1 2010, 03:01 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ Nov 1 2010, 02:10 PM)
I heard AMK is kind of dangerous. Any comments?
Danger from what? And heard from whom?

seantang
post Nov 1 2010, 04:14 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ Nov 1 2010, 03:38 PM)
I actually heard from a friend staying in tampines.
Your friend from Tampines said that AMK was in danger from what?

seantang
post Nov 1 2010, 06:01 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ Nov 1 2010, 04:22 PM)
robberies. I was kind of shocked to hear that as I know Sg is pretty safe.
More dangerous than the rest of Singapore?

Did your friend say why?

seantang
post Nov 2 2010, 08:40 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 2 2010, 02:02 AM)
what you have checked is merely the use of Sg registered vehicles . We are talking about is the use of foreign registered vehicles in Sg, so your post is irrelevant.
I think the nationality of driving licence a foreigner can use in Singapore is not dependent on the nationality of vehicle driven.

The SPF regulates who (can drive with what licence). The verbiage says work/student/dependent pass holders can drive in Sg with their foreign driving licence for up to 12 months. The operational term is drive (the act of driving) and it is silent of what is being driven... which I think covers any motor vehicle.

The LTA regulates what (can be driven).

http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/mot...de_overview.htm

Singapore citizens, permanent residents (regardless of their place of residence), student pass holders, long term social visit pass holder and residents of Singapore are NOT allowed to use or keep any foreign-registered vehicles in Singapore.

WORK PASSES

Any work pass holder, who is neither a Singapore Permanent Resident (SPR) nor a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered car and motorcycle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:
a) he is the registered owner of the vehicle ;
b) he does not have a permanent residential address in Singapore and returns to his country of origin on a daily basis ;
c) the vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more everyday ;
d) he has a valid insurance certificate and road tax for the use of the vehicle on Singapore roads ; and
e) the vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry/exit at Woodlands and Tuas checkpoints and for payment of Vehicle Entry Permit/Toll charges.

Please note that a work pass holder who is also a SPR or resident of Singapore is not allowed to drive a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore.

This post has been edited by seantang: Nov 2 2010, 08:41 AM
seantang
post Nov 2 2010, 09:14 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 2 2010, 09:04 AM)
that's why i say the information in the website is very confusing. later i will call up LTA and check with them then give u guys the correct information.

You have to call both LTA (to ask what car nationality) and SPF (to ask what driving licence nationality). These are 2 separate issues.
seantang
post Nov 2 2010, 12:40 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 2 2010, 11:59 AM)
Lester1987 meet all those criteria and I don't see any rules that is preventing him from riding his bike daily into Sg. I have many friends doing the same thing year after year. I used to do this myself many years back. This is not something new.
Yes, nothing is preventing him from bringing a Malaysian bike onto Singaporean roads indefinitely if he meets LTA's conditions.

But in order to legally ride that bike (or any bike) in Singapore after 12 months, as a work pass holder, he will need to have a Singapore driving licence.

QUOTE(Mackiddo)
He is going to use a Malaysia registered bike, so obviously he needs a Malaysia driving license.
A licence which he can use in Singapore for 12 months after getting his work pass. Thereafter he needs a Singaporean driving licence to ride that Malaysian registered bike (or any bike for that matter) in Singapore.

Like I said, driver regulation and vehicle regulation are two different issues regulated by two different authorities.

This post has been edited by seantang: Nov 2 2010, 12:44 PM
seantang
post Nov 2 2010, 02:17 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 2 2010, 01:56 PM)
nope. that only applies to Sg registered bike, not Msia registered bike.

He could use his Malaysia license to ride Sg registered bike for 12 months, after 12 months, as a work pass holder, he will need to have a Singapore driving licence. This does not apply to Malaysia registered bike. To ride a Malaysia registered bike in Sg, you need a valid Malaysia driving license, and must not be PR or Singaporean, must not have an residential address in Sg if you are on WP.
I don't think Traffic Police care what bike you're riding. That's LTA because controlling the vehicle population is their responsibility.

All TP cares about is if you're properly licensed to ride a bike (any bike) in Singapore, because controlling the driver population & driving behaviour is their responsibility. And from the TP website, a work pass holder cannot drive/ride using a foreign licence beyond 12 months after the pass is issued. I'm not sure how you interpret the following as being applicable to some vehicles but not to others:
A foreigner above 18 years of age and holding a Work Pass/Dependent Pass/Student Pass may drive in Singapore with a valid class 3, 3A or 2B foreign licence, for a period of not more than 12 months. A Singapore driving licence is required after 12 months.
Anyway, if you are not convinced by the way TP has worded their rules, Lester can confirm when he gets through to TP.

Added on November 2, 2010, 2:21 pm
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 2 2010, 01:56 PM)
only this one applies to you ;

WORK PASSES

Any work pass holder, who is neither a Singapore Permanent Resident (SPR) nor a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered car and motorcycle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:

don't get confused with the regulations of driving Sg registered vehicles in Singapore. That is totally out of the topic.
Like I said. The licensing of drivers and the regulation of vehicle population are 2 separate matters controlled by 2 separate authorities. Lester is doing the right thing calling up both authorities up to make sure.

This post has been edited by seantang: Nov 2 2010, 02:27 PM

15 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 >Top

0.0256sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:28 PM