QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 9 2011, 06:54 PM)
Yes you are right. 80% of the people lose money. Only 20% can make little money. Please stay away from this industry.
Are you trying to discourage newbies like me to venture into this industry?V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus
Apr 10 2011, 07:17 PM
8 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Apr 10 2011, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 10 2011, 08:03 PM) I'm telling the truth from the perspective of a BH owner myself. 80% failure and 20% success for new BH is the industry norm, There wasn't any intention to encourage or discourage, just stating the fact. Don't tell me no one warn you about this popular 80:20 failure ratio before you decided to stick your head out ? A few more years down the road, the failure rate might even increase to 90% given the fact that new BHs are mushrooming non stop every where in Malaysia. Thanks for your explaination. I knew about the 80:20 from other books on swiftlet farming and BH blogs including this one. However, my impression is that the 20% success actually representing those who is earning lots of money. Maybe 80% ? |
Apr 12 2011, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(West Wing @ Apr 11 2011, 08:37 PM) TQ for your feedback and praying that you are wrong cos I have and need to invest about Rm800K for my new Agriland BH and should be ready in afew months time if all go well. If you are right, then I will lose alot of money.......One thing good about me is that I have full confidence and faith....and should I fail, I won't regret it as I did the BH as I see what Agriland BH should be to prevent burglary....and also open space for the free flying swiftlets. Thanks all sifus for the feedbacks.Newbiz who want to venture into the industry, never fall prey to Ecopark as you have too many totally new BHs to attract birds and please only do so at good location to give yourself a better chance to succeed In afew days time, I shall be taking a buyer to see a newly build 3S BH (0 nest) with an acre of land costing Rm500K and the location is good but then too many Bhs in the vicinity. This area has many BHs over thousands of nests but then with tens of BHs coming up, who is going to be successful will depend on his ability to lure the birds into the BH..And maybe, that the very reason the seller want to sell the newly build BH as he is scare that he may fail.....but at Rm500K, he make some profit without taking risk. Just bought a small old rubber plantation located near the endau-rompin forest reserve. I have the intention to build a 3S BH and aiming to become a rich BH owner. I would still wish to go ahead with my plans but with lots of cautions...based on the useful feedbacks from this blog. Wow! WW invested $800K for a BH...Must be a big one.. Cheers |
Apr 13 2011, 08:49 PM
[quote=cowboy9686,Apr 12 2011, 09:15 PM]Hi Bro, Congrate that you had make your first step. May I know how much you intend to invest on your BH? how big it is? how much you spend on building it? Thank you for your reply =)
[/quote] Thanks... The small rubber plantation is surrounded by oil palm plantations on 3 sides. Observed some swiftlet-like activity after rain. River is about 1.5-2 km away. The endau-rompin forest reserve about 5-8 km away. Food supply is expected to be plentifull. Nearest BH (about 5of them) is about 6-8 km away. However, I believed it is safer to get some sifu to perform bird-call test and look at the location before going further. If the location is as good as expected, I intend to build a 3S BH. I heard that the cost of a typical stand alone 20 X 80 X3S BH easily above 300K. Btw, I heard that there are cheaper types of BHes but not sure how lasting they are. Pls give me your feedback! Cheers Added on April 13, 2011, 9:00 pm Added on April 13, 2011, 10:14 am Bro, With over an acre of Land costing Rm300K and it's only 70 by 70. A normal 3S BH will cost anything from Rm200K to Rm300K depend on how you want your BH to be. A friendly reminder: Rubber and Swiftlets don't mix and the reason must be from the latex so you need to make a large clearing... [/quote] Thanks WW... Ya.... Read about the swiftlet-rubber conflict in the earlier version of this blog. It could be due to the ammonia solution that rubber tapper use to prevent early hardening of latex. I agree that a larger clearance might help...... Cheers This post has been edited by mcbwsh: Apr 13 2011, 09:00 PM |
May 25 2011, 08:38 AM
[quote=swiftletasia,May 24 2011, 10:01 PM]
Hi Mr West Wing, Details will be sent to you via email, do talk and visit us for ensurity and buy back RM 432 K and not RM 430K and correction not RM 300K but RM 298 K .Profit much better then bank is correct as here go the maths, after 5 years and there are more then 200 nest inside, assuming we have buyer for RM 800 per nest ( RM 800 X 200= 160,000) + building cost RM 298,000= RM 458,000 and if they are taking loan then we just pay back the outstanding. By that time our 4 star resort as well as building appreciation already increase as surrounding land appreciation had tripple since 2009. Easy as that. We had alsready do the maths before we offer to sale. We do give ppl loan of 50 % as we are confident the success. And payment will be by progressive payment which are paid to our lawyer as stakeholder. This is semi- govt project and what we are doing here is for more job oportunity for our procesing plants as well as to build up future funds to make this kampung a bird nest attractions center. Yes win win situation Mr west Wing and i hope this forum are here to bring swiftlet farming to greatest heights as well as to bring unity to all farmers. No nest you win, got nest you also win. We hope everyone can profit like what you had profit from selling off your kemaman swiftlet house and redo a few more swiftlet farm. This is what every member wishes and we hope get your support , advise and technics of how to be as successful as your swiftlet farm. Do come and visit us as food, lodging and transport provided. If you are from Sibu, it took 2 hours drive to that designations. Using our boat 45 minutes subject to weather. Mr West Wing, do invest on us as it is fully supported by our sarawak govt as well as this is only 16 units for grab as 4 of them will belong to local community. Please check mail ya.. Thanks Thanks for the info. However, I am not sure whether we can get RM800 per-nest (as in your calculation). I thought it is about RM50 per-nest. Best |
Jul 21 2011, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(West Wing @ Jul 19 2011, 05:59 PM) From what I heard, the formal course attended cannot be use as the V-dept comes up with a new 1GP course and to get the license to operate, one must has the new 1GP certificate; again another fees to pay to the V-Department and the course is similar to the formal course provided by the V-Dept, I can predict. Hi WW,Oyes, the 1GP booklet will be sold for Rm15 and can be obtain @ V-Dept thru internet and Dr. F stressed that no one should photostat the booklet as it's copyrighted and copying is a serious offence.......... copyright OK but why don't allow Malaysians in the buz to copy if cannot get one copy which The authorities want all in the buz to know and follow; let all copy and learn if that's what the Govt. wants. Again that's my personal opinion only. I have decided to try building a BH in a rubber plantation. The size is about 4 acres. Three sides of the plantation are planted with mature palm oil trees. One side is directly next to the main (chaah-bekok) road. River is about 2-3 km away. Nearest BH about 4-5 km away. It looks like the flying path for swiftlet. Location: 3km away from Bekok town. Before starting anything, I would need help in performing the "bird-call" to determine the success rate. It would be great if you are willing to help. Cheers |
Jul 21 2011, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(Ayah Embong @ Jul 21 2011, 03:05 PM) bro, Thanks Ayah embong for your advice!!!you can do yourself on bird test... when we just started, abt 3 yrs ago a good friend paid 'well known" consultant RM 1500 to do a bird test. excluding food and lodging we were a bunch of fools, we thought "bird test" is like , mining gold and or looking for oil, where we need expert to do.. and the report was encouraging " land suitable for swiftlet farming" he built a massive 50 x 160 , 4 storey.. after one year only 1 nest.. ... so bro, diy and evaluate your own bird test.. again to me, rubber plantation is a no no.. but it is your money.. who knows. Added on July 21, 2011, 3:08 pmhere. sam's site. http://swiftfarmequipments.blogspot.com/ |
Jul 22 2011, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(Bobby C @ Jul 22 2011, 09:28 AM) Wow, $1500 for a simple test?! Tat must be well known CONMAN! Thanks Bobby and all who kindly gave their feedback....Sam in Klang selling a testing set like $500. You can hire like $100 or $50 if not mistaken for a day. Want cheaper, go to Jln Pasar, get a set of amp player wth dc supply. Either get a batt or pluck into car dc supply and wallah, you own a test machine less than $250. In the past, amp and player separated. Now amp come with player so easy just plug and play. Conman will obsolete one day but again as Uncle Ben said, 'there is a sucker born everyday'. When I first started 3 yrs ago, 1st thing I found was this is a con industry. $5 stuff they can sell at $100 claiming gold will dropping from sky with this Muster Piece. Newbie no choice got to learn from books and some reliable courses like Pak Hen in order to verify truth and lies before entering. If not just learn the hard way, pay to the nose, pay all ur retirement funds and learn from some Conmen. Not saying Con-sultants all lying but u get slaughter lah when u believe birds will suck in like vacuum machine into ur bh with their kungfu or magic. Tat's the fact of swiftlet industry. There is no watchdog or regulation oversee the Conmen. Any Hairy Crabi Dicki and Tommi can be Con-sultant. I agree that getting a really reliable and sincere consultant is challenging but it is important to have a good start in this business. We can buy good audio equipments and CDs and DIY, but tips from the swiftlet wisemen with decades of experience are essential for newbies to fall within the 20% success rate. Cheers mcbwsh |
| Change to: | 0.0546sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:08 PM |