V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

lainux
post Dec 27 2010, 07:13 PM

650 posts

If someone has a piece of land, and the surrounding already have bird houses, is it still OK to build another bird house?

is it advisable to JV for BH? if i own land, and the partner builds the house and manages it. How should a JV like this work? 50/50?
lainux
post May 25 2011, 12:12 PM

650 posts

Talked to Mr Han, does sound like a nice guy. If it is true, it is quite an investment.

Anyone feel like visiting the site?
lainux
post May 31 2011, 02:01 PM

650 posts

Just curious, as when you say flight path, what actually does it mean?

do you mean flying path of swiftlets into other ppl's BH? or when you do the bird call test, where they are coming from and leaving?

I just finished the V3, and took me quite a long time to go thru. Now starting v1 and only on page 16 only.

My brother and I will try to venture into this hobby. Will be building one his factory in Ipoh. Since open roof is the mother of all entrance, so it should be ok for a factory w/o musang or owls? The concern is now the windblow, rain & brightness?
lainux
post May 31 2011, 10:54 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ May 31 2011, 08:39 PM)
Dear Friend,

This isn't a hobby; a serious investment for the future esp. retirement but if you can afford to make a habby, that will be nice. Going there every sunset and observe the birds cycling and going into the BH. It's really so enjoyable and I believe it's good for health like looking at green or fishes cos it relax the body and mind.

Good suggestion, and the birds will thank you for it as just leaving the bld. to the birds and in  years to come, you shall have great great grand parent to great great grand swiftlets. You shall see birdnests that you never see before, maybe 10 layers nests and coming to birds matter, I wish to let newbizs know that in most successful BHs, during proper harvesting, you shall see so many birds at one location like you saw in the adv. for hormone or perfume. As we  light up the floor, the about to fledged birds will be scared and fly to the darker area of the floor and if I am to take a picture, my solution will definitely sell like hot cake with hundred of young birds at the end of the floor. I did tried to take picture to share with my handphone even lately, Apple 4, all pictures don't come out good.

Remember, not that smell isn't important but we do get similar effect during harvesting nests so pls. no cursing for sellers.

Oyes, flying path is like if you are catching fishes and where to you place your net and it is similar to that. If your BH isn't in the path of the swiftlets, the entrance should be facing the path of the swiftlets and some swiftlets may come to examine your BH after hearing your call of love ( swiftlets sound with tweeters). Got it??
when we did the tests, the birds sort of flying from different directions, about 3. In this case, should I have 3 entrances? or just pick a main one, and other side entries for other directions?

is it normal to have diff results when doing bird call tests? even when we do it at the same time, sometimes the number of birds is just very low. Sometimes after rain, you can see 100-200 birds. Does that mean, it is OK? as we recently found out, the neighbor nearby has been doing it for 1 yr now. According to him, not tht great, I am assuming at least there are birds or nest in his BH. Some birds do fly from his BH's direction.

not really hobby la... just dun wanna sound money face ma! actually it was my idea for my elder bro to do this, since he is approaching retirement age, and the factory is giving him a headache to manage.

PS: my bro actually attended Harry's seminar which isn't cheap!
lainux
post Jun 1 2011, 10:45 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ May 31 2011, 11:01 PM)
2 types of flight paths, 

1 :    external where the birds fly to and from their feeding grounds from their original homes.

2 :    internal where the birds fly into and out of the BH, to and from their nesting areas.

Initial attraction of the birds require that we call them from as near as possible to their external flight paths as otherwise they might not be attracted by the caller. This criteria is getting less critical in areas where there is already a large population of birds from existing BHs.

Then when they circle the new BH, the internal flight path has to be conducive to the way the birds fly so that they will feel safe and secure. Bad flight paths within the BH will stop the birds from entering, eg. too many partitions or small turning radius. Later when there are young birds they might not be able to leave the BH being unable to navigate the BH.
thanks for the great info.

i have seen a few designs, some of the designs are really like a maze inside, with many partitions. Went to friend's farms at Tanah Merah, their designs are very simple, no partitions at all. Just a big empty place. The only partition is at the entrance to block out sunlight.

did read some info about VIP room, and some ppl saying there is playing room as well. very confused. Will continue to read thru V1.
lainux
post Jun 2 2011, 10:20 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(oneup @ Jun 2 2011, 10:07 AM)
lainux,

From your post, I think it was safe to say that you didn't do enough research on the business. Like most of the seniors here would say, most information about the business are already all over the internet. You have to use your own observation and intel to filter those that work for you best. Without in depth research, you are bound to hit the nail.

Most basic requirement for someone to be successful in this business is to b interested and keep digging information while observing yourself. Reason being that there are too many information available for you to choose from.

For Example.
Difference in location, method on starting can vary alot.
Difference in location can mean
- Different sunset time
- Different food location thus diff flight path
- Wind speed
and so on...

Also, beware of conmen in the industry...
Gravity,

Going to seminar could b very useful, but information provided are only entry level. I would say information provided in V1, V2, V3 of this thread way surpasses what can the seminars offer. Just take your time, and read everything.
in fact, there is so much info on the web, and many blogs do not really teach, just promoting their products and services. Info available is bit here, bit there. No structural info like other things. So, my feeling is, best way to learn and clear doubt is to ask and by participating in a discussion.

lainux
post Jun 2 2011, 04:49 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(oneup @ Jun 2 2011, 03:15 PM)
lainux,

Exactly, like what you say, the information are available in bits and pieces and some are even contradicting, which confuses ppl... That is y it is important for you to pick up pieces of information that is relevant to you. My first impression of ppl in the industry is "secretive". To those ppl who are sharing their information to me, I felt that they are not telling me all, however overtime I notice that it is not that ppl are not sharing. But the fact that things that work for A might not work for B. However you could still learn from what they say.

But to truly learn is to have an actual BH for you to observe. After awhile, you will notice alot of things. Like timing of birds visiting, returning. How to differentiate between visitors and residents.

Added on June 2, 2011, 3:27 pm

I agree with most of the things said here, the saying that swiftlet are afraid of brightness is wrong... They do not fear the light as i've seen swiftlet build their nest at total bright places and I notice that swiftlet at my BH are not bothered by the light that switched on at the entrance of the BH as they still zoom in and out freely. From what I read of the internet, they rely on echo of their clicks interpulse periods to navigate in total darkness.

I also heard from alot of Sifus that swiftlet have very good smelling sense.

One thing tho, my BH planks are made of cement, so I don't see birds hit hard on it YET. But I can't confirm as yet because my BH is fairy new. Mayb the birds in the city are more used to wooden planks rather than cement.
Yup, still browsing and digesting as much as I can.

regarding the planks you used. I did see another new BH that is using cement plank. How is it compared to wooden planks? Is it cheaper to build or easier to maintain? That BH i saw is damn BIG and TALL! I think like 5-6 storey high!! Some concrete planks, some wooden.

lainux
post Jun 4 2011, 11:18 PM

650 posts

Just curious, anyone from Ipoh area? Or puchong? Who wants to TT for some bird talk? mainly me asking questions lah... hahaha... can talk cock also... :-)

Added on June 5, 2011, 1:58 amGosh, after another week of reading, i am only at V1 page 60!!! Finally our legendary WestWing showed up somewhere around pg50+....

Don't know when I can finish reading....

This post has been edited by lainux: Jun 5 2011, 02:51 AM
lainux
post Jun 6 2011, 10:06 AM

650 posts

OK, here is my design(to be exact, my bro's design).

It is a simple one. The roving area is 3 storeys high. We do this for safety concern, cause we are afraid to fall into the hole, like many that we saw, very scary.

the staircase is outside to avoid disturbing the birds. There is a missing door on ground floor, which is on the roving area.

We intend to open 2 holes on each floor for birds to fly into the nesting areas. on the drawing, currently only 1. But should be 2 to observe the internal flying path.

Added on June 6, 2011, 11:14 amYesterday went to Tg Sepat, n that place is full of BH.

At that agri land, and i think there are like 20-30 BH. At the moment, about 5-6 are being built or about ready. My question is, when there are already 10 BH within 500m radius, is it still wise to build another? I am sure the new BH will all be competing for new birds in that area, but will it have enough? So is it better to wait another yr or 2 to have more birds or start competing now? I am sure, even when you wait another yr or 2, ppl still continue to build BH during that time. haha...

I will post some pix of BH i saw at that area.

This post has been edited by lainux: Jun 6 2011, 11:14 AM

lainux
post Jun 6 2011, 10:34 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 6 2011, 09:27 PM)
How do you access to the open roof ?
Sudden bright light shinning in and air turbulence in nesting room when u open the doors at 1st and 2nd floor in the noon time. Your birds may not like the disturbances but thieve would prefer this stair case design.
Good questions.

Originally we din think we needed to go up the roof, now i think we need for maintenance purpose.

We are not so worried about the thieve as of now, since this is inside a factory, and there are workers living there. But, will put that in mind again. To cut down the light, maybe will need to set up a partition wall inside. Or just move the stair case to the roving area.

Now I realized my design is quite similar to yours when you posted yours in V1. Just read about ur post today after me posting mine. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif (still at pg 79)

What is your final design? And is it successful?

This post has been edited by lainux: Jun 6 2011, 10:45 PM
lainux
post Jun 14 2011, 01:59 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(benchai @ Jun 14 2011, 01:30 PM)
My Sifu Pak quote ( I teach you to self diagnosis the problem with your BH and how to retify the problem  ) unquote . But this come with years of research and experience from all the failures and mistake made on the way! Each BH and different areas is unique .
pardon my intrusion.

But, it doesn't hurt to state your case for study, right? it will benefit everyone if we can collect all problem cases for reference in the future.

lainux
post Jun 21 2011, 12:43 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jun 20 2011, 08:47 PM)
Still with the topic on height and BH construction.

Why do we choose a certain height if we have the chance to do so unlike town building, there is no way but to do it at the height and try to renovate with lest destruction to the building.

But to do a BH @ agriland, let imagination go wild so why restrict yourself to the basic design of BHs. We do know the requirements of doing BH but we can do better by improving the design from the eye of the bird.

Now, coming to the height and why do we choose a certain height?? Consideration from the points of the birds and human being to be taken into account but then, whose comes first.....BIRDS of course and if no birds then why bother to build a BH better build a nice palace. Other considerations will only be consider if such action allowable for the birds.

Human factors come second but if possible, then win, win method should apply. Building a BH high is to give freedom of flight and comfort for the birds and also less stress. A man is about 6feets and the bird need 3 feets, so a BH should be at least 9 feets and not less. Here, we are taking about new fledged birds which will definately find difficulties to fly in restricted and too small the space and so why not give them the comfort and space. Birds happy, we happy, birds make nests, we sell nests.

But then, when we take consideration on dust and polution from the floor (we are not going to sweep the floor every month, are we), we build it higher the better so we add a few feet to it and make it 12 feets.

But then, those human predators!!! We add much much more height and if possible and from what I understand, pole  higher than 12 feets is impossible to control well so I will build my Agriland BH at 15 feets (taking consideration that ladder higher than 12 feets is risky) to be safe from human predators in case they succeed in tearing down my 2 metal doors. hopefully, the height will prevent them or at least slower them for totally destroying my nests. My prime concerns are for the chicks and eggs but surely, if by doing so, I can make my money, that's an additional bonus for being such a nice and concerned guy.

So, have a nice day
at 15' high, what kind of mechanism are you going to apply to harvest the nest? if the mechanism is left in ur BH, wouldnt the thief able to use it to harvest ur nest as well? r u using scalfolding?

as I am building mine, i am happy to learn from the sifus!

lainux
post Jun 28 2011, 10:45 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Rangnok @ Jun 28 2011, 11:59 AM)
Your are right, designing according to the bird preference is priority i.e. 90'c corner is much better.  Furthermore, current valuation of bird house, per nest fetching at Rm1000 easily almost regardless corner or cup nest. Therefore, concentrate on constructing fast grow design is priority. Value of each harvest is lesser, but counter back with fast grow, i think after all is balance and higher in value.
Will do my BH by saving money by leaving the corners alone!

Nice talking to you the other day!!
lainux
post Jun 30 2011, 02:08 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Jun 29 2011, 10:40 PM)
Sifus,
Would appreciate if I receive some critique on the following design
Thank you in advance.
[attachmentid=2303474][attachmentid=2303477]
quite similar to my previous design. plz kindly share your opinions, i also wanna know the cons!
lainux
post Jun 30 2011, 10:41 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(htc @ Jun 30 2011, 09:52 AM)
your birds will be last to know sunrise
assuming that knowing sunrise is important, can I install an automatic gate to open at 7am and close at 730am to let light in? or can i on a light at the roving area to simulate sunrise for easier installation?
lainux
post Jul 3 2011, 10:21 AM

650 posts

Since there is a hot discussion on the design as of now, let me submit mine for more critics.

What do all u sifus think?

lainux
post Jul 3 2011, 04:08 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Jul 3 2011, 10:48 AM)
are you being serious?    rclxub.gif
of course i am serious. why, really that bad?

0.0718sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:44 PM