V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

Engineer Lee
post May 24 2010, 11:38 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ May 16 2010, 06:01 PM)
mois, have you heard of about the 3 issues highlighted by Cergau? Which association do you belong too and whether your friends in the business are also aware of these problems? Can you help to spread around and whether it's a threat to them?

Beofre that, which forum did you find any discussion about the swiftlet industry.

Im just doing some fact finding whether there's another planet/group/life/www/forum etc that shares the same stories like the one in lowyat. We don't want to be isolated group not knowing that there are other active groups in the malay forums or community from another world that could also spread the news together.
Link to this forum, my friend :
swiftlet farming business

This post has been edited by Engineer Lee: May 24 2010, 11:40 PM
Engineer Lee
post Jun 30 2010, 10:48 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jun 29 2010, 07:05 PM)

Just bought 2 acre of agriculture land for Rm320K and that's very expensive.

What to do as I have been waiting for the price to drop and it still go up due to the swiftlets fever...................just last year, the same area, per acre is only Rm45K and Rm100K last month and now Rm130K and it must be crazy. If I don't buy it, I am sure by the time I die, I still be planing to buy!!!!!!

So I closed both eyes and buy cos if I die. Some of my friends must be laughing as I told them that it's too expensive to buy agriculture land at such high price as no oil palm or rubber tree can generate enough even for the interest and I went and buy!!!!! So silly of me!!!!!
RM320K for 2 acres, must be near to the road, considered very cheap already.

Nowadays, with RM320k, in Penang island, we only can buy half of a double storey terrace house, which land area not more than 1400 sqft.

Come to Johor lah, u can still find an acre less than RM80K agriculture land. laugh.gif
Engineer Lee
post Jan 10 2011, 04:41 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(jeffwpl @ Jan 9 2011, 03:56 PM)
hahaha...i know what u mean now! thx. nod.gif
by the way, juz browsed thru the v1 & found one of sifu mentioned this:
1) 1kg of birdshit mix 1 litre of water, then ferment it for 10days
2) add fish oil in the ratio of 1:3 birdshit solution

however, fish oil hmm.gif ...where to get from the market instead of making ourself? or any alternative? e.g. duckegg?
notworthy.gif  icon_question.gif
QUOTE(West Wing @ Jan 10 2011, 11:29 AM)
Things that you don't understand is best not to use if you are trying to lure birds and not shark or eagle......these are swiftlets and the very reason for the Bird shit (not even human's) will be the same. Mixture percentage isn't an important for you are trying to make your building just like the swiftlet's home so the smell will definately attract the swiftlets into the building.... to be a birdhouse if you do it well.

Some posting @ forum are trying to make fool out of the newbizs by posting alot of nonsenses. To us, all shit smell like shit anyway but to sensitive swiftlets, swiftlets shits are swiftlets' and no other smell is the same........so, just leave experimenting to the old hand who can afford to so as their swifltets will never leave even if we try hard to chase them away; they will return again and again until they give up and that's they will.

Newbizs best try out those tested ways so as to be safe....for to you, every head is counted, I mean the swifltets and you will be worried if your BH fall short of afew but to those successful ones, a hundred missing, they still don't know.

One crazy friend that I met even suggested adding some "Kuat" pills to the humidifiers as he found that most of his birds aren't active in love making during the monsoon time and maybe they just need a booster dose to get the birds going hahaha and that he did and after afew days, he told us that it wasn't working but then, he has already thousands of birds in his BH and has no worry at all...just that we all have a good laugh over his stupidity.. have fun
Fully agreed with what brother WW said.

Been to a very successful BH. Full of birds inside. Even u switch off the sound & on the light, they are still there. To harvest the nest, u have to face the lice problem. The lice likes to hide behind your ears. So everyone has to take bath b4 leaving the BH.

Back to removing of the cement smell.

The owner told me he never tried any aroma before in his BH. All he used is only bird shit + water and ..

a traditional way to remove smell by burning charcoal & heat up a pot with water inside (old type lampe berger, haha laugh.gif )..

Even though I have never tried this, but I think it should work to absorb the smell.

Just my humble 2 kupang. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Engineer Lee: Jan 10 2011, 04:43 PM

0.0638sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:19 AM