mastering89

cobra soon? hehe
albnok
post May 9 2010, 11:07 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

mastering89: Nice! Now only if it was out of focus a bit to look like the background... the D90 shot is overexposed by 1/3rd of a stop (from the EXIF) and the umbrella has blown highlights.

The Alphas tend to save highlights when metering, hence you can still make out detail in the umbrella. The rest is just weaker DRO+ compared to ADL set to High. On the A450-A900 you can use DRO Level 5 to get the same effect of brighter midtones.

I have edited your A350 shot:

I pulled up the midtones to simulate ADL/DRO Level 5. Notice that the umbrella's highlights are still there.

Nice one on the bullet train!

fansoption: For #2 and #3 you still need to pick one subject.

wingster: The Tokina 50-135mm F2.8 is not in A-mount but it's okay since they haven't gotten round to making in-lens motors for A-mount. The Sigma 50-150mm F2.8 with HSM would be more appealing.

cassplayer: I like how your cars go the other way - could be one way to differentiate your shots from Kul | Mo0's!
ieR

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ May 9 2010, 10:56 PM)
Kul | Mo0 : ya i know , but is the d90 color produced original like that or tweaked?
but i love the dynamic range and fps... even in dark with shutter speed 1/50 fps is better than my a350. (yes i cant compare, i know laugh.gif )

neo_lam : hehe now i usually use vivid set saturation +2....

ieR : haha true, but now price go down already lagi make me fikir alot  hmm.gif  d90  hmm.gif  d90  hmm.gif  d90
well, sadly, seriously, the A350 is to VS D60 and D3/5k ler... u cant take it to vs D90...

its like i go nikon group and take their D60/3/5k to VS the A550 ler... that is plain ignorance. dont do that. (but that will poison a lot of D60/3/5k user to the orange side LOL)
Kul | Mo0

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

cassplayer
post May 9 2010, 11:09 PM

FFFUUUU
3,375 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ May 9 2010, 11:07 PM)
cassplayer: I like how your cars go the other way - could be one way to differentiate your shots from Kul | Mo0's!
He took from across the road laugh.gif

At Paddock Pit whistling.gif
zstan
post May 9 2010, 11:09 PM

15,856 posts

@cassplayer
nice shot wei bro!! personally i like those shots where we can see those advertisements which are blurred...then u can get the feel of the sports car 'flying' past..
neo_lam
post May 9 2010, 11:11 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ May 9 2010, 11:07 PM)
well, sadly, seriously, the A350 is to VS D60 and D3/5k ler... u cant take it to vs D90...

its like i go nikon group and take their D60/3/5k to VS the A550 ler... that is plain ignorance. dont do that. (but that will poison a lot of D60/3/5k user to the orange side LOL)
poison them with a550 with high ISO will even turn D90 user to orange region..lol
Kul | Mo0
post May 9 2010, 11:12 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

whistling.gif
albnok
post May 9 2010, 11:13 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

mastering89: Here's another version, with even stronger pulled midtones:

And here's something from the A700 with DRO Level 5:

Kul | Mo0
post May 9 2010, 11:14 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

albnok : Banyak banyak hijau oh! Havent really played DRO level 5 before. LOL. I know it turns bleached hair into orange! YUCKS!
ieR
post May 9 2010, 11:16 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ May 9 2010, 11:13 PM)
mastering89: Here's another version, with even stronger pulled midtones:

that a big diff... it seem A700 DRO5 is nicer~ canntt wait for A7xxxxxxxxxxx
hazril
post May 9 2010, 11:19 PM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ May 9 2010, 11:13 PM)

seems kinda familiar to me....if im not mistaken this is waterfront sarawak...

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 9 2010, 11:14 PM)
albnok : Banyak banyak hijau oh! Havent really played DRO level 5 before. LOL. I know it turns bleached hair into orange! YUCKS!
DRO level 5 is best used in landscape...correct me if im wrong....
mastering89
post May 9 2010, 11:23 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

kevinwcw planning for flash, cobra the best for now ..
Wanna know, for the f36 and f42 can both do wireless? love those strobing wub.gif

albnok : oh, thank you... i seriously need learn basic post editing. sweat.gif
now my shots juz edit use picasa or PS downloaded PS action.
the train actually a miniature one at Tobu World Square sweat.gif

DRO in a350 is juz like adding noise only,
not that much difference DRO+, DRO .

ieR : haha i know.
i saw a700 body at japan selling only 49000 yen = rm 1800 sweat.gif
if only i have more $$ at that time whistling.gif
lwliam
post May 9 2010, 11:29 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

yea, DRO+5 i also usually use for landscape, makes it looks HDR-ish.. The shadows part will be pulled back to reveal details.
kevinwcw
post May 9 2010, 11:29 PM

943 posts

a700 rm 1800...New? @@
lwliam
post May 9 2010, 11:30 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

yea, DRO+5 i also usually use for landscape, makes it looks HDR-ish.. The shadows part will be pulled back to reveal details.
albnok
post May 9 2010, 11:33 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

hazril: That is exactly right! I loved the sunny blue skies of Kuching and the many pockets of green!

Kul | Mo0: DRO Level 5 only looks bad when you use it on a person who is in deep shadow. If you are in such a situation, use DRO Level 5 and increase your EV so that the faces are brightened. Supposing:

You can try this quite quickly - DRO Level 5, EV 0, and then DRO Level 5, EV +3. Major difference in the tonality. Let's say:

Sky = nearly highlight
Face = shadow
Black surface = dark shadow
DRO works on shadows, pulling it up. This is quite like HDR minus the large radius unsharp mask.

If you did say +1 EV:

Sky = highlight
Face = midtone
Black surface = shadow
DRO pulls only the shadow and doesn't affect the face that much.

If you use DxO Optics Pro for example, and you first set DxO Fill Light to Strong 150%, then you pull the EV up, you can see a big difference in how the face tones are affected.

Faces with DRO Level 5:

mastering89: This is the best tutorial you can read, about bringing up your midtones and how to mask them:

http://www.ronbigelow.com/articles/neutral...ral-density.htm

Yes, the F36, F42, F56 and F58 can be off-camera wireless flashes.

For DRO+ it does the exact same thing I did, but with less exaggerated effect.
ieR
post May 9 2010, 11:34 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

wait for A7x... now saving money, dont spree on anything at all.

i waiting for the A7 for the new features and hoping for even better iso (50?, iso3200 clean? etc)

as for video, a min of 15mb/s write card is required for fullHD. mmmm
mastering89
post May 9 2010, 11:40 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

kevinwcw : no lah, used one..
a700 + 16105 = 80k yen
a550 (used) = 59k yen

I wanna ask about DRO in a550 and above.
i attend sony basic photography b4 and Mr John show slides.

how exactly is DRO level ++ works
like if in this pic, does it light up all through out the image or just the dark area??
for example im taking picture of someone with background of like this image (sunset or sunrise). does it blow off the sunset/sunrise part , overexpose or juz correct one..
or should i still need flash ??
~please ignore the dusts sweat.gif

hey where can i find T-shirt like that? (alphanatics? or custom made )
all i found was either plain, N's or C's vmad.gif

This post has been edited by mastering89: May 9 2010, 11:48 PM

127 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.6039sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:21 PM