Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V40!, The Orange Legion

ahpingko
post May 19 2010, 08:38 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ May 19 2010, 08:37 AM)
To shoot landscape F8 on an APS-C body is good enough to get clear sharp pictures. You may want to get a tripod. Use the lowest ISO setting and F8 should be able to get you what you need.

As for food, I don't know coz I seldom snap pics of food.
why not up til F20?..i got tripod..coz tis weekend going to beach..i want to get a nice landscape picture...i guess i will stick to my favourite ISO 400..

APS-C is AutoFocus in Continuous mode?
hazril
post May 19 2010, 09:00 AM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ May 19 2010, 08:38 AM)
why not up til F20?..i got tripod..coz tis weekend going to beach..i want to get a nice landscape picture...i guess i will stick to my favourite ISO 400..

our kitlens sweet spot for sharpness is between F8-F16 if not mistaken...the lower the ISO the better for landscape...u'll capture more dramatic effect....
ahpingko
post May 19 2010, 09:09 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ May 19 2010, 09:00 AM)
our kitlens sweet spot for sharpness is between F8-F16 if not mistaken...the lower the ISO the better for landscape...u'll capture more dramatic effect....
oh?..is it?..then i try use F14..haha...for bright sunlight i prefer ISO 200..haha..
shootkk
post May 19 2010, 09:16 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ May 19 2010, 08:38 AM)

If you set the aperture to too high a number, diffraction will set in and it will cause your pic to lose details. Pumping up the aperture will not give you increasingly sharp pictures. Any aperture above F11 tend to give very minimal improvement unless you're doing macro photography where the DOF is razor thin.

Use the lowest ISO possible so that your image will be as noise free as possible, especially in the shadow areas.

You're at a beach. The sun's plenty strong enough to get decent pix even at ISO 50. You do not need to use ISO 400.

Here are a couple of examples (old pics):

1. Taken using f4.5 ISO 100 with CPL filter

2. Taken using f8 ISO 100 with CPL filter

Wonka
post May 19 2010, 09:18 AM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ May 19 2010, 09:16 AM)
If you set the aperture to too high a number, diffraction will set in and it will cause your pic to lose details. Pumping up the aperture will not give you increasingly sharp pictures. Any aperture above F11 tend to give very minimal improvement unless you're doing macro photography where the DOF is razor thin.

Use the lowest ISO possible so that your image will be as noise free as possible, especially in the shadow areas.

You're at a beach. The sun's plenty strong enough to get decent pix even at ISO 50. You do not need to use ISO 400.

No wonder the 1st pic looks so familiar la. Is that the paddy field u passed while heading towards the waterfall? I was there when its raining super heavily. Hahaha.

This post has been edited by Wonka: May 19 2010, 09:22 AM
shootkk
post May 19 2010, 09:21 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

wonka : Can't remember... it's been some time but I know it's taken at a restaurant in Bali.
Wonka
post May 19 2010, 09:23 AM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ May 19 2010, 09:21 AM)
wonka : Can't remember... it's been some time but I know it's taken at a restaurant in Bali.
Ohh I think its the Dirty Duck dish is it? OMG I totally forgotten tho I just went there on Feb. Hahah~
ahpingko
post May 19 2010, 09:27 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ May 19 2010, 09:16 AM)

my Alpha 550 cant go down til ISO 50.... blink.gif
shootkk
post May 19 2010, 09:34 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

ahpingko : I dun think any Alpha here can go down to ISO 50. Just using that as an example. Hahaha...

But the idea is to use the lowest ISO setting. I've heard of people afraid to use high ISO but I think you're the first for me for being afraid to use low ISO.
ahpingko
post May 19 2010, 09:35 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ May 19 2010, 09:34 AM)
ahpingko : I dun think any Alpha here can go down to ISO 50. Just using that as an example. Hahaha...

But the idea is to use the lowest ISO setting. I've heard of people afraid to use high ISO but I think you're the first for me for being afraid to use low ISO.
lol..the lowest i can go wif my 550 is iso 200 la...
Wonka
post May 19 2010, 09:36 AM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

But remember to always check your ISO settings. There's once I forgot to check my ISO settings and when I took sunrise pics, my ISO is at 400. OMG! Im on top of Mt Kinabalu at that time. I only realise when I reach back home. Its like WTF!

Added on May 19, 2010, 9:37 am
QUOTE(ahpingko @ May 19 2010, 09:35 AM)
lol..the lowest i can go wif my 550 is iso 200 la...
Its just an example bro. Then use ISO200 la. Its the lowest u can get.

This post has been edited by Wonka: May 19 2010, 09:38 AM
shootkk
post May 19 2010, 09:39 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Wonka : Happens to all of us! But then it's a good lesson to learn and I bet after that you've never made the same mistake again right?
Wonka
post May 19 2010, 09:40 AM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

Yeah thats why im always monitoring my ISO now. And im climbing Mt Kinabalu again maybe sometime soon. Tak puas hati.
albnok
post May 19 2010, 09:44 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Banzai_san: I guess I'd prefer in #1 that the people not be intersecting with the island.

shootkk: Nice #1 (minus the top right corner.)
shootkk
post May 19 2010, 09:52 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

albnok : Yup! That's how a 95% viewfinder can sometimes ruin your shot! I honestly did not see the wire there when I pressed the shutter. I remember because I was careful to lean out the window some distance to get the railings out of the frame.

Didn't feel like cropping afterwards and too lazy to clone it away.
ahpingko
post May 19 2010, 11:43 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

u all using tripod for slow shutter rite??..i got no remote control, so using 2sec auto timer...haha...

btw, for shooting normal picture like in a trip, event, watever, u all using auto setting?..or use manual?
8tvt
post May 19 2010, 11:48 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

yie? 550 has lowest 200 iso? not 100 ar?
Wonka
post May 19 2010, 11:51 AM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ May 19 2010, 11:43 AM)
u all using tripod for slow shutter rite??..i got no remote control, so using 2sec auto timer...haha...

btw, for shooting normal picture like in a trip, event, watever, u all using auto setting?..or use manual?
Thats how I shoot low shutter on tripod. 2secs timer. Hahah. For me, Im mainly on A mode. Hehe.

QUOTE(8tvt @ May 19 2010, 11:48 AM)
yie? 550 has lowest 200 iso? not 100 ar?
Yeah the lowest is 200. Not 100.
Banzai_san
post May 19 2010, 12:12 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ May 19 2010, 09:44 AM)
Banzai_san: I guess I'd prefer in #1 that the people not be intersecting with the island.

Thanks for the comment.
Its good to hear others view... good way for me to improve smile.gif
lwliam
post May 19 2010, 12:21 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

ahpinko, in the mainstream, there are full frame sensors and APS-C aka crop sensors. APS-C does not mean auto what focus with continuous.. 0MG, how did u get to that, i really wonder..

On our alpha's it's all 1.5x cropped (canons are 1.6x, then there's the 1.3x APS-H on the 1D mkIV, olympus uses the four thirds [written as 4/3] being a 2x cropped meaning a lenses written as 16mm when attached to the body will have a view of 32mm on a FF), meaning that compared to a full frame sensor, what you see is approx. 2/3 of what u will see on a FF, thus giving an advantage for telephoto lens users.

This post has been edited by lwliam: May 19 2010, 12:46 PM

127 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:49 PM