5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Lyn Djing, Turntablism & Production Thread v4, A place for dj cum producers to hang out

hanleon
post Mar 3 2014, 12:54 PM

90 posts

@takalimc

That's a good start really. I think it's really important for DJs to know where they can go to start climbing up the networking ladder to find gigs and learn how to DJ publicly.

I've had some interactions with the Excessive Records people but don't really know how to approach anyone about giving a chance to amateurs. Slow and steady for me I guess biggrin.gif
hanleon
post Mar 5 2014, 11:14 AM

90 posts

Probably around $3000-4000+ USD o_o
hanleon
post Mar 10 2014, 12:48 PM

90 posts

Well it depends on the amount of time you have and what slot you're playing. If it's 2 hours or more you have much more leeway to play the traditional and recommended 'warmup > peak > closing'. If it's 1 hour then it depends heavily on the timeslot.

Prep-wise I'd cue point all the music I was using, and get a set of songs at least 2x the amount of time you're playing (1 hour set = 2 hours of music prepped). After that is done it's a matter of practicing the set often so you get it down and can play it efficiently.
hanleon
post Mar 11 2014, 12:22 PM

90 posts

Well harmonic mixing is just one of many tools DJs have in their arsenal to mix with. Harmonic mixing is what happens when both incoming and outgoing songs are in the same key - meaning they use the same chords for the song. This is the kind of mix you want if you want to blend as seamlessly as possible.

Of course you still have to keep in mind phrasing and basic mixing rules like not mixing over vocals, mixing on the 1, and generally USING YOUR EARS to make sure the songs actually sound good together.

If you're on Traktor or used Mixed in Key (and some other programs), you'll have key notes available in the metadata to mix with. It's really quite fun to hear the results but as always don't rely on the software overmuch, if it sounds good then it's good.
hanleon
post Mar 13 2014, 02:33 PM

90 posts

Aha, not to say sifu la. You want to play you can start by downloading whatever DJ program you prefer (easy ones like Virtual DJ or Serato as the interface is less cluttered) and watch videos online on how to work it.

DJing is a lot of hard work and dedication, there's no two-ways about it! Try going for a course (Excessive Records, Mile High Sounds, Goldsounds DJ) to give it a try. If you like it and can handle the work, then continue!
hanleon
post Mar 17 2014, 03:54 PM

90 posts

@darthbii Phrase matching requires knowing your music as the basis. Just listen to a song and think about/remember how the song progresses by counting beats.

edit: To answer you question quickly, DJs find out mix points in music by experimentation and practice. You'd be surprised how often you find fun mixes just screwing around with a deck and some tunes. Try taking 2-3 songs (or 5) and just mixing them in and out over and over again at different points using different techniques.

I count my beats in 8s, other people do it with 4s. However you count it, a phrase consists of many beats in a phrase (8, 16, 32, 64, and so on). Phrases can be very different across genres.

Using Martin Garrix's "Animals" as an example, listen to the first part of the song (where the kick drum and hi-hat is playing).

1. Count from the first kick drum (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8. 2,2,3,4,5,6,7,8. 3,2,3,4,5,6,7,8. 4,2,3,4,5,6,7,8).
2. When you reach 8,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 you will HEAR that the music is changing, something is being added to the mix (in the song it's the bigger bass drum)

Now, you counted 8,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 and SOMETHING GETS ADDED, right? So in this case the Animals 1st phrase is made of 64 beats. If you wanted to mix something in, you would try to MATCH song B's phrase to song A's phrase.

This means that when you press play on Song B, your count must follow Song A's count. When you are counting for Song A, Song B is doing the same thing. How you mix between A and B is up to you, there are many different techniques. However, what you want is to fader up Song B and fader down Song A by the time you hit song B's new count. Example below

Song A 7,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 (fader half) 8,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 (fader down from outro)
Song B 7,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 (fader half) 8,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 (fader up INTO breakdown/intro)

This is a very simplistic diagram to try and explain to you phrase matching. Like I said before, dubstep is alot different in how they mix and match songs. I again recommend you try learning using normal songs to try first.

This post has been edited by hanleon: Mar 17 2014, 03:58 PM
hanleon
post Mar 20 2014, 10:58 AM

90 posts

@Ayer If you're using Traktor, there's a record tab on the top right corner (where your 2nd FX deck is). Just click on the record tab, click the record button and mix away!

Which brings me to another tip: ALWAYS RECORD! Record every time you practice and play; often you will make an accidental awesome mix and the only way to catch it is through recording! You can also listen to the recording after practice to see what could be improved.
hanleon
post Mar 30 2014, 11:46 AM

90 posts

My friend is currently aiming for the Pioneer S-DJ08s. According to reviews they are a solid choice for studio/DJ speakers, good bass response with added speaker-EQ which you can turn off for production work. Reviews also said it's built durable and heavy, costs USD800 at retail price. Possibly cheaper at the store, but he's looking around still for it here in Msia.
hanleon
post Apr 17 2014, 10:06 PM

90 posts

So how is life for anyone who reads this thread? Any advances in your practices? Any memorable gigs? Anything at all happen DJ/producer related?

I recently played a fun set on my iPad in Malt n Leaf The Roof wink.gif
hanleon
post Apr 18 2014, 11:37 AM

90 posts

There are many choices for DJing software today. Serato, VDJ, Mixxx, Mixvibes CrossDJ, and so on. Just google and you'll find them smile.gif Personally prefer Traktor for the interface and the FX
hanleon
post May 9 2014, 02:12 PM

90 posts

Are there any venues or events that are open to having amateur DJs try their hand at playing out? I'd really love to get some public experience.
hanleon
post May 19 2014, 02:56 PM

90 posts

@Darkemotion88 You should definitely check out second hand items. Usually quite value for money if it's a good unit and well taken care of. The Pioneer stuff is more expensive due to brand, you should try cheap solutions to wet your feet first.
hanleon
post May 22 2014, 12:06 PM

90 posts

@takalimc

Depends on a number of factors wink.gif event type, venue, duration, # pax, equipment, and so on.
hanleon
post May 26 2014, 12:46 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(takalimc @ May 26 2014, 09:53 AM)
@hanleon

Wah semua kasi pau edi la haha where ya playing now bro?
^^ It's just a calculation for consideration, these factors should always come into play when considering price. Not that I have a regular gig anywhere at the moment, like I said just amateur right now! smile.gif I have played for a bunch of events and house parties before though, just did a nice corporate gig last Wed! You can check out the recording at www.mixcloud.com/playmochi and gig pics on my Facebook page.

I wonder, how do DJs go about advertising their services here in Malaysia? I'm really keen on working as a DJ, but have no idea where to start. Any ideas @takalimc?

This post has been edited by hanleon: May 26 2014, 03:38 PM
hanleon
post May 27 2014, 10:03 AM

90 posts

I think doing both would be fun. Will look into the pub/bar thing! any suggestions welcome biggrin.gif

What would you say is lacking in the DJ scene here in Malaysia?
hanleon
post May 28 2014, 10:36 AM

90 posts

That's a very good point @takalimc, and also very true. I think a DJ union/community would be a great thing to have, especially when creating events requires so much like permits, organization, and people.

In Singapore event management goes to a one-stop department to do everything related to holding events. I wonder how one would set up something like that here?
hanleon
post Jun 2 2014, 12:13 PM

90 posts

You'll most likely have to find a way to get your output from your board into the existing board input. Not sure how you will do that as I have no experience linking boards. Probably set existing board EQ at all flat, then connect your board into a channel?

Either that or bring a lot of XLR cables and extend the XLR's from the existing booth all the way to where you want to set up. In any case, plan to be there super early to set up, test, and make sure everything works to your satisfaction.
hanleon
post Jun 3 2014, 09:46 AM

90 posts

@darthbii Most likely consists of a kick drum, snare, noises of all kinds. There are hundreds of sample packs available online (free and paid) that people take and use to create electronic music. The variety is infinite when you take into account the many ways you can add FX to a simple kick drum, making it into something completely different sounding.
hanleon
post Jun 4 2014, 01:21 PM

90 posts

@darthbii I'd suggest starting by using a sample pack as a good foundation of production skills. I'm sure you can warp the samples enough that it can form the basis of your 'sound'. At least then you can get the hang of production without having too much information overload.

Producing a song can take many months of effort, especially if you're a newbie. Really, take advantage of sample packs and try building a song using just samples. That can teach you song structure and composing. After that you can add in effects on each sample and see how the song changes.

of course these are just my two cents, you can try doing everything from scratch if you so choose.
hanleon
post Jun 12 2014, 12:19 PM

90 posts

I think it's pretty important to have some kind of party-starter. Playing out sober is perfectly fine (and in fact is the ideal state of mind to perform), but the majority of people who party need something to loosen their inhibitions to really dance and let loose. Plus it helps a lot that music sounds soooo much better high (on anything).

However I also don't think parties should be all about the alcohol. It's more about the people you party with and the adventures you have together. This means it's important to have booze, but more important to have a great atmosphere for people to have fun.

Give me a party with crazy people having fun on alcohol over a bunch of hipsters barely bopping their heads messaging constantly on their phones any day. Booze has a way of making people stop thinking about impressing others, and instead enjoy living the moment!

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0279sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:53 PM