Gen-X
post May 29 2010, 09:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ May 28 2010, 10:52 PM)
If it will be something like CIMB/DA World MC then we should forget it. It has to be something with features better than or similiar to SCB VI.
What is good with SCB VI?

QUOTE(hye @ May 28 2010, 11:01 PM)
Yup ... agreed. The CIMB/DA version is quite pathetic despite it being a "premium" cc.
I do like my DA World MC as I get free coffee everytime I go to Dome for tea or a meal tongue.gif

Agreed that if for overseas usage DA/CIMB VI and WMC kind of pathetic as hye mentioned eventhough it gives you 2X bonus points.

However I believe CIMB being a local bank would give one a higher initial credit limit (easily 6 figures) as compared to SCB VI.

DA card good in general for local use, here are some of the benefits of DA cards:

1) Free for life including supp cards.
2) Get 5%-10% rebates at KFC, Guardian, Starbucks, Isetan, Giant and Tesco on weekends. (End 10 June 2010)
3) Smart Flexi Plan - 10 months 0% installment for Insurance, Medical and Education transactions.
4) 5% rebate at MPH.
5) 20X reward points at Canton-i (I love the food there)
6) Balance Transfer 6 months interest free.
7) In May got 50% off selected dishes at Tai Thong.
8) Installment Plans for any transactions - 2% up front for 10 months.

Major disadvantage of DA is that bonus points expires.

For me in general, I mostly use my AMEX Gold Charged Card (no hassle in getting annual fee waived) I can as I get 3X Turbo points which works out to be 1.5% cash back for any transactions when considering redemption of 200points = RM1.

I like winner also have Alliance where it gives cash back up to RM5K but hassle lah to keep track, so use it only when AMEX not accepted nowadays.

QUOTE(krazee350 @ May 28 2010, 11:10 PM)
Ha. I just about to ask this regarding World MC and VI. The requirement for both are the same and the benefits more or less the same. So what the different between CIMB and DA apart DA is reserved for graduates and professionals?
Yah no diff between CIMB and DA as far as promotions are concerned but I believe CIMB card is one up above DA. Go for CIMB World MC.

Oh by the way, forget about CIMB/DA VI as really no extra benefit compared to their WMC ( and save RM50 a year tax) and maybe go for SCB VI where winner mentioned is better.

QUOTE(aaronx130988 @ May 29 2010, 05:46 PM)
how about if i buy iphone from digi using credit card not under their bank list. so i must need pay lump sum to bank or got anyway make it pay installment one?
I know CIMB/DA is accepted by DiGi for their installment plan.

What card you talking about? CIMB/DA, PBB, Citibank and UOB can convert any transactions into installments but you will be imposed interest charges or upfront fees.

Anyway just wait lah as the new iphone coming out soon and meantime go apply for a card that is accepted by DiGi. tongue.gif
Gen-X
post May 30 2010, 12:31 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aaronx130988 @ May 29 2010, 10:06 PM)
what bank cc more easy get? can recommend?
for iphone installments, AMBank, Citibank, MBB, CIMB & HSBC.

http://www.digi.com.my/iphone/getone_want_iphone.html

Apply all the banks above and report back here which one approved your application so we can know which bank easier to get a CC and give you a higher credit limit.

Please note that you need as least about RM3.4K (RM142 x 24 months) CL just to sign up for 24 months iphone 3G 8GB plan. So I would say you need a credit limit of RM4.5K to be on the save side to qualify for the iphne 3GS 32GB.
Gen-X
post Jun 9 2010, 07:07 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 6 2010, 08:09 PM)
However, if it is compared to other premium card like CIMB/DA VI or World MC, this card is still better. For example, it gives free travel insurance of up to RM3mil and free travel medical insurance of up to RM50,000 each for cardholder and his/her spouse. No other cards in Malaysia offer such a high premium.
Since I don't do banking business with SCB anymore, I don't qualify for SCB VI cry.gif

As for comparing SCB VI to DA, yah DA WMC don't offer Insurance but CIMB WMC does. However it must be noted that both CIMB and DA is free for life where as SCB VI has annual fees of RM800 (correct me if I am wrong). If just for the sake of Insurance Converage, then for a non frequent traveller (for my case) the RM800 is not justifiable as it should cost less than RM800 to get a RM3M policy for travel purposes.

Having said that, the CIMB/DA VI is really not worth getting even it is free. Got to waste RM50 and getting benefits less than CIMB/DA WMC.

As far as I know, the only "high premium" card that gives me free coffee at Dome is CIMB/DA WMC and therefore better than any other card I have when going to Dome tongue.gif

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 6 2010, 08:09 PM)
It's confirmed Alliance charges higher than other bank!

Last week I again used my Alliance Visa Plat to settle my hotel bill in Abu Dhabi, while my colleague used his HSBC Premier MC to pay the hotel bill. We checked out and made the payment at the same time. When I checked my unbilled amount online a few days later, Alliance's figure was 0.9% higher than my friend's HSBC!
Thanks for the confirmation, save me the hassle to get a Alliance supp MC for my son.

However it must be said that HSBC do no give cash back and Alliance gives 2X points for overseas spending. Therefore, Alliance card "return/reward" is better than HSBC after considering the rate is 0.9% higher (if charged less than RM5K a month limit for Alliance cash back program).

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 8 2010, 09:29 PM)
I also received an official offer from SCB today. SCB will grant me 11,000 choice points if I use my SCB JustOne cc at least 3 times by end of this month. This offer is for SCB CCs due for renewal in July. That's very generous!
Good to know that SCB also have some kind of program to "offset" the RM50 tax. How much is 11,000 points equal too in terms of RM (for vouchers or cashback).

HLB gave me 20,000 points when i wanted to cancel my MC Plat.

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Jun 8 2010, 10:11 PM)
what's wrong with Maybank? Their services are very good and got branches almost everywhere.
I had MBB Plat card, cancelled it because once when I called the CS line, nobody pick up the phone! For CC card and calling MBB CS, I would say MBB does sucks but going into the branch is different, service level acceptable.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 9 2010, 07:45 PM
Gen-X
post Jun 9 2010, 09:27 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Itori @ Jun 9 2010, 09:02 PM)
I've decided to apply for CIMB CC, how long does it take to be approved?
I read in The Star recently you can get a CC approved almost immediate at their Damansara Heights HQ. Call them to confirm. Generally about a week to two.
Gen-X
post Jun 14 2010, 09:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Jun 14 2010, 07:24 PM)
capped at rm30, one month can pump rm600 kinda more than average.

Even i do sales, run here n there average also rm500 only for petrol
I don't do sales but often on the road most of the time on working days. I spend more than RM1K/month for my car and have another 2 cars (wife and children) where average about RM250 per month/each. Therefore I prefer to have a card that have no capped on petrol and AMEX CC serve my needs. AMEX CC the best for petrol as it gives 2.5% cash back and no cap (now AMEX promotion offering 10X MR for petrol which works out to be 5%). I know I always repeat, I pump at ESSO/Mobil which also gives you cash back of 1.5%, therefore for petrol I get total minimum 4% cash back smile.gif

Talking about cash back, AMEX Gold CC gives you 1% cash back minimum for any transactions since it gives 2X MR points and more for groceries & utilities and there is no monthly cap. I use my AMEX Gold Charged Card more often then any other card as I get 3X MR since I enrolled for turbo points. For me personally, this is the best as it gives 1.5% cash back for whatever I charge to the card and there is no cap per month nor expiry date for the points.
Gen-X
post Jun 14 2010, 10:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Jun 14 2010, 09:29 PM)
ya, I did read. for his case AMEX suits him more.

I'm just talking on general basis la..
For high income group of course they will spend more on petrol. but considering  the amount that they spend on others, petrol expenses might be about 10% or even less than that.
The point I was making was that AMEX charged card with Turbo Points gives minimum 1.5% for whatever charges. I think that's what Darkmage12 was pointing out. However I need to point out that there is a RM100 fee for turbo points, and therefore one needs to spend more than RM20,000 per year to benefit from Turbo points.

A lot of people here say AMEX not widely accepted, well I don't really have that problem as most places I patronize accept AMEX (this include all major department stores & hypermarkets). Even bought a new engine for my car with AMEX.

For my BB using DiGi, I get 5X MR points ( equals to 2.5% cash back) on top of the RM5 rebate for using autodebit with AMEX Gold CC smile.gif Too lazy to go Maxis and Celcom to transfer payment to AMEX and get 5X MR points.... yah I have many lines in my name with 3 telcos.

Last weekend at Pasta Zamai 1U got free oysters for using AMEX (charge more than RM100) which is better than using Visa or MC but at MPH use DA MC as got 5% rebate thumbup.gif Anyway if don't accept Amex still got my Alliance Plat MC which also gives cash back (just as a note petrol also gets cash back but no points) but got monthly cap of RM68+ or whatever card that have offer.

I just want to point out that AMEX gives the best reward in terms of cash back (no expiry or monthly cap) but it may not necessarily be suitable for all.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 14 2010, 10:06 PM
Gen-X
post Jun 14 2010, 10:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jun 14 2010, 10:15 PM)
Yeah..so far I saw AMEX giving the best benefits..unfortunately, I can't get it..I try to get Hong Leong Bank AMEX, but the officer said, its not widely accept..lol..  doh.gif
No no no, dont get HLB AMEX, it is useless. Get AMEX AMEX Gold Credit Card (without any bank logo) to get 5X reward for petrol, groceries and utilities.
Gen-X
post Jun 14 2010, 11:06 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Jun 14 2010, 10:30 PM)
I mainly use my card for utilities, government assessment, quit rent payments, where AMEX is not accepted. for my personal use, my own spending is too little to get much benefit from AMEX

regarding to expresspay (autopayment) by AMEX, is it necessary that the autodebit account holder, ie digi, must be the same person as the card holder? in another word, can i opt for autopayment for other people's  digi bill?

paiseh ah I dont know about the turbo points
If you in Selangor, you can use AMEX to pay assessments but not quit rent. In Selangor assessment much more than quit rent. TNB accept AMEX lah.

Don't know about autodebit for others, but you can give her/him a supp card but then got to pay RM25 tax. However if the person paying cash, DiGi with autodebit you get RM5 rebate per month (for my BB case) and that's RM60 off a year not including 5X reward points for AMEX Gold Credit Card.

Turbo points for Charged Card only.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 14 2010, 11:07 PM
Gen-X
post Jun 16 2010, 07:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Jun 16 2010, 09:02 AM)
as far as i dealing v them, most of the merchant charge 3-5% no matter which shop as long there are electrical n those computer shop...

for computer shop i think is well known....no matter what particular amount u buy, they will always charge the interest....

maybe u seldom shop for computer gadget...seldom ppl will swipe their card for this particular matter except when u goin to buy LCD TV, Fridge etc
3.5% high, usually IT shops charge 2% for Visa/MC. Bought a HP Desktop last week at Thurdermatch @ Digitalmall (cheaper then HP online in terms of specs and with 3 years care pack extended warranty FOC) no extra charge for using my CC smile.gif

QUOTE(JJBerry @ Jun 16 2010, 06:55 PM)
Wow.... EON Bank Visa Signature!
The card design is cool....
Minimum requirement income RM180,000 per annum.
Dont know what is the minimum CL for this card?
aiyah, free for life annual fees (RM600) only applies if charge more than RM30K a year. Cash back for transactions overseas capped at RM500 per year.
Gen-X
post Jun 16 2010, 09:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 16 2010, 08:18 PM)
The cash back is capped at RM500/pa. However, the bonus point isn't. This is one of the very few cards that give cash rebate on top of the normal bonus points. Each Ringgit charged locally will get 1.5 points while overseas transaction will each get 2 points. This is pretty cool. Definitely one of the better cards in the market. The card's design is very refreshing too !
Comparing bonus points and cash back only, Alliance Plat cash back capped at about RM800 per year and bonus points 2X times too for overseas but only 1X for local use. But then again Alliance Plat no need to spend RM30K for annual fee waiver.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 16 2010, 09:19 PM
Gen-X
post Jul 12 2010, 10:08 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Jul 12 2010, 09:35 PM)
My parents gave me an Ambank credit card a few months ago and I just used it a few weeks ago. Now how do I pay the amount? Do I have to go to the bank and pay or is there any way I can do it online?
I don't even have an Ambank account. Maybe my parents opened one for me when they registered the card but I don't know anything about it.
Is it a debit card or credit card? Since your parent gave it to you, ask them who is to pay for it.
Gen-X
post Jul 12 2010, 11:46 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Jul 12 2010, 10:59 PM)
Its a credit card and my mom told me to pay for it since I used it (it was registered under my name). ohmy.gif She told me to go to the bank and pay but I was wondering if its possible to do it online. I can't even remember the exact amount so I also need to check on that if I were to use GIRO. Was thinking of using Maybank or Public bank account to pay for the Ambank credit card if possible.
Well ask your mum for the statement and check the amount and also due date. You'll be charge a penalty fee if you pay after the due date and also interest.

What is the point of giving you a credit card and then ask you go pay yourself? So susah, go get yourself a debit card.
Gen-X
post Jul 14 2010, 07:28 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I got myself an iphone with DiGi when it was launched and had to signed up for their installment plan with my DA. Technically I don't have to pay anything to DiGi (since I am paying to DA for the installement plan which include the price for the set and usage) if I don't use more than the allocated minutes and sms. But somehow there was an error in my 1st and 2nd bill for less than RM5. Got pissed off so when to DiGi to get it corrected. For my BB auto debit with DiGi I get RM5 off so I asked the CS what if I sign up for autodebit with AMEX CC but got no charges for my iphone will I still get RM5 credit. He said yes so I signed up for autodebit. Today got my bill for my iphone and yes I got RM5 rebate/credit on my bill thumbup.gif Now I have credit for the RM5 rebate plus the error earlier (which I did not pay a sen) rclxm9.gif
Gen-X
post Jul 15 2010, 08:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Jul 15 2010, 06:17 PM)
Can anyone tell me ? I'm working at Singapore with monthly income SGD 3k plus.. I've applied HSBC and citibank card in malaysia.. Both come with CL RM6k and RM7.5k , lower than my Maybank Gold 8k.. Any requirement to get the platinum card? Cos im mostly using d card at oversea btween hongkong taiwan n spore.. And heart before that working at oversea wont get platinum card from Malaysia Banks.. True ? Can anyone help me to upgrade it ??
Why don't you get a Singapore CC and save on admin fees?

By the way, did you ask for CL increase from your card issuer for your Gold cards?
Gen-X
post Jul 15 2010, 09:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 15 2010, 09:56 PM)
The card no need to be surrendered?
I surrendered my MBB Petronas Gold Card to MBB Branch last year and today got statement got to pay RM50. Called MBB CS up (was surprised that I was connected to a CS rep promptly) and she said my card still active and will cancel it immediately.
Gen-X
post Jul 16 2010, 09:26 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Jul 16 2010, 06:14 PM)
I owned a Citibank Visa Signature issued in Singapore, and attach together with my payslip and income proof. But still dont know why hard to upgrade my card. But think normal case, my fren apply Gold card still getting such low CL, compare with Citibank Plat Spore with CL SGD24k. And today rcv a call from RHB inform that my Visa infinite issue out with CL RM100k, really low CL offer to those heavily card usage customer.
Aiyah, less than RM10K CL not happy, get RM100K CL also not satisfied. Go apply a charge card like Amex instead where your "CL" is based on your spending pattern.
Gen-X
post Jul 23 2010, 08:27 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jul 23 2010, 01:19 AM)
https://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/personal-bankin....ac=MYH_LP_Mega

Seems a good idea

So because they only give a set away each week, I should do my next shopping as close to 9AM on 26th this month, to get 25% cashback? biggrin.gif
Aiyah, I got the sms but did not bother to check and register, missed out the cash back for purchases I made for a camera last week and TV this week doh.gif I not so keen with HSBC propmotions as last time did not get the samsonite bag.

I just read the T&C which are as follows:

1) Week 1-6 and week 7-11 Cash back capped at RM150, RM100 and RM75 for Plat, Gold and Other Cards respectively.
2) Each week maximum of RM40,909.00 HSBC Mega Sale cash back to be given out, on a ‘first-come, first-served’ basis.
3) No cash back for transaction s Travel, Automobile, Direct Marketing, Education, Entertainment, Membership, Utility.Grooming, Health, Home, Hotels, Internet, Charity and Petrol.
4) minimum spend criteria of RM500 required per week, will only stand to receive cash back on the spend made on shopping, dining and groceries.

From above, important thing to note is need to spend RM500 a week to be eligible for cash back for that week and the amount is capped at RM150/RM100/RM75 for 2 different period i.e. 5th July -15 Aug and 16 Aug to 19 Sep. E.g. If you spend RM500 a week for 4 weeks in a row before 15 August, you still get maximum cash back of RM150 for Plat and that's not gauranteed as max cash back to be paid out is only RM40,900 per week.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 23 2010, 08:29 AM
Gen-X
post Jul 26 2010, 06:07 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(JJBerry @ Jul 26 2010, 02:37 PM)
Just curious if annual spending did not over RM500k, is it possible to request full annual fee waiver of RM888 for CIMB Enrich World Mastercard?
If anyone do spend that much, the rewards points from the card usage itself it worth paying the RM888 annual fees biggrin.gif
There is no harm in calling up CS and request for annual fees waiver even if you don't spend a single sen with the card for an entire year.

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jul 26 2010, 05:42 PM)

How can I request to increase my credit limit?  hmm.gif
Call up CS and request.
Gen-X
post Jul 27 2010, 08:32 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Jul 27 2010, 07:01 PM)
really???but last time, my HLB do offer me 10K points when i want to cancelled their card... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
HLB gave me 20,000 points (need only 7000 points to offset GST in my case) when I wanted to cancel their card and auto 3 years annual fees waiver which is good as don't have to call them for next 2 years smile.gif
Gen-X
post Aug 1 2010, 12:38 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Jul 31 2010, 01:30 PM)
this gentleman comes from a privileged background all the while parents supplemantary card he has been using. house and car no need to pay provided by company. that's why he has no credit record.
Why after so long only want apply own CC? Want to spend daddy's and mummy's money without them keeping track ar? Suddenly want own CC and only reason I can think of is because gf nagging, hahaha. Advise him not to get his own card so got excuse not to spend too money on gf because mummy will scold tongue.gif After married, yah get own card and give wife a supp card wink.gif

**Edited**

On a more serious note, look at 1st post of this thread, he can deposit a certain sum at the banks and get free CC.

Also if he want high CL, he can consider getting AMEX charged card where the "CL" is based on spending pattern. One member here bought a car paid in full using his Black AMEX.

If he travels a lot, then apply for MBB World Master Card but it is not free.

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 30 2010, 12:16 PM)
if purely petrol and maximum up to RM600 a month, nothing beats the Citibank Cashback Plat
Yah, you are absolutely correct with your statement if purely petrol up to RM600/month.

I was thinking of changing my Citi Clear Card to Citi Cash Back Platinum, so did some reading and decided not to waste my time applying for the new card after writing about it in my blog. The 0.3% cash back is so ridiculous.

If interested to know my thoughts on the Citibank Cash Back Platinum Credit Card and EON Visa Signature, click here to my blog.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 1 2010, 01:03 PM

0.0444sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:49 PM