Gen-X
post Aug 1 2010, 06:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Aug 1 2010, 02:05 PM)
you'll need to write more, it's august now and you only have 3 articles, last yr u hv 15 tongue.gif
u can add the citi premiermiles - visa signature

hmm.gif is the cc market less attractive this yr, i do hope they catch up in the last quarter
hahaha, with the introduction of RM50 government tax, it kind make it expensive to collect cards and spoil the party for us.

Most recent launches are premium cards where banks are trying to get customers they have loss. Actually the MBB WMC is pretty good for frequent flyers with MAS but no point talking about it as the annual fees is RM1K and RM1.5K and this will prevent people from applying for it if not utilizing the benefits that comes along with the card.

nowadays you see in this thread are people fixated with credit limit or how to get a CC, nothing interesting.
Gen-X
post Aug 2 2010, 08:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Nezloais, for you to be here, I guess you must be educated in someways.

Firstly I personally felt that it is inappropriate and who gave you the damn rigths for you to call another fellow Malaysian a b****.

Secondly, please note that Citibank Berhad was incorporated in Malaysia and therefore don't give us stupid excuse that because you're from US you can curse staffs of Citibank Malaysia.

Thirdly, if you have an AMEX charged card from US, email them and asked if you can open an account here with Maybank or call AMEX at 1800889559 for further enquiries.

Fourthly, go get a debit card instead. All major banks nowadays can issue you a debit card (like in USA when you open a ceking account) along with a savings account.

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 2 2010, 07:09 AM)
Nowadays, I would be most interested to know which Bank actually manages to maintain & grow its card base without subsidising the RM50 tax  hmm.gif

...  you left out the part "not earning enough" but still fixated with having a high limit. Guess people are more "gung ho" nowadays  doh.gif
I would think after next year onwards definately there will be growth when compared to this year as most who would want to cancel their card would do so before this year annivesary date. As for the RM50 tax, the banks can't be absorbing it forever. The funny part is I haven't been using my UOB Plat (except for auto debit) and HLB Plat cards where they gave me RM50 Smart points and 20.000 point respectively.

With so many gung ho people around, banks will continue to post record profits smile.gif

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 2 2010, 06:43 PM)
Just now, StanChart called me if I'm interested of taking a personal loan. sweat.gif
Bro, I got the same call this morning and I don't even have a single SCB account for years. Wonder how they got my number hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 2 2010, 08:48 PM
Gen-X
post Aug 2 2010, 10:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 2 2010, 09:47 PM)
I was wondering the same question too. The number used to call me is 03 27733666
the number that called me wasn't so nice like yours, mine was 0377262530
Gen-X
post Aug 4 2010, 12:29 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aspire9838 @ Aug 3 2010, 10:35 PM)
HSBC - Auto Increase bit by bit......... rclxub.gif

UOB - The Worst Bank - Incraese from 10K to 15k after 13 years of card member vmad.gif
HSBC never increase a single sen of my CL.

My first local CC was from UOB Gold Visa in the early 90s and they kept increasing my CL until late 90's recession where they actually cut down my CL to below RM30K. But they subsequently increased my CL after they upgrade my card to Plat and since then only increase once. Yah me also keeping UOB because of auto debits and auto annual fee waiver.

HLB and Citibank over the years kept increasing my CL eventho never ask for it once.

QUOTE(frega @ Aug 3 2010, 11:00 PM)
is there any one credit card that is offering like I dunno, massive reward points / cashback?

as in its more beneficial to use that card for huge purchases (>5k).
Massive rewards points/cash back, no lah.

If you do spend more than RM5K/month or more than RM20K/year, you should consider getting AMEX charged card and enroll into 3X Turbo points and you'll get uncapped equivalent 1.5% cash rebate. Click here to read more on Turbo points in my blog.. Or you can consider AMEX Gold CC wher it gives you uncapped minimum 1% cash back, click here to read comparison between Citi Cash Back Plat and AMEX Gold CC..
Gen-X
post Aug 6 2010, 12:10 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 5 2010, 11:32 PM)
hi..i just graduate so i guess time to get a credit card cuz need to pay some stuff on credit.
but total newbie.
are the cards all the same? as in malaysian and australian system same?

anyone mind explaining :
55 days free interest
balance transfer
interest on purchases and cash

how does credit card actually work?i mean like when i have to pay it...then bla bla
click on my signature below to read more on CC 101. Most important thing is to practice from the very start pay in full before due date to avoid interest charges.
Gen-X
post Aug 6 2010, 12:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 6 2010, 12:09 AM)
I guess the best petrol card is Citibank Cash back platinum. 5% cash back at all petrol stations.

May I know which CC offers the best rebate or reward points for ALL TYPES OF SPENDING other than Amex gold cc ?
For cash rebate, check out Alliance Bank Plat CC where it gives cash back up to RM5K/month on top of points. HLB essential does give 1% uncapped cash back.

Alternatively look into Alliance Plat Debit cash back 1.5% up to RM6K/month (if got Premier Banking up to 2%); and

AMEX Charged Card with Turbo Points which is uncapped which gives you equivalent 1.5% cash back, but only worthwhile if spend more than RM20K/year.
Gen-X
post Aug 11 2010, 08:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

MilesAndMore: Can you please update first page which CC has expiry date for reward points. Thanks.

Anyway want to know does MBB CC reward points have expiry period?
Gen-X
post Aug 13 2010, 12:26 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(l3iTi @ Aug 12 2010, 11:46 PM)
hei guys, i wondering if it's ok for me to change my Direct Access Card to a AMEX Gold Credit Card?
if you only have DA, then No. Get Amex as alternative card to get benefits DA does not offer. Also Insurance companies and most Petronas do not accept Amex. Both cards are free except for the government tax.
Gen-X
post Aug 15 2010, 08:41 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(themattock @ Aug 15 2010, 08:29 PM)
thanks for the clarification.

one other question. let's say my credit limit rm3000. can i swipe all the rm3000 in one transaction? for example buying laptop price rm3000??? or is there any clause that say i cant do that, hidden charges or anything?
Yes you may swipe RM3000 subjected that you have cleared all outstanding amount and got no new transactions. Beware, if not mistaken, Citibank may allow you to go above you credit limit but there will be some kind of charges.
Gen-X
post Aug 16 2010, 01:57 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(themattock @ Aug 16 2010, 01:16 AM)
if let's say i use all rm3000, i dun have anymore credit left?
if say your CL is RM3000, then yes you got no more credit if you swipe a transaction worth RM3,000.00. Say 12 months installments, which means you got to pay RM250/month. after you pay the first installment you then have RM250 credit to use again.

Anyway, for computer purchase, why use i-plan? You got to pay a service fees. What computer you want to get? If Dell get MBB or Citibank where they have 12 months installements. Acer almost all cards also can. Harvey Norman can get 12 months installments for most card without any "extra fees/surchage".
Gen-X
post Aug 16 2010, 09:36 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(themattock @ Aug 16 2010, 02:18 AM)
so, means that if credit limit become zero also can apply those type of installment plan?
if you use up your CL, then you can't swipe anymore because you got no credit i.e. cannot do installment plan.
Gen-X
post Aug 16 2010, 10:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Centurion Lee @ Aug 16 2010, 09:31 PM)
May I know which bank has raised the standard for both cards and is it the entry requirement has been raised ? Thanks.
I think what David meant was Plat cards no more exclusive.
Gen-X
post Aug 18 2010, 02:03 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

The OCBC Titatium offer is great with 5% rebate and the promotion offers are good too i.e. 0% interest until year end. Just called them but too bad the person on the line can assist me on my question and someone is suppose to call me up tomorrow. Going to apply for it as auto annual fee waiver with 12 swipes and auto waiver for GST if spend more than RM10K/year. This card is great for me as my petrol usage is kind of high, come Jan 1st, this card will be used for petrol only as rebate capped at RM50/month.

With OCBC revate of 5%, let us hope more banks will follow them.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 18 2010, 02:08 AM
Gen-X
post Aug 18 2010, 08:55 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

OCBC CS did try to reach me this morning at about 10.20am (as promised by the person I spoke to early 1am), however since I did not reconfigure my phone to accept "unknown" calls, the calls from OCBC was rejected. Called CS about 12pm and also they did call me again at 3pm (this time phone set to receive "unknown" calls). This evening at about 5pm downloaded OCBC Titatium application form and faxed it to them. Was told it will take 5 working days to get the card approved.

0.0440sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:55 AM