evofantasy
post May 4 2010, 07:53 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 4 2010, 05:13 PM)
if ur against toss, and ur reaper rush fails, its almost a guaranteed loss D:
though, thats 1v1, if got alli support, then ok i guess ^^;
nowadays the toss meta is gateway -> cyber -> stalker with chrono against terran...
against zerg it would be 1/2 gateway early zealot...

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 4 2010, 05:15 PM)
Not really ... if micro is good, baneling can be aviodable.

Added on May 4, 2010, 5:16 pm

Yup .. if against toss, i will not go reaper rush .. its suicide.
if u got steam researched, its counter able but still not easy if he manage to surround u (see day[9] vs tasteless from HDH)
evofantasy
post May 4 2010, 09:36 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

well when i played wit fujin, the fujin timer keep poping up lol...
evofantasy
post May 5 2010, 11:11 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ May 5 2010, 11:08 AM)
For these who played WoW before, is it using the same Blizzard Downloader tool for getting patches and co?

I never managed to get a "green" connection with that thing, even when able to run other torrent stuff perfectly fine on the side.

Sucks if they use this for the full game, that thing is good for US/EU but pretty crap for the rest of us  blink.gif
pretty much almost the same...
but it took me pretty fast to patch up with it after some initial hiccup...
evofantasy
post May 5 2010, 11:51 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ May 5 2010, 11:30 AM)
Meh, okey, I tried from few places around Bandar Utama though, never really managed to get it work fine (it usually went back to the HTTP Download which takes forever).
I ended up downloading the patches from external websites if it was more than few tens of Mbs.
I did forward ports and all too.

See how it goes on retail then
there was some connection issues due to another earthquake so that affected the patching a lot...

QUOTE(kianweic @ May 5 2010, 11:17 AM)
My experience as follows:

1. Warcraft 3 and Frozen Throne

Download for Warcraft 3 and Frozen Throne is ok. Around 600 to 700mb each.

In game patching is quite fast.

2. Starcraft 2 Beta

Download for Starcraft 2 Beta (didn't do that for the entire thing so not sure)

Patching is horrible. Takes forever to download (and you can't tell how much is done save for that blue bar that sometimes looks like it's moving because there's no indication of ??MB downloaded nor how big is the patch, even Games For Windows Client has that)

And after each patch, you gotta restart the game and download the next patch. So you gotta keep tabs when each patch is actually done downloading and done applying to the game.
actually u dun have to restart the game for each patch...
i patched up from a clean install up to patch 10 at 1 go (no doubt it'll install 1 by 1)...
and the patching is cached so u dun really have to patch all 1 shot...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 5 2010, 11:53 AM
evofantasy
post May 5 2010, 02:10 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 5 2010, 02:05 PM)
Well,as people always say, Blizzard is awesome and everything they do is great.

The way Blizzard patch is already obsolete and terrible, as most companies have changed to different method of patching where the client compares the local files and the files on server. Then, download only the files needed so the the local files is the same as the server. Blizzard have so much resource and they cant do it. Worse, there is not even a cumulative patch for the first few patches for the Beta as you have to download patch 1 to 10 one by one.

If they are so great, why is the patching is so painful and slow?

Even RA3 Beta have cumulative patches for each patch released.

I couldnt find any thread that have patch 9 which is the huge patch. The small ones are still ok.
well it is almost cumulative...
it does resume the patch from where u stopped...
and it can detect the manual patches...

http://maged.lordaeron.org/sc2/
for manual patches
evofantasy
post May 5 2010, 03:23 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 5 2010, 02:51 PM)
what evo already said, it downloads what it needs, and thats that. blizz just havent got to using one cumulative singular patch just to get v1's to say, v10 like they've ALWAYS done for diablo1-2, war1-3, WoW, sc1 for some reason and im sure they are prolly testing (oh, this is still the beta, right?)something out on the patching system. you'd think that it wouldnt raise questions to do something different (or in your viewpoint, obsolete and outright terrible) when they've already done what you have describe all the time for all their games.

and lets put it this way, not ALL of us are having painful and slow patching. i dont, for instance.

Added on May 5, 2010, 2:53 pm

oh wow someone actually understood whats the purpose of a beta test...  shocking.gif

/jokes aside, yeah they are using really similiar tech thats been used for WoW, just a lil different as there arent cumulative patches yet, and/or smarter/faster/better patching compared to WoW

Added on May 5, 2010, 2:54 pm

nvm we can play good enuf LOL

just enjoice our sc2 games
well i'm i'm having no problem with the current sc2 patches...
wut it does is that it download files into a hidden 'update' folder and tracks the files in it...
so u could manually download patches and dump them all inside that update folder to patch up by running the client...

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ May 5 2010, 03:02 PM)
They added the gigantic map editor + new maps which resulted in a larger patch, what so bad with letting it patch a little bit longer.
QUOTE(kianweic @ May 5 2010, 03:09 PM)
It's not the size but the speed of the download.

I gonna let the installer run again in an older PC and see what happens.

Then I gotta test it, hopefully the experience won't be as bad as on my new PC.
patch 9 is close to 500mb (based on the manual patch size)...
it took me around 20 minutes to patch up patch 9 (while raiding lol)...
so it depends on ur connection i guess...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 5 2010, 03:23 PM
evofantasy
post May 5 2010, 04:45 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 5 2010, 04:38 PM)
LoL yeah same I downloaded it before I went to office, for that patch.

But then again patch 9 is considered a huge patch, I wonder whats the size of it. Its almost like downloading the whole SC2 beta client, I guess.
almost 500mb...
there's a 470mb file within the patch 9 manual patch...
evofantasy
post May 5 2010, 07:00 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ May 5 2010, 05:46 PM)
I gonna try it again tonight using old PC since I can't get it to work on new PC (200+ games no issues and this is giving me the most problems even BSOD during patches).

I'll download and install all files via their website and hopefully I can play instead of trying to make it work by Friday, if not I'll just pass my account to a friend.
did u download ur installer from bnet itself or other sources?
cause i'm downloading directly from bnet and its fine for me...
evofantasy
post May 5 2010, 10:06 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 5 2010, 09:53 PM)
random for lyfe since all races also fun...

zerg is tiresome on my fingers though
s > zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
s > rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
s > hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
s > mmmmmmmmmmmmm

lol
u should see my 2v2 wit fujin when i go >100 roaches lol
evofantasy
post May 6 2010, 11:26 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ May 6 2010, 01:33 AM)
Argh... f*cked up my last placement match due to messy gameplay. Was winning but ended up giving the match away to a few mutas.

I know I'm not gonna stay at those high league for long but really, when the mistakes are so huge & stupid, I really deserve a big slap across the room. doh.gif

/rant
i was 3-0 up while being dead sleepy...
decided to finish the last 2 games and screw those games up against 2 gateway zealot rushes (i suck at mirror matches)
moral: take it slow
evofantasy
post May 6 2010, 12:57 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 6 2010, 12:27 PM)
I'll just create a new e-mail/fb just for this game.

Your link does not seem to be working.
actually its nothing new as blizz has done it with WoW (linking WoW, armory and FB all together)
evofantasy
post May 6 2010, 07:55 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ May 6 2010, 07:51 PM)
But there were less than 10 that goes online at night. sad.gif
too busy with work and WoW
evofantasy
post May 7 2010, 11:10 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 7 2010, 10:53 AM)
tip for zerg: play piano

tip for terran: wall wall wall > MMM (or reaper harrass if ur fancy and being a complete badass motherf***er) into tanks or air like viking/banshees (and ur medivacs of course, the 3rd M)
or THORSHIP!!!!

actually it would depend on ur opponent's race and BO...
vs zerg = helion/thor
vs toss = MMM
vs terran = banshee

Added on May 7, 2010, 11:43 am
QUOTE(taeru @ May 7 2010, 08:37 AM)
bah sentry nerf wth, and gj on the phoenix, ill love to use it now....better AA in general
much more of a support unit than a dps unit...
and i think i'm the only guy that research hallucination lol

QUOTE(melvintcs @ May 7 2010, 08:08 AM)
* ZERG
o Brood Lord
+ Life has been decreased from 275 to 225.
+ Armor has been decreased from 2 to 1.
too bad the roach still very powerfull ...
roach is not powerful, just cost effective to spam and die >.<

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 7 2010, 11:43 AM
evofantasy
post May 7 2010, 02:50 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(taeru @ May 7 2010, 01:41 PM)
which is a good idea as i can fake more carriers to fake them into building AA
i dun think u can halucinate carriers O.o
i usually: -
- phoenix = scouting
- collosus = for the lul
- zealots = fodder for my other units
- void rays = make them think i got a starport lol
evofantasy
post May 7 2010, 03:33 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 7 2010, 03:23 PM)
oohh need to collect and not email, yeah good call. so you get the option to cancel if need be ^^

Added on May 7, 2010, 3:25 pm

fixd
they are hallucinated units...
they deals 0 damage >.<

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 7 2010, 03:33 PM
evofantasy
post May 7 2010, 03:40 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 7 2010, 03:35 PM)
real men build real units
its call tactical...
u would be surprised how effective hallucinated zealots are...

i would like to trick my opponent to GG when he sees my big army (half hallucinated LOL)
evofantasy
post May 9 2010, 02:03 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

wow, i'm nt on9 for 2 days and this thread move to fast...
anyways how are u guys adapting to patch11...
been bz these few days so haven patch up yet and was wondering is there any changes to the meta...
evofantasy
post May 9 2010, 08:46 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 9 2010, 07:52 PM)
Cos there are no koleans, and TLO FTWWWW
he's gonna fall to whiteRa!!!
evofantasy
post May 10 2010, 12:45 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 10 2010, 09:05 AM)
That guy is a lawn mower, in all the SC2 competition that I've seen. But Im still a bigger fan of TLO cos he always surprise us with his play and performance.
He always does that and there he goes b****ing bout the game all over again.  doh.gif  doh.gif
whiteRa is a beast...
there's not a game with whiteRa that i'm nt impressed with his sentry play/ middle-late voidrays...

and i hope NonY crushes Idra...
been watching day[9]'s daily show about NonY's phoenixes...
i gotta say i'm totally into that build...
evofantasy
post May 10 2010, 03:21 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 10 2010, 02:13 PM)
who said cant? just pray you got ur tanks or vikings for colossus if ur slowpoke to not finish the toss during ur MMM momentum, or mass more marines if he immortals instead of colossus

the tricks is to get a good kiting if he zealot, if he stalker, just turtle i n the base OR have map control over expansions (HIS ONES) then once ur stim pack + medivac is out, PRE STIM HEAL CHIONG AHHHH XD~

Added on May 10, 2010, 2:13 pm

lol south park
depends...
as a toss, MMM is so easy to counter...

1. sentry heavy army with good FF to split the MMMs and then GS
2. collosus based with sentry's FF
3. DTs -> HTs transition

i find myself going to the 3rd one pretty often lol...

if u are going MMM, u dun jz stay back and go up to 150 food count...
u gotta do a timely push with steampack up...
if u wait, u are gonna get rolled so easily especially with toss's great CC (MMM is overrated)...
it gets even funnier when the zerg go infestors and /lol ur MMMballs...

Added on May 10, 2010, 3:22 pm
QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ May 10 2010, 03:12 PM)
what is MMM ?

and how to check which server we are playing on?

protoss got what cheap long range siege weapon ar?
MMM = MarineMarauderMedivecs

protoss's long range -> collosus with thermal lance upgrade = 9 range awesomeness...
backed with sentries, it would fry any MMMs before the MMM can even touch them lol...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 10 2010, 03:22 PM

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0422sec    0.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:42 AM