12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

RTS Starcraft 2 V3.0, Anticipated Launching Date July 27, 2010

evofantasy
post May 13 2010, 05:23 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 13 2010, 05:07 PM)
The matchmaking is still quite bugged so far, from what i heard.

Im not saying i hate MMM build, but i just want more builds before i play more Terran, in case MMM doesnt work suddenly and im left there not knowing what else that could be effective to do. Mixing a bit Mech seem to be the way to go so far.

Im not saying im good,as i have pretty much stopped RTS after RA3, as RTS games are getting a bit too stale for me. Except DoW2 after 1.5. So,there are quite a fair bit to catch up for me as im quite rusty now.

I know why im in Copper, mostly because i dont have a clue at all with Zerg and Terran during placement. Also, probably the skill factor as you have point out,as i heard Battlenet also takes account of things like how much floating minerals you have or your average APM before putting you in a league. I expected to be on Silver, max,as Gold players are much better than me in every way. I have played with Gold players and i know im not up to their standard,and probably rage if the matchmaking put me in Gold after reset. lol.

Could you give the link for Day[9]'s VoD? SC Legacy's one kinda suxs,as they arent technical enough nor as entertaining as Husky or HD.

Added on May 13, 2010, 5:08 pm

I thought going full Phoenix is quite a risky BO,as they arent good if you dont have enough of them.

It's entertaining to watch,by the way.
i didnt u didnt watch the real NonY's phoenix play...
he dun go full phoenix...
go to day[9]'s team liquid thread and watch the vids (i linked them few pages back)...
his phoenix play have a sizable ground army as well...
evofantasy
post May 13 2010, 05:41 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 13 2010, 05:39 PM)
The HD invitational match against WhiteRA vs TLO .. and guess who won and goes to the finals

not surprised ^.^
evofantasy
post May 14 2010, 03:13 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/6873502

this is so awesome...
nothing serious but so funny especially skynet
evofantasy
post May 14 2010, 12:07 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ May 14 2010, 11:33 AM)
I start to feel that zerg is getting boring. Every single patch is nerfing zerg. Are they nerfing it because Koreans say zerg is OP?
actually its not that...
korean pros said TERRAN are the OP ones "unbeatable in the hand of sc1 korean pros"...

as for the roach changes, i'm happy wit it...
for someone that uses roaches in his zerg BOs, roach are really jz so effective to spam...
evofantasy
post May 14 2010, 11:09 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 14 2010, 12:30 PM)
read blizz dev interviews bout the balancing dillema

zerg in us = needs buff
zerg in kr = needs nerf

and im happy for zerg change cuz in an ideal world of having perfect resource/BO, having stalker vs marauder vs roaches, roaches would typically come out as the victor due cheap retarded massing and do take note of their dmg/hp/speed in comparison. true, if the stalker got blink as with rauders having concuss, roaches dont stand much chance, but whos to say the roach cant just steamroll your base? base cant blink or concuss em roach now can they? lol

Added on May 14, 2010, 12:32 pm

1) theres no specific SEA version/localized server yet (at least according to current beta state) although it has been announced that there will be one for SEA
2) even if i get the US ver and seperated from SEA folks, it wont bother me, in fact, id rather play in US servers for the most part due to a larger map/custom game community and/or laddering opportunities
the latest interview of korean pro gamers lean towards terran as OP
evofantasy
post May 14 2010, 11:13 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 14 2010, 11:10 PM)
interview on certain players yeah, but thats not what blizz's bnet data shows. at least as of now.
blizz data is spread towards the whole player base...
korean pros is well- pro leagues >.<
evofantasy
post May 16 2010, 03:12 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

O.o
wut happened to the thread when i was away...
anyways the roach 2 supply really messed up my zerg BO timing T.T

Added on May 16, 2010, 4:15 pmmeet Ace, one of the best toss player in asia...
http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/6939042

totally blown away by his first game of smart voidray charge and phoenix combo...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 16 2010, 04:15 PM
evofantasy
post May 17 2010, 05:00 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 17 2010, 04:45 AM)

ssssh spoiler it!!!
though i did spoil it on my facebook as i watched it (distract me long enuff to delay my camera ready paper by 2 hours >.<)...
epic games!!!

watch the VoDs when its up guys, u dun wanna miss it...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 17 2010, 05:01 AM
evofantasy
post May 17 2010, 05:39 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 17 2010, 05:33 AM)
Got mine thru pre-order at Amazon.

Added on May 17, 2010, 5:35 am

Spoiler tab activiated biggrin.gif

spoiler ed u again...
dun mention the 3rd place match as they would know who lost >.<
evofantasy
post May 17 2010, 05:53 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 17 2010, 05:41 AM)
Haha .. u r right biggrin.gif
lucky we are the only 2 that stayed awake this late eh lol...
evofantasy
post May 17 2010, 06:06 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 17 2010, 06:01 AM)
Hehe .. im actually working night shift tongue.gif
lol...
i'm sorta doing OT...
gonna head back to sleep nw then back to work tomorrow maybe at 11am...
evofantasy
post May 17 2010, 04:18 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 17 2010, 04:11 PM)

good stream link, day9 live cast too biggrin.gif
no pausing and bullshit which was AWESOME LOL

lol void right beside + self charge

Added on May 17, 2010, 4:13 pm

amazon says around/less than rm350  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif

Added on May 17, 2010, 4:14 pm

amazon ships to Msia. and i am getting from them.
i tried to mimic the void ray thingy...
failed badly lol...

i find husky/HD livecast getting a little annoying lol...
evofantasy
post May 18 2010, 01:21 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

need advise from fellow zerg players...
how do u guys hold off a 4warpgate rush (zealot heavy -> zealot stalkers -> zealot stalkers immortals) if u go for FE (13pool 14hatch)...
keep getting my butt kicked...

i managed to push back at times, going to his natural (killing his nexus) and containing him...
but somehow when he gets his immortals out, really hard to hold my position >.<
evofantasy
post May 18 2010, 01:30 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 18 2010, 01:25 PM)
I also dont know now days after roach have been nerfed so badly I just feel zerg is quite useless against protoss harass during early game.
i just feel really hard to transition...
i'm forced to go for fast mass roaches (with kiting of course) to hold off the initial push and defend my natural...
even though i managed to blow up his natural, he was already in transition into immortals to counter my roaches while i'm trying to get lair tech into hydras/mutas thus unable to do a full contain (even with my creep highway for reinforcements)...
i was even owned by DTs in one game >.<

Added on May 18, 2010, 1:32 pm
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 18 2010, 01:26 PM)
Where u got ur sources from ?

Added on May 18, 2010, 1:27 pm

Yea ... nowadays most Zerg players go mass hydra due to roach nerf.
nt fast enuff to go fast hydra if the protoss go for early aggression...
WhiteRa pwned Sen (asia vs europe exhibition game) using the same build (copied by my fren when i'm practising my zerg that i having a tonne of trouble now)..

ps: i think WhiteRa could pwn IdrA with the same build lol...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 18 2010, 01:32 PM
evofantasy
post May 18 2010, 01:54 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 18 2010, 01:47 PM)
hold off that FE till ~20 drones or so, you need to have a sizeble army to contain him to buy time for your hydras and overwhelp him with hydras and at that time, even if he got immortals out, its already too late.

the key is to get either hydras or mutas out asap, BOTH are viable and BOTH have its pros and cons.

mutas main pro: mobility, the option to pin the toss in his base trying to defend your worker harrassment etc. cons: stalkers are gonna rape you, but then again, with good micro, and a sizeble ground force to cover the mutas, they can still hold their ground.

hydras main pro: cheap, and good range/dmg/speed. all rounder good ground unit, and definitely can rape stalkers/zealots EASY. cons: immortals can take them unlike mutas, but again, due to the higher range of hydras, so long you play your cards right, they will still do well
so should i still go roaches?
cause its usually 10 zealots knocking at my door though playing 1 base means that i would have the ramp advantage...
wut would u suggest i use to defend early on...
i could defend using roaches when i FE (even when he gets +1damage) but that is due to the extra terrain for me to kite...
my kiting micro is pretty good though (even with roaches' pathetic range lol)
evofantasy
post May 18 2010, 02:30 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 18 2010, 02:11 PM)
imho yes because if you skip roach to straight hydra/muta you may have a gap and early aggression from toss may just done you in. not to mention, hydras alone cant tank shit lol, you need roaches to tank (EVEN IF this means suiciding against immortals)

hydras speed themselves unless on creep, are just too slow to outrun (even possibly non teched) charging zealots, much less blinking stalkers :/

btw, theres always the dillema when it comes to fast games
one thing about FEs: you have to invest 300 upfront, which can equate to ~4 roaches, a LOT more zerglings, or 3+ hydras/3 mutas excluding their gas count. thats not even including workers required to ULTILIZE the FE, an under ultilized FE is as good as wasting your cast that are better off spent on army.

because of the reasons above, some games i ENTIRELY ignore expanding and just 1 base it through. VERY workable with terran/toss, *SLIGHTLY* harder on zerg mainly due to the larvae productions an expo could provide
provided, you get a 2nd queen, and thats yet another 150, well, you could have ur queen working her way through creep tumor/overlord creep spewing to link the expo/main and have her traveling for larvae, but the problem is that its 1) slower 2) shes susceptible to ganks lol 3) link creeps would take time for either lair > overlord spewing or queen energy for tumor (remember that ur spamming larvae almost every 25 energy you get)
the main worry is that if i dun FE, my opponent would FE and my larvae count from a single hatch would nt keep up wit his army/eco...
and u usually got for double queen...

my usual BO
10 - overlord
10 - extractor trick
13 - pool
14 - hatch
16 - queen (when out larvae the main then start walking to expansion)
17 - overlord
17 - gas
18 - roach tech
18 - 2nd queen (for main)
then jz mass around 10-12 roaches with overlords while moving some drones to expansion (while producing some more when i dun have enuff gas for roaches)

then these roaches would be enuff to hold off early pushes before counter pushing (with +1 damage upgrade otw)...
all these while building up my eco and rally-pointing to the 'head' roach...
then i get melted by 2-3 immortals backed wit gateway units sleep.gif"

assuming if i would avoid FE what would be the suitable BO?
and when should i be getting my expansion?
evofantasy
post May 18 2010, 02:55 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 18 2010, 02:39 PM)
Tried 2-3 Spine Crawlers with lings?  hmm.gif
ya tried...
failed miserably...
cant handle the zealots...
3 zealots can take down the spine crawlers with ease...
evofantasy
post May 18 2010, 03:23 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 18 2010, 03:14 PM)
i think you may want 9 overlord and skip the extractor trick, do it once you get pool. why? 80mineral = *SLIGHT* delay in pool. you'll want that pool out ASAP for zergling preasure + early queen to get her energy started

and really, i think the main problem with your build is the HUGE vulnerability period where a 10pool or even a 13pool speedlinger would either utterly destroy you, or simply leave you crippled to the point where you may as well just surrender the game.

and i noticed (based on ur posted build) how you're very focused on ur macro/econ. thats good if the game drags to mid/late, however, there is NO mid/late game if ur pinned/preasured from the start or worse, steamrolled :/

a recommended BO without FE would be 13 ling and if ur opponents arent doing too well against your preasure, you get the option to speed upgrade to kill them off, or save that 100 gas for quick lair into muta/hydra if you wanna play it a lil more safer. get 1 spine on 14-15 ish if you dont feel like commiting too much on zerglings and wanna go straight into roaches/muta/hydra. the basic idea is that you need to have at least a couple of zergling to 1) take up watch towers 2) scout, better than workers barnone lol. 25 minerals and moves WAAAY faster 3) harrass/preasure opponents

alternatively, 10 ling into a steady speedling upgrade if all you want is focusing on zerglings especially when you are SURE (be it scout/opponents playstyle etc) that he is aiming for a mid/late game and is turtling out his balls. while it may slow ur econ a little (honestly, not by much, and most importantly, you get queen earlier biggrin.gif) the main benefit of this is that really early preasure you can pull and it catches opponents off guard (admittedly, myself too, which ive learned to spine up myself if i wanna play a mid/late game zerg vs zerg) when they are having a mid/late game mindset (namely, you)

know this: when you're commiting into zerglings, you are NOT spending ANY gas at all, in which transition into mutas are MUCH smoother due to their HIGH requirement of gas and would still be damn viable despite the lack of an early expansion (which again, you saved from commiting yourself to said expansion)

the best/safest way to determine a good time for a FE, would be a mirror with your opponent. if he does it, you follow suite. or, if he does it, you dont follow, and you roll HIS FE. since he need to commit 350/400/400+worker time (races) and you dont, which means a logically larger army than his considering the money you could've spent compared to him.

Added on May 18, 2010, 3:18 pm

ei 3 spine vs 3 zealot spine wins dei lol.
before they even hit you 1 zealot is half hp ady from 3x spine FF

somemore ur spine got almost twice the hp compared to zealots >.>
and when you have 3 spines, most likely you have a queen for assist
ya i'm quite macro heavy early game (ala IdrA)...
depending on wut i scouted, i might be building lings or skipping lings into roaches...

my opponent bring in 10 zealots vs 3 spine...
spine with the previous nerf falls super fast to zealot surrounds...

Added on May 18, 2010, 3:24 pm
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 18 2010, 03:12 PM)
Then 5?
i think the 4 warpgate build can burn me down before i can maintain the 5 spines cry.gif

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 18 2010, 03:24 PM
evofantasy
post May 18 2010, 03:47 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 18 2010, 03:38 PM)
100 min per zealot vs 150 per spine, considering zealot hp/dmg vs spines, its almost equal with spines having range advantage. so quite honestly, it shouldnt even be compared and if he got 10 zealots, you *SHOULD* have equalvalent spine + army give/take and it'll come down to micro/macro + BO (this is only assuming you arent lagging behind too much on econ, and even this, the difference shouldnt be huge considering its an early game with no expansions involved. unless of course ur terribad then nothing to say.
a spine = 50 (for drone) + 150 (for the spine) and limtied by ur larvae count
a zealot = 100 and can be chrono-ed (usually 2 gateway -> 4 warpgates)

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 18 2010, 03:41 PM)
4 zealot equalvalent mineral cost is 16 lings, and 16lings should own the 4 zealots. in fact, if open space when the zerglings can surround, they do stand a decent chance on a 10ling vs 4 zealot fight
not easy to surround 4 zealot if the zealots are well micro-ed (move -> swing timer reset -> hit -> move -> repeat)...

oh ya forgot to mention - the map used for my training is steppes of war since it has the shortest rush distance (thus the best to try to beat 4warpgates)
evofantasy
post May 18 2010, 04:04 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 18 2010, 03:59 PM)
Whats FE?
FE = fast expand

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0464sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:27 AM