A lot of folks here just wanna show off their killer sub lah....that is why it matter so for them. Just enjoy the movie lah...peace!
Avatar & LOTR Trilogy BD, with 25Hz Filter
May 4 2010, 02:15 PM
2,298 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri, Sarawak |
A lot of folks here just wanna show off their killer sub lah....that is why it matter so for them. Just enjoy the movie lah...peace!
May 5 2010, 11:28 AM
In the end, I don't think studio will give a shit about all this....because there are only a handful of people who are bass nut that would go to the extreme to setup crazy amount of subwoofers and whatmore to plot a colorful chat to see how low is the lfe. In the end Avatar has go on and break records after records and 99 % of the people who purchase it don't even realise that the LFE doesn't go as low as 20hz. JMO
May 5 2010, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(mikapoh @ May 5 2010, 12:26 PM) We can't change what has been done for those movies filtered at 25Hz. As far as more buyers start taking action by flooding the studios Co. emails with supported charts, I am sure they will be aware and response. Not only buyers but leading Sub manufacturers too need to take initiatives to query the studios! I do inderstand the disappoint by hardcore about those LFE missing, but that itself do not represent a loss of quality in the audio department.At least, they should give some kind of explanation to justify their decision. We aren't too certain whether it is associated with its production cost or any other untold biz issue. Even so, they should very well aware that large portion of their sales income are also from blu-rays buyers. Most if not all, we will buy original blurays. DVDs originals have taken a back seat, or DVD can be made pirate copies easily in the market. So, the question is why do we still want to buy blurays? In recent months, bluray sales over the globe have picked up tremendously. Those who buy will only demand the best in its PQ & AQ and in fact deserve the best soundtrack. We also have every rights to seek for justifiable explanations if we discover the product that we buy cast a shadow of doubt in its quality. |
May 5 2010, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(mpyw @ May 5 2010, 01:57 PM) If that does not represent a loss of quality in audio department, I don't know why are the US customer complaint about... Your analogy of "DVD is like proton to us and BD is the Porsche in the movie industry" is very wrong. BD is simply a replacement format for the aging DVD. Eventually DVD will be replace by BD just like DVD replace tape. The reason BD is more expensive now its because it is a newer tech and the tech is still relatively expensive. it's like buying a Porsche but they have limit your speed to a max of 110km (that's the speed limit anyway) and put a limter on it, that does not affect their quality as well, but how do you feel? DVD is like proton to us and BD is the Porsche in the movie industry, they charge more, they should give us more. Just remember BD is just the latest storage format, and studio are not under the obligations to provide any master audio of so call HD audio format. |
May 5 2010, 05:23 PM
I am not very sure if a machine gun or a mortar explosion actually generates frequency below 20hz so won't jump to conclusion that it is the cause of machines gun lack of firepower.
I would believe that machine guns generates very high decibles but that doesn't mean that they generates very low frequencies. |
May 6 2010, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ May 5 2010, 05:59 PM) I have played with semi-automatic pistols and rifle before when I was in overseas. I do not know how low it goes but you can feel the firepower of it. Feeling the so call "firepower" like I say doesn't mean it is low frequencies. Every sound wave when played loud enough can generates vibration...afterall sound waves are actually vibration moving thru the air. So when you feel firepower when playing with real guns is because you are so close to the source. To quote an example (not related to real guns), if you have Hulk BD. Try out the 'Lock Down' scene. When he picks up a Armalite or is it Colt M16 and fires the shots at Hulk, you can actually feels the firepower of it. I was using PC12-Plus at that time. Every single shots at -15dB. I have demo this to a few forumers here when they were at my home. For speakers to generates the real sound of gunfire is almost impossible and studio won't even try as it might just cause damage to our speakers. As for the Hulk BD, some director like to "inject" more effect to the movies than reality. That is nothing wrong but some director might prefer otherwise. |
May 6 2010, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ May 6 2010, 09:18 AM) Haven't done so. Speaking about the PC12+, what is the best frequency setting or rather which is the most suitable for normal HT use?What about for music? You might be correct Btw, to test out 25Hz filter is easy. Just set your PC12-Plus to 25Hz setting and start to watch those BDs again such as DH4.0 tunnel scene, TS, Transformers II, Kung Fu Panda and those with really nice effect and LFE. You will notice the difference instantly Btw, is the 25hz setting means that it filters those frequencies below 25hz or it means the sub is EQ or tune to produce most effect in those frequencies range? |
May 6 2010, 11:30 AM
I lose my warranty card and manual so cannot read up on it. HTkaki got pdf copy of the manual for PC12+?
| Change to: | 0.0213sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:55 AM |