Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

kayvan
post Jan 7 2012, 02:44 AM

30 posts

[quote=rhika,Jan 7 2012, 01:46 AM]
True, though I'm concerned about the high protein in Orijen.. don't want my boy to be super active, then I pengsan oredi.

Then I think the second best wud be Acana, if not mistaken, lower in protein but higher in carbs, but bare in mind, when protein is lower, carbs will be higher and dogs dont need too much carbs :| Well, if u have a lazy dog then, orijen is not a good idea. Mine does walking all day long, as much walking as I do... hahaha...
kayvan
post Jan 8 2012, 01:26 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Fione Yong @ Jan 7 2012, 04:18 PM)
i have try my girl with tea tree oil..and good news, i dint see any fleas & fungus on her now..thanks for those giving me advise..  biggrin.gif

But the bad news, she still scratching , and getting worst (more and more water dot prompt out)..so i bring her to vet yesterday, they said it's bacterial cause,, so they give her some medicine and shampoo..hope she will be fine soon..

Between, i have fully switch her food from RC to Nutram..At the moment (3 days), i think it's quite ok, as her poos and pees not so smelly (acceptable)..i also did saw orijin sell at vet clinic, it's quite pricey, RM75 for 2.5 kg..so, i need advise can i give her mix origin & Nutram or jz fix on 1 is enough?..
She'll be ok dont worry. I dont think its advisable to mix to diff brands, coz u never know how much protein, carbs & fat u may be feeding ya buddy. U may switch her to Fish base food, use medicated shampoo, brush often, practice hygiene and whatever u can think of that will help ya buddy be safe from bacteria. Btw orijen is sold at RM 61 at PetLovers, i have no idea why some pet store sell it for so expensive, btw some stores sell bigger packaging for a cheaper price. Which part of sarawak do u live? are there many pet stores?

Added on January 8, 2012, 1:32 am
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jan 7 2012, 09:13 PM)
Went to Seapark to buy Acana Pacifisca but no more stock. Ended up buying Orijen Six Fish which cost rm167 for 7kg. Jes wan to test to see if feeding fish can cure my itchy snoopy or not.
then u shud buy smaller packet lehhh... if ya buddy dont like then how?? fish base a little smelly and some dogs dont like, even my dog also never like fish base pet food. Try lorr... even Fish4Dogs brand seems good, I tried and it helped reduce shedding

This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 8 2012, 01:32 AM
kayvan
post Jan 8 2012, 01:56 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(redoxon @ Jan 8 2012, 01:48 AM)
what wuld you all suggest for a 9months old toy poodle.. that is not quite active (only runs around in the house with occasional walks)... she is currently on eukanuba chicken and her poop really smells..
Oh god, Eukanuba is a big NO for any dog, even a non-active dog .... Hmm.... http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/brand/
Check this site out, depends on how u wana feed ya dog, less protein or higher, then degree of carbs will increase or decrease accordingly. but the best i have found so far, is Orijen, EVO and Acana. Acana will be best for ya buddy, as it has equal amount of carbs and protein smile.gif

kayvan
post Jan 8 2012, 03:08 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(redoxon @ Jan 8 2012, 02:14 AM)
haha..okay thanks  biggrin.gif
Mention not cool2.gif
kayvan
post Jan 8 2012, 08:59 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Dcom @ Jan 8 2012, 03:21 AM)
If you all can, I would say home cooked food is the best for your dogs. Just read this http://www.thewholepetdiet.com/the-whole-pet-diet/
thumbup.gif

Added on January 8, 2012, 9:08 pm
QUOTE(Fione Yong @ Jan 8 2012, 10:24 AM)
thanks kayvan..hm, i stay miri, sarawak..i been survey few pet shop, but mostly brand they carry is the commons one, etc, pedegree, alpo, borsh, my dear dog, royal canin, others brand from korean which the packing wording also korean and Nutram which i did post the ingredient at this forum before..i saw this Orijin at vet clinic when i bring my girl to check up..still thinking should i change her to better protein or just in this Nutram is fine..This brand got lots of packing, even for those sensitive skin & allergy care, but mine one was grain free one..the only one not good is the grain free packing only got 1 size - 1.5kg..no bigger pack..that what me headached..  (http://www.nutram.com/products/index_minibite_brand_DOG_premium_food.html  - puppy).

Between, what is the meaning of AAFCO? i see it at the bottom of ingredient..

Nutram: http://www.nutram.com/products/index_nutra...emium_food.html
AAFCO is a voluntary association that makes sure that pet food is safe to be consumed and make sure the food has been prepared according to the regulation being set by AAFCO. Here's a link http://www.aafco.org/ by the way, not all pet food are approved by AAFCO.
Some food that are approved by AAFCO is Acana, Orijen, EVO, Royal Canin, AVODerm but even so, each brand only selected kibbles are approved by AAFCO.

This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 8 2012, 09:08 PM
kayvan
post Jan 9 2012, 03:52 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Fione Yong @ Jan 8 2012, 10:12 PM)
ok..so if for those not been approved food safe for our furkid also?
they may be safe but not extremely healthy and may not have ingredients that are required for puppy/dog/pet development smile.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jan 9 2012, 07:41 AM)
I think he should be ok with Orijen Six Fish cause i use Evo Salmon and Herring treats for his training.
Thats great then wink.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 3:56 pm
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jan 9 2012, 12:27 PM)
The size is about 20-50cent coint. Some are round, some are triangle shapes. Got it from Petslover or Fur and Paws at Kota Kemuning. RM19 per packet.

Anyway, this is my Snoopy new toy, Kong Wobblers!  rclxms.gif
Now i feed him dinner using this Kong Wobbles. Very nice to see he works hard to get his food and he seems interesting too.  laugh.gif

Kong toy is an excellent boredom killer. I stuff in peanut butter and treats, that makes my beagle busy all day long smile.gif

This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 9 2012, 03:56 PM
kayvan
post Jan 9 2012, 09:22 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 9 2012, 05:42 PM)
Where did you get the Kong wobbler from? Might try that for my puppy.
Pet Lovers has it... http://www.petloverscentre.com.my/location.html u may wana see which store is nearest to u at this site.

This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 9 2012, 09:23 PM
kayvan
post Jan 10 2012, 03:55 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jan 10 2012, 12:55 PM)
@Rhika, the video i posted is Snoopy with his Kong Wobbler wat.. I also have Kong Classic for several months and it's a great product. Now i feed him his night meal time using this Wobbler and he seems quite interested playing with this Wobbler. I read it somewhere in the net saying that dog will feel satisfied when they work for their food.  tongue.gif

@jchong... I am not sure Petlovers got it or not as i cant find it anywhere in Petslover. I contacted their dealer who is Progenis in Puchong as i saw the advertisent at Petster magazine and drop an email to them. I was told they didnt actually sell on shelf but on order. They will sent to Pet center near ur place and you buy it from there. FYI, the price for large wobbler that i bought is Rm75 before less.
P/s ohh.. That's surprising cause I had bought mine from pet lovers. They have it in many sizes and colors. They have one which is for consistent chewers which is probably a little extra harder n that comes in black. Pet lovers is definitely a store that u can find anything, a little costly "maybe" but u r sure to get it there. Their range is about RM 35, RM 44, RM 51, RM 55 & RM 70 for the biggest one and if u are a member u get 10-15% discount.

This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 10 2012, 04:06 PM
kayvan
post Jan 10 2012, 04:50 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jan 10 2012, 04:07 PM)
R u sure it's Kong Wobblers and not Kong Classic? Cause as far as i concerned, it only come in red colour.
Now that's a little confusing ... Sorry about that. Btw KONG comes in many colors. Google kong and look for images. KONG classic comes in 3 sizes, u pick the size according to ya dog's weight and they are for treat stuffing. KONG wobbler is mainly for food dispensing and also treat stuffing. These 2 are red in color. KONG extreme is Ultra Strong & Durable for powerful chewers. This one is black in color. KONG senior, for older dogs. This one comes in double color purple & White.. KONG puppy is pink in color, made easier for puppy chewing. They kong other kong toys as well, perhaps there are wide range of KONG toys sold out of Malaysia, but what's available in Malaysia is maybe wobbler, classic & extreme. Hope this helped. Btw progenesis, u mentioned in the earlier post, are they pet store or wholesalers?

This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 10 2012, 04:51 PM
kayvan
post Jan 10 2012, 10:39 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jan 10 2012, 07:19 PM)
They should be wholesale I guess. Maybe u r in luck getting wobbler as I try to search everywhere but can't find wobbler. Classic in the other hand available almost anywhere including the said mention extremes which is black and pink which is for puppy.
What I have is classic, wobbler is to stuff food which is available in pet lovers. So u should try ya luck as well biggrin.gif
kayvan
post Jan 11 2012, 12:03 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jan 10 2012, 10:58 PM)
I already have my Kong Wobblet. Hehe
wobbler is better, coz its a food dispenser plus for treat stuffing. My doggy has a very good eating habit so i just got him the small one. They also have those bottled treats, which is in liquid form, which makes it easier to fill the Kong. I wonder if pet lovers will have it. I saw it on www.kongcompany.com

kayvan
post Jan 12 2012, 02:24 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mywii @ Jan 12 2012, 02:05 PM)
My cocker is taking blackwood chicken. Poo is moist and soft. Any other pellet that can make the poo drier ....easier to scoop without leaving big mess smile.gif
My beagle takes orijen, poo quite solid and not messy.

Added on January 12, 2012, 2:25 pm
QUOTE(rhika @ Jan 12 2012, 09:33 AM)
Yeah, I'd love to get it but cannot find any shop that has it =/
Also looking for Artemis, the importer no longer bring it in =(
For Oven-baked there are a few places that has it.

1) Pet shop near Leisure Mall, Cheras, don't remember the name but they have a Peke running around the shop, 3rd or 4th shop from corner lot, that whole row got 3-4 pet shops same block one
2) Nilufar, Scott Garden, Old Klang Road
3) Pet Safari, IPC/Ikano  (If I recall correctly)
For Kong, I've seen pink and green ones at random places, usually for puppy. Kong Wobbler spotted in Dec 2011 at Pyramid Pet Lovers Centre and one more place I cannot recall.
U r right... Pink ones are for puppy. Green not quite sure...but purple n white ones are for senior dogs.

This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 12 2012, 02:25 PM
kayvan
post Jan 12 2012, 07:37 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mywii @ Jan 12 2012, 05:39 PM)
I still have lots of the blackwood. Is it ok to mix the orijen?
I am not so sure abt mixing, but when u switch food its advisable to do a little mixing rite, I think thats ok but guess not for a long term. I dare not suggest on that coz I am not sure myself abt this. Blackwood is so so la. Evo or Acana is good as well, as for orijen its high in protein. Wanna make my beagle an active one, planning to enrol home base training for him biggrin.gif
kayvan
post Jan 12 2012, 09:24 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mywii @ Jan 12 2012, 08:52 PM)
I summore bought a 15kg packet...jialat liow....I also wan to home train him so starting with puppy.com training after CNY. Now he looks so sad outside when we go into the house...He is active and always wants to play...
How much does it cost and how many times a week? Its ok la the food, finish first then switch when almost gonna finish lor.. I give more home food to my beagle... I mix his food with vege like carrots or broccoli.
kayvan
post Jan 13 2012, 01:17 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mywii @ Jan 13 2012, 11:43 AM)
No idea as my honey arranged. Oh can vege one...

Added on January 13, 2012, 11:52 am

american cocker spaniel...2 times a day and 1.5 scoop each time. very big lah cannot put in freezer. I pour half into a container and seal the other half. Big mistake buying too big.

Yup he is going to get his shot after CNY and then to training. Training will be in kinrara.
Here is my "son" ..........

owwwwhhhh !!! U have a very cute "son" biggrin.gif
kayvan
post Jan 14 2012, 02:19 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Jan 14 2012, 11:02 AM)
Go jalan jalan sometimes poop sometimes not depend on mood ! Half poop in house half outside !! Don't know what to do !!
I believe this has to do with discipline. Send for training so that he will get an idea that he should poo poo only at one place all the time.

0.0242sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:40 AM