Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

kayvan
post Dec 8 2011, 04:05 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Dec 2 2011, 05:56 PM)
Just bought a new kibble for my senior dog. It should be a 3 star kibbles.
Abit  blink.gif  but better than buying those Pedigree i think
The pet shop near my place carry Pedigree, alpo, royal canin, blue seal and fitness trainer.
4kg, rm75.

suitable for skin and digestive disorder.
Ingredients:
rice, fresh duck meat ( 20%), dehydrated duck meat, corn oil,
rice gluten meal, fructo-oligo- saccharides, dandelion, milk thistle, cultivated cabbage.

moisture 8%, crude protein 22%, crude oil & fat 14%, fibre 2.7%,
ash 6.5%, calcium 1.15%, phosphorous 0.9%
If i'm not mistaken, pedigree has too much fillers. If u put water in it, they tend to expand. Alpo isn't too bad, u can give it dry or wet. I had read somewhere that dog's food should consist of 2different type of protein and vege/fruits. Thats best for them.
kayvan
post Dec 9 2011, 07:13 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Dec 8 2011, 04:45 PM)
Alpo is crap. Learn to read the label ppl! Dun give wrong judgement to others. Ground yellow corn, corn germ meal, meat and bone meal as first 3 ingredient. Tell me which one do u think is not filler and good?? doh.gif

And..where the heck u read this??  sweat.gif
I'm sorry for misleading anyone here. I surely did not mean that Alpo was the best dog food. Of course there are better dog food out there like Orijen, Solid Gold, Blackwood which contains less fats or carbs compared to those pet food sold in supermarkets, correct me if I'm wrong. If u read the thread I had replied to, was given options of pedigree, alpo, fitness trainer, royal canin and blue seal... which are more or less the same. u may want to check it out here http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/brand/ I'm saying Alpo coz my beagle had consumed Pedigree before, which expands when add water unlike Alpo and also he gets hungry like 3-4hrs after each meal. Home food is the best. I had just started giving my beagle home food. Here are some homemade recipes http://www.i-love-dogs.com/dog-food-recipes.html or http://www.dog-obedience-training-review.c...od-recipes.html there are many other sites that offers dog food recipes. Have a great weekend mate smile.gif

Peace smile.gif

This post has been edited by kayvan: Dec 9 2011, 07:48 PM
kayvan
post Dec 14 2011, 01:11 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(rhika @ Dec 13 2011, 12:58 PM)
You can browse http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/ to check ^^
Good brand also depend on your budget and location (if can find them), please get the best that you can.
Just pls don't go for brands like Pedigree / Alpo / Eukanuba ya. Read the ingredient list carefully and eliminate brands that states stuff like "by-products" or  too much grain / corn.

If you not sure what brand he will like, some shops got sample packs that you can let your puppy try, or get a smaller bag and let him/her try first ~
U r absolutely right. There may be more than one constraints like location, budget or probably first pet. I believe all this takes time as everyday is a learning day. Consuming samples surely is a great idea, some vets to have food samples as well. I give my beagle home food, like boiled chicken, poached eggs, carrots, boiled broccoli and he loves green surprisingly smile.gif

Goodday smile.gif
kayvan
post Dec 20 2011, 12:45 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(rhika @ Dec 20 2011, 09:23 AM)
I also don't mind if you feed me like that =P Lucky beagle =3
Not sure if I saw those brands when I was there last week but you can call their Customer Service line to check for you :-
1300 22 2273
Haha... Well everyone would do the same if they spent more time at home... biggrin.gif I just started giving my beagle Orijen, Turkey & Chicken. It's good because, they dont have fillers. U need not feed alot, just one handful of that and top up with vege. 2.5kg cost RM60+. U may wanna try that. http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-rev...dog-food-puppy/ Have fun babes smile.gif
kayvan
post Dec 28 2011, 02:28 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Dec 28 2011, 08:35 AM)
Lets look at the ingredient itself. Dehyrated poulty meat and animal fats. Since there’s no mention of a specific animal, this item could come from almost anywhere… restaurant grease, slaughterhouse waste, diseased cattle… even pets. Not a very good kibbles i would say.

The most common cause of allergic is chicken, egg, beef, dairy, corn, soy etc. I would suggest you to feed you dog a better quality dog food or try hyppoallergenic dog food. Example of some good kibbles are Evo, Orijen, Acana, Innova and many more.
you are right. I had just switch to Orijen for my beagle. I only feed him a handful and top it up with carrots or boiled broccoli. He loves it smile.gif Orijen is is mostly out of stock at Pet Lovers Bangsar sad.gif The good thing is that Orijen does not have fillers at all. His potty isnt alot but yes when he was http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-rev...dog-food-adult/
kayvan
post Dec 28 2011, 09:11 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(jas5858 @ Dec 28 2011, 08:33 PM)
y not keep on wif Evo ?
i jz consider of switching Evo for my other doggy as well ...
Well I would have; I was considering between Orijen, EVO or Solid Gold. But solid gold had fillers So I dopped it... So First choice was Evo and 2nd Orijen coz Evo has 47% protein and 21% carbs unlike Orijen 42% protein and 30 carbs, but as usual Pet Lovers run out of stock really fast :| So yes I will switch to Evo the next time when my beagle finishes this Orijen brand.... how's urs with Evo...??

Added on December 28, 2011, 9:14 pm
QUOTE(Fione Yong @ Dec 28 2011, 09:05 PM)
@adrian
i heard that better don't feed the puppy the high protein kibble if they are not active (means those train dogs, security dogs) because this will cause a sickness on them in future, right? So between the kibbles you intro, which one is hyppoallergenic dog food? or maybe any other brand you may advise for my buddy? her previous owner feed her ANF kibble, and i assume this Royal Canine was a good kibble as the price about RM90(east m'sia) for a pack for 3 KG..
@rhika
thanks rhika for the useful link, it's help me on knowing more about the actual % protein & other ingredient should have in a quality kibble. The time i buy Royal Canine, i dint even know anything about it, just my friend introduce me it's a super great product, so i just direct buy..only i found my buddy keep scratching and biting, i worried, so do research..and yes, she do scratch her ear sometimes as well but i dint smell anything..hm, what brand would you advise for my buddy?

P/S: if can, the poos & pees of my puppy wont smell badly after taking the new kibbls, as she sleep with me, little bit smell is still fine for me..
but Royal Canin has more carbs, is that good for dogs. The carbs level is higher than protein...

This post has been edited by kayvan: Dec 28 2011, 09:14 PM
kayvan
post Dec 28 2011, 11:28 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Fione Yong @ Dec 28 2011, 09:58 PM)
@adrian
Please don't get my reply wrong, I apologize if i bring u to another meaning..i dint mean either which one is good or bad, i just confuse btwn those ingredients..i did mention earlier, i am still new, i need help on choosing better kibble for my buddy..i am a pet lover, i also want her to be healthy, and wish i could give her whatever good for her..and, may i know what is 'carb'?
Certainly not. Dont worry abt that. smile.gif I'm new to this having a pet and my beagle is the first pet I ever had. So I surveyed online about which pet food it best for dogs been giving him all that supermarket brands like Pedigree, Alpo & dont knw whatelse... so I notice him shedding hair, eating quite frequently and potty also like quite a a lot. Finally I found this site http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/brand/ that tells u which food is best for dogs, what are the level of protein, fats & carbs (Carbohydrate). At the site they'll have the ingredients listed and those with red are likely to be fillers which are known as fillers. How u know they are fillers? When u add water they tend to expand, like a sponge e.g Corn, beet root pulp, ... Pedigree is one of them which has loads of fillers which is surely unhealthy. Read this link on fillers http://www.aplusfrr.com/define-fillers.php

Btw dogs dont require carbs http://rawfed.com/myths/carbs.html

" A rather ironic result has resulted in rare cases, though, where toxins in unnecessary fillers have led to massive recalls at huge expense to the pet food companies. Two recent examples are aflatoxin on corn in the 2006 Diamond Pet Food Recall and melamine on wheat gluten and rice protein concentrate, or rice gluten, fillers in the 2007 Menu Foods Pet Food Recall that included Hill's, Royal Canin, Natural Balance, Iams, Eukanuba, Purina, and Nutro brands (among others)."

Orijen which I have just started for my beagle has 42% protein but Evo is better it has 47% protein. Of course these brands arent cheap, so what I do see, I give him a handful of his Puppy food with lotsa vegetable like carrot. Carrots are healthy snack as well... or boil some chicken wings, chicken breast or even keel, it gives some flavour when they eat their boring food smile.gif

Hope this had helped u some how smile.gif

This post has been edited by kayvan: Dec 28 2011, 11:30 PM
kayvan
post Dec 30 2011, 01:23 AM

30 posts

[quote=rhika,Dec 29 2011, 10:49 AM]
@ fione
If keep scratching may be a few reasons.
1) food not ngam so got itchy / skin problems
2) could be fungus or ear mites etc, good to take to vet for checkup. If not sakit then must be food
3) Check body got ants or anything hiding in fur or not.. sometimes those ants crawl up when they sleeping etc.
4) who knows, maybe bored or don't like / not used to wearing collar

For food, you can also try to get food samples or buy the smallest pack like 1.5kg to try on your girl, sometimes they can be choosy.

Or you can try go for BARF which is raw food, just google, can find a lot lot lot of pages to read. Better to feed this after your girl got all her vaccinations and deworm though.

Don't worry so much =3 If you read my earlier posts, I started with eukanuba *coughcough* Now I switched my boy to Avoderm Chicken :- http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-rev...l-dog-food-dry/
I like most of the ingredients on it even though its quite low on meat content. So to supplment, I feed my boy with BARF on weekends so he can get a balanced diet and also not so boring everytime eat kibble only. But please note, don't mix feeding barf/other food with kibble as the rate of digestion is different.

I live near KL Sentral actually. Pet Lovers bangsar is the one at parking level of Bangsar Shopping Centre. I like to buy stuff for my beagle there'd coz u can accumulate points which may be used to redeem like snacks, biscuits or toys smile.gif Carrots I sometimes cut them small or sometimes make juice and pour it into his meal, for flavour. At times cut them and give him as snack. Baby carrots waste money la... The whole carrot cost u cheaper smile.gif u can boil chicken wings or chicken breast, they will enjoy bitting the bones, moreover it's been boiled so no harm giving them smile.gif so even if I buy food with high protein, I only give him 1handful of his food... *touchwood* my beagle is a healthy bugger .... tongue.gif
kayvan
post Dec 30 2011, 08:40 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(^4ever_Fan+a5y^ @ Dec 30 2011, 08:53 AM)
An advice for u, NEVER cook or boil the bone n give to ur dog, it is dangerous! After the bone being cooked or boiled, it become hard n may harm ur dog. If u wan to give ur dog a bone, give a RAW bone without cooked or boiled. N, u can feed the chicken meat or other meat to ur dog in raw oso, not neccessary to cook. U may do some research on raw food to dog or do some research on feeding bone to dog 1st. If u really read bout BARF, u should know this fact.
ohh... I was told by someone to feed boiled bones but I usually only give him chicken wings, and there are were little bones and sure will not cause any harm, unlike drumsticks. http://thethreedogblog.com/dogs-eating-chi...and-fables.html Bigger bones like drumstick will cause harm, wings I guess not, coz I put them with his food and never give them just alone. I have bought him a big raw bone that cause me RM 19 or so, which he is still trying to bite it to finish. My beagle has experience chewing rubber door stopper and Thank GOD he is a healthy bugger smile.gif I dont like to give him raw which may still have blood flowing from it sad.gif Thanx for the info btw
kayvan
post Dec 31 2011, 05:52 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(devil86 @ Dec 30 2011, 10:41 PM)
And, if u really feed BARF and u really know what is BARF, BARF stand for "Biological Appropriate RAW Food", or "Bone And RAW Food", in which, BARF don't suggest u cook or boil or heat or whatsoever to cook the food, they are all RAW.

My girl had eaten the BARF for 2 years.
"Finally, the next time a dog owner tells you that they are feeding their dogs a raw food diet, because that’s what wolves eat, ask them if they themselves are eating bananas and leaves, because that’s what our ancestors, chimpanzees, eat. After all, DNA-wise, humans are much closer to chimpanzees than dogs are to wolves!" - extracted from www.rawdietfordogs.net- Hahaha

I trully believe pet food is processed food, which may have gone thru lotsa different processes. I am new to this dog world. I surely have no intentions to harm my dog. If I am feeding my dog certain food, I surely have surveyed before I did so. Even talking about high intake of protein, which maybe needed when his activity level is high. Mine isnt active, so i feed him lesser protein. I have all that u may wana list down raw hide, BARF, etc but mind me, rawhide is also something you should not give your dog, http://askville.amazon.com/rawhide-toys-do...equestId=392744, read here and you'll know why. So what my point here is that there is no any food out there sold better than homemade food. If rawhide is bad then why is it still sold in the store? Am i right? I am just sharing my ideas, but not forcing upon anyone please do not misunderstood this. Hope this could give u a rough idea of what I'm talking about. you can even make your own snacks at home, u can prepare smoothies for them with the right ingredients... Hope I did not offend anyone....

http://www.rawdietfordogs.net/
http://www.petsynergy.com/diet.html
(homemade & raw food link)

" A good basic transition diet for dogs should be composed of 50% grains, which should ideally be boiled or steamed. This more closely matches semi-digested grains in the stomachs of the animals that dogs consume in the wild, which is an important part of their diet. The staple grain is usually brown rice, but other organic wholegrains such as oatmeal, barley, millet, corn or amaranth can also be added for variety. Vegetables should make up about 25% of the complete cooked diet and I also recommend boiling or steaming these lightly, then chopping them finely depending on the preference of the individual pet. Some larger dogs love their vegetables whole or raw and this is fine, while some smaller breeds may enjoy them made into more of a puree in a food processor. It is also fine to finely grate raw vegetables such as carrots or zucchini. Virtually all vegetables are acceptable, although favorites include carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, yellow squash, zucchini and Brussels sprouts. "

p/s : Please buddies. dont treat ya pet like a THING that you only notice when u r free. If u cant take good care of them and have no time to prepare good meal for them, then give it to someone who could. It will help to safe a life. Imagine eating nasi lemak all ya life & 3 times a day??? Please read all the links above as their are really useful to ensure a better health for your buddies.

No heart feelings mates.
Goodday & Happy New Year to all smile.gif

This post has been edited by kayvan: Dec 31 2011, 06:37 AM
kayvan
post Jan 1 2012, 02:40 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(devil86 @ Dec 31 2011, 08:45 PM)
U mentioned that u feed BARF to ur kid during weeken, i just wan to tell u a real BARF should not be cooked, if it was cooked, u should not say it is barf. I believe home made or barf or kibble r good for our dogs if they contains good ingredients, n i choose barf coz i believe they r the best food for my kid.
I dont think I did mention i had fed BARF on weekends, Hmmm rclxub.gif ... His chewable toys are all collecting dust. I get him fresh vege & meat that I buy from market & boil for him to eat. Besides pet food, I dont get him anything from a pet store. Thats what I meant. smile.gif Its much healthier. Some of u are surely against this homemade food thingy, but thats ok. Its individual preference. I prefer to feed my fur kid, homemade food. Dogs and cats are carnivores, and evolved eating raw meat. Their systems can handle a certain amount of bacteria; indeed, they were designed for it. But the bacterial load of most commercial foods is so high, many carnivorous animals would indeed sicken if they ate them raw. The rationale of cooking is, in short, to kill these contaminants and same applies to vegetables, which are being plant these days using chemicals & etc.

There are loads of info on dog training & tricks, homemade food for dogs, treats & etc... People who dont know will try & get info from articles or sites that made relevant info available to first timers. We all arent born to be perfect, is that right?? My fur kid eats the weirdest things on earth, but that doesnt meant I have to give him a bowl full of it. He eats chappati, pear without pit, carrots, broccoli, cabbage, cauliflower, hard boiled eggs (helps to keep the coat shiny) even sausages (but not more than one) What am trying to say here is, not to rely 100% of whats sold in the stores. Homemade food is best for your fur kids and give them the best boost of vitamins. Healthy food will also plays an important part in minimizing hair shedding Its all practically the same. Since I have started giving my buddy home food, his shedding has lessen by 50-60% I would say. Its all about being moderate that will help keep your fur kid happy & healthy. Haya.... Its up to u lor...Whatever u guys wana feed ya fur kid....I'm chill about it cool2.gif No heart feelings wub.gif ...just sharing but these whole thing is sounding like a debate sweat.gif doh.gif All is fair in love & war smile.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 1 2012, 08:44 PM
kayvan
post Jan 2 2012, 01:02 PM

30 posts

[quote=hedgie123,Jan 2 2012, 12:43 AM]Addiction Salmon Bleu and Orijen 6 Fish, which one is better?
My one year old Shih Tzu boy facing hair loss problem since he was 5 months old... I changed his kibbles from Nutriedge to Canidae to Nutri Source, currently feeding with a Korean brand Salmon & Potato dog kibbles. But I found that his condition getting worse and worse... I can find balls of his hair on the floor everyday even i comb him once/twice a day..

[/quote]

Hi mate, I have tried Fish 4 Dog brand, it comes in a blue color packaging, but my buddy hates fish, but it did work. The only thing is try making you kid's food a little interesting. Maybe that will help a little. Now i am giving him orijen chicken & turkey, isnt so bad as well. Shedding has reduced to at least 20-30% now. U may wana review this page to decide which food is best for your kid. smile.gif

http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/brand/

Goodday smile.gif

Added on January 2, 2012, 1:04 pm[quote=Fione Yong,Jan 2 2012, 11:43 AM]yes, you are right, since last time, i tot the 'famous' brand sell at Supermarket was good for them, that why my mind still stuck on it until i found this forum, my puppies also facing the same problem as yours, they keep shedding hair and potty also quite a a lot, but the one different with you, they dont want to eat that kibbles unless they are really hungry, only eat a bit..what i do was change their meal type everyday with chicken breast rice..and i notice they love the rice than the pedigree kibbles..he he he
recently i have another new buddy with me, and only that i get closer on thier food as well, i try get advise from 1 of my friends, and she told me to feed RC which on her, that was the best for her girl..Anyhow, thanks alots for the info and the link, it's useful and does help on me get little closer on their health..
Oopps, sorry, i reply with wrong name, haha..
Hm, higher protein should feed lesser? but i have tried to feed lesser to her, but she seems dont feel enough, keep asking for more and still she can finish whatever i gave to her..so, how am i gonna know that the protein is high enough and she is eat enough?..
I am trying to search for those brand you intro here, unfortunately, this place is small, and i coudnt find the brand you intro.. smile.gif

Added on January 2, 2012, 11:49 am

i think her scratch are mostly due to fungus and flea, i found few 'bloody fat dot' at her body, now trying on some fleas control for her as well..thanks alots for the information.. smile.gif

Added on January 2, 2012, 12:14 pmAlthough i cant find those brand intro by you guys here, due to my RC going finish soon, i have to make decision on the brand that currently available at market here, and i have choose the brand of Nutram, which i personally(on basic knowledge) think the ingredient and protein are quite ok, lets look into it and discuss..

NUTRAM Mini-Bite Puppy

INGREDIENT
Chicken Meal, Dehydrated Whole Potato, Chicken Fat(preserved with Vitamin E), Pea Fiber, Salmon Meal, Flaxseed, Fish Oil, Natural Flavors, Dicalcium Phosphate, Psyllium Fiber, Dried Whole Eggs, Potassium Chloride Salt, Lecithin, Vitamin E, Choline Chloride, Chicory Root(a source of FOS), Kelp Meal, Vitamin C, Yucca Schidigera, Marigold Extract(a source of lutein), Mannanoligosacchardies (MOS), Sodium Tripolyphosphate, Zinc Proteinate, Vitamin A, Vitamin D3, Vitamin K(menadione), Vitamin B12, Riboflavin, Niacin, Dicalcium pantothenate, Pyridoxinje hydrochloride, Thiamine mononitrate, Folid Acid, Biotin, Ferrous Sulphate,  Iron Proteinate, Manganese proteinate, Zinc Sulphate, Copper Sulphate, Copper proteinate, Calcium iodate, Cobalt Proteinate, Beta Carotene, Sodium Selenite.

GUARANTEED ANALYSIS
Crude Protein    min.      30.0%
Crude Fat          min.      19.0%
Crude Fiber       max.       3.0%
Crude Ash         max.      7.25%
Moisture            max.     10.0%
Calcium            min.        1.2%
Phosphorous     min.        1.0%
Sodium             min.       0.38%
Copper             min.       20mg/kg
Iron                 min.      285mg/kg
Zinc                 min.      220mg/kg
Vitamin A         min.    12000IU/kg
Vitamin D         min.      1200IU/kg
Vitamin E         min.        100IU/kg
Vitamin B6       min.      4.25mg/kg
Linoleic Acid     min.        3.2%
(Omega-6)
Linolenic Acid   min.        0.58%
(Omega-3)*
Docosahexaenoic Acid
(DHA)*            min.        0.10%
Metabolizable Energy  3740kcal/kg

[/quote]

Its a small matter after all. Am sure u want a healthy and happy mate at home. It makes me happy saving a life smile.gif

Added on January 2, 2012, 1:11 pm[quote=rhika,Jan 2 2012, 08:46 AM]hedgie >>
Have you always fed your boy with fish based kibble ? Maybe he don't like fish or allergic to fish/potato ? Maybe consider alternative like duck / venison / lamb / kangaroo.

For fishy kibble, Origen 6 fish would be better in terms of fish content is higher than Addiction. Addiction only has Salmon Meal as its only significant fish content and Smoked Salmon on 3rd place. Orijen has fishies listed 8 times, with varying degrees of inclusion.

But do note the protein percentage of Orijen is ~38% vs Addiction's ~24%. Too high protein also not good esp for small breeds.

Other pretty good ones are :-
Petcurean Go Natural Wild Salmon http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/dog_food_re...duct=2296&cat=3

Naturapet California Natural Lamb Meal & Rice http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/dog_food_re...oduct=437&cat=4
kayvan >>
The BARF on weekends is me XD;;
I also read that cooked bones not so good for furkids so I give my boy raw.
I just remembered got PetLovers at the carpark there, so odd location haha !

[/quote]

Ohh I am really sorry. I thought u said I had mentioned so. Yup I read that as well, abt cooked bones, in fact at the beginning I had given him raw bones with meat but there was so much blood flowing out of it, so I had quite doing so now & started boiling coz according 2a fren's vet,raw bones arent safe for them. My beagle had been shedding like crazy til i had to sweep twice or thrice a day. So now, *thouchwood* he is good. Shedding had reduced drastically and he is healthy. Thats all we want rite, a healthy buddy. Yes the PetsLover is in BSC carpark, thats the nearest for me. I had been purchasing stuff & accumulated points which I used to redeem snacks & biscuits. So i find it worth it. Toys & puzzles for dogs can be found there, unlike other pet stores.

Added on January 2, 2012, 1:31 pm[quote=kayvan,Dec 30 2011, 01:23 AM]
[quote=rhika,Dec 29 2011, 10:49 AM]
@ fione
If keep scratching may be a few reasons.
1) food not ngam so got itchy / skin problems
2) could be fungus or ear mites etc, good to take to vet for checkup. If not sakit then must be food
3) Check body got ants or anything hiding in fur or not.. sometimes those ants crawl up when they sleeping etc.
4) who knows, maybe bored or don't like / not used to wearing collar

For food, you can also try to get food samples or buy the smallest pack like 1.5kg to try on your girl, sometimes they can be choosy.

Or you can try go for BARF which is raw food, just google, can find a lot lot lot of pages to read. Better to feed this after your girl got all her vaccinations and deworm though.

Don't worry so much =3 If you read my earlier posts, I started with eukanuba *coughcough* Now I switched my boy to Avoderm Chicken :- http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-rev...l-dog-food-dry/
I like most of the ingredients on it even though its quite low on meat content. So to supplment, I feed my boy with BARF on weekends so he can get a balanced diet and also not so boring everytime eat kibble only. But please note, don't mix feeding barf/other food with kibble as the rate of digestion is different.

I live near KL Sentral actually. Pet Lovers bangsar is the one at parking level of Bangsar Shopping Centre. I like to buy stuff for my beagle there'd coz u can accumulate points which may be used to redeem like snacks, biscuits or toys smile.gif Carrots I sometimes cut them small or sometimes make juice and pour it into his meal, for flavour. At times cut them and give him as snack. Baby carrots waste money la... The whole carrot cost u cheaper smile.gif u can boil chicken wings or chicken breast, they will enjoy bitting the bones, moreover it's been boiled so no harm giving them smile.gif so even if I buy food with high protein, I only give him 1handful of his food... *touchwood* my beagle is a healthy bugger .... tongue.gif

[/quote]

I just remembered abt ya buddy scratching. Did u check if ya buddy ya dandruff, which can be controlled using medicated shampoo and showers regularly, at least once every week, bring ya buddy to the vet, our u could check yaself at home. They are just like humans, u'll see some kinda debris on the hair itself, if that it so ask ya vet which shampoo is best to consume. That might also help. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 2 2012, 01:31 PM
kayvan
post Jan 2 2012, 03:25 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Fione Yong @ Jan 2 2012, 02:20 PM)
Definately not the dandruff, i dint saw anything flow from her fur..jz many fat bloody dot (flea)..i am trying some flea shampoo and the spray, hopefully this useful for her..this morning, i found many bloody hide behind her cage..at the corner of the floor and the walls..nyucks..it's scary man....
May I suggest u to use tea tree oil after shower, only one drop. Then mop ya floor using eucalyptus oil (minyak kayu putih) dilute it in a bottle with spray, then spray at the cage and wherever necesary, u may also use that solution Frontline sold at major pet stores, they have spray form too. Get that & use it for at least 3mth... it will go away... Hope ya buddy feels better soon...

kayvan
post Jan 2 2012, 04:08 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Fione Yong @ Jan 2 2012, 03:40 PM)
Tea tree oil? what is it? it's kind of serum or what? the drop was anywhr is it? or whr it suppose to drop? and normally will the petshop sell eucalyptus oil? sorry asking so much, as i not sure on this..hehe..ya, hope she will be fine soon, pity saw her keep scratching..
No no both tea tree oil & eucalyptus oil (minyak kayu putih) u can get it from Pharmacies like Guardian or watson. Its cheap only, but dont put too much u know.

pour one or two drops of Tea Tree Oil on your hand, maximum of 4drops, then rub it on the whole body of ya buddy. Eucalyptus oil, pour in ya floor cleaner & mop the floor. If there is bedding use it to spray on the bedding and put it under hot sun. Remember, ticks & fleas hate heat, all stages of fleas & ticks can be destroyed in maximum heat.

Frontline[cool.gif brand from petstore, for ticks & fleas.

This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 2 2012, 04:09 PM
kayvan
post Jan 2 2012, 06:29 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Fione Yong @ Jan 2 2012, 04:15 PM)
hm, ok..i will try to search both of that at pharmacies, really thanks alots..let you know the result when i try it.. biggrin.gif

Added on January 2, 2012, 4:17 pm@kayvan
do you have any comments on the kibbles that i write? i meant the brand of Nutram..
http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/dog_food_re...hp/product/1404

I havent heard of this brand, it seems to be a canadian brand formerly known as Elmira, i think... Elmira bought over by Nutram, a canadian company. http://www.essortment.com/diet-health-bad-...ents-48936.html This brand isnt listed on this site
http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/brand/ so I manage to find a site that tells u the controversial ingredients in dog food. Please read the site listed above. smile.gif

Added on January 2, 2012, 6:38 pm
QUOTE(rhika @ Jan 2 2012, 08:46 AM)
hedgie >>
Have you always fed your boy with fish based kibble ? Maybe he don't like fish or allergic to fish/potato ? Maybe consider alternative like duck / venison / lamb / kangaroo.

For fishy kibble, Origen 6 fish would be better in terms of fish content is higher than Addiction. Addiction only has Salmon Meal as its only significant fish content and Smoked Salmon on 3rd place. Orijen has fishies listed 8 times, with varying degrees of inclusion.

But do note the protein percentage of Orijen is ~38% vs Addiction's ~24%. Too high protein also not good esp for small breeds.

Other pretty good ones are :-
Petcurean Go Natural Wild Salmon http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/dog_food_re...duct=2296&cat=3

Naturapet California Natural Lamb Meal & Rice http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/dog_food_re...oduct=437&cat=4
kayvan >>
The BARF on weekends is me XD;;
I also read that cooked bones not so good for furkids so I give my boy raw.
I just remembered got PetLovers at the carpark there, so odd location haha !
something on Orijen brand pet food ---- http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=48372
something about too much protein ---http://www.dogfoodproject.com/index.php?page=protein_myth
orijen feeding chart http------://www.orijen.ca/orijen/products/puppyFeeding.aspx ( i feed my buddy lesser than
required & top it up with vegetables.

This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 2 2012, 07:26 PM
kayvan
post Jan 2 2012, 07:35 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(green_algae @ Jan 2 2012, 06:51 PM)
I gt see ppl feedin dogs with rice mix with chicken liver.advisable to do that?
http://www.buzzle.com/articles/rice-diet-for-dogs.html Rice is good for quick digestion. Meat takes longer to digest, I dont think its advisable to feed rice daily. Liver is also good but not too much... Liver is good for dogs in moderation. As stated, it's high in vitamin A and there is such a thing as vitamin A toxicity. Unlike some vitamins that simply exit the body once it's had enough, vitamin A sticks around and buildup causes problems. In a raw food diet, liver in only 5% of the overall diet. I am not sure how much baking alters the nutrients in liver.
kayvan
post Jan 3 2012, 10:52 PM

30 posts

[quote=Fione Yong,Jan 3 2012, 01:57 PM]
watson n guardian here said the eucalyptus oil is out oc stock, bt the packing was red white o..anyway, i still,manage to buy the tea tree oil..also green colour pack..he h

Then try get it from Giant or so, tesco maybe... or any malay medicine shop they will surely have it. Its a massage oil actuallty, if u cant find that, try tea tree oil... Thats also good. Hope he recovers real soon smile.gif

rhika >>> i will try that, but I think I have a vegan Beagle... Hahaha... wwho loves vege better than anything on earth tongue.gif
kayvan
post Jan 4 2012, 03:07 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jan 4 2012, 02:13 PM)
This Friday gonna head to Seapark Pet Supplies at peejay to buy Acana Pacifica. Gonna stop feeding him Evo as he still itch. Trying to feed him fish food now.
Ahhh... Thats seems good... but I think they have recipes online that tells u how to prepare fresh fish for dogs. Pet food for dogs has really strong smell, am afraid ya buddy may not like.

rhika
apples are ok, I had given him before but not too much, coz they are naturally sweet as some sweet fruits has fructose. smile.gif

Added on January 4, 2012, 3:12 pm
QUOTE(kayvan @ Jan 4 2012, 03:07 PM)
Ahhh... Thats seems good... but I think they have recipes online that tells u how to prepare fresh fish for dogs. Pet food for dogs has really strong smell, am afraid ya buddy may not like. Hey could u do me a favour pls, if thats not troublesome? Could u check for me how much is Orijen brand food, Chicken & Turkey. Pls... biggrin.gif Thanx

rhika
apples are good, I had given him before but not too much, coz they are naturally sweet as some sweet fruits contains fructose. smile.gif
This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 4 2012, 03:12 PM
kayvan
post Jan 5 2012, 01:09 PM

30 posts

rhika....

u know what? seapark pet supplies sell Orijen 2.5kg for RM 62 and RM 139 for 7kg, but petlovers in bangsar gives me for RM 60 for 2.5kg. As it is I live in KL and i have drive up to PJ, might as well get it from here. I think petlovers is still one of the best pet store I have been to, even the one in ikano, pet safari. Those are some of the greatest pet store... there's one in Taman Megah, Pet Family. I have a fren who workes there named Mary, visit her & she'll give u a good deal... She is a sarawakian too wink.gif

kayvan
post Jan 6 2012, 11:14 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 6 2012, 03:27 PM)
What he means is that you should read the list of ingredients and from there can analyze if the dog food got quality or not.

Of course there are websites that do such review like: http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/ You can check it to see how is Royal Canin rated.

Other sites:

http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/dry/
http://www.dogfoodscoop.com/index.html
Hehehe.... adriankhoo153 is very bold, but he has good intentions though smile.gif btw I heard there's a pet store in puchong, behind tescoif not mistaken, pet supplies are reasonable I was told. Anyone has any info about this pet store?

This post has been edited by kayvan: Jan 7 2012, 02:53 AM

0.0406sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:52 AM