Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

MoneyMaker prince
post Oct 20 2019, 09:25 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(royssh @ Oct 6 2019, 05:18 PM)
Hi All,

I am new to fur kid. I had adopt a puppy on May and now she is about 6months old.

would like to know any recommended medium range price kibble for the kid?

i now trying a brand "VitalPlus Lamb Recipe". But I am not sure whether its good enough for the kids or not. as she is still young and maybe need more nutrition ?

I stop giving her human food like rice/bone/pork mince. so thinking to look for good kibble for her meal.

You can try chunkbit. Reasonable price, nice poop.
ghostcommand
post Oct 27 2019, 07:54 PM

671 posts

Hi all, my senior beagle passed away last month.. I still have 6KG of Taste of the Wild Pacific Stream Canine recipe (with smoked salmon) dry kibbles left.

They are really good quality kibbles and the expiry date is March 2020. If anyone is interested, please PM me and I can let you have it.

Hope it helps someone. Thanks.

This post has been edited by ghostcommand: Oct 27 2019, 07:55 PM
LovingYou
post Nov 17 2019, 08:16 PM

124 posts

I’ll be having my first dog Samoyed
She’s 2 months old.

I need some recommendations on dry food.
I have searched about acana, orijen, taste of the wild. Which is the best for puppy?
MoneyMaker prince
post Nov 18 2019, 07:31 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(LovingYou @ Nov 17 2019, 08:16 PM)
She’s 2 months old.

I have searched about acana, orijen, taste of the wild. Which is the best for puppy?
I'm feeding my shiba chunk bits. You can go survey.
70U63
post Nov 19 2019, 07:32 PM

92 posts

If u want best of the best, go for Orijen or N&D.
Other brands are not as good as them.

QUOTE(LovingYou @ Nov 17 2019, 08:16 PM)
She’s 2 months old.

delphinuscute
post Nov 23 2019, 11:38 PM

Have anyone tried Alps Natural brand? Is it good? Seems very little review out there.
TheLegend27
post Nov 26 2019, 04:00 PM

1,692 posts

can recommend dehydrator for making dog treat? any fruit can be use for dog treat?
70U63
post Dec 2 2019, 07:36 AM

92 posts

It is average quality dog food. For the price, it seems ok.
Unless u want higher quality dog food, expect to pay more.

QUOTE(delphinuscute @ Nov 23 2019, 11:38 PM)
Have anyone tried Alps Natural brand? Is it good? Seems very little review out there.
70U63
post Dec 2 2019, 07:40 AM

92 posts

U do it for commercial purpose or for your own dog?
Is for your own dog, no need use dehydrator. Give them fresh one. I know grape can't be given to dog.
Just search internet what not to give to dog. Feed fresh (full of water) instead of dehydrated...

QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Nov 26 2019, 04:00 PM)
can recommend dehydrator for making dog treat? any fruit can be use for dog treat?
TheLegend27
post Dec 2 2019, 10:13 AM

1,692 posts

QUOTE(70U63 @ Dec 2 2019, 08:40 AM)
U do it for commercial purpose or for your own dog?
Is for your own dog, no need use dehydrator. Give them fresh one. I know grape can't be given to dog.
Just search internet what not to give to dog. Feed fresh (full of water) instead of dehydrated...
for own dog. can store many and easy feeding ma. i saw some small fish dehydrate also can be a treat.
archcherub
post Jan 16 2020, 07:32 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(archcherub @ Sep 4 2019, 11:15 AM)
actually very difficult to switch brands right?
i trying to switch from science diet to Tastes of the wild... i also tried Wellness.

my dog.. jin stubborn. dunno he trying to slim down or just want to go against me
wah didn't realised its been almost 6 months since i came seeking help on switching food. in the end i used the advice from this blogger on switching new dog food quickly.

ok leh, quite ok, my dog is eating wellness dog food now. but of course he still prefer meat if i prepare meat food for his meals.
yunminoz
post Sep 1 2020, 12:12 PM

Hi, I am having a 4 months poodle, feeding with Royal canin indoor puppy kibbles. Now she is facing fur shed and falling problem. Reading some of the lowyat post, i found that royal canin is not consider a good brand. I would like to change to other brand, any suggestions on what brand of kibbles should i feed my 4 months poodle?
70U63
post Sep 4 2020, 09:04 PM

92 posts

Royal Canin, they invested a lot in marketing, but not their food. Food made with lots of corn instead of meat.
If budget allow, can give them high meat content dry food (such as Orijen, Farmina N&D, Acana). Got more budget, go for higher quality can food such as Dr.Clauder's, Canine's Recipe, Back2Nature. Got more money but lazy to cook, go for freeze/air-dried food (such as Primal).

QUOTE(yunminoz @ Sep 1 2020, 12:12 PM)
Hi, I am having a 4 months poodle, feeding with Royal canin indoor puppy kibbles. Now she is facing fur shed and falling problem. Reading some of the lowyat post, i found that royal canin is not consider a good brand. I would like to change to other brand, any suggestions on what brand of kibbles should i feed my 4 months poodle?
kkw3366
post Sep 5 2020, 08:25 PM

For processed dog food, orijen, acana and primal are good. I alternate these 3 with home cooked meals. Few days eat processed food, follow by few days home cooked.
My poodles are allergic to beef, chicken, egg and food with yeast such as cheese (which are common amongst dogs). Therefore, i usually steamed low GI basmati rice, sweet potatoes, spinach and fish and meats other than mentioned above. Sardines in water (not brine) can too. Remember to read labels and calculate the amount of protein from home cooked ingredients. Too much protein is not good for dogs kidneys.
I also supplement them with fish oil 10 times in a month.
Always feed them in moderation. And, definitely do not give them human food that are poisonous to dogs, eg. grape, nuts, chocolate, garlic, spices, seeds etc
renee78
post Oct 5 2020, 08:59 PM

138 posts

I'm thinking to start my dog on Acana.

Is there any shop that gives out different samples for this so I can see which flavor he likes?
Lieblingsmonster
post Aug 1 2021, 07:51 PM

71 posts

Hi, I have a 3mo Pom puppy. Now having Pro Plan salmon but she is having itchy skin and fungal infection. Vet just gave me ointment to apply but doesn’t reduce her itchiness.
After reading here and from google, I think pro plan is a crap.
Do you guys think Nature’s Protection White Dog is a good choice? (She has tear stain too)
Please recommend me some good kibble for her. Preferably something not too expensive, I’ve haven’t quite some money on her vet bill recently. 🙏🏼 Thank you!
hussain
post Sep 3 2021, 11:59 AM

2,012 posts

I highly recommend natures protection salmon
YantoZyrus
post Sep 28 2021, 10:26 AM

71 posts

any dog food recommendation for pomeranian?
grldapui P
post Feb 8 2022, 12:51 AM

Probation

Hi guys, I’ve been feeding my 2 months old pit with Back2Nature Salmon Small Bite. When i took him he was on Alps Natural Turkey and he seems to have skin allergy and healed after i fed him B2N Salmon. Any thoughts/comments/concerns on grain-free kibbles? Now there are studies from FDA linking GF food to canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM), a severe heart disease.

DragonReine
post Mar 3 2022, 02:12 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(grldapui @ Feb 8 2022, 12:51 AM)
Hi guys, I’ve been feeding my 2 months old pit with Back2Nature Salmon Small Bite. When i took him he was on Alps Natural Turkey and he seems to have skin allergy and healed after i fed him B2N Salmon. Any thoughts/comments/concerns on grain-free kibbles? Now there are studies from FDA linking GF food to canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM), a severe heart disease.
The research on GF foods' link to non-genetic DCM suggests the main issue is due to the fact that these foods are often supplemented by legumes (like peas and soy), which is cheaper source of protein than animal protein.

Quite common for dogs having allergy/sensitivity to food made from domestic fowl like chicken/turkey, and salmon's high fat + vitamin E content would help to reduce skin issues.

85 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 >Top

0.0345sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:45 PM