Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

yeohkc
post Jun 4 2012, 06:05 PM

557 posts

Hello to all sifus.. can I know what should I add to my aquarium for my turtle? Thanks you biggrin.gif

and is that water level optimal? some people said turtle need not that much of water, they will drown.

yeohkc
post Jun 4 2012, 08:45 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(lowyat777 @ Jun 4 2012, 07:54 PM)
looks ok to me , most important must have land place for them to rest
thank you. btw can I know how you all feed your turtles? coz my pellets makes the water really dirty.. haha any alternative?
yeohkc
post Jun 5 2012, 02:51 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jun 5 2012, 06:00 AM)

Added on June 5, 2012, 6:10 am
Pellets is the cleanest one can offer !! Turtles are messy eater and poo large and often !!

Cheers
QUOTE(Mspot @ Jun 5 2012, 09:48 AM)
You can feed them in the separate container, so your pellets will not contaminate the main tank.
Thanks. I will take the advice. biggrin.gif btw when can I start feeding them veggie? my turtle are RES around 5cm now. biggrin.gif

yeohkc
post Jun 6 2012, 09:24 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jun 5 2012, 02:59 PM)
Anytime you can start - vegie but usually RES only start eating green when they larger !!

Cheers

Thanks sam. btw can I know whether any lighting will be suit for my turtles?

thanks.
yeohkc
post Jun 8 2012, 02:21 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jun 7 2012, 08:09 AM)
If for visual just normal lighting from aquarium or lighting store will be good enough !!

If for well-being add
- a heat lamp for heating up for ease of digestion ( easily replaced with heater for aquatic sp ) 
- a UVA/UVB type bulb or tube for producing vitamin D 3 for growth/hardening bone ( can also be replaced with powdered supplement )

Cheers
Thanks sam. Btw are you from sabah? do you happened to know any good pet shop? most of those I went got not much selection on turtles n accessories.

Thanks biggrin.gif
yeohkc
post Jun 8 2012, 03:19 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jun 8 2012, 03:01 PM)
Ya am from Sabah !!

Harvest in KK pretty good , Len yu and Burong wong in Sandakan , Jin Jin in Tawau !!

Harvest is stockist for exxo terra , supply all over Sabah but don't keep much stock ( supply on demand/order )

Livestock wise depends but most don't stock too ( as most don't know how to take care )
Cheers
oic. Thanks smile.gif Will visit harvest again when got time. need to get a lighting for the turtles haha smile.gif but I didnt notice they selling any turtles there, only fishes sad.gif

btw isit okey if the turtle eat their own poo? sad.gif
yeohkc
post Jun 10 2012, 11:02 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jun 9 2012, 02:20 PM)
Poo eating is quite common especially with underfed or partly digested poo involved !! Yak but true
Most reptilian hatchlings do that !!

Cheers
thanks sam smile.gif lucky its normal. i just scared they so sick or something if eat own poo..
yeohkc
post Jun 10 2012, 09:57 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Jun 10 2012, 09:30 PM)
will turtle tail able to grow back?
im afraid that it might not grow back anymore sad.gif
yeohkc
post Jun 10 2012, 10:43 PM

557 posts

btw if I put a smaller malayan box together with my res.. they bully ka?
yeohkc
post Jun 10 2012, 11:11 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Jun 10 2012, 10:49 PM)
not sure.. different turtle different personality. but better dont put together la.. i learn my lesson the hard way.

Added on June 10, 2012, 10:50 pm

will the malayan box face any difficulties without tail? i put it in diff tank, n it eating. but dunno in long term.
maybe I should do a partition or something lar.. cant afford to do more setting for the turtles..

btw i read online they said lost tails are quite common and dont really affect their life i believe.
yeohkc
post Jun 11 2012, 07:16 PM

557 posts

aww.. sad to see that >< hopefully ur turtle will get used of it.

btw any idea how to keep my basking place stick to the wall of aquarium? it keep move around and my turtle cant bask in peace ><

fyi, im using those floating type basking place.

This post has been edited by yeohkc: Jun 15 2012, 06:58 PM
yeohkc
post Jun 11 2012, 07:30 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Jun 11 2012, 07:19 PM)
yea..i feel bad, cant really sleep last nite..

i thought the basking place come with magnet. at least that how mine stay put.
just hope that it wont get any infection and the wound cure faster.. smile.gif

owh.. the one I bought without magnet.. the one with magnet very expensive so I thought I can DIY it.. any idea what kind of shop sell magnet?
yeohkc
post Jun 11 2012, 08:25 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Jun 11 2012, 07:39 PM)
i only saw magnet with the fridge decoration..
haha yea me too.. but I dont think those strong enough sad.gif btw i realize the turtle will yawn sometimes.. so cute!

btw ajie just realize u are from sabah too.. mind to tell where you get your malayan box? everywhere I find they only sell RES sad.gif

This post has been edited by yeohkc: Jun 11 2012, 11:43 PM
yeohkc
post Jun 12 2012, 01:50 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jun 12 2012, 01:24 PM)
If you after WC try your luck in open air market - Gaya street , the weekend market under Giant carpark( kolompong is it ? ) or that up-stairs bird/fish shop ( Lim's bird if I am not wrong ) next block to Wisma Merderka !!

Malayan Box not that rare in Sabah or should I say whole of Borneo !!
Cheers
oh.. thats a great info! smile.gif gonna go and look after it.. ^^ coz most of the pet shop I went dont sell them sad.gif

Btw my turtles love to bask after I bought them the light.. yay : )
yeohkc
post Jun 12 2012, 03:31 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Jun 12 2012, 02:46 PM)
sam, got pic for the wounded tail. can advise me what to do?

Added on June 12, 2012, 2:47 pm

yup, im from sabah. got my malayan box at Gaya Street for RM 15.
okey will try the lim's bird as mention by Sam first. biggrin.gif if not gonna go gaya st. this weekend..smile.gif

So hows ur turtle now? any better? I guess its good to keep him away from the water now. as it easier to get infected. ><

btw if you love turtle try go the fish shop at hiltop.. they got this aligator turtle, long neck turtle, and pig nose turtle.. for display :
yeohkc
post Jun 12 2012, 05:50 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Jun 12 2012, 05:25 PM)
hiltop in sandakan?

i put my turtle in a container now, but it seem restless without water. i dunno what to do. feel really bad for it..
No no.. hiltop is in kk luyang area.. as mentioned by sam its foo keong biggrin.gif the turtle are like.. adult's palm large ^^

i guess its ok to let them have some water as long as its clean smile.gif

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jun 12 2012, 05:36 PM)
Hill top ? Foo Keong ?  The only shop I can think of .

Btw the lim's bird they keep it to the left side of the shop under some bird cage ( unless they don't sell anymore or shift place ) - be ready for dearer price than gaya st's as these are sold for release !!

Cheers
Cheers
Yeap its foo keong. have you visited them before? I asked them they said only RES allowed for sale now..@.@

okey thanks sam. I guess will pay a visit tomorrow if weather allow.. hopefully they got some variety.. btw dearer mean more expensive?
yeohkc
post Jun 13 2012, 01:05 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jun 12 2012, 07:15 PM)
Ya I know him ( tell him Tawau Arapaima guy send regards ) from few years back thru a fren ( keep tortoises only)  !!

Theres another few crazy tortoise collector from KK that I know of , none into turtle !!
Cheers
Alright smile.gif will do when i pay my next visit there. smile.gif

btw I think hobbies prefer tortoises over turtle.. maybe they are cuter? tongue.gif
yeohkc
post Jun 13 2012, 12:15 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jun 13 2012, 09:41 AM)
Like I told you before tortoise easier to keep as no need to care for water !!
This thread starter loves and keep more turtles !!

Cheers
Oh yea my bad tongue.gif but tbh i never see shop sell tortoises.. I guess the order based on request? Considering the price of tortoises r quite high.

So sam.. Do u have some turtle for urself? Or just tortoises? smile.gif

Havin my lunnh now smile.gif go to visit uncle lim later haha
yeohkc
post Jun 13 2012, 02:04 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jun 13 2012, 01:34 PM)
Like I say before I keep both but more tortoise than turtle !!

Cheers
Oh yea. Now i remember i saw your turtle pic before smile.gif

Btw visited lim's bird.. They got 3 malayan box sized around 3.5' at rm20 each. Quite big for a baby m.box right?

QUOTE(kaseinogen @ Jun 13 2012, 01:51 PM)
Sifu Sam have a mini zoo.heheheh
Hahaha yeap smile.gif would be glad to visit his zoo. tongue.gif
yeohkc
post Jun 14 2012, 05:40 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(lewiszen @ Jun 14 2012, 02:35 AM)
What to do if RES not eating?
are they new? maybe they not yet get used of the new environment? are u feeding them pellets?

0.0459sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:11 PM