Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

fastreader
post Aug 2 2011, 02:33 PM

4,554 posts

hi all gurus and sifus...

i caught a red eared slider from the drain not too long ago...and then planning to keep it till it grow of substantial size..

anyway, i have this problem..it doesn't seem to have appetite for vege(kangkung) or the commercial fish pellets tat i give...occassionally, i would see that the kangkung has got bite on it..but i tink its eating too little...

what's seem to be the problem?..how do i introduce fish pellet or open up its appetite?...its kinda worrying tat its eating so little..should i feed it some tortoise pellet instead of fish pellet?..or live fish?..

the size is around 2 inches big... please advise. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
fastreader
post Aug 2 2011, 10:35 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Aug 2 2011, 06:27 PM)
Try some small fish, they like it
QUOTE(camillenoir @ Aug 2 2011, 07:13 PM)

You should first get the enclosure and husbandry needs (basking light, basking spot) set up well, and maybe a heater at lower temp ready. this is not a conclusive diagnosis, but normally cases involving lack of appetite (and other problems too) can be resolved by triggering the turtle's metabolism.

kangkung should be avoided at all cost as the Ca to oxalic acid ratio is about 1:3 (in effect, 0% calcium could be absorbed by the turtle although the Ca:P ratio is nearly 4:1). try offering floating plants (Eichhornia crassipes, Pistia stratiotes) - can be referred to at the 1st page of this thread.

other than that, well, it's in schedule 5 of act 716...
ok..noted..live fish...

i put a small rock as its basking area (for it 2b able to get outtta water completely, basking light, i'm letting the morning sun do the work smile.gif ) doesn't seem to do the trick though..

alrite..will try to look for the floating plant... and, what's "schedule 5 of act 716"?. icon_question.gif
fastreader
post Aug 6 2011, 12:49 PM

4,554 posts

yeah..my turtle is finally eating...need summore advice of the best food for red ear slider...

i know tat kangkung is not recommendable, what food is best to provide a balanced diet for it?..

so far, I'm feeding it with frozen packet tubifix worm (those small packet selling at RM1.50), and a high protein fish pellet with Spirulina formula (its suggested for Koi, but i tink its suitable for my 2-inch slider as its stated as high protein (38% protein))..

what other food is suitable for it?..live fish?..earthworm?.. please advise.. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

fastreader
post Aug 8 2011, 07:57 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Aug 8 2011, 05:10 AM)
this link should be pinned on the 1st page mr camil le toe
need ur advise pls...

yeah..my turtle is finally eating...need summore advice of the best food for red ear slider...

i know tat kangkung is not recommendable, what food is best to provide a balanced diet for it?..

so far, I'm feeding it with frozen packet tubifix worm (those small packet selling at RM1.50), and a high protein fish pellet with Spirulina formula (its suggested for Koi, but i tink its suitable for my 2-inch slider as its stated as high protein (38% protein))..

what other food is suitable for it?..live fish?..earthworm?.. please advise..
fastreader
post Aug 10 2011, 08:47 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Aug 9 2011, 05:01 AM)
Hahahah.. im always around here just that i rarely post here due to odd working hours lol  brows.gif
Well, to me there is no pefect food as every of them have their pro n cons. What i can suggest is to alternate and mix the food that you feed to them with some calcium supplements and multi-vitamins every alternate meals  icon_rolleyes.gif
what type of calcium supplement and multi vite would u recommend?..i never buy anything like these b4.. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
fastreader
post Aug 16 2011, 09:03 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Aug 16 2011, 06:43 PM)
Found in Malaysia , Stay in Malaysia , Breed in Malaysia , Proven out in Malaysia !!
One of the Visual from this year's clutch !!

Uzairi
This one just for you (feast your eyes for awhile) I promised you didnt  I !!
[attachmentid=2389778]
QUOTE(camillenoir @ Aug 16 2011, 06:58 PM)
found in malaysia, bred in malaysia, proven out in malaysia --> should send some to west malaysia lorr!!

congrats anyway!!
what's tat huh?..enlighten me sifus
fastreader
post Aug 17 2011, 11:20 PM

4,554 posts

icongrats to samperth on his new baby!!!

anyway, just to ask la..is there any website tat offer ideas on setting nice turtles housing?..i'm very new to the turtle world..tried googling, but all i got is just images and not how to build it/instructions.
fastreader
post Aug 21 2011, 12:07 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(EugeneLowPNG @ Aug 21 2011, 11:12 AM)
Sifus,

I jus got my 2 red ear slider home yesterday from CTY pet shop located in Penang.

I found out that 2 of my turtle is different in colour that worries me.

1 is darker but shiny that looks like metallic green to me.

Another 1 is lighter and not shiny.

Does the lighter one is due to genetic or its ill in some ways.

Can all the sifus and pro explain to me?

Below in the attach is a pic with it.

Hope it helps!!

Thanks!

[attachmentid=2397490]
i'm not much of an expert myself..but i also have RES too!! how much u bought for this pair? rclxms.gif anyway, to my noobie eye, i tink it looks pretty normal..i mean tat's the usual coloration tat i usually see in petshop...

maybe some sifus here would like to correct me on tat... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
fastreader
post Aug 21 2011, 03:18 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Aug 21 2011, 01:40 PM)
30,000-11.11 = RM29988.89
??? rclxub.gif
fastreader
post Sep 1 2011, 11:17 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(Prince of Darkness @ Sep 1 2011, 10:35 PM)
Anyone care to share the cheapest price came across for a radiated?
Many thanks:)
errr..so far i did encounter a RM700++ for a juvenile...anyone else?..
fastreader
post Sep 3 2011, 09:31 PM

4,554 posts

finally bought a pair of pistia stratiotes aka water lettuce for my RES...hope it doesn't tear it into bits overnight tongue.gif

for some reason, my pistia looks yellowish..i tink its probably lack of fertiliser.. smile.gif now,next target is to get the Eichhornia crassipes (Water Hyacinth)!!! smile.gif
fastreader
post Sep 4 2011, 02:03 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Sep 3 2011, 10:35 PM)
your RES will tear those water lettuce in no time.

if you want to have continuous supply of the plant, what you need to do is grow them in a different pond/container and let them multiply first before giving some to your turtles.
cry.gif cry.gif

does the water lettuce grows fast?..hopefully lor..cos mine is pretty small.. smile.gif

better separate it 2molo morning.. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
fastreader
post Sep 4 2011, 02:55 PM

4,554 posts

when the plant multiply, does it release/produce a single floating leave away from its body?..i mean the pistia (water lettuce),,,
fastreader
post Sep 5 2011, 11:01 PM

4,554 posts

Hi people,

I need all sifus and gurus expertise in helping me determine the species of this turtle. I asked for the permission to shoot a video of it and now really need help in determining its species.

fastreader
post Sep 6 2011, 12:23 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(chteo @ Sep 6 2011, 12:13 AM)
looks like a common musk turtle (Sternotherus oderatus) or commonly also known as stinkpot
is it musk turtle?..i thought musk turtle are black with the nose shaped like pig-nosed...and the shell is not ridged like the turtle in the vid.. hmm.gif hmm.gif

i'm suspecting tat those 2 turtle are some cross between 2 different species of turtle..notice tat the tail is stumped too.. hmm.gif hmm.gif
fastreader
post Sep 6 2011, 07:35 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(chteo @ Sep 6 2011, 07:01 PM)
80% sure it's musk turtle, musk turtle have very short tails and long necks (like side neck, but they fold in instead), just that not too sure about the actual sub-species now that i have a look at it again...

but from the 3 ridges on the carapace, it might be a three striped mud turtle....
hmm.gif hmm.gif tat make sense too...sighhh..this the the thing i hate most of those chinaman aquarium..they dun know what the species tat they r selling..BUT they sure famn gud in remembering the price la.. doh.gif doh.gif

tat's y i was a bit sceptical bout gettin it although i was looking for Reeves turtle la... smile.gif
fastreader
post Sep 11 2011, 09:58 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Sep 11 2011, 04:17 AM)
Calcium is important to all , as for d3 or not will depends on whether it has access to unfiltered sunlight or not !!

I would love to see the elongata's thanks 

Cheers
how do u give calcium to turtle?..is there certain type of calcium supplement tat i could get?..or food pellet with high calcium (if got, pls suggest the type and brand)?..

thanx you all for advice. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif notworthy.gif
fastreader
post Sep 11 2011, 05:40 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(Relentless @ Sep 11 2011, 03:21 PM)
For calcium what I used to do was to get a packed of dried anchovy and soften them in water prior to feeding them.
I guess it is better meal than calcium supplement given that anchovy are more palatable and high in protein too.
u mean those tat they sell in pasar malam?..it smell kinda salty.. tongue.gif or after soaking then its ok?..

what would u recommend?..getting those anchovy from the pasar malam and then soaking it and feed it to the turtle?.. hmm.gif
fastreader
post Sep 11 2011, 09:27 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Sep 11 2011, 06:59 PM)
by the way, wat kind of turtle or tortoise r u referring to?

land based or water based ?
its a RES... smile.gif aquatic...love basking.. smile.gif

Added on September 11, 2011, 9:30 pm
QUOTE(Relentless @ Sep 11 2011, 06:46 PM)
Anchovy is not ' ikan masin' that people eat.Try to look at it this way,did you ever recall consuming anchovy that is salty.not me,well maybe a little bit smile.gif
Currenty I'm not doing that, instead I took the opportunity when my mom bought a whole load of big sized anchovy(nope I'm not talking about the small one),I saw my mom peeling the fish into half and remove the bone(you will be surprise that you can actually remove the whole head with the skeleton intact).
After that,I collect the pieces and kept it in a tupperware and put it into fridge to avoid ants infestation.hehehe.feed like twice a week for calcium fortification.
Again,you don't have to worry that the fish is too salty,short of giving those really salty ikan tenggiri.
The smell of the fish is sure gonna be appealing to your turtle(not tortoise plz, don't confuse them okay)
hmm.gif..u feed the turtle the head with the skeleton or the peeled ones?..or the whole anchovy?.. hmm.gif can the turtle take the thing whole?..is it recommendable to feed it whole?.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by fastreader: Sep 11 2011, 09:30 PM
fastreader
post Sep 12 2011, 12:22 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(Relentless @ Sep 11 2011, 11:25 PM)
well the fish's skeleton look delicate enough.this is up to your judgement really.I usually reserve the head for my adult turtle.
have u ever feed the whole anchovy to it?.. brows.gif brows.gif mine is a RES..bout 4 inches.. smile.gif

0.0450sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:25 AM