Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

BenSow
post Dec 3 2010, 09:39 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Ok my turtle is now basking without worries... even if i move around make noise(not too loud) it's settled in its quarantine tank.. later gonna steal some foil from the kitchen to maintain the heat in the tank...

Added on December 3, 2010, 9:44 pmthey say to keep the surrounding area warm... how do i do tat?? o.o my turtle has to sleep so i cant turn on the light for the whole night...

Added on December 3, 2010, 10:05 pmAnyone lives around taman segar? I need someone knowledgable to look after my turlte.. my trusted neighbour is way sad.gif

Added on December 5, 2010, 12:21 pmGuys... my RES recovered!!! now swimming actively, eating and wont float at all.. ahhh im so relieved biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BenSow: Dec 5 2010, 12:21 PM
BenSow
post Mar 19 2011, 10:38 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Feb 26 2011, 07:52 AM)
those are Youngia japonica, been known to be eaten as salad smile.gif
how about if i feed it to RES?
BenSow
post Mar 20 2011, 11:51 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

I read that RES should need a basking temperature of 85F to 90F which is 29C to 32C... what if i bask them under sunlight? Malaysian temp is well over that range o.o how long can i leave my turtles out there? I tried leaving them in the sun for a couple of hours when i went back they're still basking and not trying to escape the sunlight...
BenSow
post Mar 24 2011, 11:04 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

if dont declare RES how if they found out?
BenSow
post Mar 27 2011, 06:45 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

I take that this RES is a female? It's SCL is 3 inches..

Added on March 27, 2011, 6:46 pmuser posted image
DSC_0435 by BenSow, on Flickr

Added on March 27, 2011, 6:47 pm
QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Mar 27 2011, 05:18 PM)
[attachmentid=2119896]

Anyone HELP ! icon_question.gif

1 of my Terrapin getting sick, it does not eat at all. It looks weak, not moving, eye closed all the time.

What should I do now ?

PS: I got these terrapin from my Condo's longkang 3 months ago.
I had this problem before, the shell keep floating right? Have it under the sun to bask. Do you let them do that? And for 3 months they are still very tiny o.o

Added on March 27, 2011, 6:53 pm
QUOTE(camillenoir @ Mar 25 2011, 06:49 AM)
up to 30k fines/1 year prison term/both. but since you are 16, they would probably just send you to Henry Gurney wink.gif

and unlike the duds at fisheries department who did nothing to enforce Acts under their jurisdiction, the wildlife department do love to send people to jail.
lol ok but how they find out if you keeping undeclared stuff? o.o

This post has been edited by BenSow: Mar 27 2011, 06:53 PM
BenSow
post Mar 27 2011, 08:55 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Mar 27 2011, 07:04 PM)
Yes, the shell keep floating ! I never put them under sun light but usually I used the table lamp.  sweat.gif

Please help, they so kesian actually.
ok.. not eating means quite serious already o.o This sickness i think its called pneumonia means infection of lungs or gas trapped in lungs im not very sure >< . i found that it is like flu for turtles.. Sometimes i leave them outside too long and maybe weather cold make them like this... So I read that the best way to cure it is to bring up the temperature, or in our words, help it have fever.. In our body heat generate itself to fight the bacteria when fever but since turtles are cold blooded, they need to be heated.. Few things you could do:
- Water heater to heat the water few degrees higher than usual
- Use a hotter lamp to make he temperature of surroundings hot.. try to cover most of the parts of the tank so heat will not get lost.. but leave space for heat loss and air exchange too...

Here's the description of penumonia from Austin's Turtle Page.. this sickness quite common, my turtle kena also yesterday.. but ok di..

And here for swimming crooked/ shell float ( Raise all temps in the habitat by 5°. Consult a qualified vet as meds will be needed.)

Good Luck. If you keep it warm enough, your turtle will make it =)
BenSow
post Mar 31 2011, 12:22 AM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Mar 27 2011, 10:09 PM)
My Terrapin still not eating and floating even I changed the water regularly. Someone knows how to continuously maintain the water temperature ?
when my tort kena i separeted him and lowered the water level so he can get heat for surrounding air.. be careful though you dont want a draft to blow and make him cold again..
BenSow
post Sep 27 2011, 10:04 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Anyone has a "play pen" for turtles/tortoise with SCL of 3.5 inch and above? To fence one small area in the garden so that they can just bask and move around freely... What can be used?
BenSow
post Sep 29 2011, 09:03 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Oh and btw when should a RES change shell colour from green to brownish? What factors must be considered?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0185sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:35 PM