24 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

SAMPERTH
post Jun 11 2012, 08:16 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Jun 11 2012, 08:28 AM)
malayan box slightly 4inches.  2 RES, 4 1/2 inch n 5 inch.  put them in 2ft tank.
No wonder , 2 ft tank only good for a RES that size at most 2 RES !! And at 4 + to 5 inch male RES will show aggression ( sexually matured )

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Jun 11 2012, 10:16 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Jun 11 2012, 10:24 AM)
what should i do with the malayan box? i transfer it to a different tank. will it survive without tail?

for the RES should i separate them?

Depends
- how severe the cut wound ( antiseptic cream/oiment ) apply to wound and best to keep wound dry for a few days - a box will do

- if still kept in water and water not best quality will cause infection ...,,. To wound ( cut tail )

Can show how badly bitten ?

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Jun 11 2012, 07:37 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(ajiemohamed1230 @ Jun 11 2012, 12:09 PM)
The butt-eye still there so keep wound clean and dress often to prevent infection !! And wound will heal , seal in no time !! But your RES sure aggressive ( male like I guess ? )

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Jun 12 2012, 01:24 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Jun 11 2012, 09:25 PM)
haha yea me too.. but I dont think those strong enough sad.gif btw i realize the turtle will yawn sometimes.. so cute!

btw ajie just realize u are from sabah too.. mind to tell where you get your malayan box? everywhere I find they only sell RES sad.gif
If you after WC try your luck in open air market - Gaya street , the weekend market under Giant carpark( kolompong is it ? ) or that up-stairs bird/fish shop ( Lim's bird if I am not wrong ) next block to Wisma Merderka !!

Malayan Box not that rare in Sabah or should I say whole of Borneo !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Jun 12 2012, 05:36 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Jun 12 2012, 04:31 PM)
okey will try the lim's bird as mention by Sam first. biggrin.gif if not gonna go gaya st. this weekend..smile.gif

So hows ur turtle now? any better? I guess its good to keep him away from the water now. as it easier to get infected. ><

btw if you love turtle try go the fish shop at hiltop.. they got this aligator turtle, long neck turtle, and pig nose turtle.. for display :
Hill top ? Foo Keong ? The only shop I can think of .

Btw the lim's bird they keep it to the left side of the shop under some bird cage ( unless they don't sell anymore or shift place ) - be ready for dearer price than gaya st's as these are sold for release !!

Cheers
Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Jun 12 2012, 07:15 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Jun 12 2012, 06:50 PM)
No no.. hiltop is in kk luyang area.. as mentioned by sam its foo keong biggrin.gif the turtle are like.. adult's palm large ^^

i guess its ok to let them have some water as long as its clean smile.gif
Yeap its foo keong. have you visited them before? I asked them they said only RES allowed for sale now..@.@

okey thanks sam. I guess will pay a visit tomorrow if weather allow.. hopefully they got some variety.. btw dearer mean more expensive?
Ya I know him ( tell him Tawau Arapaima guy send regards ) from few years back thru a fren ( keep tortoises only) !!

Theres another few crazy tortoise collector from KK that I know of , none into turtle !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Jun 13 2012, 09:41 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Jun 13 2012, 02:05 AM)
Alright smile.gif will do when i pay my next visit there. smile.gif

btw I think hobbies prefer tortoises over turtle.. maybe they are cuter? tongue.gif
Like I told you before tortoise easier to keep as no need to care for water !!
This thread starter loves and keep more turtles !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Jun 13 2012, 01:34 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Jun 13 2012, 01:15 PM)
Oh yea my bad  tongue.gif but tbh i never see shop sell tortoises.. I guess the order based on request? Considering the price of tortoises r quite high.

So sam.. Do u have some turtle for urself? Or just tortoises? smile.gif

Havin my lunnh now smile.gif go to visit uncle lim later haha
Like I say before I keep both but more tortoise than turtle !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Jun 13 2012, 05:01 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(abcy566 @ Jun 13 2012, 05:49 PM)
Thanks for the reply smile.gif

I am based at KL, Cheras. Do you know where I can find it?

Robert
No one will offer those for sale legally at your side !! Even illegally will be out of sight - to regulars only I think .

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Jun 14 2012, 06:52 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Jun 14 2012, 06:40 PM)
are they new? maybe they not yet get used of the new environment? are u feeding them pellets?
Like I always say in this thread too many unknown how to help solve equation ?
SAMPERTH
post Jun 19 2012, 05:32 AM

517 posts

Eric

Sorry to hear about your lost !! How long was it at the car porch - sunning or in the shade ? as when a reptile suddenly become active even for awhile might be due to high temperature !!

Cheers

SAMPERTH
post Jun 19 2012, 04:16 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(king_eric @ Jun 19 2012, 10:32 AM)
about 10 mins each in sun and in shade....
gosh, it's overheating then! afternoon sun coz i woke up late yesterday...
hmmm, no wonder very active... ok noted.

i have a question, read up some site's and was mentioned that they dun like to be handled at all, will rajuk and dun eat. true? so how exactly do we socialise with them? without touching?
Then my guess is right and 10mins is way too long for such a young turtle ( shell not 100% harden ) overheating is bad for turtle or tortoise or should I say all reptiles !!

Once heard a case of a guy using a 120w sunglo light for his baby sulcata ( saying his sulcata not active due to in an air-condition room ) yes it did activate his sulcata but after a few hours "batteries " went out and it died ( from over heating ) as enclosure too small ( 2 ft tank )

They like to chase glass shrimp , baby fishes or blood worm once in a while !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Jun 21 2012, 08:39 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Jun 21 2012, 08:13 PM)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Giant_Asian_pond_turtle

Local sp so protected as well !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 3 2012, 08:04 PM

517 posts

Some recent hatches !!
[attachmentid=2927621]

Enjoy

SAMPERTH
post Jul 3 2012, 08:09 PM

517 posts

[attachmentid=2927635]

Latest hatch from this morning or was it this evening ?

Anyway enjoy !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 3 2012, 08:17 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Jul 3 2012, 09:12 PM)
so nice! can i know what species is this?
That one we call BolaBola , Ball king tortoise as some fish shop name them !! LOL

SAMPERTH
post Jul 3 2012, 09:12 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(kaseinogen @ Jul 3 2012, 09:34 PM)
Yniphora! Nice!

QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Jul 3 2012, 09:51 PM)
NICE!

for sale? ;-)
Sorry NO
SAMPERTH
post Jul 4 2012, 01:03 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Jul 4 2012, 03:57 AM)
Nice outcome! Keep it up!!!!
Thanks nice to see you reply something

Added on July 4, 2012, 1:05 pm
QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Jul 4 2012, 12:27 PM)
Jus wonder how old can the following tort start to lay eggs?

1. Radi
2. Cherry head
Depends and not just age alone , size is also important in egg laying - cherry 5-7 yrs from hatch radi 6-8 yrs !!

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Jul 4 2012, 01:05 PM
SAMPERTH
post Jul 5 2012, 11:19 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(budblely @ Jul 5 2012, 09:35 AM)
Gratz bro..The Return of Legend Sam...  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Thanks was here all along !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 6 2012, 07:44 AM