water leakage in condominium
TSveipingstelrooy
Apr 30 2010, 06:36 PM, updated 16y ago
hi i want to ask i am just a tenant for the unit of condo i am currently staying there is a water leakage problem in my unit pool of water is appearing outside the bathroom as well as in bedroom beside the the bathroom i want to ask is it the owners responsibility to fix this type of leakage or the tenants responsibility ?
leongal
Apr 30 2010, 06:37 PM
owner, faster call the owner and inform him/her....
beatlesalbum
Apr 30 2010, 06:38 PM
If you are renting the unit, definitely the owner.
TSveipingstelrooy
Apr 30 2010, 06:51 PM
but theres a clause in contract as follows:
"To keep the demised Premises in good and tenantable repair and condition and to replace or repair any part of the said Demised Premises which shall be broken or damaged by the Tenant his/her servants or agents."
this clause apply to my scanario or not ? i suspect there is a pipe leaking in the floor slab or wall
rave
Apr 30 2010, 06:53 PM
if you're the one who causes the damage then you are liable to repair it yourself. Else its the owner accountability.
TSveipingstelrooy
Apr 30 2010, 06:54 PM
if say theres a water pipe leak in the wall, why is it my responsibility?
rave
Apr 30 2010, 06:55 PM
shouldnt be your responsibility. just call the owner
leongal
Apr 30 2010, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(veipingstelrooy @ Apr 30 2010, 06:54 PM) if say theres a water pipe leak in the wall, why is it my responsibility? it is not your fault, it is actually the unit above, and it is the responsibility of the owner to inform the management and the management will contact the unit above to settle it
TSveipingstelrooy
Apr 30 2010, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(leongal @ Apr 30 2010, 07:03 PM) it is not your fault, it is actually the unit above, and it is the responsibility of the owner to inform the management and the management will contact the unit above to settle it actually this leak is quite weird..sometimes it there..sometimes its not. my water bill is can consider constant
leongal
Apr 30 2010, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(veipingstelrooy @ Apr 30 2010, 07:05 PM) actually this leak is quite weird..sometimes it there..sometimes its not. my water bill is can consider constant i dun think it is leaking from your water pipe to your unit; it should be like from the above unit's toilet or kitchen or washing machine area...
louyeh
Apr 30 2010, 10:45 PM
if you want it to get resolved fast, call the owner and say that youll arrange for a contractor/plumber to come give a quotation first. if the value is small or you can pay for it then get the owner to offset from your rental.
minor leaks are usually from the pipe cover where the rubber gasket has worn or someone shoved a stick to declog the drainage pipe.
heavenly91
May 1 2010, 04:39 PM
ic. well, if ur owner dun wana pay. ask the condo staff to help u resolve the issue?
airline
May 1 2010, 06:34 PM
call the owner A.S.A.P later problem get worse