Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V5, Still, NO cap 4 all unifi packages 4 now

rogue
post May 18 2010, 02:43 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Suk @ May 17 2010, 12:00 PM)
Does anyone can show me a hand to help me how to setup VLAN from the screenshot below ?

Thank you.

wds0 ~ wds9
ra0
blablabla.... confusing me.

Model : Dlink DIR600
This is what I set for vlan:

This post has been edited by rogue: May 18 2010, 02:47 AM
rogue
post May 18 2010, 02:49 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(allsick @ May 18 2010, 01:42 AM)
Is anyone having problems with the wireless connection with the DIR 615? I keep getting No Signal its annoying
Try setting your wireless to just B/G and try again.

Added on May 18, 2010, 2:56 am
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ May 18 2010, 02:49 AM)
You bridged the WAN port, LAN ports and wifi, set a VLAN on the bridge itself then set the PPPoE dialer to use it?

Wont that result in WAN traffic being sent across every single interface unnecessarily? shocking.gif
For some reason it works when I set it this way. The bridged setup you see in the screenshot is the default after flashing this router with dd-wrt. I'm using build 14311 on this router. My previous DIR-600 won't let me choose vlan2. If I assign the VLAN to vlan2 interface, PPPoE doesn't work. If I set it to br0, then it does.

I notice yours has been working with vlan2 set as the vlan interface. Probably in the latest build they change the name from vlan2 to eth0/eth1..

This post has been edited by rogue: May 18 2010, 02:56 AM
rogue
post May 19 2010, 06:03 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(yi11 @ May 19 2010, 05:49 PM)
may i knw if i would like to register a new unifi package,
i need a fixed phone line in my home ?
and how long them take for new registation ?
For new registration, no phone line required. How long it takes depends. Roughly between 2hours and 4-8hours depending if they need to drill hole + pull cable. My place took 2 hours coz no drilling involve and the phone poll is just 2 houses away from me.
rogue
post May 19 2010, 10:16 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(yi11 @ May 19 2010, 09:00 PM)
normally them come and install within how many days ? smile.gif
You need to call them and make appointment. They will check their schedule to see if their technician available on the date you want.

TM UniFi Centre
(Sales) : 1 300 88 1222 Mon-Fri (9am – 9pm) , Sat (10am-6pm)
(Customer Support) : 1 300 88 1221 (24x7)
Email: unifi@tm.com.my
rogue
post May 20 2010, 05:04 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(cosmicmeadow @ May 20 2010, 04:47 PM)
Hi, I just subscribed to Unifi for my apartment. I believe they will be using VDSL. Questions:

1) Will need to pull new copper cable into my unit or can use old one?
2) If use old one, that means old phone/streamyx cannot use anymore?
3) If pull new cable, means old phone/streamyx still can use?
4) Do I have to cancel old phone/streamyx myself? i.e. go TMPoint to cancel?
5) Will technician provide free ethernet cabling?

Thanks....
http://www.unifi.my/unifi/index.php?option...d=69&Itemid=218

Search for VDSL2
rogue
post May 20 2010, 05:44 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ May 20 2010, 05:16 PM)
Hm.. to sign up need to pay how much in total?
Any equipment to pay for?
Any prepayment to pay for?
Nothing to pay. All equipment will be provided by them. They will start billing you on July onwards if I'm not mistaken.

This post has been edited by rogue: May 20 2010, 05:44 PM
rogue
post May 20 2010, 10:26 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ May 20 2010, 06:21 PM)
Hm.. contract i guess shud be one year or around two years? Ur first bill u pay exactly according to your package plan or there are some extra charges other then stamp duty and 5% service charge?
http://www.unifi.my/unifi/index.php?option...id=51&Itemid=81

During promotional period, there are no extra charges. I believe the link answers most of your questions.
rogue
post May 24 2010, 04:56 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ May 23 2010, 10:31 PM)
This evening I got a gift from TM, it's small Unifi box which's contained few manuals for Unifi and one TM key chain. Well the box is quite nice, but those items are useless for me.

Anyone got it already?
Got mine awhile ago tongue.gif
rogue
post May 27 2010, 08:13 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(PGGTrader @ May 27 2010, 07:56 PM)
Hi guys, I am interested to apply for the Unifi, but not sure which package to go for.
I would like to get the 10Mbps package but i have a question, is there a different on speed to overseas server (other than local Malaysia Based server) with the 5Mbps package ? I remember i read somewhere that the speed to overseas server range from a few hundred KB to around 2 Mbps only, if that is the case then subscribing to the 10Mbps seems to be not so worth it, since the faster speed is only for connection to local server. I also remember reading somewhere on this topic that Unifi is giving 1 month free, is it true ? Thanks in advance.

ps : Just to ask you guys for your personal opinion, should i apply for unifi now (any problem ? like i remember when i apply for streamyx when it first came out, it was hell... and TM was simply charging me ridiculous amount when i subscribed to RM 88 package) or should i wait ? (i am staying in subang and am currently covered, so not a problem with coverage area)
I'm in Subang as well. Am using VIP5 and so far so good accept that one time I had to call and ask them to reset their side coz my dialer keeps on redialing saying maximum session exceeded..

I'd suggest getting the VIP5 first and later upgrade to VIP10 when your happy with your UniFi. Upgrading won't cost but downgrading will be charged.
rogue
post May 31 2010, 04:26 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 31 2010, 02:47 PM)
btw, it's gd to change from my existing 1mb streamyx to unifi? iszit good n performance great? after reading alot of comment on the original modem they provided actually lead to privacy issue n etc.. sorry i'm kinda noob on this. dunno bout networking stuffs... so it's really a big issue if i use unifi wif tm provided hardware? such as connection speed n etc??

currently i'm using my own router modem on streamyx..
It would definitely benefit you if you are a heavy downloader/uploader. It's an acceptable service for now. Most of the sites I go to are fast when loading. This has to do alot with what DNS servers you use as well not just your overall download speed. I avoid using TM's DNS servers, their sometimes slow and unreliable(they don't resolve certain hosts for me).

For the router, if your concern abt privacy, you could get a cheap replacement that supports DD-WRT. I'm currently using DIR-615 H/W rev. C2 with DD-WRT, which is an N router, 4-port dual antenna with Atheros chipset for wireless. This router only cost RM136 at DigitalMall(Highest floor). Supports max connections of 32768 and I currently have 3 PC + 1 Laptop downloading torrents at any given time. So far I'd say this router is working well for me. I'm on VIP5 which is good enough for me(for now)

This post has been edited by rogue: May 31 2010, 04:31 PM
rogue
post May 31 2010, 06:47 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ May 31 2010, 05:07 PM)
ya.. i use quite alot of dl n updl.. xpecially on bt, youtube, etc..

is tat mean i can't use back my old modem?? currently i'm using belkin router wireless modem wif 4 port.. i'm sorry kinda noob here.. wat is DD-WRT for? and by getting the replacement for the tm original modem, will it cause the speed to downgrade? how bout the setting? i haf to reset myself at the beginning?
If you want to use your Belkin to replace TM DIR-615, your router must support VLAN tagging. Look for that option in your router. But I doubt your router has this feature. For dd-wrt, check it out at www.dd-wrt.com. It's basically Linux-base firmware for consumer routers.

People use their own router because they can have more control over it. Currently TM DIR-615 is lock down version(limited). You can still use TM's router, it will not effect your speed not unless you have 3-4 ppl torrenting at the same time, this router cannot tahan.

If you want to find out more about dd-wrt + UniFi, search through this thread and you will find plenty of info on this smile.gif
rogue
post Jun 2 2010, 03:30 AM

75 posts

Hey riz, I've also manage to find out the 'hidden' user. You can use the same user to ssh into the router. It's running Linux alright and yeah..max connection was set to 4096. I had to reset the router as I forgot what pass I set previously. By default on mine, the 3 remote management access was unticked. So lucky me..
rogue
post Jun 3 2010, 01:45 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ Jun 2 2010, 11:35 PM)
dir825 - cheaper, lifetime warranty, dd-wrt.
WNDR3700 - pricey, 2 years warranty, dd-wrt, and seems like performance better than dir825
How much for DIR-825 and what H/W revision ? Btw, do you have Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH ?

This post has been edited by rogue: Jun 3 2010, 02:49 AM
rogue
post Jun 3 2010, 05:25 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(PGGTrader @ Jun 3 2010, 04:38 PM)
because i am getting my Unifi installed on this coming Sunday, so i am trying to figure out the best way to install it.
According to your pic, you only have a small termination box which convert the 'Black' cable directly from the phone pole / FTTH box to the 'White' cable with socket connector which connect directly to the Fiberhome unit.

But...
I just went to my sister's house which they were installing Unifi for her today, her setup require the 'Black' cable from the phone pole / FTTH Box outside her house to be terminated at a Fiber Termination Box (which is a medium size white box slightly bigger than the one in your pic) on the outside wall of her house and then a 'white' cable with orange wording come out from it and go inside the house. They then connect this 'White' cable with orange wording to the Fiber Wall Socket (which i think looks like the one from your pic) and come out with the 'White' cable with socket connector to the Fiberhome unit. Is this a must ? or i can ask them to just directly do like yours and install without the Medium Size Fiber Termination Box outside my house ?
Their fiber splitters if I recall it. My setup in two-half-story house was quite simple, I simply ask them to bypass splitter, pull directly from FTTH box on phone poll straight into Fiberhome modem. The distance wasn't far from poll to my house btw. Some installers will give you either white or black fiber cable. I see no difference in it accept for the colouring. Perhaps I'm wrong.

I had the chance to see a Unifi installation for BIZ5. The installation was similar to your sisters setup accept the phone poll FTTH box = FTTH box mounted on the wall of the building. We ask them to bypass the splitters but they said they can't coz the wires aren't long enough to pull into the building unit. LoL.. So basically their going through 2 splitters > fiberhome modem.

Signal strength is important as well. The lower the better. Please ask the installers this when they setup.

This post has been edited by rogue: Jun 3 2010, 05:30 PM
rogue
post Jun 3 2010, 07:25 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(PGGTrader @ Jun 3 2010, 06:25 PM)
But what do they mean when they say the wires aren't long enough to pull into the building ? then thru the splitter they still need to pull the wire into the building right ? Weird...

There were obstacles between the FTTH box and the building unit outside. So thats why they pull it long enough and place their FTB there.

I did talk to them just now during install, they told me they pull the Black cable into the Fiber Termination Box then change to white cable because the Black cable is for outdoor use and cannot bend much, while the white cable is slightly less sensitive when you bend it, so it is more suitable for indoor use when u pull thru corner and conceal it in the plastic wire casing. What i didn't know was the 'Black' outdoor cable can be pulled straight into the FiberWall Socket directly without using the white cable. Btw, when u mention that you have the 'Black' outdoor cable pull straight into the Fiberhome Modem, you mean u still go thru the FiberWall Splitter like rizvanrp pic right ?
The thin fiber cable from the FTTH box is shielded inside another thick cable. In the case for BIZ5, it was orange colour and cannot bend much like you said. This is to protect the fiber cable inside ofcourse.

No FiberWall Spliter was used in my home setup..so literally they pull from FTTH box straight into fiber modem. No drilling was required as well as they slip it through one of the aircon pipe holes that had enough space put the fiber cable through. From this point they conceal it with plastic wire case all the way to where my fiber modem is.
rogue
post Jun 3 2010, 09:43 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(tweiyang11 @ Jun 3 2010, 07:44 PM)
hmm.gif i thought aircon pipe holes are located high up near the ceiling??  and did the installer open up your aircon so that they can pass the fiber thru the hole??
That would be the case but not at my house. There was just enough space to put the cable through so thats why no drilling required smile.gif
rogue
post Jun 3 2010, 11:45 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(tweiyang11 @ Jun 3 2010, 11:06 PM)
the pipe connects outdoor unit and indoor unit rite? since you're using the existing pipe hole to put the fiber cable thru it, means that the fiber cable will come out from the air con indoor unit if you didn't open up the aircon and let the fiber cable pass thru..... rite? means u need to at least "kacau" the aircon abit to let the fiber cable pass thru.. am i right??  just assuming  wink.gif
Correct. Need to kacau abit..there is actually a small gap(size of RJ45 cable) between the aircon pipe and the wall. The fiber cable goes through there..
rogue
post Jun 7 2010, 12:46 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(BlackHawling @ Jun 6 2010, 05:41 PM)
Btw, 1 question. if want reset the internet connection, should i restart Fiber unit or Dlink modem?
Restart both. Turn on fiber modem first till the PON indicator is green then switch on the router.

Added on June 7, 2010, 12:50 am
QUOTE(Kill_Bill @ Jun 7 2010, 12:33 AM)
hi guys... i was not able to login unifi router as i forgotten the username and password.. anyone can help me?
If you look at the back of the dlink router you will see the IP and user login settings. By default it is admin/'blank password'. If you've set a password previously, just do a reset on the router. Power the router on, wait till its fully booted, press the reset button till you see a orange light flashing. You will need to set your IP address to a 192.168.0.x range to be able to access the router after resetting.

This post has been edited by rogue: Jun 7 2010, 12:51 AM
rogue
post Jun 13 2010, 07:58 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(kengsim @ Jun 13 2010, 07:33 AM)
Like @klgoh99, I have an IP camera that I want to use. If they won't allow me into the router settings to configure port forwarding and DDNS, I'm gonna ask them to go home when they come to install tomorrow! How can they do this?

I suggest that you demand for it if they refuse. You paid for it so you deserve to have it.

I don't torrent much; never have more than 2-3 going. I prefer direct downloads. I use the wireless only with my iPhone and notebook, but I can always set up an extra access point if the DIR-615's suck. In my case, would the DIR-615 perform okay? I don't need a super high end router that can handle a large number of connections at once...
Just make sure you set the wireless mode to B/G only since their DIR-615 is a 'N'-based wireless router..A crappy one that is..

rogue
post Jun 13 2010, 08:39 AM

75 posts

@klgoh99

Their trying to enforce all this shit on their users as a way to control them as usual. They did it once with the 1st batch of UniFi installations..but shortly after that we figured it out(eventually)..so now their enforcing it again by changing the password's and not giving the user the information. They've also done this with their IPTV service by enforcing users to use their set-top-box for IPTV which is also crap by the way(STB).

What I don't understand about TM is they always end up screwing things up just when their about to kick off...sigh..

0.0493sec    0.43    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:25 AM