> How to count one month notice Serious Talk

TScutebabe1988
post Apr 29 2010, 10:57 AM, updated 16y ago

Can u please help me to answer my query?

i would like to know how many days is considered 1 mth notice if i want to tender my resignation letter?

is it 4 weeks or 30 days or 31 days is considered one mth notice?

pls help me ..

i want to count when will be my lasy day in the company..

tq.
powerfulcool
post Apr 29 2010, 10:59 AM

179 posts

4th of july till 3rd of august is 1 month.

not by days, not by weeks, unless specifically states: u must give 30 days notice.

WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 29 2010, 10:59 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

today is 29 April u throw letter so last day will be 29 May.

Its not counted by day, but the date
lawsh
post Apr 29 2010, 11:00 AM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

i would say 30 days as well smile.gif

btw, the calculation of last day is done by your HR
ultramaman
post Apr 29 2010, 11:02 AM

168 posts

my company hr says 1 month notice is 30 days.
mouldybread
post Apr 29 2010, 11:02 AM

400 posts

30 days the way to go
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Apr 29 2010, 11:10 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(lawsh @ Apr 29 2010, 11:00 AM)
i would say 30 days as well smile.gif

btw, the calculation of last day is done by your HR

it does not matter, the HR department will count again one.

barista
post Apr 29 2010, 11:12 AM

I want to retire
883 posts

30 days, then HR will calculate your leave. You can work 30 days after serving notice and get compensated for your annual leave earned. Or you can shortened the 30 days with your remaining annual leave.
Joey Christensen
post Apr 29 2010, 11:17 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

It's subject to whether the company allows her to use it to offset her notice. As the decision to allow offsetting of accumulated annual leave against the termination notice period shall be made by the company.

TScutebabe1988
post Apr 29 2010, 11:17 AM

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Apr 29 2010, 11:10 AM)
it does not matter, the HR department will count again one.
let say i tender on 03 may ...is it my last day is 02 june..?

or 01 june? if 30 days is 01 june wo? am i need to stated the last date i will be in the letter ?

but i need to commence work on 01 june wo, then how? i want to save my remaining leave to get back money...

how?

barista
post Apr 29 2010, 11:23 AM

I want to retire
883 posts

Have a discussion with your boss or the HR department.
TScutebabe1988
post Apr 29 2010, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(barista @ Apr 29 2010, 11:23 AM)
Have a discussion with your boss or the HR department.
so am i need to stated the last day of serve in my letter la.. just mention give 1 mth notice..only?

right?
Ichibanichi
post Apr 29 2010, 11:24 AM

327 posts

Rephase your question and ask HR again

How many working days should be given notice before resign.
FiF2
post Apr 29 2010, 11:29 AM

211 posts

should be 30 days

I also will kick out my housemate in 30days smile.gif *off topic @.@*
Joey Christensen
post Apr 29 2010, 11:30 AM

3,651 posts

QUOTE(cutebabe1988 @ Apr 29 2010, 11:17 AM)
let say i tender on 03 may ...is it my last day is 02 june..?

or 01 june? if 30 days is 01 june wo?  am i need to stated the last date i will be in the letter ?

but i need to commence work on 01 june wo, then how? i want to save my remaining leave to get back money...

how?
Don't forget about the effective date of your resignation. Make carbon copies of it too. You just need to be state the effective date of your resignation and not your last day in the office.

You may use this example: It is with both regret and anticipation that I submit this letter of resignation, effective May 03, 2010.

How did you state your last day at work? It doesn't make any sense at all. With the annual leave, replace leave, so on and so forth. Offsetting the notice period is one thing, your company's policy is another thing.

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Apr 29 2010, 11:36 AM
TScutebabe1988
post Apr 29 2010, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Apr 29 2010, 11:30 AM)
Don't forget about the effective date of your resignation. Make carbon copies of it too. You just need to be state the effective date of your resignation and not your last day in the office.

You may use this example: It is with both regret and anticipation that I submit this letter of resignation, effective May 03, 2010.

How did you state your last day at work? It doesn't make any sense at all. With the annual leave, replace leave, so on and so forth. Offsetting the notice period is one thing, your company's policy is another thing.
ICIC..

thanks for ur great advice n guidance..

tqtq
joe_mamak
post Apr 29 2010, 11:38 AM

363 posts

Err..anticipation? Anticipating the last day of work? biggrin.gif

Regret? No such thing when I leave. laugh.gif

TScutebabe1988
post Apr 29 2010, 11:39 AM

QUOTE(cutebabe1988 @ Apr 29 2010, 11:37 AM)
ICIC..

thanks for ur great advice n guidance..

tqtq
is it oso need not to state the notice period as well..

just mention effective from ....

like tat is enuf rite?

Joey Christensen
post Apr 29 2010, 11:43 AM

3,651 posts

Yes. The effective date of your resignation, an explanation for your resignation (this can be omitted), and a brief mention of the positive aspects of working for your current employer.

Keep it as short and precise as possible. For the love of God, please don't use your company letterhead to write your resignation letter. Use a plain A4 paper will do.

Wookie?

Lester1987
post Apr 29 2010, 11:45 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Apr 29 2010, 11:17 AM)
It's subject to whether the company allows her to use it to offset her notice. As the decision to allow offsetting of accumulated annual leave against the termination notice period shall be made by the company.
Hi Joey,

Lets say if the company allows you to offset the remaining days using the anual leave, what is going to happen to my pay?

I have a scenario before, i tender my resignation on the 3rd of sept, i have 8 days AL. so my last day should be 3rd oct. but if u use those AL to off set my working days, i will be working until the 20 sept only. but when i leave the company on the 20th sept, i only get my last month's pay check until the 20 sept because they say the AL will only off set the working days, and you will be paid only to the day u work. they say if i work till 3rd oct, they will pay me full pay for sept and the remaining 8 days AL cash. i feel like being cheated and the manager said i misunderstood it, so its my problem.
TScutebabe1988
post Apr 29 2010, 11:50 AM

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 29 2010, 11:45 AM)
Hi Joey,

Lets say if the company allows you to offset the remaining days using the anual leave, what is going to happen to my pay?

I have a scenario before, i tender my resignation on the 3rd of sept, i have 8 days AL. so my last day should be 3rd oct. but if u use those AL to off set my working days, i will be working until the 20 sept only. but when i leave the company on the 20th sept, i only get my last month's pay check until the 20 sept because they say the AL will only off set the working days, and you will be paid only to the day u work. they say if i work till 3rd oct, they will pay me full pay for sept and the remaining 8 days AL cash. i feel like being cheated and the manager said i misunderstood it, so its my problem.
yes u r been cheated by ur own company
Joey Christensen
post Apr 29 2010, 11:52 AM

3,651 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 29 2010, 11:45 AM)
Hi Joey,

I'm sorry to say, you have been short changed a.k.a cheated. Oh wait a sec, let me re-read your post. I think there's something else going on there.

Are you being paid on a day-to-day basis? Hmmm...it seems unlikely but it's one of the possibilities. If it's not, then you have been short changed on the remaining wage balance payment. You are entitled for those annual leave and since it can be used to offset the notice period, it shouldn't affect the take home salary packet. They cut you off your entitled 8 days wage? That's bad.

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Apr 29 2010, 11:58 AM
Lester1987
post Apr 29 2010, 12:29 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Apr 29 2010, 11:52 AM)
I'm sorry to say, you have been short changed a.k.a cheated. Oh wait a sec, let me re-read your post. I think there's something else going on there.

Are you being paid on a day-to-day basis? Hmmm...it seems unlikely but it's one of the possibilities. If it's not, then you have been short changed on the remaining wage balance payment. You are entitled for those annual leave and since it can be used to offset the notice period, it shouldn't affect the take home salary packet. They cut you off your entitled 8 days wage? That's bad.
yup, i argued that with my manager, and they say even i go to the labour office, nothing i can do as that is the HR's policy. I am a full time employee in that company. So since they say it that way and i already started working in my new job, i didn't take the hastle to go through all that as i am unsure if what they say is correct. Just to warn the other forumers around, the company's name is DATACOM, so if you are hired by that company, please be careful.
ahmadamin
post Apr 29 2010, 12:41 PM

Just ask your HR .. they will tell u ..

0.0240sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:48 AM