4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia N8 Thread V1 Its now OFFICIAL, The next revolutionises cameraphones

zero_kbom
post Apr 27 2010, 10:48 PM

~I'll make you Miku Miku~
965 posts

QUOTE(Forgotten06 @ Apr 27 2010, 10:41 PM)
Its UI seems to be sluggish IMO.
The camera and video recording is awesome but I dont think the other features really bring in the wow effect.
Hope that the delay in the shipping date means that Nokia will improve the UI more. Nokia will not want the N97 fiasco to happens again right?
OTOH, the firmware used in the vid were beta, prototype ones right?
If so, then it can explain the sluggishness in the UI.

zero_kbom
post Apr 27 2010, 11:30 PM

965 posts

Arm11 processor listed as the engine behind this beast on GSMarena
I'm somehow skeptical bout it...If im not mistaken, Nokia said that it was powered by 3rd gen mobile processor (or sumthin sounded like that)...And we know that Arm11 was so yesterday...
Please Nokia, not ARM11 please...Use the ARM Cortex A8 or better Snapdragon units please...Dun let N97 fiasco happened again because u skimped on the innards just to safe a few penny...PLEASE sad.gif
zero_kbom
post Apr 27 2010, 11:39 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 27 2010, 11:33 PM)
yea im skeptical bout it oso,ARM 11 although with high clock speed would be slow for this beast
The N8 marks a number of important firsts for Nokia: it is their first Symbian^3 device (latest version of the Symbian platform), their first 12 megapixel camera, their first HD video recording phone and their first phone using third generation mobile processor architecture.

Quoted from here

Yep...as long as there are no official announcement from Nokia regarding the processor used in this phone, I'll hoping dearly that Nokia will be using those newer processor, not the ARM11 based one...

If Nokia truly used ARM11 proc in this phone, I think they just shoot their own feet sad.gif
zero_kbom
post Apr 27 2010, 11:47 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(HexPhoenix @ Apr 27 2010, 11:40 PM)
i smell lag when i see the video. sad.gif

but 2 days of music playback? that is something.

don't pray for arm cortex. its official and will not be reverted back.

seems n8 will replace 5800 sooner or later, but depends on its built quality. if sucks like x6, say bye2....biggrin.gif

but i bet after launch of n8, nokia will release another device based on design by community project. if this project comes true, well, say goodbye to n8.
Hmm...but does ARM11 processor support HDMI out and 720p recording?
Just curious hmm.gif

p/s: Build Quality? Doubt? Lol just 1 thing needed to be said....Anodised Aluminium
zero_kbom
post Apr 27 2010, 11:52 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 27 2010, 11:48 PM)
from wat i've heard,ARM 11 doesn't support those,that adds my suspicion wheter this phone is realy using ARM 11
That's why I'm feeling skeptical as well.
If Nokia really used ARM11 based processor in N8, the only logical explanation I can think off was that Nokia was using Tegra in Nokia N8

Tegra 600 specs:
Tegra 600

* Processor ARM11 MPCore @ 700Mhz, 16/32-bit LP-DDR, NAND Flash support
* Audo/ Video Processing 720p H.264 and VC-1/WMV9 decode, 720p H.264 encode, Supports multi-standard audio formats, including AAC, AMR, WMA and MP3, JPEG encode and decode acceleration
* Imaging Up to 12 megapixel camera sensor support, Integrated ISP, Advanced imaging features
* True dual-display support
Maximum display resolutions supports:
- 720p (1280×720) HDMI 1.3
- SXGA (1280×1024) LCD
- SXGA (1280×1024) CRT
- NTSC/PAL TV output

Copied from GSMArena N8 comments
zero_kbom
post Apr 27 2010, 11:56 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 27 2010, 11:52 PM)
bcoz the 3gs is using the arm cortex A8,although only at 600 mhz,it beats other proc at the same clock.u can compare a 600 mhz ARM 11 device and a ARM Cortex A8 at the same speed.

if nokia chg a better proc on this phone,i'm sold.but i cant say much on this matter 1st,maybe they can do some optimization on the os and make it perform good
ARM Cortex A8 running at 600mhz is equal to the Qualcomm Snapdragon running at 1Ghz

That will tell how powerful the processor is.
zero_kbom
post Apr 27 2010, 11:57 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(HexPhoenix @ Apr 27 2010, 11:52 PM)
never touch e71 @ e72, so i dunno about the built quality.

but mid-end consumers devices like supernova series i use, even though they using plastic, but the built quality is freakin awesome! compared to my damaged X6....sad.gif

I see the youtube video on 1st page, it seems thats the 'purposedly' cut unwanted lag of this phone. and seamsless transition like symbian s60v5 seems missing. i love that feature.
Damaged X6? Well lets say that we shares the same woes...the built quality of my X6 sux big time too...
But N8 was being crafted from a single aluminum piece...kinda like those Unibody Macs were...
Which is COOL laugh.gif
zero_kbom
post Apr 27 2010, 11:59 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Apr 27 2010, 11:57 PM)
isnt the processor omap3?
It seems that GSM Arena quote the processor to be an ARM11 type...which is weird as I dun think that ARM11 processor support HD recording + decoding hmm.gif
zero_kbom
post Apr 28 2010, 12:04 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 28 2010, 12:01 AM)
N8 using aluminium body?nice i would say but gonna watch out for scratches  tongue.gif
LOL...kinda remind me of the iPhone 2g and the fatty iPod Nano laugh.gif

AFAIK, anodised aluminium was used to build N8...hence, it is scratch resistant nod.gif
zero_kbom
post Apr 28 2010, 12:08 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(HexPhoenix @ Apr 28 2010, 12:04 AM)
in the end, i'm not gonna bother what type of prcessor they will put in n8. i don't even give a damn if they planning to put intel i7 in the device.

as long it have good, no lag UI, nice combination of features, that's enuff for me.
Well it never hurt to have extra oomph readily available for usage right? laugh.gif

@Leo The Lion & ZeneticX

Yep...I also ran across a lot of comment saying that the processor used were the Omap3 ones...Lets keep our finger crossed shall we? nod.gif
zero_kbom
post Apr 28 2010, 12:39 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Apr 28 2010, 12:36 AM)
my last n97 lens cover scratches the lens....so much for lens cover, happy with n97 mini~
+1
The famous self harming N97 lens cover laugh.gif
But now been using X6 as my main device, N97 as backup
zero_kbom
post Apr 28 2010, 12:42 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(HexPhoenix @ Apr 28 2010, 12:38 AM)
before release = high anticipations and expectations

after release = mountains of bad comments and demands for new firmware.

LOLwut?
Very true laugh.gif

*cough N97 cough*

Anyway, will wait for more reviews throughout the internet first before deciding whether to buy of not to buy...as of now, more inclined to buy N900 rather than this laugh.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Apr 28 2010, 12:42 AM
zero_kbom
post Apr 28 2010, 01:01 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(HexPhoenix @ Apr 28 2010, 12:51 AM)
SE copy their style of marketing, now invited Kelly Clarkson last saturday (right?). although they quite stingy not to give away some free X10. sweat.gif

Nokia invited boys like girls before. the event (except rushing for lucky draw) is quite okay for me. the event before concert.... i and zero_kbom loves it. brows.gif
brows.gif
Yep..loves it lol
Now, Nokia, do the same event for the launching of N8? icon_idea.gif
zero_kbom
post Apr 28 2010, 03:23 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 28 2010, 12:20 PM)
Becos of this thread I learnt of new term..Symbian^1 = S60R5 & the Symbian^3 is the latest..suprisingly they jumped i level ..No such thing as Symbian^2!

Anyway, The most important thing about this latest symbian..is will it able to support Garmin MXT? Symbian^1 already having abit of problem wth the "smbol key" bugs & now Garmin no longer support any other platform except their nuvi phone..haizzz.
Yup, it seems like both Nokia and Symbian Foundation skipped the Symbian^2
But some of the features already been ported to Symbian^1
Such as full kinetic scrolling in N97, X6, 5800 etc.
and the Homescreen Widgets on n97/ n97 mini

So basically, we already get a taste of Symbian^2 nod.gif
zero_kbom
post Apr 28 2010, 03:32 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Apr 28 2010, 08:28 AM)
damn nokia still use arm11 not cortex and 1200mah battery?not very good shakehead.gif
To be honest, the ARM11 processor cannot handle HD recording and decoding....Hence, there were some that says N8 actually running on Tegra 600 chipset, which also incorporates ARM11 processor....
Again, just speculating icon_idea.gif

is there symbian ^4?

Symbian^4 will be announced around next year I suppose...
To put it more simple, Symbian^3= Improves Symbian^1 (S60v5)
Symbian^4= The real deal nod.gif

Nokia being coming out with new products every year. So hard to catch up with hp technology nowadays. N8 to me still quite big. I don't think we need those tv output kind of thing. That kinda divert far from the usage of a basic hp.

Well, Nokia positioned N8 as Media Creation and Consumption device...Hence, as a device that can record in HD, it also have to output it too rite?
Just my 2pc icon_rolleyes.gif
zero_kbom
post Apr 28 2010, 03:42 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Apr 28 2010, 03:38 PM)
so what can symbian ^4 do?
symbian ^3 already very high end..
LOL...Now you know rite why we were so thrilled on Symbian^3 and Symbian^4 laugh.gif
Symbian Foundation really working hard on Symbian^4 so we can expect something good from them I hope nod.gif

As Olli Pekka Kallasvuo (Nokia CEO) said:

"Symbian^4 will leapfrog the competition" thumbup.gif

Added on April 28, 2010, 3:46 pmHmm found this here

yes, it's not arm cortex a8.
but it's arm 11 with openGL.
which mean's it might be as good as cortex a8 or surpass it.

here is a little fact.
arm cortex a8 IS based on arm 11 architecture + powerVR video card in 1 chip package.

So,
any arm 11 with video card might be as good as cortex a8 or surpass it.

Kudos for nokia for bringing back 3D to their lineup

Maybe we can expect that the processor of N8 is quite good after all thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Apr 28 2010, 03:47 PM
zero_kbom
post Apr 28 2010, 04:34 PM

965 posts

Woot woot...look what I've found when lurking around talk.maemo.org here

N8 hands on here
p/s: Well only Google Translated but better than nothing though

Sup! Poison2 whistling.gif

Looking good eh? thumbup.gif

Apparently, this hands on said that N8 was equipped with ARM11 processor + Broadcom GPU

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Apr 28 2010, 04:37 PM
zero_kbom
post Apr 28 2010, 06:23 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 28 2010, 06:18 PM)
I'm still wondering whether Garmin can be install in this latest symbian or not....
Maybe can install...as Symbian^3 maintain legacy app support whilst providing new tools to develop app (QT)
On the other hand, either it will be usable without any bug what so ever......we can only hope rolleyes.gif

But to be honest, I rarely used my Garmin anymore, Ovi Maps just simply awesome thumbup.gif
zero_kbom
post Apr 28 2010, 06:52 PM

965 posts

Nokia N8 Question and Answers:

here

Hoping that the processor didn't bugger up the phone so much...after all the GPU was there to support it rite? nod.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Apr 28 2010, 06:53 PM
zero_kbom
post Apr 28 2010, 06:56 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 28 2010, 06:52 PM)
the OS and UI play a part oso.the iphone 3gs oso using arm cortex a8 600mhz,but u can see the UI is smoothest among all the phones
Yup...the important thing was the OS optimization in the phone.
But again, there was really no fault in having extra oomph readily available under the hood rite? nod.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:49 PM