Intel LGA1155 P67/Z68/Z77, Sandy/Ivy Bridge Architecture

diaBoliQu3
post May 30 2012, 05:44 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(najmul @ May 30 2012, 04:18 PM)
hey guys, im looking to switch from amd to ivy bridge. . .anybody know when the asus maximus v formula comes out? currently not interested in other z77 boards, coz wanna make a red themed rig biggrin.gif
Red? Have you check Asrock Fatility?
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 6 2012, 08:59 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(Interlude @ Jun 6 2012, 08:27 AM)
Asrock z77 extreme 4 or z77 pro 3
Z77 Extreme4
- Digi Power Design, 8 + 4 Power Phase Design
- 2 x PCIe 3.0 x16 Slots, Supports AMD Quad CrossFireX™, CrossFireX™ and NVIDIA® Quad SLI™, SLI™

Z77 Pro3
- 4 + 1 Power Phase Design
1 x PCIe 3.0 x16 Slot, Supports AMD Quad CrossFireX™, CrossFireX™

I would go for Extreme 4:
- The theory, 8+4 is better than 4+1 in oc.
- Extreme 4 support both NVIDIA SLI and AMD CFX. Unless you never plan to SLI on Pro3, or you are AMD gpu die hard fan and never look back to NVIDIA.

diaBoliQu3
post Jun 6 2012, 09:21 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(Interlude @ Jun 6 2012, 09:07 AM)
Obviously extreme 4 better than Pro 3 . Like my case, I'm not gonna SLI or CFX. But can u explain to me what is 8 + 4 and 4 + 1 thing.
It's power phase for cpu. Last time I bought low end Asus board with lower power phase, I unlocked and oc'ing my cpu, and it's burned, but luckily no spark or smoke. After some googling and reading at OCN, they said low power phase are not safe for oc'ing and might burned up your mobo and other hardware. And burn here really mean burn where spark and smoke inside your casing for MSI low end mobo. You can google yourself. Better when you read.

Edit: I found the link. But I'm not sure if non forumer can view it or not.
http://www.overclock.net/a/about-vrms-mosf...-tdp-processors

This post has been edited by diaBoliQu3: Jun 6 2012, 09:30 AM
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 6 2012, 09:32 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(Interlude @ Jun 6 2012, 09:29 AM)
But still can OC right ? Just don't OC gila2 la kan

Added on June 6, 2012, 9:30 amIm target 4.0 or little bit over it
Check my last post. Link added. I wouldn't take risk fry my mobo. How much is the difference for Extreme 4 vs Pro 3?

Added on June 6, 2012, 9:38 amReal scenario. But this is AMD and I believed can happen to Intel

http://www.overclock.net/t/943087/uh-oh-di...te-my-phenom-ii

This post has been edited by diaBoliQu3: Jun 6 2012, 09:38 AM
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 6 2012, 09:42 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Jun 6 2012, 09:39 AM)
Yup, 12 is enough. For those who get less than that, oc or unlocking are not advise. But some able to get high oc with this kind of mobo. It's luck, and it's preventable.

Added on June 6, 2012, 9:44 am
QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jun 6 2012, 09:40 AM)
anyone?? no comment or recommend?
How much? Why you hook to that board?

This post has been edited by diaBoliQu3: Jun 6 2012, 09:44 AM
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 6 2012, 09:49 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jun 6 2012, 09:44 AM)
how do they cool the rear VRM sets??

i bet this is for eyes candy only  rclxub.gif
I guess long and big heat sink. Haha...
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 6 2012, 10:23 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jun 6 2012, 10:10 AM)
got quote 470 for the board. i have no idea, that y i asking here  blush.gif
Oc or not? If oc, get Extreme 4. But you seems not to oc, why don't check Asrock Pro3. Of course Asus is a good brand but we are looking for best bang for buck.

Added on June 6, 2012, 10:24 amEyh, you mention oc... My bad. Just get Extreme 4 mang.

Added on June 6, 2012, 10:28 amEyh dude, why 3770k? Just asking... Hehe...

This post has been edited by diaBoliQu3: Jun 6 2012, 10:28 AM
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 6 2012, 01:27 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jun 6 2012, 12:50 PM)
extreme 4 how much price?
y 3770K? coz i got a good price? or what else u wanna recommend?
Extreme 4 around RM 469 IINM, try look at Garage Sales. If for gaming, i5 3570k will be enough, around RM 700. If you can get i7 3770k for a good price, why not grab it.

diaBoliQu3
post Jun 6 2012, 02:33 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jun 6 2012, 02:20 PM)
i use for gaming and photoshop and some heavy stuff btw, 3770k for 990 ok?
Owh, photoshoping. Well, it's a good cpu then. RM 990 for new? I don't know. Never observe i7 price because only eyeing i5.

Added on June 6, 2012, 2:34 pmBased on this post, it's a good price
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2358203/all

This post has been edited by diaBoliQu3: Jun 6 2012, 02:34 PM
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 7 2012, 01:44 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jun 7 2012, 01:32 AM)
go to http://www.asus.com/Compare/  to compare your self. i need LK because i need the audio port and usb port and sli. it actually user preference. c u need those thing i need o not.
So, you end up getting Asus board?

Added on June 7, 2012, 1:47 am
QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Jun 7 2012, 12:59 AM)
price up for intel processor. damn it.
Distro up price again? For IB only or all Intel?

Added on June 7, 2012, 1:56 am
QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jun 6 2012, 04:15 PM)
yup, 990 for new. i checked viewnet too, but so far 990 is the cheapest i found.
Just grab then. Ideal tech said price up. Get it fast thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jun 7 2012, 01:11 AM)
As I believe , 4.0ghz S/IB on intel is fine with 4 power phase .I am not too sure maybe as long as you dont go up to 1.4v + temp <70'c ? with a quality > quantity of board like Asus > RM 400 board ? Anyone can clarify ?

I to would like to know . How well does LK board compare to LX ?
I'd rather play safe. However, you can check Intel oc forum. I think there's some low power phase user can achieve 4.0ghz.

Added on June 7, 2012, 2:23 am
QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jun 7 2012, 01:11 AM)
As I believe , 4.0ghz S/IB on intel is fine with 4 power phase .I am not too sure maybe as long as you dont go up to 1.4v + temp <70'c ? with a quality > quantity of board like Asus > RM 400 board ? Anyone can clarify ?

I to would like to know . How well does LK board compare to LX ?
Since I'm unable to sleep tough it's 0200, I spoon feed you for easy compare. Better check at Asus compare site brows.gif

LX
- Supports AMD Quad-GPU CrossFireX™ Technology
- Realtek® ALC887 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
- 10 x USB 2.0 port(s) (4 at back panel, black, 6 at mid-board)
- 2 x USB 3.0
- 4 x USB 2.0
- 3 x Audio jack(s)
- No SLI bridge (included accessories)
LK
- Supports NVIDIA® Quad-GPU SLI™ Technology
- Supports AMD Quad-GPU CrossFireX™ Technology
- Supports AMD 3-Way CrossFireX™ Technology
- Realtek® ALC892 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
- 10 x USB 2.0 port(s) (2 at back panel, black, 8 at mid-board)
- 4 x USB 3.0
- 2 x USB 2.0
- 6 x Audio jack(s)
- 1 x SLI bridge(s) (included accessories)

I would get LK between those two. Better Audio codec, support both SLI and CFX, and extra 2 usb 3.0 slot. Power phase is same. How much is the price difference dude? And at below link, 4+1 power phase, i5 3570k can get to 4.6ghz stable prime95.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry50734499

This post has been edited by diaBoliQu3: Jun 7 2012, 02:23 AM
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 7 2012, 02:17 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Jun 7 2012, 08:35 AM)
not sure price for other model. but IB 3770K RM1090-1100. 3770 RM935-945. it is damn high now.
I saw IB 3770K at Taiwan is NT10k end user price, around RM909. our distributor earn too much..
Then people will blame dealer right? I wonder if Malaysian can order direct form Amazon or e-bay? My father in-law one ordered army and hunting knife and posted to pos laju HQ. His friend even order air gun from US.

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jun 7 2012, 10:13 AM)
If NT10K, means RM1090 la bro (base on Maybank Currency exchange rate)
According to Bank Negara Malaysia currency converter, direct convert: MYR 1,060.35

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jun 7 2012, 01:32 PM)
that different +- 100 make me out of budget  cry.gif  cry.gif
Wait for a while, or just grab it. nod.gif
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 7 2012, 08:32 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

Oh my... Fuel price goes down, cpu price goes up.
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 16 2012, 08:52 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(ketapang @ Jun 16 2012, 04:50 PM)
Hey guys, i might grab a new mobo & nh-d14 later (maybe around next month hmm.gif). currently stuck on choosing mobo. should i go for p8z77-v or the pro version? it seems the only difference between these two mobo is the power phase (8+4 vs 12+4) & USB 3.0 port which the pro has more usb 3.0. Im interested on getting this two because both have built-in wireless. im waiting for the gigabyte z77x-ud3h wifi actually but i heard it will not come malaysia, is it true?
NH-D14 might disturb high profile ram. But it's a good cooler. I don't know what you will do with the built in wifi but as for me, I will buy Asrock Extreme 4 and spend less than RM200 for Alfa usb wireless. Stronger signal and Backtrack 5 compatible. In your case, I just take the non pro unless you have a lot of usb 3.0 device since both have 3.0 usb slot. 8+4 still safe for oc'ing.
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 16 2012, 10:23 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(ketapang @ Jun 16 2012, 10:16 PM)
Thx for the advice bro. The main reason why i go for wireless because i just moved my pc into my room. I dun want to pull that long wire from the router, really messy one. sweat.gif
For usb, i scared it would overheat. Last time i left my maxis bb overnite and i felt the modem really hot.
Owh... Mine always hot but nothing bad ever happen. You on for 24/7? I would pick the non pro. But in the end, it's up to your self.
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 16 2012, 11:26 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Jun 16 2012, 10:30 PM)
It is nice of Asus to make boards with wireless capabilities but I wouldn't want it when I can get it cheaper with a motherboard without wireless + wireless card/USB dongle. Once you have the feature attached semi permanently to the motherboard with a proprietary connection, harder to get replacement, antenna options also limited.

I've used a TP-Link dongle for quite a while, 1-2 years and it is still strong but I can't say the same for their PCI card, didn't work well for me. It gets warm but even if it gets hot, it doesn't matter much because it is only RM30, works superbly and cheap. If you have the regular PCI card with a standard SMA connector, you'll have a lot of options to what antenna you want to boost your signal, Hi Gain, directional, etc. I believe that some of Asus' wireless cards have a proprietary connector that isn't the standard SMA and getting a replacement or something better is difficult.
+1. I rather buy a usb one. Plus, can change the wireless adapter anytime if not satisfied. Let's say TS Asus wifi board sent for RMA, I guess he need to sent the whole mobo. Then he have no mobo for quite a time. But if only the usb wireless spoil, can send for repair or buy a new one. The Asus wifi will be useless for me unless fully utilize the features for DLNA media steaming and remote controlling.
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 17 2012, 11:41 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(ketapang @ Jun 17 2012, 07:54 PM)
What's the point im buying built-in wifi mobo if i just replace it when the wifi rosak? laugh.gif

Added on June 17, 2012, 7:59 pm

Not open 24/7 but i always turn off my my pc after 3-4 days of usage.
Should be not damage unless sabotaged. Even my lappy can stand the heat.
diaBoliQu3
post Jun 18 2012, 03:33 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(cybersans @ Jun 18 2012, 10:57 AM)
the main point they put the wifi card as a "remote purpose" and not as built-in normal wifi usage. but you still can use it as a normal wifi connection.  thumbup.gif

I agree with you. But some user might think, "Hey, get the built in wifi card. No hassle." While for me, it's a waste to get the Asus board because I can get cheap usb wireless for less RM 100. Or for less than RM 200, I can get stronger and better usb wireless card. Most of all, I'm unable to utilize all the wifi features. However, the built in card is a good feature for user that have smartphone and DLNA media.
diaBoliQu3
post Jul 14 2012, 04:45 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

Can I switch between gpu and i-gpu anytime? Gpu is HD 7970 and cpu is i5 3570k. For Nvidia lappy, it called as Nvidia Optimus IINM. What I mean is totally depend on i-gpu, not only some application, and HD 7970 disabled as a gpu.
diaBoliQu3
post Jul 15 2012, 11:03 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 15 2012, 08:07 PM)
That's what the Luciv Virtu MVP is for.
But does it disable dgpu? What I'm trying to say is use igpu as gpu and disable dgpu without removing dgpu from pcie slot.
diaBoliQu3
post Jul 15 2012, 11:59 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 15 2012, 11:57 PM)
Mostly yes, it does disable your dGPU.
You can set how Virtu MVP works on your own, on games or other intense 3D applications, your computer will switch to your dGPU. On 2D applications like web browsing, you'll be using the iGPU.

Google up for more info on how to set them to work that way.
Already google but only found that LVMVP boost game performance doh.gif Might have miss it... Thanks mate.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0577sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:21 PM