Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3
zieraq
Apr 29 2010, 08:24 AM

QUOTE(ken3230 @ Apr 28 2010, 10:44 PM) hm...since i not going to paint my whole GUNPLA glossy so does tat mean i should use settler another question normaly top coat will tahan how long ? enough for 2 MG kits ? using setter will create silvering problems. I never use it. always use softer even on flat surface. if not use softer the decal will have wrinkle problem most of the time.
zieraq
Jul 20 2010, 05:49 PM

QUOTE(wkyoong @ Jul 14 2010, 08:03 PM) Hi guys. This is my 1st attempt in painting a gundam (aside from markers of course  ). I purchased a MG Sinanju a couple of days back and I've started the build. I'm planning to use prime92's technique to obtain somewhat of the metallic titanium finish as she has posted on youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r3EbBVuHZNEI have not purchased any paints yet. Was thinking of goin dry brush as what she has done but I was afraid that it might be a little too risky. Will Mr. Color Super chrome + Tamiya Clear Red do the job in this case? Otherwise I had the thought of getting a can of silver industrial paint or would it be too messy of a job? watch that video careful. there is a lot of brushstroke. hard to see in video but in person, I can imagine how ugly it actually is. also the dim light while the recording session make the stroke invisible. I would say metallic paint is no good for handbrush. unless u r okay with it. but seriously for a expensive kit like sinanju, u better try on cheaper kit 1st to see if the result is ok for u or not. dont follow Prime92 way of modeling. she don't use primer as base, never dilute the paint with thinner, use straight out of bottle. if u follow that technique I cant imagine how thick the paint is just to get it even
zieraq
Jul 21 2010, 01:23 AM

QUOTE(wkyoong @ Jul 20 2010, 11:08 PM) Yea I'm quite concerned about the brush strokes as well. Good thing I have not started on any painting yet (well I have not even gathered the materials anyways  ) But wouldn't it be fine without primer? Regarding the brush streaks, would it be a big help to add some retarder solution into the paint? Retarder only help a little to slower the drying time of the paint. It doesnt help to reduce the brushstroke if ur handbrush skill is very bad in the 1st place. handbrush need a lot of practice. therefore I myself skip it. for kit like sinanju I wouldnt risk of paint chipping(coz of not using primer). I'll cry if that happen. I suggest polish ur skill with bootlegs gundam, then move on to ur sinanju after u confident enough. also metallic paint is very unforgiving with uneven surfaces, scratches. Metallic by handbrush often will make the kit look like dented all over the place, like factory rejected mobile suit.