Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

orestes
post Apr 21 2010, 12:08 PM

19 posts

im building a MG gundam HD ver.

im not familiar how the water decals or dry decals looks like..

i have applied some on my finished gundam, but not sure whether it's the dry or water... it's just a normal clear sticker that sticks on the plastic part ... but once i applied it, i cant take it off .. kinda if i messed and aligned it senget, nothing i can do about it.. either leave it or peel it off and throw away..

and what top coat is good for white parts? where can i buy it?
orestes
post Apr 21 2010, 01:53 PM

19 posts

thanks for the explanation..
perhaps im gonna take few more pix later tonite...

btw, here a guide i found on the net...
for applying water slide decals..

orestes
post Apr 22 2010, 12:06 AM

19 posts

my MG Unicorn HD have these 2 type of decals... can somebody clarify abit more on how these 2 works and the best way to apply them... thanksss... sweat.gif

orestes
post Apr 22 2010, 08:34 AM

19 posts

thanks so much...
i searched on ebay for water decals and found 1...

im just a noobie... hehe sweat.gif

so that's the dry decal which only have 1 shot of applying it... the process for sure gonna be a suspense thrill for me...
orestes
post Apr 22 2010, 09:32 AM

19 posts

thankss... the kusaku blog definitely helps alot... biggrin.gif

Added on April 22, 2010, 9:52 ambtw.... yeah, the sticker decals tend to look abit unnatural....
if i want to remove it, do they have any tools or cleaner to do it?
just peeling it off will leave sticky marks ... and the brush it off, will need to rub it ... risky if accidentally hard pressure it while rubbing, might break something...

any polisher or anything to clean them?

This post has been edited by orestes: Apr 22 2010, 09:52 AM
orestes
post Apr 26 2010, 08:59 PM

19 posts

using markers or handpainting usually results in uneven paintjob...

for those flat wider surface, markers or handpaint using brush could be done at ease... better control of the strokes and can avoid multiple layered strokes ...

but for complicated and hard to reach surface, will be different story... using airbrush should solve the problem.. but then, not everyone can afford a good airbrush...

if you guys serious to model your gundam to result a clean nice wicked built, invest abit for airbrush ..
markers only good for touch ups...
orestes
post Apr 29 2010, 06:21 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(stanleysum @ Apr 29 2010, 06:06 PM)
hi guys. i'm thinking of building my gundam with below method. (no painting)

1. panel line + decal STRAIGHT FROM THE RUNNER
2. top coat (flat for my case)
3. cut out from the runner and trim
4. assemble
5. final topcoat (flat for my case again)

haven't try the method yet but will buy a cheap HG for experiment  tongue.gif  Hope some sifu can give me some guide. thanks in advance biggrin.gif
just like how i did ... laugh.gif

amateur like us, just straight away build laa...
but if you want a clean built, have a sandpaper and filer.. to smoothen the surface and nubs...
get a few color markers also; good for touch ups
then build everything carefully ... read the manual closely ..
you will have a nice result ..

the top coat is a plus ... flat is always recommendable ... gloss or semi gloss not suitable for gundams ... the shines doesnt appeal on gundams..
orestes
post May 2 2010, 09:19 PM

19 posts

buy new markers... or settle with its gunmetal effect...
orestes
post May 3 2010, 12:25 PM

19 posts

i guess that's where primer become handy

0.0417sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:17 AM