Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

Khai62
post Dec 16 2012, 12:56 AM

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 16 2012, 12:16 AM)
where to buy these items? and how do you guys normally spray? put the item in the box and spray??
Won't the paint kena other part of the house if we don't have a nice compartment to spray the things?
Any recomended place to get the tools to spray? i mean complete set.
Some hobby shop have sold this in sets, you can make yourself with a stick and alligator clip or paper clip from hardware / art stores.

For me i spray facing the windows so the fumes will come out as you spray in a box with a fan at the back to suck fumes out. Unless you get close with the wall with an airbrush it won't hit it as paint will evaporate over distance for normal spray cans is possible since it range is much more larger.

You can refer to tytroum to get a set in the lyn street mart sale section.
QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 16 2012, 12:29 AM)
but then it will be very time consuming.. + i am not sure i am patient enough for this.

So markers?
Marker is much more time consuming as it not easy to get a nice finish on large parts without going painting the part multiple times to avoid the brush strokes.
Khai62
post Dec 16 2012, 01:50 AM

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 16 2012, 01:22 AM)
Then if i spray paint the runners in the beginning, then cut off the parts, remove the nip/nub marks (worst case is sanding with 1000 or above sandpaper).

1. Will the sanding damage the paint before?
2. What if after that i top coat it with flat one. Will the paint still damaged?

Thanks again~
I will highly against spraying the parts on the runner since it just unnecessary do the job twice as sanding will remove the paint and if you try to paint the part that you remove nub marks will create unevenness to the previous painted surface.

As Nic already said it only protect the surface underneath it, so if it damaged to begin with it will stay damage since top coat is not for fixing the surface unless it a minor scratch which only made them less visible.
Khai62
post Dec 16 2012, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Dec 16 2012, 09:30 AM)
So more or less the only way is to clear all nip/nub marks then spray. Since I am using spray bottles instead of airbrush, can i spray multiple parts at one time?

and one more question, what is the benefit of painting gunpla except for the nice look

Thanks again
You can just stick them all on a foam and spray, just make sure that check every piece to make sure to get all the surface covered and paint the underside if necessary like the shield.

For me i paint them because to enhance the look according to my liking or paint the part that which the intended color done by stickers which will peel off over time anyway.
Khai62
post Dec 16 2012, 11:26 AM

Yep but what i do usually is clip on the peg/ connection of the part or certain part that will be hidden by another part to avoid those problem.

This post has been edited by Khai62: Dec 16 2012, 11:26 AM
Khai62
post Dec 20 2012, 01:22 PM

QUOTE(abundai @ Dec 20 2012, 11:44 AM)
besides those expensive spray cans like Mr Hobby etc, what other brand that u can get from hardware store that can give good finishing?
Few thread back, i saw sum1 mention Anchor...
But is it worth trying?

my spray skill are moderate, but on big stuffs like car rims etc..
but not on small parts/models... im just afraid the finisihing might not be as good..

how bout primer and flat coat?

any suggestion?
So far have tried Anchor, TOA and Bosny and their finish is quite ok just it not as fine as those hobby spray. Also it not that different than spraying other stuff just don't get too close while spraying to prevent paint just botch on the surface making it thick.

Khai62
post Jan 2 2013, 11:38 PM

QUOTE(Tsubasa66 @ Jan 2 2013, 06:12 PM)
May I know what is the best timing to spray top coat ? Or clear color? So that it will not turn white
For me when the sun is high and evening, avoid morning since humidity is still high in the air.
Khai62
post Jan 5 2013, 10:51 AM

QUOTE(Tsubasa66 @ Jan 3 2013, 08:52 PM)
So is a must to avoid humitidy, what about temperature ?? Dose it make any diff?
If the temp is too cold, the spray may form droplets which resulting spotty and uneven coverage.

QUOTE(Imdarren @ Jan 4 2013, 10:17 PM)
Hi guys, do you all know where i can get an affordable cutter and craft knife? Hopefully its not too expensive yet sharp enough to do the work seamlessly.
You can refer here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1938419

This post has been edited by Khai62: Jan 5 2013, 10:52 AM
Khai62
post Feb 26 2013, 04:16 PM

Speaking of airbursh, i just wondering is there some pointers on how to keep compressor in good shape for long period of time ?
Khai62
post Mar 6 2013, 11:47 PM

QUOTE(sekngucing @ Mar 6 2013, 10:56 PM)
want to ask all otai here
why arr my gunpla surface become sticky after paint? i use tamiya acrylics
do i need to do topcoat after paint?
Do you paint straight out of the bottle or thin it first with thinner ? and also keep in mind that it take some time for the paint to dry.

This post has been edited by Khai62: Mar 6 2013, 11:47 PM
Khai62
post Mar 13 2013, 05:19 PM

Gaianotes in my experience work very well with airbrush but for handpainting it can be very troublesome to get a good coverage of it as it tend to be sticky very fast even with retarder.
Khai62
post Apr 29 2013, 09:34 AM

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 28 2013, 05:59 PM)
I am more interested on how he paint all those small parts? any sifu mind to share? masking? i mask my gundam, when i take off those masking tape,
it peel off the paint as well. and I am using tamiya masking tape
Do you let the paint cure for a day ? because while the paint is dry to touch, it not fully cure so it can easily peel off by the masking tape.
Khai62
post Jun 12 2013, 10:04 PM

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Jun 12 2013, 08:22 PM)
I know ABS plastic quite dangerous to use with Lacquer
but I plan to AB my kit(previously I hand painted which Lacquer paint slowly break one and more parts)

do risk still have? hmm.gif
My MG Sinanju that i painted with gaianotes gunmetal from last year still hold pretty well but it do feel very stiff.
Khai62
post Jun 25 2013, 07:02 PM

QUOTE(TheGreatBahamut @ Jun 24 2013, 09:58 PM)
Hi, I know there are a lot of experience modelers here, so I'm going to ask a question  regard Tamiya Epoxy Putty. I used it for extend my model kit parts, I mix them with 1:1 ratio and then stick it to the part I want. And I left it for 4-5hours then do some shaping, after that left it for 1 days for completely harden.

This is the first time I use it, so I'm wondering is it the finishing will be gummy or it should completely solid feel? Mine just gave me gummy feel and now already 2 days since I applied it. Hope people here are kind enough to answer me, thanks. smile.gif
Based on my limited experience with epoxy putty, it should be rock hard and not gummy like you mention. Probably because of the humidity factor in since it will effect the drying process of putty.

0.0486sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:59 PM