Hardware Macbook Pro Glossy screen vs Matte screen, which is more accurate ?

TSskykisser
post Apr 18 2010, 12:19 AM, updated 16y ago

49 posts

Hello ,

I've been mulling over the decision to choose between the glossy screen option or the matte screen, for Macbook Pros.

I've done some research over various forums and i've gathered that most existing users are griping over the problem that the glossy screens easily produces irritating reflections even in "normal" ambience, for eg like coffee shops, normal study room lighting, day light from windows , etc.

The opinion or experience that i'd like to gather from this forum is , in fact not regarding the reflection issues as above, but i want to know especially from Macbook Pro users of the Matte screens variation, have you or have you not observed that :

- The colour reproduction of Matte is more accurate than compared to glossies ?
- Apparently, the gamut range on the orange and red channels are kinda moderately easily blown on the glossy screens, do the Matte screens have this problem as well ?

Or any other inputs that you may have in regards to glossy vs matte for Macbook pros , are certainly welcomed.

I do photography , although not product photography, but at least 90% of colour accuracy is what i'm aiming for when i'm delivering photos , so it's important for me to know from your experiences if you know there are differences in this respect between those two screens.

thanks in advance smile.gif

ps: Given the comparison between the two different screens are calibrated "correctly" using at least a colourimeter like Spyder Pro 2 .

wiraone
post Apr 18 2010, 07:56 AM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

Well, if you're buying a new MBP there is no more option for matte screen, so you'll need to decide weather to get an anti-glare or not .. unless of course you're buying a second hand MBP. Only option to go for a matte screen is to get an external display.. Anyway, I'm not into photo editing etc. but I rather choose matte over glossy anytime.. but with the later release of MBPs, Apple seems to have away with this option ..
TSskykisser
post Apr 18 2010, 11:19 AM

49 posts

Silly , Thanks for pointing out there's no matte anymore. I've always thought that anti glare means matte.

So , is anyone out there willing to share glossy vs anti glare for the same comparison points I've asked in orig post ?

Added on April 18, 2010, 11:22 amSilly , Thanks for pointing out there's no matte anymore. I've always thought that anti glare means matte.

So , is anyone out there willing to share glossy vs anti glare for the same comparison points I've asked in orig post ?

This post has been edited by skykisser: Apr 18 2010, 11:22 AM
dvlzplayground
post Apr 18 2010, 12:32 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

oh i see... i thought anti-glare = matte screen tongue.gif does this means the anti-glare ones still have the black bezel?

Added on April 18, 2010, 12:39 pmoh anti-glare will be using the aluminium panel again

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=898882

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Apr 18 2010, 12:42 PM
wiraone
post Apr 18 2010, 02:34 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

Gee.. I was wrong then smile.gif Reading further, the HiRes with Anti-Glare is actually a matte screen. I should've choose this one instead .. thanks for pointing out ..
tarvalslain87
post Apr 18 2010, 04:53 PM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

Base don the link it seems that anti glare glossy looks so much better... But I guess I couldnt afford another RM400 for it... If I had I would definitely go for the anti glare after seeing the comparison!
dvlzplayground
post Apr 18 2010, 07:38 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 18 2010, 04:53 PM)
Base don the link it seems that anti glare glossy looks so much better... But I guess I couldnt afford another RM400 for it... If I had I would definitely go for the anti glare after seeing the comparison!
hmm.gif

yea too bad they dun have normal res anti-glare
TSskykisser
post Apr 18 2010, 08:14 PM

49 posts

Thanks for the great link , just what I was looking for.

I'm gonna go for anti gloss

Seriously , what's another 400 if we're already forking out some 6k. For the long run, 400 would be evaporated just in a snap !
yeahs4.1
post Apr 18 2010, 11:59 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

actually i personally like the black coloured bezel. it's some sorta placebo effect so that the screen looks border-less thus bigger. I've once worked in TV field and that's what i've been told, which i find it quite true.

is it possible to have a real hi-res MBP on display in any apple store locally? it would be great if we can see it with our own eyes and then be assured to fork out the extra couple hundred bucks for the upgrade.
tarvalslain87
post Apr 19 2010, 12:28 AM

5,054 posts

I dont think they will order customized units as in business wise its not really that good. If there are no people interested in it then it would go to waste... Haha... Clearing stock is their main objective and keeping stocks will eventually hold up their cash flow =D But that picture is quite good already.... Or once skykisser gets his MBP, then ask him to do a perfect review with nice pictures =D
dvlzplayground
post Apr 19 2010, 02:14 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

yeap2...i really like the black bezel hehe. not only because of the colour, bcuz the whole display is just one surface... looks good n easy to clean biggrin.gif juz use antiglare screen protector la haha

i never seen antiglare ones on display in malaysia...heck never seen one in real life at all tongue.gif
tarvalslain87
post Apr 19 2010, 10:17 AM

5,054 posts

Nvm once skykisser get his MBP, we can all ask him to bring it out and show it to us or maybe get some nice clear pictures =D... Then everyone would have a chance to see =D
kyLL
post Apr 19 2010, 04:58 PM

-=-
1,638 posts

2nd page of the macforum thread has pictures.. yum.
tarvalslain87
post Apr 19 2010, 06:20 PM

5,054 posts

2nd page? I cant see the 2nd page wan? I only saw one page.... is it the same link that dvlz gave?
cRazYee
post Apr 20 2010, 10:17 AM

2,642 posts

easy for you
compare macbook air and macbook pro
you can see the different

tarvalslain87
post Apr 20 2010, 10:47 AM

5,054 posts

Macbook air using the anti glare hi res screen type? Oh didnt realise that.. Or maybe never thought of buying the macbook air thats why didnt go notice the screen type... Ill go to the apple shop and take a look...
prancingHORSE
post Apr 20 2010, 09:24 PM

I’m too awake for this to be a nightmare!
2,442 posts

http://www.apple.com/macbookair/specs.html

according to specs, Air is the glossy type. Anyhow , i didn't think much of it ... probably i'll check out Air as well the next time i drop by the store.

cheers
Timber
post Apr 21 2010, 11:40 AM

484 posts

I am no designer, but I got a iMac and a MacBook with glossy screen. I hate the screen because it reflect ambience light too much!

2 years back my boss wanted to get a Macbook Pro so I recommended him to get the Matte screen instead because he likes to read in his super bright office room.

What I noticed that the matte screen Macbook Pro was not as 'bright' compared to the iMac glossy screen. I need to set the brightness to 100% on the Macbook Pro to achieve the same brightness as the iMac which is set to 50% all the time.

That's my 2sen observation.
tarvalslain87
post Apr 21 2010, 01:38 PM

5,054 posts

Aha... Nice observation.... At least could help those who doesnt know whats the difference to know a little bit before purchasing them... By setting brightness to 100% may use up more of your battery as apples battery guide states to use low enough setting for the persons reading comfort..
TSskykisser
post Apr 21 2010, 11:31 PM

49 posts

Here's another pictorial observation

http://www.flickr.com/photos/8049080@N03/s...ith/3401876403/

0.0179sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:01 AM