Comments/feedbacks Apple Resellers Service, Discussion

nimrod323
post Apr 24 2010, 09:13 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(man_hakim87 @ Apr 24 2010, 08:28 AM)
I read that machines is gonna do an macfest event. Im pretty sure everyone here is not going is it?  sweat.gif
aiya people here a bit the amnesia one, if machine offer freebies among other things for sure they'll go buy there and even if they were to give good customer service, it wont be highlighted here. Guys seriously though, Machine has implemented things like a facebook page, a feedback form in their stores, an online customer feedback through their demo computers among other things and also email address like info@machines.com.my that are read by their directors personally, if you have an actual case that why not try all this avenue, whaddaya have to lose? except some people losing their jobs, empathy takes a back seat doesnt it? For me, i have always maintained that retail stores are retail stores, you go in not looking for special over the top treatment or creating a long lasting special bond that includes fake smiles,or salutations. You go in and get the things or info that you want and thats that, if theres someone who treats you badly,being rude and all, just report it and if theres someone who treats you nicely takes step to highlight tht to their management too, people rarely do the latter. Just my 2 cents.
nimrod323
post Apr 27 2010, 10:35 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Apr 27 2010, 10:23 PM)
Xaw5126, I rather take good service anyday then freebies. Machines can take a lesson or two from Apple retail -- here is my experience from the Apple retail store in Atlanta and Boston, USA.

1. Ordered an aluminum Powerbook 12" (I still have sentimental feelings for this laptop although I eventually sold it!) online -- shipping was taking forever so I stepped into the Apple store, they kindly cancelled it for me, and I walked out with a brand stinking new powerbook the same day smile.gif
2. Buying the powerbook allowed you to get an ipod for a really cheap price (it was a deal for students), so I sent in the barcodes and receipts, and got cash back a few weeks later. The ipod was practically free. 
3. Later went back to the store a few days later because I found out that I was also suppose to get a free printer with the laptop. Apple apologized, gave me the free printer, and gave me an ADDITIONAL $100 USD cash back into my credit card (!!).
4. ipod got wet (not my fault, friends decided to throw me in into a river); took it to the Apple store and they gave me a refurbished unit ON THE SPOT.
5. Multiple problems with my 1st generation black intel macbook -- logic board failure, battery charging problems, cracked top case, and recently hard drive failure -- all replaced even though my macbook has been out of warranty between 2-4 years (yes I know its Apple Care and not Apple retail taking care of the problem, but still I thought I'd mention it).

Apple retail has fantastic service. Machines service juxtaposed again Apple retail is just appalling, especially since they are the largest operating "Apple" retail store in the country.
Again that is an Apple Store, machines cant do what an actual Apple Store could, none of the resellers can, Machines like other resellers have to take cues from what the Apple service reps have to say when it comes service or replacement, there isnt an on the spot exchange because none of the service centers stock parts,thats plain and simple,everything is in SG, thats how it has been. Im truly glad how you were treated and all, but alas we couldnt relate to you cause there isnt an Apple store in sight. No reseller can ever trump limitations imposed on them by the originator of the produce, unless of cause the originator opens its own store here there aint gonna be much red tape to contend about.

heres an analogy for ya, if my E90 were to break down especially that pesky N52 engine block problem, Auto Bavaria will take a month or so to fix it, my car would be at the service centre and im carless, if we had an actual BMW service and showroom, they'd stock parts here and the whole waiting game would have been limited to a few days, and im not kidding Aluminium engine bloack is a problem and oh i dont own any beemers haha just sharing.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Apr 27 2010, 11:01 PM
nimrod323
post Apr 27 2010, 11:03 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 27 2010, 10:49 PM)
But the problem sometimes lies with consumers who think that Apple Resellers, actually works for Apple. From here they'll start to compare services rendered locally and abroad.
thats the thing, apple reseller are nowhere near an apple store in terms of retail or service, due to branding also, or else how do they make Apple Store in the US more appealing compared to Bestbuy or Walmart? My BMW analogy above pretty much sums up the situation i guess

nimrod323
post Apr 27 2010, 11:17 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 27 2010, 11:07 PM)
they do represent apple though. they have the 'premium reseller' badge, which apple awarded (am i right?). so bad experience in their storees = bad impression on apple inc.

the only time i see machines staff become friendly is during discoveryweek tongue.gif
no they dont necessarily represent apple. The premium reseller badge is for have turnover rate, Epicentre and Switch has it too. Your representatives of Apple are apple malaysia themselves, located at Bukit Damansara. Your logic flawed, bad experience at an apple reseller = still is bad experience at an apple reseller, bad experience at an Actual Apple Store = Bad Experience with Apple Inc, as they come under direct control/QC. I cannot say im dissapointed at BMW if Auto Bavaria suxks can i?

nimrod323
post Apr 27 2010, 11:35 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Apr 27 2010, 11:25 PM)
Yes you can since BMW has a say on how its reseller perform .. remember VW who cancelled VW Car The Curve dealership which was announced not long ago..
My point of contention is, as was pointed by Eithanius, if the staff that is under the direct purview of the reseller or the service rendered. i cant complain if im carless for a month if BMW didnt choose to have a service centre in Malaysia which has all the parts stored locally. Auto Bavaria still has to order from Germany fro an engine replacement, and its clearly not Auto Bavaria's fault but if Auto Bavaria service suxks its their fault cause Auto Bavaria CS is under them, BMW can only do so much to ensure its franchisee comply with its agreements, same rules applies with apple reseller.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Apr 27 2010, 11:35 PM
nimrod323
post Apr 28 2010, 10:16 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(nawzi @ Apr 28 2010, 07:24 AM)
doh.gif What??? A PC user...Mmm mati la Machines macam ni

Added on April 28, 2010, 7:49 am

Probably u studying at CENFAD
you'd think for a second that people who use macs would end up in a sloppy job like a salesman that wud probably incur wages between 5-8 Ringgit? Please la try to work in an apple reseller first and then comment. At least even if they are a PC user they are making an honest living lets face it, salesman can only feed you only so much info, if you are buying something be it even RM1 of value, you better research and know what you are buying.
nimrod323
post Apr 28 2010, 10:21 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 28 2010, 10:10 AM)
Actually if an apple reseller were to be established in overseas lets say UK/Australia instead of the Apple Store, Im sure their services would definitely be much better based on their culture which really emphasizes on customers satisfaction comes first. Its just thats our Malaysian culture to not emphasize on good and friendly service. Thats my opinion.
Yet when foreigners enter an Apple reseller they only get what they want, and know what they are buying instead of asking questions like, hello got freebies arrr, discount arrr, 24 months installment arrr without even asking how the mac works etc etc. Our customer etiquette is also marred by sense of entitlement too.

Added on April 28, 2010, 10:27 am
QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Apr 28 2010, 10:03 AM)
Yes, I would think that most consumers would believe there is a strong association between Apple and the resellers because of their premium reseller badge, and their strong presence in the city. Even the interior modelling of the reseller store, Machines and Mac City included, closely resembles an official Apple store.

Their rude staff can lead an undesirable impression that *all* Apple stores are like that for the uninformed. I don't know how much jurisdiction or say Apple has in QC of the staff at Machines, but since Machines is a distributor of almost all products exclusively Apple, it would be wise if they said a word to them. I would think that to resell Apple products, you would have to officially file to Apple to become one, otherwise, why aren't there more Mac selling stores in Low Yat? Or are Apple products really that expensive and exclusive?
reason being to startup you'd have to have a startup capita that runs i millions,thats just for setting up the store, to buy stocks and products you would need to have an account filled with millions. Thats why they arent many whom are taking this business, lets face it Malaysians in general dont buy macs, its like the last choice. I have said it before, theres no point to rant and say its up to Apple to correct the resellers, its actually up to the resellers, Machines or any other resellers, have implemented customer feedback forms as well as email addresses that are read by their directors personally. This is waay faster than b****ing about it here. I have seen the feedback forms in plain sights in machines outlets, with a pen not too far away,their name tags are always there for you to refer too.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Apr 28 2010, 10:29 AM
nimrod323
post Apr 28 2010, 11:29 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Apr 28 2010, 10:31 AM)
nimrod, just wondering if you're attached to any of the Apple resellers in Malaysia? The only reason I bought my things from Apple Store Online is because, I don't want the hassle with the 'helpers' there.. There are few smaller Apple resellers like the one at The Curve who are willing to help with answering all this kind of questions .. and I do believe they're getting more returning customers compared to Machines. IT IS NOT WRONG TO ASK QUESTIONS before buying ..
Having a difference of an opinion doesnt mean i from an establishment that advocates it, i never claimed that Machines CS is the awesomest, im just saying they could be better, in fact i have also concurrently mentioned epicentre and switch in the mix. I too like you bought a lot of stuff from online store, if some of you guys might remember the mb pro unibody that i did almost a year back would remember as well as the buying tips thats pinned up there. Its really not wrong to ask questions seriously it isnt, but well its also not wrong to know what you are buying before making a purchase, i would think the salesman wouldnt know everything about a mac like for example if you ask him how an X grid works with a slew of machines with different OSES, he'll be like huh WHAT? I have been to Technocrats in One Borneo and even Switch in Penang, small relative shops that didnt bother to say hi to me when i asked queries. But i dont blame that or make an issue on the spot, just an email or call yo their HQ would resolve the matter. Regarding returning customers, do you work there to know they get more returning customers or are did they published a chart somewhere? i wouldnt even claim such a thing, cause i dont have any inside knowledge of customer demographic of any mac stores in Malaysia. Im not tryig to discredit you here, just proving my point a few posts back that if anyone were to face problems with any mac stores, do the necessary steps to heal your grievances, there are many avenues, even the kementerian pengguna if you have to, no point complaining here, i doubt they monitor this page.
nimrod323
post Apr 28 2010, 04:32 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Apr 28 2010, 03:11 PM)
I've not purchased anything from Machines but if they do not bother you while you're inspecting their products, that's what I call good customer service.

I should bother them if I want something, not the other way around where they bother me when I don't want anything.
i sort of agree with this too, customers should be given some space to fiddle or fondle the products as much as they want.

nimrod323
post Apr 28 2010, 06:34 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 28 2010, 05:15 PM)
oh really? didnt notice that tongue.gif
we fiddle2 fondle2 but the staff keep staring at us with "you wont afford that" face not nice also...
lol very hard to sayla, its all based on our impression what maybe he got issues like kena maki hamun by a previous customer or something,we only experience one sales staff in one day, but they experience hundreds of customers in a day, if they wanted to rant just like some of us here, it'll be many pages biggrin.gif

nimrod323
post May 1 2010, 05:01 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Vince1991 @ May 1 2010, 04:36 PM)
well from my experience, the best was is to send your MBP back to where u bought it..
In my case, my Intel MB 13" battery went dead one day. I bought it at epicenter at Pavillion which is kinda far away from my place(im staying in Bandar Sri Damansara).
So, i went to Mac City at 1Utama(machines not opened yet then). They said that they can claim me a new battery with only a charge of delivery fees(as my macbook is still under warranty then). It was supposed to be 2 weeks time to claim for a new battery buy after a month still no word from Mac City so i went back and check. The guy there told me that apple rejects my warranty claim from Mac City giving me the reason that i bought this set at epicenter ( what a lame reason i mean arent they all under apple? and i doubt that they even try to claim for me)
That person who served me even told me"its like that la". wasted a month of my time. I went back to epicenter and they manage to claim my battery in 5 working days. = ="

well good luck to u =)
very good insight, i was beginning to think Machines were the only bad guys in town.

nimrod323
post May 1 2010, 06:44 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ May 1 2010, 05:29 PM)
Sigh @ Mac City. I remember bringing my brother's old MBP there for repairs. After two weeks of nothing, I went in and yelled at their repair centre over the store phone. :/

Such a far cry from the official Apple Stores it makes me sad.
Mac City is a reseller, not an official Apple Store. Also, was this a regular warranty? Apple Care disregards where you bought it from; e.g. my Malaysian Apple Care worked when I brought my iBook G4 into Apple Store Meadowhall, UK.
Maccity, Machines, Epicentre, Switch are also resellers,no1 can reject service, I have had so many friends that bought macs all over the world and stores going to Epicentre and machines for service, they didnt charge anything for products under warranty,except if you ask them stuff like can Format for me ahhhh???? install RAM for me ahhhhhh???? instal windows for me ahhhhhh????? Reinstall OS can ka ????, This are things you could do for yourself, very easy.
nimrod323
post May 1 2010, 08:19 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ May 1 2010, 07:48 PM)
Apple Care warranties are referred to repair centres "approved by Apple". The resellers do not handle the repairs themselves. If the repair centre doesn't want to fix your Mac for whatever reason, the resellers will simply nod and smile like an idiot. And yes, they can reject warranty claims for a great number of reasons, e.g. water indicators going off, signs of abuse, etc.
Im sorry, Resellers like Machines,Epicentre and Switch are Gold Service providers too, they do have in house service and are not dictated by stand alone service like VR tech or Sapura.

nimrod323
post May 1 2010, 11:39 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ May 1 2010, 10:47 PM)
Funny how any PC shop would be more than happy to install your RAM for you. Surely you don't pay so much for a Mac so you can do things yourself?
Surely you didnt see where my comment came from did you not? Lets break it down shall we, oh oh and surely you dont think installing RAM would be a varying task from a windows to mac user right? or the fact macs and peecees are pretty much the same in terms of pricing, the high end and medium end peecees anyway, or do we stop changing tires for our costly continental cars and aspect our dealers to come over and do it for us? digress much, heres its a joint breakdown:

Maccity, Machines, Epicentre, Switch are also resellers,no1 can reject service, I have had so many friends that bought macs all over the world and stores going to Epicentre and machines for service, they didnt charge anything for products under warranty

This bit explains how the macs are bought from a whole different plethora of places coming togather to go for a service location that originally the macs are not bought from. i.e: you bought the mac from the states and something goes wrong with it, you seek service, this is part of the applecare, and its all valid.

,except if you ask them stuff like can Format for me ahhhh???? install RAM for me ahhhhhh???? instal windows for me ahhhhhh????? Reinstall OS can ka ????, This are things you could do for yourself, very easy.

This bit explains what is not covered by the applecare. You cannot simply walk in to a reseller you never bought anything from, and tell them " Hey i got this mac from Apple Online Store, can Format for me ahhhh???? install RAM for me ahhhhhh???? instal windows for me ahhhhhh????? Reinstall OS can ka ????". You cant demand this, its unreasonable, and you could always pay them for their trouble. heres an anology. You buy a HP laptop from XYZ store in Lowyat and you walk into CCC shop in Bangsar and say, eh "can Format for me ahhhh???? install RAM for me ahhhhhh???? instal windows for me ahhhhhh????? Reinstall OS can ka ????". Surely it would be odd for them to do all this for free considering HP is pretty much in the same price bracket as Apples? doncha think?

This post has been edited by nimrod323: May 2 2010, 12:20 AM
nimrod323
post May 2 2010, 01:45 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ May 2 2010, 12:42 AM)
Well you normally either install RAM yourself, or get the shop to install it. It would be reasonable to assume that if you didn't know enough to install RAM, you wouldn't know which type or model of RAM to buy anyway, so you'd depend on the shop for these things, and you'd get them installed when you bought them. maybe you can change it to "test RAM" instead.

I had my specs fixed for free once. I was on my way somewhere when the screw dropped out. Walked into an optician's shop, he found that the screw was stripped, found a screw and nut, and bolted the thing together long enough for me to find a replacement. I didn't know who he was, but he didn't charge a thing.

I don't have a PC shop, but if I had one and we weren't too busy, I'm sure we'd be more than happy to help anyone install RAM, reformat or whatever, even if they didn't buy anything.
well its very hard to come by this random act of kindness, but most computer stores mac or pc alike are often dishing out value added service to those who actually buy from there, i get where they are coming from and i wont blame them if they dont do anything if we brought a machine and ask to get free service.

nimrod323
post May 2 2010, 10:27 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(lonewalker @ May 2 2010, 02:57 AM)
Well true, but just one rotten apple in the basket doesn't mean the whole basket of apples is bad. Just that ppl always remember the bad and forget the good. I know there are good people at some of these branches, they ain't all bad. 

(Myself included) Forumers/bloggers/digerati the the people that complains the loudest in this 'echo chamber'. If you serious about complaining, take it to the next level, don't contribute to the endless rant thread.
Call the right channels @ Apple Malaysia for your complaint. Thats how i got my iMac G4's LCD panel replaced after a technician at an "Apple Premium Reseller" tried to 'Araldite' glue back the broken plastic bezel (did a sloppy job at glue-ing it back, which he shoudn't have done it in the first place)

i have said the same thing before, look guys some of you might justify saying that this thread can act as deterrent for people from visiting Machines, its a little bit of a stretch here me thinks, no point feeding this thread because not all sales person are bad, and bad experiences are situational,(i know it shouldnt be, but shit happens). Ultimately everyone who reads this thread should take it with a grain of salt, theres no such thing as nice salesperson, the reason why they are condescending is to get you to buy stuff,we should all know that, its all business at the end of the day. If they are not nice to you, they are just to lazy to earn their commission thats all, and by you walking off you have denied them that. Just go through the right channels, trust me these days they have alot of avenues for you to complain especially, info@machines.com.my that is read by their directors personally.
nimrod323
post May 2 2010, 01:58 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ May 2 2010, 11:12 AM)
The point of contention here is, are we paying for service we are not getting? Macs are not like PCs, a Mac shop is a Mac shop, they all serve the same one company. Macs are premium products that are targeted at people who care about image and class and good service. People expect a clean, well-designed, tidy store and knowledgeable staff when they walk into a Mac store, they same way they don't when they walk into a small PC shop. It's what you pay for.

It's annoying when you pay for premium service and you don't get it. It makes you wonder how they got hired to do that in the first place.

And you got it cheaper am I right? smile.gif
Im sorry, how are macs not the same as PCs? if im buying a 5K Mac and a 5K PC, it should be okay for me to just let it go if the PC fellers screw me with their half boiled attempts at Customer Service? Seriously how does one buy Premium Service? isnt all customer service complimentary of the product bought, irregardless of the product make and model or the price?

Your reasoning is a bit flawed here,"Macs are premium products that are targeted at people who care about image and class and good service", note that most of us here i'd say are average consumers with little or no disposable income whom are converted of years of using Peecees, There are 2 types of users when it comes to Apple Products, firstly theres the Mac user who buys a mac based on the Rigid MACOSX, relatively trouble free,ease of use orientated and then theres the Apple user, who buys a Mac cause he or she considers a Mac, high class, status elevator, uplifting image and all that the stretches to showing off and make others drool over them and continuously booting into Windows on a mac because the Mac osx is too difficult to learn.

this comment here also feels out of place too "People expect a clean, well-designed, tidy store and knowledgeable staff when they walk into a Mac store, they same way they don't when they walk into a small PC shop. It's what you pay for. " For godsakes its a freaking computer, dont tell me if its a shady area like Lowyat, you wouldnt want to buy a mac from the resellers there? and what about the influx of people opting too buy from online stores, does this factor come into play no. You havto understand the fact that macs these days are considered average computers, heck some HPs,Dells, and Vaios are more expensive then mac nowdays, i dont want to start on Alienware, that is what i call premium.

Added on May 2, 2010, 2:01 pm
QUOTE(Vince1991 @ May 2 2010, 01:11 PM)
I went to 1utama yesterday and visited machines. I went and ask a sales personal about macbook air. He seems nice and all explaining everything to me. I even asked him about the support/tech support and they say its okay to bring it back to machines for checkup and all. Seems nice but i wonder if that is just a way to attract me to buy that macbook air.

Yesterday 1utama traffic jam till the kerinchi junction there > <" crazy @___@
Dude, i said so many times already, salesman are always salesman, they dont act nice for no reason, of course to tempt you to buylah, Its the same everywhere what, try to walk around the perfume department in Jusco, alot of pretty girls or aunties will be nice to you, and ask you to try these and that hoping for you to buy lah.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: May 2 2010, 02:28 PM
nimrod323
post May 2 2010, 02:26 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(XenoStig @ May 2 2010, 12:54 PM)
The thread starter DID sent an email to info@machines.com.my remember? And he didn't get any replies at all. If the director is reading it, he's just a snob too like like the tech. dept. guy for not replying or acknowledging anything. What other avenues are there? The MCMC? The Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumers Affair? You cant trust Apple Store or Apple SG to listen to everything, remember, their working for the same head honcho, Machines is bringing in the dough too. Just 1 single email wont make them drop Machines from the company roster or give them a serious reprimand. There's always a possibility that it would fall into deaf ears. But if somebody mentions it in a public platform like in here, where everyone can see and make their own judgment, and where everyone can tell their own woes with the company, it will reach out to a lot more people, that's bad publicity. PR 101, never let bad press go public
I dont think omega-lynx mentioned anything about any email address, the first one to point at that email was me, try to scan what he first wrote theres no mention of which email he replied to. What other Avenues are there? well you are a consumer, try every other avenues there is i say, why hold back, ranting in a forum like this with a very segmented audience and whom are not forming a larger demographic of mac users in Malaysia doesnt help it either, it may serve as a place to vent out or give bad PR to a store but the reach is limited by its medium, thats why PR goes through every other medium be it mainstream or new media to reach its publics, trust me im doing a PR major.

Look the first thing about Apple resellers in Malaysia, They come and go, no company has maintained an effective monopoly or grip on the malaysian market, alot of hem go missing overnight, a prime example MacAsia and that tiny Mac Store in PowerCentre at iKea and others. No reseller is perfect, i have also pointed out Switch and Technocrats and Maccity a few times before,every company has bad employees be it part time or full time, what i am simply suggesting here is try all the avenues first and the relate your experiences here, just by not exercising your rights and complain here also no point, people could only sympathize with you and add fuel into the fire rather than finding the cause and avoiding the predicament all togather.

QUOTE(XenoStig @ May 2 2010, 12:54 PM)
Things always move faster when you make the case go public, just look at our local politics after the internet went wide, news travels way faster now. So in that case i support the thread starter for voicing out his complaints here and getting everyone to voice out theirs too, it's our rights to express our voice anyhow
True. I dont mind so much if a part-time sales person acted snobbishly, they're not full timers anyway so you might not meet them again in the future when you return. I dont even mind kicking them in the groin for being such a bstd. But the person who pisses of the thread starter is the technical person. How many part-time technical person that are specialized in Apple products are there in the country? It's a small niche market here, most probably he's a full timer. That's no excuse to be rude
Nobody is restricting you venting out your views here, that is your right, its also the thread starters right to do so, what im implying and several others have said, know your rights, try all tangible avenues first and then come here and post your experience, and also most importantly post a follow up of your case so that people would know whats the outcome, rather then allowing others to think that the case has not be solved and the company continues to demonize its clients. There are good sides too the company which we can see in this thread but mostly its the negativity thats prevalent, its all valid but theres still an influx of people still buying alot of their computers for machines, then there must be some positive aspects that draws them there too, and also those reseller i have gripes with Switch and Technocrats(They are one of the two Mac Stores In KK, seriously no other choice).

I also support your points on salesperson, again i'd say its their loss if they treat a customer badly,no commissions for you and loss of sales. Technical wise, they shouldnt have treated the way TS was treated, as i have said in a few posts past no service centre should reject service from a customer, they should take it in and have to follow procedure just like any other company like Dell of HP contacting the Service representatives or in this case Apple Care to determine if the service can be carried forward or not.

Added on May 2, 2010, 2:31 pm
QUOTE(viper-xs @ May 2 2010, 02:21 PM)
True, its abit flawed there. I bought Mac because of Mac OSX. No other reason. If I have the money since I'm a kid I would get the old Macintosh.
It's not about image class or whatever reason because it happens to be I owned Sun Ultrasparc servers as well for very long time

I would buy another Mac still since troubleshooting across the world for PC problem can be too costly so its not about image, class or whatever upscale trend that I'd like to follow to. It's peace of mind for second purchase
Yep, exactly no going back to all those troubles. i wish i could also be apart of the powerpc days, gotta admit the peecees that i have bought in the past costs more than a mac, not o mention the maintaining costs associated with windows.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: May 2 2010, 02:31 PM
nimrod323
post May 2 2010, 03:08 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(lonewalker @ May 2 2010, 02:51 PM)
@nimrod323,

A tip of complaining, get the person's name. Without names, your complaints has reasonable no weight. Sales folks or even customer service have name tags (@ machines they should be wearing it all the time). Or even ask for their name. When you know their name its makes a person to be more responsible because subconsciously they know they can be identified and with that name you can always hold them responsible. Besides its easier for management to take action against one person to made an example of than lecturing the entire staff. This doesn't just apply for this case for just any case: TM.nut, government offices & etc.

@XenoStig,

Don't get me started on local politics. I turn on the 8pm news and its all about drama and bad jokes. There is a fine line between b****ing and moaning and the freedom of speech.

@wodenus,

To sum this up, we all hold apple retailers (machines for that matter) to a higher standard than the rest of the retail computer business. We are all here posting in a 189 post complaint thread .. (umm correction 190 including mine) just proves that point. Has there been a 100+ post complain thread on any other pc retailers, say: All-IT Hypermarket? Boy i do have a complaint about their CS frm way back 2007.

@frozzbyte,

You are making an assumption there.

It's funny sometimes i pop in the forums to read stories about complaints. Its funny cause i know what all the complaints are about and i 'was' there (Was:Q1-2009).
The whole argument is flawed, the person behind the desk answering the phone isn't (always; for this case is NOT) tech support.
On a personal note: i take that argument as an insult as a tech support person, because i know for a fact that person is not tech support and of all things he's giving us techies a bad name.

EDIT: Typos and spellcheck
Agreed, name tags are there for a reason too. oh and the local politics part, well there are many places where contract deals and actual evidences are posted but no action are taken, thats where it ends, in reality alternative media cant do much unless of course you participate in rallies and stuff then we are talking. a bit OT here,but its okay tongue.gif

nimrod323
post May 4 2010, 07:43 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(impedance @ May 4 2010, 02:42 PM)
Well well, not surprised to hear this. I have an iPod touch with spots on my LCD.

I sent my iPod touch once to Machines at 1 Utama. So I wanted to see if warranty covers it. So I handed over my iPod to them, and got a call from them. They say there is some indicator in the iPod showing that the device is moist, therefore they will not cover under warranty. I don't see why they need to be rude to some questions.

However the charges to diagnose the device and resetting the indicator would cost RM80. I don't see why I should be charged merely to ask if my warranty covers this fault. They insist that I pay, so I made a call to Apple, and the apple representative called the shop and said I have to pay for it. I asked to speak to someone with higher authority and they kept forwarding me here and there until one of them finally decided to listen.

The whole call once not a pleasing experience either, the whole call plus forwarding took about 1 hour, but I am still determine. and they say they would not charge me RM80.

Conclusion, they have arrogant technician and have no idea how to be polite, not unless you are purchasing something from them. Just like any other stuff these days, try not to break it, warranty is a terrible experience.
Was your ipod under its initial warranty? because service charge is applicable if your warranty is expired or void. The indicators will straight away say whether or not you are applicable for warranty claims, this is entirely up to the Apple Service side to decide, if they say the warranty is void then you'd have to pay for the inspection. They write this clearly at the glass display near the Helpdesk, where the charges are displayed. Its very subjective at this point to put a blanket statement that they are at fault if the ipod was indeed put in its current situation by your actions, there are many indicators that the tech people have to look through before its confirmed that its a faulty part.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: May 4 2010, 07:46 PM

0.0359sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:07 PM