Tea (Chinese/ Oriental/ Japanese /Green), Come share your experience

romeolee
post Nov 14 2012, 12:15 PM

115 posts

one thing caught my attention.. what is the purpose actually of having a tea pet?? hmmm..
romeolee
post Nov 14 2012, 12:47 PM

115 posts

haha but it does look damn nice.. haha.. anyway new tea drinker here.. kena poisoned by a nice young chap in Legends of Tea.. taught me alot.. my dad used to be a tea drinker but stopped d.. so i kinda used his tea set.. thinking of getting one for myself tho.. coz he lost his clay ones.. using porcelain at the moment..

any place to suggest for shopping?? hehe..
romeolee
post Nov 15 2012, 06:47 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Nov 15 2012, 12:57 AM)
Where are you staying? I think every where also have tea shop.

Added on November 15, 2012, 1:06 am
If you just want to drink tea I think anything that can hold hot water will do. Why we buy tea set and tools, it's for us not only to drink tea but to enjoy the process of preparing tea and have more personal experience of this old tea culture. Chinese tea been in the world for long long time. it's pretty interesting when you have more understanding of it. Me myself started just wanna drink for healthier lifestyle, along the journey learn not only tea but our old culture and meets with a lot of new friend which is enthusiastic tea lover.
i stay in Klang. I know AEON Jusco has one.. but dun quite like how the salesman trying to promote their stuff..
romeolee
post Nov 28 2012, 10:22 PM

115 posts

thinking of getting a full tea set.. hmm.. anything that i should look for before buying?
romeolee
post Nov 29 2012, 10:57 PM

115 posts

the teapot, cups, tools and also the tray..
romeolee
post Dec 3 2012, 01:12 AM

115 posts

finally got myself a really nice tea pot from Legends of Tea in Curve..

really love the art on the teapot.. got myself also the tray and also cups..

rclxms.gif

romeolee
post Dec 4 2012, 12:39 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Dec 3 2012, 12:27 PM)
bamboo tray or bamboo loookalike tray ?
bamboo... cost RM158 from Legends of Tea..
romeolee
post Dec 4 2012, 11:01 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Dec 4 2012, 10:17 AM)
that price can buy stone carved tray jor. bamboo tray if exceed RM 70 is very liok sui already.
wahh.. didnt know bout the pricing.. but it does look good la.. anyway buy d just enjoy using it lo.. haha.. thanks for your info btw.. gotta check around prices next time..
romeolee
post Dec 4 2012, 02:11 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Dec 4 2012, 11:17 AM)
bamboo is cheap stuff. wood is more expensive than bamboo. so the price of wood tray depending on the quality and carving, can range from 40 bucks our money to 20000 bucks our money.

bamboo usually no carvings or not much carvings. and most is printed material . it can last, it's quite lghtweight and durable and definitely a good for value. simple and exquisite. the cheapest among the range as well hence the good for value and money budget thing comes into play.

wood usually basic structure and the type of wood will determine the cost. the normal standard ones are encasted in plaster or dense cement and then layered with wood. these are the cheap types. the actual carved from an entire piece of tree is damn bloody expensive. but one can see the grain and the wear and tear and from the wear and tear can appreciate the fine quality of the wood.
the most expensive ones are carved from 1 unit to form 1 tray. these are done without treatment process and varnish or shelleck. so a person can genuinely know that this is actual wood from dunno what tree and no preservatives or paint was used to cover the beauty.

marble and stones are the most expensive of all. pure jade chinese tea tray is super the expensive. prices of these are determined by the type of stone used, whether it was carved from 1 piece of stone or adjoined together with multiple pieces. the cheaper ones are made using multiple stone casts and compressed and glued and treated to become 1 tray.
they are also expensive because they sorta last a lifetime and therefore the sales wont be ongoing as often as bamboo or wood. hence the price is slightly higher due to the rigidity and toughness and extensive shelve life.
i have all 3. the bamboo tray i put in my garden. cheap. under RM 40 bought from selayang mall. the wood i have is also not the expensive type. under RM 80. this i use inside my home to serve small guests.
then on my tea table i also bought a pure granite slab. this one cost me about rm3800. quite big and damn bloody heavy. roughly about 2 1/2 feet long and 2 feet wide and 2.5 inches high. carved with standard power tools for the drainage and containment section.

the hand carved i saw, same granite almost similar size slightly bigger will cost about 9000 bucks man. then the pure jade i saw last time in guangzhou is a winning piece. that one selling for about RM 5.5 mil.
the carving damn smooth. almost flawless and the stork bird they carve also is like extreme fine works of art. fuiyoh see price also i run liao.
thank you very much for the insight into tea trays.. u must be very experience in tea drinking.. haha.. for me im still noobie but kinda enjoying it.. almost everyday very eager to go back and have a session with my set.. one question i would like to know..

how do u take care of a tea pot.. i invested in one and wanna know what are the "dos and donts".. just in case.. also what kinda water u guys use to wash it.. im afraid to use tap water as it may contain clorin.. pls share knowledge pls.. thumbup.gif

romeolee
post Dec 5 2012, 03:53 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Dec 4 2012, 03:23 PM)
tab water overnight lo (i do that to my fish), for more serious my uncle went fetch water from waterfall.  well i just use tab water. teapot just make sure u don't break it or clean with soap/detergent. Rinse with warm water or hot water, a bit of stain no problem one, look more season tongue.gif. Some time i dun even clean it cos i brew same tea with same pot.
so u just leave the leaves inside as well.. wouldnt it come out some funny smell.. later next time u brew tea come out that funny smell.. haha..
romeolee
post Dec 6 2012, 11:14 PM

115 posts

dad is in China now... sms-ing me whether wan to buy tea set onot.. hmm.. i wonder whether it is cheaper there... anyone knows?
romeolee
post Dec 10 2012, 01:00 AM

115 posts

what is the scientific explanation of pouring tea on clay teapot would make it shiny.. and why it taste better on clay teapot than porcelain.. hmm.. anyone can explain..im curious and would wanna learn..
romeolee
post Dec 18 2012, 11:17 PM

115 posts

i do wonder.. why would teapots fetch such high price.. anything special..u can get a house with 300k...
romeolee
post Dec 18 2012, 11:33 PM

115 posts

haha.. make sense.. but these teapot maker are still alive... haha..picasso is dead.. maybe its their legacy.. may fetch a higher price in future.. haha
romeolee
post Dec 19 2012, 12:07 AM

115 posts

thanks for your enlightenment.. i guess it does make sense.. if u can afford it.. might as well think big..

cheers..
romeolee
post Jan 2 2013, 01:15 AM

115 posts

new tea lover here.. thought of sharing my humble tea set.. got my first clay teapot one month ago at Legends of Tea.. loving the art design on the tea pot.. can anyone do a translation on the Chinese words on the teapot.. its supposed to be a poem or something.. and someone can give info on the material used for this teapot..

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
romeolee
post Jan 6 2013, 01:16 PM

115 posts

what are you guy's view on strictly using one teapot for one type of tea...
romeolee
post Jan 6 2013, 05:04 PM

115 posts

auhckw > i keep hearing ripe and raw pu erh.. can explain the difference and how can we differentiate ripe and raw..
romeolee
post Mar 10 2013, 09:51 PM

115 posts

pulled the trigger ytd to get two types of pu erh.. and also a new tea pot for the non-fermented pu erh..
check out my collection..

rclxms.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
romeolee
post Mar 10 2013, 10:33 PM

115 posts

my collection not as power as yours.. i took individual shots too..

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

0.1944sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:45 PM