Tea (Chinese/ Oriental/ Japanese /Green), Come share your experience

Ratbert
post Feb 23 2013, 10:08 AM

35 posts

Wah, so glad i found this thread!!!

i just started my adventure into tea drinking! Went to Taiwan recently and discovered Da Yu Ling high mountain taiwan tea, and fell absolutely in love with it. and it kick started me to getting my own teapot and trying out other teas now!

Recently i got my member card from Purple Cane and they gave me 3 vouchers for 50% off 1 cake puer and one can tea.

So i got myself a can of Jin Xuan oolong tea, and one Zi Zhu Lan Tie Guan Yin (Spring Tea)... and also got myself one 2011 Gu Shu Wang and a 2008 Meng Qing Round Tea... the last two i plan to simpan for few years. Not really a big fan of Puer Tea at the moment, but i figured might as well get first since got such big discount... then simpan and maybe few yrs time i'll be able to appreciate it.

I still got one more voucher left which i need to clear by this month. Any sifu got recommendations? i can still get one can and one puer cake... but hopefully sth nice that won't break my bank account la... hehe loss alot of blood di...

If any sifu can give advice or recommendation. i'd really like to hear it! I'm still a noob in this so really hope i can learn more! icon_rolleyes.gif

And oh, any good suggestions for other places to get tea? or is purple cane a very decent place liao?

And any recommendations for places to get teapots/teaware also?

This post has been edited by Ratbert: Feb 23 2013, 10:10 AM
Ratbert
post Feb 24 2013, 02:07 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Feb 23 2013, 08:07 PM)
Generally if you like to explore tea, you can go jln sultan / petaling street area, but do avoid Jin Hai there... There are few shops in Kepong also...

Purple cane is alright, but price is usually on the high side. I normally go there when their anniversary member sale to check out accessories / teawares.
Thanx for the reply! Kepong would be closer for me i think, any addresses or shop names?

Btw, auhckw see u post alot on this thread! must be very skilled liao and collection must be crazy, hope to learn more! smile.gif
Ratbert
post Feb 25 2013, 10:08 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Ranma @ Feb 25 2013, 08:49 PM)
Hi sifu,

Can you recommend any good tea shop around PJ/Subang area?

Any recommendation for oolong tea for newbie?
I newbie also, but recently bought Jin Xuan from Purple Cane... so far i like it! but 2nd infusion need to becareful, coz have a tendency to get bitter if u leave it too long. have to adjust steeping time according to how u'd like it to taste.
Ratbert
post Mar 5 2013, 11:57 AM

35 posts

hey guys, just thought of sharing my current humble tea set pic...hehe, got a few more cups, but usually only use one blush.gif

And current tea collection smile.gif

Not really into Puer tea yet, but just bought to keep first since i had some vouchers to clear... hehe tongue.gif
Ratbert
post Mar 5 2013, 12:35 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Mar 5 2013, 12:31 PM)
yeah nice. recently i drink green more than pu er.  will get back to pu er soon.
any nice green teas to recommend? and where to get?
Ratbert
post Mar 5 2013, 03:33 PM

35 posts

hahaha, yup, same here! he's damn cute in the dilbert cartoons
Ratbert
post Mar 5 2013, 09:14 PM

35 posts

auhckw, ya mostly from purple cane except the blue/white packet which i got from taiwan! smile.gif

not yet, but will go explore other tea shops soon once got enough bullets...hehe... btw, can anyone advise me on tea kettle? what are the different types and how come seems like some places prefer to use fire one instead of electric? and ceramic/clay kettle compared to stainless steel?
Ratbert
post Mar 7 2013, 11:05 PM

35 posts

k17ty, i haven't ventured much into green tea yet, but i do enjoy brown rice green tea!

i think Hojo in gardens have a good selection if u're into jap tea, coz they seem to specialize in it... their prices not cheap though (that's y they're in Gardens i guess)
Ratbert
post Mar 9 2013, 04:15 PM

35 posts

Got a question for all the sifus here...

I currently use one of my purple clay pot as a "multi-purpose" oolong pot... So, if i'm brewing anything which is semi-fermented, it will be the pot i use...

So far have used it with Da Hong Pao, Zhi Zhu Lan TGY, Jing Xuan Dong Ding. and basically any other Oolong i can get my hands on.

Is it ok that i use it that way?

Btw, i have a 2nd tea pot which i solely use for Da Yu Ling (Taiwan High Mountain Tea) because i REALLY love that tea alot and dun wanna campur-campur.

My thinking is that i will consider getting a teapot dedicated to one very specific type of tea if i really love it like crazy and can afford the habit.. hehe

But ya, in the end my question is as the top... is it ok that i use one teapot for all kinds of oolong? or does it kinda screw things up?
Ratbert
post Mar 13 2013, 10:54 PM

35 posts

OMG, must avoid stepping into tea shop for a while... everytime go sure feel like getting new pot and accessories.... plus will feel like trying and buying more tea! hahaha

need to drink and appreciate my current stock first....
Ratbert
post Mar 14 2013, 03:20 PM

35 posts

romeolee, bro, i went to Legends of Tea yesterday to check it out, alot of temptation there! and staff very knowledgeable and friendly too! i think the one i bumped into was called Mei Ling or sth.

bought electric tea kettle from them... once i finish some of my stock, will get some stuff frm them and accumulate for membership...kekekek... biggrin.gif
Ratbert
post Mar 14 2013, 09:20 PM

35 posts

wah, got DOUBLE membership somemore!?

aiyo, mid yr moving to pyramid... crap. must try to get the membership soon then...hahaha...

Thinking of getting an artist teapot in the future. but have to see how first. eh, maybe this sunday can meet up there, i finish work ard 3pm. so after that should be cool if u free.

btw, the electric kettle i bought was the RM199 one, induction stove + kettle type. so far it's PERFECT! make my tea sessions alot more enjoyable and easy rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Ratbert: Mar 14 2013, 09:22 PM
Ratbert
post Mar 15 2013, 05:15 PM

35 posts

A video for anyone who would like to know more about WuYi Cliff Tea. biggrin.gif

romeolee, i think this documentary might've been made by ur current fav tea shop...hehehe

http://vimeo.com/29589588

The video is in mandarain and unfortunately no subtitles.

This post has been edited by Ratbert: Mar 15 2013, 05:17 PM
Ratbert
post Mar 15 2013, 06:23 PM

35 posts

Anybody wanna comment on this?

http://youtu.be/PIlXH84AVyI

i dun think i've heard of anyone brewing puer tea that way before... hmm.gif
Ratbert
post Mar 17 2013, 08:53 AM

35 posts

kuekwee, i need to start finding more affordable tea to drink or more affordable places to buy tea... if not won't have money to give LHDN this di...

And regarding the Dr Tea video... it's kinda creepy that he actually has a book out about tea, and that he calls himself DOCTOR and that he owns a teashop...

yet he could've avoided that way of brewing just by googling. oh well... i guess it's HIS tea after all....
Ratbert
post Mar 17 2013, 11:22 PM

35 posts

Managed to try out a few different Cliff Tea today, and also a ripe and a raw pu erh.

And discovered that i REALLY like Cliff Teas in general, but quite expensive doh.gif ... really dun think it's a habit i can keep up if i focus on that. cry.gif

And now after tasting decent ripe and raw puer. i feel like raw pu-erh might be a better option for me as a "daily use" tea. And cliff tea will be more of a treat for every now and then...hehehe

but before i go try more puerh, i think i shall try to find myself some options for affordable oolong tea that i can set aside for "daily use", since i already have a pot for oolongs and none for puerh yet. rclxub.gif

Ratbert
post Apr 1 2013, 01:14 PM

35 posts

you90, used to drink abit... but then after i discovered brown rice green tea, stopped going for boh green tea di... smile.gif

Btw guys, can anyone suggest some good places to get Cliff Tea/YanCha???
Ratbert
post Apr 4 2013, 09:15 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(quikstep @ Apr 3 2013, 01:10 PM)
hey auhckw, is the tea-li serdang enterprise kepong branch closed???

i was there but closed. so went to jdxtea and paid some tuition fee sad.gif
Huh, JDX cut throat one ah? I haven't been there yet, was hoping to go soon... recently visited Ta Cha and Long Run...

Hoping to visit Jing Dian and some other shops in Petaling Street area one day to hunt for more Cliff Tea.

Ta Cha and Long Run mostly Puer tea... but Tacha seems to be selling mostly premium stuff. pots are VERY nice though. Long Run seems to be more affordable, and looks like got a good amount of aged puer

but i also found some pots in Long Run that seemed really nice, any sifu can comment about the pot/price quality at Long Run?

Also found alot of nice pots in Tacha... but duno which side more worth it... especially since the ones i'm looking at are not artist pots. hope someone can advise! rclxub.gif
Ratbert
post Apr 5 2013, 10:13 AM

35 posts

Found out recently that there was actually a shop near bukit bintang which sold a variety of Cliff Tea/Yan Cha, called Jing Dian.

But then also found out the teamaster there pass away sometime last yr or the yr before. And i just found the FB page of this shop called DaHongPao@Malaysia, and it said it used to be Jing Dian...
https://www.facebook.com/DaHongPaoTea

Hope the shop still worth going, quite sad to hear that the old teamaster from Jing Dian passed away already... would've really been cool to meet her and visit the shop that time... now no more chance liao :-(
Ratbert
post Apr 28 2013, 10:33 AM

35 posts

quikstep, the price they put yen wor, which would be about RM6.30...hehehe... if the yen is not a typo, then maybe it's a good deal? lol

0.0604sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:02 PM