post Aug 2 2010, 11:53 PM

992 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Aug 1 2010, 08:39 PM)
Just stocked up today at Hojo today:-

Meng Ku High Mountain Raw Pu-er
RM250 / 250g
Produced: 2010

Goodness. That is way too expensive for fermented puer tea. No wonder Hojo could survive in Gardens.
TSauhckw
post Aug 6 2010, 04:19 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(cuebiz @ Aug 2 2010, 11:53 PM)
Goodness. That is way too expensive for fermented puer tea. No wonder Hojo could survive in Gardens.
I've emailed and asked more details about this tea:

Question: Meng Ku is the factory name right? So, from which mountain is the tea leaves that I bought?

Reply: You are right about Meng Ku being a mountain, it is located in the south west part of Yunnan in a area called Cang Lin Shi 沧临市, close to border next to Burma. Meng Ku is located at altitude 2200-2750m, considered one of the highest altitude that produces pu-erh tea. This place is known for its vast area of ancient wild tea trees grown all over the forest area. For this particular Meng Ku raw pu-erh, tealeaves are plucked from 150 years old tea tree(grown in the wild).

TSauhckw
post Aug 6 2010, 04:20 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE("kotapura")
This store is selling new tea at wholesale price.
http://tea-li.com/index.php
Unfortunately site is in Chinese but navigation should not be a problem since they only carry a few famous brand. This will gives you an idea on the price that are going around in Malaysia. I have check on their Dayi and there are no fakes.

I was introduce to this http://tea-li.com/index.php
So I went to their Serdang branch today. Bought this:

They said this is promo price, selling below market price to attract people to come. Link: http://tea-li.com/goods.php?id=119

They have quite a lot of teas. They said they are doing wholesale. Their teas are cheap. Frankly I see the price I was like (err is this real?). They have 7542 year 2001 @ RM150 / USD47. If buy 2 pieces, free 1 piece. Took some samples

This post has been edited by auhckw: Aug 8 2010, 12:09 AM
TSauhckw
post Aug 8 2010, 12:10 AM

1,008 posts

Interesting video about Secrets of Pu-erh

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p5vel9utESU
TSauhckw
post Aug 8 2010, 12:27 AM

1,008 posts

Production of Pu-erh

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ij7hjioQQIs
TSauhckw
post Aug 8 2010, 06:45 PM

1,008 posts

Shopping spree

TSauhckw
post Aug 8 2010, 06:46 PM

1,008 posts

TSauhckw
post Aug 8 2010, 06:46 PM

1,008 posts

I will post the cover (original wrapper) of the Pu-erh later on.

I tested all 3 of em today and compared side by side. My humble/noobish review. All 3 were great, but if were to rate in sequence,

Flavor (from highest to lowest)
-Mi Di (2010 - spring)
-Lao Ban Zhang (2005 spring - but packed in 2006)
-Meng Ku (2009 - spring)

After Taste (from highest to lowest)
-Lao Ban Zhang (2005 spring - but packed in 2006)
-Mi Di (2010 - spring)
-Meng Ku (2009 - spring)

I was asked to drink in the sequence from Meng Ku -> Lao Ban Zhang -> Mi Di. This is a good sequence. Menku was the lightest in terms of the flavor. It has good after taste. But after drinking Lao Ban Zhang, it was clear that LBZ flavor and after taste was better. Last was Mi Di, and it shows stronger flavor but after taste weaker than LBZ.

I was served using Shigaraki Clay. They go through hot water from this clay into a glass pot. This clay is amazing. Just tasting the water itself from the Shigaraki Clay, the water was sweeter.
TSauhckw
post Aug 8 2010, 11:08 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Jun 10 2010, 09:04 PM)
I don't know whether it is coincidence or not, I took 1 liter of karigane green tea everyday for 1 week+. Ended up whole mouth full of ulcers. At least 5 biji. So painful. Have stopped for 2 days already, hope will recover soon
Reason found: I was told by the staff, that there is a baking with fire process for Karigane, maybe that is why it may be consider as heaty drink to my body

PS: Seems like I syiok sendiri in this thread tongue.gif
TSauhckw
post Aug 9 2010, 02:06 PM

1,008 posts

2009 Spring – HOJO Meng Ku High Mountain Raw Pu-erh

2005 Spring (Packed in 2006) – HOJO Lao Ban Zhang Raw Pu-erh

2010 Spring – HOJO Mi Di Raw Pu-erh

newbie99
post Aug 9 2010, 03:45 PM

667 posts

I was told there's going to be a teapot exhibition in KL this NOV. The theme is something like Old Teapots, before and during Republic Era. A lot of Ming and Ching old teapots going to be there.
jasmineh2y
post Aug 9 2010, 05:43 PM

Nothing
1,104 posts

i'm looking for chinese tea art workshop in KL?
anyone know about that??

cuebiz
post Aug 9 2010, 09:39 PM

992 posts

QUOTE(jasmineh2y @ Aug 9 2010, 05:43 PM)
i'm looking for chinese tea art workshop in KL?
anyone know about that??
You can contact Purple Cane. They should have classes. You can also try contact Jing Si cafe. Not sure if they still got class
TSauhckw
post Aug 13 2010, 04:28 PM

1,008 posts

2009 Menghai Da Yi Gong Tuo Raw Pu-erh tea tuo in box * 100 grams

2010 Menghai "Da Yi Jia Ji Tuo" Raw Pu-erh tea tuo

2010 Menghai V93 001 Ripe Pu-erh tea * 500 grams bag

This post has been edited by auhckw: Aug 13 2010, 04:28 PM
jasmineh2y
post Aug 13 2010, 04:42 PM

Nothing
1,104 posts

QUOTE(cuebiz @ Aug 9 2010, 09:39 PM)
You can contact Purple Cane. They should have classes. You can also try contact Jing Si cafe. Not sure if they still got class
thx dude
hunt2sp
post Aug 13 2010, 04:49 PM

Always Somewhere
772 posts

i am looking for a type of chinese tea that has a sweet aftertaste.. tasted a chinese tea at taiwan but forgot the name already... something like dan chong..anybody know about this..?

currently consuming ho yan hor, since it tastes good, doing well with my digestion, easy to get & can reuse the tea bag content for about 3 times..

TSauhckw
post Aug 15 2010, 02:12 PM

1,008 posts

Just bought this:-

Bodum YoYo Double Wall Glass Personal Tea Set, includes YoYo Stainless Steel Infuser and 12-Ounce Glass
http://www.amazon.com/Bodum-Personal-Stain...e/dp/B0010NR7C0

*Photos above not mine..

In short, this is going to be so much stylish and convenient in office smile.gif

Highly recommended for 1 person usage.

Added on August 15, 2010, 3:34 pmEdit: After giving it a try, the glass is firm, thick, heavy and nice to hold. You can feel a little heat from holding the glass, but not burning hot.

It can retain heat quite well. I compared it with my Purple Clay cup (200ml) vs this Bodum glass, seem like Bodum can retain heat longer. Reason is most likely because it is much thicker than my Purple Clay cup.

Initially I wanted to buy a Gaiwan, but seems like this can be an alternative. Love the the inbuilt stainless steel infuzer, so much convenient.

This post has been edited by auhckw: Aug 15 2010, 03:34 PM
jasmineh2y
post Aug 15 2010, 10:02 PM

Nothing
1,104 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Aug 15 2010, 02:12 PM)
Just bought this:-

Bodum YoYo Double Wall Glass Personal Tea Set, includes YoYo Stainless Steel Infuser and 12-Ounce Glass
http://www.amazon.com/Bodum-Personal-Stain...e/dp/B0010NR7C0

*Photos above not mine..

In short, this is going to be so much stylish and convenient in office smile.gif

Highly recommended for 1 person usage.

Added on August 15, 2010, 3:34 pmEdit: After giving it a try, the glass is firm, thick, heavy and nice to hold. You can feel a little heat from holding the glass, but not burning hot.

It can retain heat quite well. I compared it with my Purple Clay cup (200ml) vs this Bodum glass, seem like Bodum can retain heat longer. Reason is most likely because it is much thicker than my Purple Clay cup.

Initially I wanted to buy a Gaiwan, but seems like this can be an alternative. Love the the inbuilt stainless steel infuzer, so much convenient.
wow! it is elegant, how much is this? where i can buy it?

168 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:10 PM