Tea (Chinese/ Oriental/ Japanese /Green), Come share your experience

KittyKat
post May 16 2013, 10:53 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(quikstep @ May 16 2013, 06:19 PM)
romeoleeKittyKatndgoh

anyone of you interested in CNNP 2010 Bulang Shan 200g cake?

http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a220m...b1b26306be4b537

I'm thinking to share out the cost if I can get someone else to buy 5 toong because I only need 1 toong.

approximate price is RM 418 (RM 1 = RMB 1.83)
approximate shipping charges is RM 145 (RM 12/kg * 10 + RM 25 sensitive good charges)

so all in all, it's about RM 94/toong for 1.4kg of tea!!!

can't even get 1 decent Dayi 2010 357g beeng at RM 94 now.

PM me if interested.

Else, it's RMB 220/toong here http://list.tmall.com/search_shopitem.htm?...1_&stype=search and works out to be about RM 170 all-in.
Can count me out, Quikstep. Stopped buying Pu Erh for the time being, especially younger ones. Hope you will find your partner(s) for this purchase soon though, happy buying...

KittyKat
post May 16 2013, 11:19 PM

364 posts

Recent haul... Two very tiny and thin, neatly potted early 90's teapots. Pieces like these are rare, more often found at Taiwan, Japan, etc. Its and clay is specially selected, the Zini one is especially superb, nicely fermented:

KittyKat
post Jun 24 2013, 10:03 PM

364 posts

Long time no post, latest haul...

KittyKat
post Jun 24 2013, 11:39 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Ratbert @ Jun 24 2013, 11:15 PM)
NICE! mind sharing where u got it from?

By the way, a bunch of us are on a whatsapp group, can PM me ur number if u'd like to join! now and then we organize tea sessions n stuff too! smile.gif
Thanks for the compliment... Nabbed it previous w/end during Tropicana City Mall exhibition. By "Jia Yi Fang", a very talented lady, always thinking out of typical Yixing teapot craftsmen's box

I was surprised still able to find something like this, simple and for a reasonable price as i earlier got one of her clay appliqued piece which is much more pricier. I believe this one is her earlier work, clay and workmanship is superb...
KittyKat
post Jun 25 2013, 01:18 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(slimfox @ Jun 25 2013, 01:21 AM)
I would advise you guys to get to know a shop real well then buy from them, these fairs you go look see taste taste ok la but you can also get con at fairs. I kena before at a tea fair in the mines. Bought some tea equipment, told me can claim warranty from their shop. Turns out its a ghost shop.

Tropicana fair I kena fake tea. Gave up on fairs. Now I only buy from shops I'm familiar with for expansive tea or just go taiwan to get better tea at cheaper price, can say HK is also cheaper too. BTW I drink oolong and ti kun yan green tea, not much of a po-le fan.

Just sharing hope did not offend anyone.
Yeah, i more often patron regular merchants too... Those new ones or seem skeptical, i will just scan scan only. Btw, exhibitions/fairs is where some use to dispose products that they don't want anymore (slow moving, junks, phonies, etc). Not all but some... That's why i will not spend much time surveying around one
KittyKat
post Jun 25 2013, 01:21 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(quikstep @ Jun 25 2013, 12:54 AM)
could u pm me the price and also the name of shop?

i've bought one much like yours (short and fat i call it) but not fully handmade. can't show a pic as it's curing inside tea + water just. need 7 days to see if it really matters. my first time curing a pot. the retailer is from a shop in pearl point. i thought i got a good discount by almost 20%. but then again, most things are set out to be over priced.

the funny thing is, there is a cake of 7542 801 selling for rm 120. imo, it could worth up to rm 200. it is too cheap so i was afraid to buy it. if it's rm 120 in a retail shop (not expo) setting, I would have given it a try.

the xia guan booth also feature a 250gm bing dao tuo for rm 250. not bad price at all but i was really broke as i came straight in after a holiday.

anyone else at the fair?
No prob, PM'ed...

Wow, 2001 7542 also going RM2XX already??? Thank goodness i rarely dig "formulation" Pu Erh already
KittyKat
post Jun 25 2013, 11:55 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(quikstep @ Jun 25 2013, 06:11 PM)
No picture yet as I started curing the pot yesterday night. My pot is not artist pot so rm 230 (retail at rm 280) was a good deal for me.

What I did was simmer 1/2 hour in clear water in a pot lined with cheese cloth. After that simmer another 1/2 hour with some Dayi 7542 smile.gif When it's cooled, I put the tea and pot into a sandwich bag and wait 7 days. For me, this is just an experiment to see if the pot really lock in the tea oil.

My other pot for cooked tea (shu) also a yixing looses its smell a day after washing with just plain water. However, this pot is not season or cured. Hence the experimentation.
Woahhh... That's my first. I usually just go overnight. Oil in tea solution is minimal, thus you will not get too much shine. Instead your teapot will develop patina... By not replacing the fluid, nutrient and benefits for your teapot to absorb will also be limited

Whats worrying is if the tea solution turns stale. That will impact the performance of your teapot's clay and will be difficult to reverse if real bad... Of course quality of tea plays an important role
KittyKat
post Jun 25 2013, 11:57 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Ratbert @ Jun 25 2013, 04:25 PM)
Haha, i went to the expo like 3 or 4 times during the week, i believe it's over di.

First time attending... but didn't have much booths to hang out at as i'm more of a yan cha kaki...hehe... but got a couple of decent pots la (i think)

@KittyKat, would be awesome to go check out pots with u one day... wanna learn more and how not to get ripped off...hehe

@quikstep , wah, seasoning pot need 7 days ah? what's ur process like? my current process is to select the tea i wanna use the pot for, brew as per normal, and dump the water into a bowl... empty the pot of leaves and soak it in the tea for one day
Sure we can do that, sharing our experiences with each other... But teapot purchasing is very subjective if you are not talking about investment. Of course the largest factor will be price. And yeah, not being ripped off will be primary objective, hehehe...
KittyKat
post Jun 27 2013, 08:55 AM

364 posts

Not only ...cides, even growth agents use are out of control. Yeah, it will be tough and costly to get genuine good teas
KittyKat
post Jun 30 2013, 07:37 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Ratbert @ Jun 28 2013, 12:22 PM)
Anyone interested to go for Teapot Exhibition by Purple Cane?

The Art of Purple Clay Teapot 2013: Making a Mark in Time

Details of the exhibition
Date: 28/06/2013 – 07/07/2013
Time: 11:00 – 21:00
Inquiries: +603 21451200
Venue: Purple Cane Tea Square (Shaw Parade)
Lot L1-01, 1st Floor, Shaw Parade, Off Jalan Pudu,
Changkat Thambi Dollah,
55100 Kuala Lumpur

http://us4.campaign-archive1.com/?u=5abb14...d=5aa628e726&e=

Kinda keen to check it out coz wanna learn more about tea pots... but doubt will buy anything la (i hope...)
Wow... So Ratbert, u went??? I heard prices were absurd...
KittyKat
post Jul 1 2013, 10:00 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(puregreenteas @ Jul 1 2013, 04:52 PM)
You can try puregreenteas.com. We provide high grade premium green tea from Japan (100% import)
You sound more like a promo advert rather than providing facts, hahaha...
KittyKat
post Jul 1 2013, 10:58 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Ratbert @ Jul 1 2013, 10:22 PM)
LOL, it's almost as if it's a bot
Yeah, or those, "Old newspaper" trucks broadcasting, hahaha...

KittyKat
post Jul 1 2013, 11:02 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Ratbert @ Jul 1 2013, 09:15 AM)
@kittykat

No la, haven't gone yet... really dun plan to buy anything... just wanna learn more about teapots and clay...hehehe

@ndgoh
CONGRATS!
Btw Ratbert, it is better of a learning if there are say ROC (<50's) > CR (60's-70's) recent (80's-current) teapots to compare. Better even if there are Ming-Qing ones of course. But well, we shouldn't miss out any opportunity, rite??? Hehehe...
KittyKat
post Jul 6 2013, 09:28 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(romeolee @ Jul 6 2013, 12:53 AM)
my attempt on artistic shot
Splendid!!!

KittyKat
post Jul 6 2013, 09:34 AM

364 posts

Teaser...

Too bad, not as artistic as Romeolee, pardon me...
KittyKat
post Jul 6 2013, 09:42 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(Ratbert @ Jul 2 2013, 10:16 AM)
I'm sure that wasn't a copy n paste job, it seemed so unprepared and impromptu....lol, good job puregreenteas, very believable... reading ur posts makes me feel like i'm talking to a friend...

anyway, @kittykat, u know any teashops in KL that are more knowledgeable or carry a wide variety of teapots/wares? or have to just visit everywhere to find out? hehe
Ratbert, for now, I scout everywhere for teapots... Depending on what you are in to, Taiwan usually works out fine for me... Locally, very personal I would say... Most merchants are quite knowledgeable to certain extend, must see what you percept and whether you can accept their judgement at end if days... That's why no one merchant will monopolize the market, every buyer has their preferences, IMHO... That's how tea market cycles I guess...

KittyKat
post Jul 8 2013, 12:19 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(Ratbert @ Jul 7 2013, 06:56 PM)
Yeah, but i bought my Dah Yu Ling from Taiwan, still costed more than that. maybe tourist price kut... but either way, still much cheaper than KL. only place i found carrying Dah Yu Ling was Hojo... and they sell it for a bomb... like few times more than tourist price in taiwan
There are leagues Ratbert, and there are difference ones, thus their pricing...
KittyKat
post Nov 24 2013, 01:04 PM

364 posts

Hello all, how's everyone tea'ing???

KittyKat
post Nov 25 2013, 10:47 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(quikstep @ Nov 24 2013, 11:57 PM)
looks like a very well made pot. desires it more than your avatar.

sipping some 2007 Dayi Silver Color while trying to stay up for midnight match. The color of the soup has certainly deepen but the flavor or intensity seemed like did not evolve after 1 yr. lonely beeng.
Thanks for the compliment. This one here is made by same craftswoman as the three legged one earlier posted, indeed she is very talented...

Unfortunately, price of her pieces are sky-rocketing like mad. Almost tripled in just a matter of one year, thanks to recognition, sigh...

*** Oops... Just realized dust after uploading the photo, time for some cam-cleaning

This post has been edited by KittyKat: Nov 25 2013, 10:48 AM
KittyKat
post Nov 25 2013, 11:37 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(quikstep @ Nov 25 2013, 11:27 AM)
no need to clean. it's probably a small and really black bird in front of the clouds tongue.gif
Hahaha... Good one good one

So everyone here still more into Pu Erh??? I see lots of posts lately

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0547sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:30 PM