60 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Tea (Chinese/ Oriental/ Japanese /Green), Come share your experience

TSauhckw
post Jun 10 2012, 08:17 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(meistsh_musical @ Jun 10 2012, 07:02 PM)
how you know?
From the logo of the puerh. The sole distributor for that brand is at Submit.
TSauhckw
post Jun 14 2012, 10:10 PM

1,008 posts

2012 Dayi Spring Tuo Raw - Small buds from spring harvest. Tasted green. Light. Fresh. Sweet. Not strong. Not smoky. Not bitter. Easy to drink now.

TSauhckw
post Jun 15 2012, 10:15 PM

1,008 posts

JDX opens up a new bubble tea franchise from Taiwan named 'Cha Cha'. First branch is at Sultan Complex (next to Q-xiang, replacing Da Hong Pao)

They are selling the franchise. Booth promoting it will be in the tropicana expo. He said first 10 shops will get discount in the franchise fees at RM88k. After that it will be RM120k.

The money will be used for training, equipment, tools and setup. Does not include finding shop, renovation, hiring staff. After that, the shop will need to buy raw material from him and a service fees

If you want to earn part time money... go to his booth. The owner is desperate to hire part time ppl to make bubble tea throughout the expo. RM100/day... you get to shake shake the bottle... Good exercise smile.gif
TSauhckw
post Jun 16 2012, 07:19 PM

1,008 posts

Came back from tea expo. Empty handed.
TSauhckw
post Jun 17 2012, 04:11 PM

1,008 posts

Just came back from the tea expo. Today is day 2.

Variety of things to see/try eg. Puerh tea, Liu Bao, Liao Fu, Oolong, Green Tea, Teapots, Teaware, Tea table, etc etc.

Xiaguan took 4 dedicated booths.

Haiwan took 1 dedicated booth. With promo of Buy 4, free 3. Buy 1, free 1. Very cheap. Too bad no sampling.

No Dayi dedicated booth but Dayi tea was spotted in many of the reseller shops. This year there are noticable more Dayi tea being displayed in many booths compared to the past 2 years expo.

No other big factory. Many other small producers around.

Few teapot makers are there showcasing their products. Some even demonstrated how to make teapot.
TSauhckw
post Jun 17 2012, 04:15 PM

1,008 posts

3 months before the tea expo starts, those having a booth can submit 1 type of tea for the competition.

In total there are 38 tea (without name) @ 8g each being collected and distributed as a package. People up to 5 can participate as a group to sample it. They will then submit their votes. Many people participated. Organizer actually posted the statistics on their website.

The winner for this year blind tasting competition. 3 gold award and 7 silver award.
TSauhckw
post Jun 17 2012, 04:17 PM

1,008 posts

This is one of the gold award winner. It is their 2nd in row year for winning gold award.

Left: 2011, 2007 production @ 357g
Right: 2012, 2008 production @ 500g (wrong printing of the weigh on the wrapping)

It is a Local shop custom raw puerh tea. Single estate. Old trees above 100+ years old. The name of the area is printed on the wrapper (sorry I forgot/didnt know how to read. it is the 3 words in the middle)

We tried the 2008 production. It taste a little like Red Tea. Quite nice to drink. It performed quite consistently for up to the 5th brew @ 10s soak. We changed tea on the 6th, didn't push it further. I liked the taste, but noticed a little astringency and it give a dry aftertaste in the mouth/throat.

We tried the 2007 production. Taste pretty much the same. Not much different compared to 2008.

I would have bought it just now if it is not because of the dry aftertaste that makes you feel thristy from drinking it...
TSauhckw
post Jun 17 2012, 04:20 PM

1,008 posts

The first Malaysia custom Xiaguan tuo & beeng has arrived and being launched in the Xiaguan booth.

Not much stock were available yet cause the main bulk is only going to arrive in July.

We tried it and it is strong tea. Strong but nothing to shout about. Typical plantation tea taste. Not something you will enjoy to drink now. Have to keep for aging.

I will get some for collection sake when the main bulk arrives (mainly because of the nice tuo box) smile.gif
TSauhckw
post Jun 17 2012, 08:19 PM

1,008 posts

This teapot is featured as the front cover teapot.

I'm not sure about the history behind it.

I heard it is a very old teapot. There used to be a ball in front of the creature, but the ball was broken.
TSauhckw
post Jun 17 2012, 08:26 PM

1,008 posts

This is 1 of the 7 silver award winner. 90s Liao Fu (border tea)

For those that may have not tried it before, would have thought it is Liu Bao.

Taste wise, not too bad if you like Liu Bao mix with puerh kind of taste. Long lasting brew.

TSauhckw
post Jun 17 2012, 08:32 PM

1,008 posts

This is the another gold award (out of 3). Sorry, I didn't take photos of the tea.

Single estate Puerh Raw 2011. High mountain. 300+ years old tree.

Upon first sip, I was thinking why is there strawberry taste. Further drinking, it reveals more mi lan (honey-ish) taste.

This tea taste kind of Dan Chong. First time I find such taste in Puerh. It is nice. Good aftertaste. Sweet. Very nice to drink now.

It deserves it's award being nice and special. The main stock has not arrived yet. I will re-sample again later
TSauhckw
post Jun 17 2012, 09:07 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(meistsh_musical @ Jun 17 2012, 08:39 PM)
i thought bubble tea banned on Malaysia
I know many years ago bubble was a hot drink especially at Pasar Malam. Then it suddenly died off. IIRC something about ppl finding out that it is not healthy to drink it.

Then recently (about 2 years now), it became hot again with Cha Time. It was a hit with many franchises popping up. Then other brands started to come into Malaysia too. So it doesn't seem like it is banned.
TSauhckw
post Jun 17 2012, 09:48 PM

1,008 posts

2011 Gold Dayi Raw Review - by Clouds

Chinese:
http://www.cloudsteacollection.com/html/we.../webart054.html

Google Translate to English:
http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=z...Fwebart054.html

He claimed that Gold Dayi has 2 production date and both taste slightly diff.
TSauhckw
post Jun 18 2012, 08:55 PM

1,008 posts

I wan to go sapu the One Bowl Water (the one I said taste like red tea puerh above but y2011 production) from the organizer. Stock finished today, the vendor going to provide more stock this Thurs.

Normal price at booth/shop is RM68, Promo price @ Organizer counter RM38. Limited to 1 piece per person. I will get 8 ppl to help me buy once stock comes.

I sampled the One Bowl Water y07, 08, 11. All has the similar taste just year different. The y11 tea colour is quite dark. Not as smooth as 07/08 but not very far apart. Price wise very worth it to keep some aside

Added on June 18, 2012, 10:42 pmFor your reference, item circled in black

This post has been edited by auhckw: Jun 18 2012, 10:42 PM
TSauhckw
post Jun 20 2012, 09:12 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(ahfish7 @ Jun 20 2012, 08:43 AM)
rm38 only?? worth to buy, im interested too, will go again this fri, hope stock still available
how about the strawberry taste tea?? how much is that?

Added on June 20, 2012, 8:54 amonly 2011 is RM38?
how about 07 and 08?
2011 @ 357g = RM38 from organizer (promo). RM68 from vendor.
2008 @ 500g = RM150/pc. But if buy 1 toong (7pc), then RM120/pc
2007 @ 357g = RM180/pc. But if buy 1 toong (7pc), then RM150/pc

2007-y2011 Gold Award
2008-y2012 Gold Award

They have 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2012 (coming soon). 2009 don't have.

I sampled the 3 (2007, 2008, 2011). All have similar taste just age diff. All 3 also feels dry/thirsty after drinking. Not sure why.

As for the strawberry taste tea, we resampled again. The first few brew, it really taste like danchong. The seller said taste more like Nangka/Lychee instead of Strawberry. We agreed. Price. List price is RM180/pc for year 2011.
TSauhckw
post Jun 20 2012, 09:42 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(ahfish7 @ Jun 20 2012, 09:16 AM)
icic... thanks for ur info, maybe can buy 2011 to keep for few years..haha
by the way, do u know where can get nice "long jin"?
Ya, 2011 organizer price is very worth it. No complain. Except limited... hehe

LongJin i'm not familiar. This year haven't drink any yet. You can try Q-Xiang
TSauhckw
post Jun 28 2012, 09:28 AM

1,008 posts

Yesterday night, Had some 70s Sea Dkye - Shui Xian and Tie Luo Han yesterday. Someone bought it from the SS2 lady, and belanja us.

Teo Chew style. 3 brews only. So small cup per person. But so freaking strong and smooth. Like espresso. Gets the kick up the head instantly.

The 70s Sea Dkye - Tie Luo Han is much better. The canister is known to 'cut hands'. Price now 1kg @ RM3k. Expensive tea to drink cause Teo Chew style with so little output from it...
TSauhckw
post Jul 8 2012, 04:17 PM

1,008 posts

Wasn't expecting to find Cook Puerh + Cook Puerh with Chrysanthemum @ Coffee Bean

TSauhckw
post Jul 8 2012, 06:15 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(cuebiz @ Jul 8 2012, 05:44 PM)
20 tea bag for RM42..kinda rip off..haha but that is coffee bean standard..
Yalo... curious how it taste like though... haha... guess will never know blush.gif
TSauhckw
post Jul 12 2012, 10:01 PM

1,008 posts

Saw this in today's TheStar

http://www.twgtea.com/
has opened in Pavilion KL

60 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0582sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:39 PM