Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)

frozzbyte
post May 2 2010, 11:12 AM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

@dvlzplayground
In what way a windows virus can affect OSX files? This you need to understand a virus characteristic. It delivers a payload once executed or the condition in right and target the system vulnerability. Windows and OSX have different vulnerability i.e. different kernel, file system etc. What is an executable in windows is not in OSX. So the virus can't execute it's command in OSX where it's not familiar with. A virus exploit the system vulnerabilities.

On the other hand, we can see that OSX is getting a foothold on the computer industries compared to like 10 years ago. OSX user base have grown a substantial numbers, so I would not be surprised if there would be "viruses" written specifically for OSX in the near future. The anti-virus industry is a big money thing. Last time, the OSX user is so small that it's not beneficial or profitable to virus writers or anti-virus companies (which sometimes I think writes these viruses - hahaha conspiracy theory).

p/s - I stand corrected. A quick google on Mac OS X viruses shows a few viruses for OSX already circulating i.e. HellRaiser Trojanhorse aka OSX/HellRTS.D (http://www.securemac.com/hellrtsd.php). Like any trojanhorse, user need to execute the virus first to release the payload.

Another virus Leap-A (probably written as a proof of concept) spread thru iChat IM (http://news.techworld.com/security/5392/worlds-first-os-x-virus-hits-apple/).

And the best thing

frozzbyte
post May 3 2010, 02:41 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 3 2010, 02:42 AM)
thx for the long long reply haha. but ya i know the virus is unexecutable on OSX. that's why i'm asking about bootcamp or VM

bootcamp 3.0 can access n write on the mac partition right? so does that mean the files in Mac HD can get infected by virus? let's say i'm in bootcamp in windows 7, somehow caught a virus, and the virus infected a file named random.pdf, which is located in Mac HD. then i boot back in OSX, i email the random.pdf to a windows friend, and he'll get the virus too. am i correct?

same thing with VM. lets say i shared my Pictures folder in VM. and somehow i caught a virus in windows. can the virus infect the files in the shared folder? and same thing lah...if i email the files (regardless in OSX or windows) to a windows friend, they can get infected?
If bootcamp have direct/full access to mac partition, then the example random.pdf (but mostly would be *.exe files) thats been infected/modified by the virus would be transmitted to your friend if you email/passed on to him. This is more like a trojan horse then virus, since it needs human intervention. Viruses will only propagate and spread itself if you're on your windows thru bootcamp/vmware/parallels. That's why you need to use antivirus on bootcamp/vmware/parallels even on Apple Mac system (not the OS X itself). If you sent an infected file, regardless from OS X or Windows, the other party using windows will get caught.

If you read the article from macforensicslab.com, there's a definition on what is virus, trojan horse and worms.

So ... careful when sending stuff to your windows friend. Kesian sama dia. biggrin.gif . That's why I disabled windows having full access to OS X partition in parallels.

p/s - The links and article I posted is to share that Mac/OS X are not virus free. In fact the first virus created was for Mac back in those days. So if Apple evangelist still say that Mac do not have viruses, they are wrong. Only that viruses for OS X is not as rampant as those in windows.
frozzbyte
post May 3 2010, 06:04 PM

3,657 posts

@cscheat
That's normal when using flash on OS X. OS X and Adobe Flash does not mix very well. That's why Apple really pushing HTML5 to replace Flash. Now even youtube is slowly migrating to HTML5.

So to answer your Q, no solutions ... for now (maybe after Adobe release the new flash that uses hardware decoding).
frozzbyte
post May 16 2010, 09:59 AM

3,657 posts

@mememe12
Install Windows in Bootcamp, then you can utilise the GT330M.
frozzbyte
post May 16 2010, 10:12 AM

3,657 posts

The drivers are all provided in the Mac OSX DVD. You don't need to download any drivers.
frozzbyte
post May 31 2010, 04:12 PM

3,657 posts

Why go 320Gb when just add few more $$ and get 500Gb?
frozzbyte
post May 31 2010, 04:33 PM

3,657 posts

The Hitachi 7k500 premium one of course la cost an arm and a leg, but for me, I don't mind paying if the HD is good and reliable. Just go for the 500Gb 5400 rpm already enough.

I need to change my 500Gb WD to this hitachi la, WD making clicking sound. Had to use HDAPM to solve it.

@johny2k
U know where to get the Hitachi 7k500?
frozzbyte
post Jun 2 2010, 11:39 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(keepme88 @ Jun 2 2010, 11:36 PM)
can anyone share what is the most accurate software for mac to measure the temperature of GPU n CPU on macbookPro?? mine temp increase when i plugged in the adapter..the increases of temp is quite high i think..is it normal? thanks.
Try smcFanControl
frozzbyte
post Jun 3 2010, 01:37 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jun 3 2010, 11:49 AM)
Have you guys encountered this?

When you install an app, let's say MSN, at the Applications Folder, i dont see a proper icon for MSN. (Not in finder view, it's from the Apps folder in the Dock)

i have to go to finder, drag the msn out to the desktop and put it back into the Apps folder (thru Finder), only then i will see a proper icon from Apps launch from the dock

edit: last time i dont need to restart for it to show the icon. After i reformatted the Mac yesterday, this thing started to happened. VLC, MSN, Text Wrangler, etc
That also happen to me ... the app did not show the app icon when view in Application Folder thru dock. If that happens, i only kill the dock and solves the problem.
frozzbyte
post Jun 7 2010, 10:57 AM

3,657 posts

I use appzapper too. It got a nice UI and simple to use.
frozzbyte
post Jun 7 2010, 04:48 PM

3,657 posts

cache? From what I know, appzapper will delete all files associated with that app.

Dunno about cleanmymac though.
frozzbyte
post Jun 11 2010, 12:13 PM

3,657 posts

It just show the grounding is not right, that why got leakage. U charge the macbook using the long 3 pin cable or just connect the 3 pin head to the adapter?
frozzbyte
post Jun 13 2010, 06:45 PM

3,657 posts

@Xirality
Go for mobility. 15" i7 would be a best bet. 17" would be overkill on your shoulder later.
frozzbyte
post Jun 22 2010, 09:40 AM

3,657 posts

@llsphinxll

How to do battery calibration
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1490

frozzbyte
post Jul 4 2010, 08:42 AM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Jul 4 2010, 03:13 AM)
is the info about age of your mac provided by coconut battery correct or the otherwise?

i just got my mac today and it says my mac is 4 weeks old.
It show the date of manufactured, not the day you start using it.

0.0422sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:49 AM