Projectors Shootout in Penang, Benq vs Panasonic
dirtrun
Apr 20 2010, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(mys_terious @ Apr 20 2010, 12:19 PM) if u swap them instantly u will see the diff... but after swapping, watch it for 2minutes u will forget abt each weaknesses in movies... but if u use it for games or pc, ae4000's sharpness is not acceptable.. very obvious when u look at the text.. it will strain your eyes for sure Yup.. Our eyes are even more adaptable than our ears.. if u liv wif a 720p unit long enuf, even tatll luk gud.. But seriously.. for de price of a half decent 50 inch flat panel , de ae4k is a serious contender in my book [if u get it in Sg la] D
chewkl
Apr 20 2010, 02:11 PM
Peasant
U need to have a proper HT room for projector setup...that is the deciding factor to go projection or not.
dirtrun
Apr 20 2010, 03:33 PM
There are other factors to consider too..
Bulb life is short compared to flat panels.. would be my utmost reason..
I hv my setup in de living room.. Wif thick curtains/tinted windows.. u can enjoy a mv in de daytime too but of cos nitetime viewin is better..
Compromises.. D
htkaki
Apr 20 2010, 05:39 PM
Once you go pj, there is no return Since you are able to control ambient lighting, then a pj is the way to go. Nothing beats a pj for a cinematic feeling. Elite Chew, your huge mansion can afford a nice big HT room. Only thing is to get approval from your HM.
chewkl
Apr 20 2010, 08:48 PM
Peasant
Taikor HTKAKI, U look me too up liao lah...I already told U I am moving into rumah atap in swamp area niah...
htkaki
Apr 20 2010, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(chewkl @ Apr 20 2010, 08:48 PM) Taikor HTKAKI, U look me too up liao lah...I already told U I am moving into rumah atap in swamp area niah...  uso...... There are only a handful of people that I hold high regard and respect. Unfortunately or not to you, your name is in the list Since you had your new 50" and 42" Sammy recently  , I bet your Sony 50" must have been given to the maid to watch. Time to go pj liao with a better HT system.
chewkl
Apr 21 2010, 10:52 AM
Peasant
My 50" fishtank give to my new apt owner. Hope the bulb can last until I move out next month.
TSmys_terious
Apr 22 2010, 12:12 PM
pierreye we should have had a blind test for hdmi cables too in your house.. your ht is a perfect venue for the test:).. really wanna personally see the results instead of reading the arguments from the forum ... didnt think of it that day... if the subwoofer shootout jadi in the future then can i have a hdmi blind test?
This post has been edited by mys_terious: Apr 22 2010, 12:14 PM
chewkl
Apr 22 2010, 12:56 PM
Peasant
QUOTE(mys_terious @ Apr 22 2010, 12:12 PM) pierreye we should have had a blind test for hdmi cables too in your house.. your ht is a perfect venue for the test:).. really wanna personally see the results instead of reading the arguments from the forum ... didnt think of it that day... if the subwoofer shootout jadi in the future then can i have a hdmi blind test? Yeah, anyone can loan an elite MONSTER HDMI vs my cheapo 99 cent HDMI cable?
TSmys_terious
Apr 22 2010, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(chewkl @ Apr 22 2010, 12:56 PM) Yeah, anyone can loan an elite MONSTER HDMI vs my cheapo 99 cent HDMI cable?  pierreye is using a branded but not too crazy price model hdmi.. 4got what brand.. maybe monster..
dirtrun
Apr 22 2010, 01:32 PM
Haha..
I hv monoprice ones tat I hvnt used yet.. list tat under 'cheapo' O ya I oso hv de ones tat came wif my oppo player .. cheapo too, I guess
I hv a Better Cables hdmi but tat cannot take out liao.. using it..
D
pierreye
Apr 22 2010, 06:59 PM
My HDMI is from bluejeanscable.com which is Belden Series 1 bonded HDMI. The cable is thicker then most boutique brand. Tested running at up to 100ft for 1080p. I think testing HDMI cable to find the difference is difficult. As long as no white flashes or HDMI video drop issue should be good enough. Just not sure if it will work for future 1080p 120hz 3D. My cable length is 40ft. Anyway, projectorreviews.com 4th annual comparison of 1080p projector in diff. price category is out. http://www.projectorreviews.com/home-projector/index.phpThis post has been edited by pierreye: Apr 22 2010, 10:54 PM
TSmys_terious
Apr 23 2010, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Apr 22 2010, 06:59 PM) My HDMI is from bluejeanscable.com which is Belden Series 1 bonded HDMI. The cable is thicker then most boutique brand. Tested running at up to 100ft for 1080p. I think testing HDMI cable to find the difference is difficult. As long as no white flashes or HDMI video drop issue should be good enough. Just not sure if it will work for future 1080p 120hz 3D. My cable length is 40ft. Anyway, projectorreviews.com 4th annual comparison of 1080p projector in diff. price category is out. http://www.projectorreviews.com/home-projector/index.phpi thought u have branded hdmi last time... i am using blujins too hhaha
pierreye
Apr 23 2010, 09:32 AM
Last time I use Audioquest HDMI-X cable. But after compare the cable built and gauge, looks like BJC Belden Series 1 is a better buy and well built too. Long run cable I believe in thicker wires. Previously the Audioquest is 9m but too short when I change to BENQ W6000 as I need the pull the projector further back.
This post has been edited by pierreye: Apr 23 2010, 09:33 AM