Sattelite/Small Size Speakers..for HT..?, Lifestyle factor but want nice one..

terranova
post Apr 14 2010, 02:57 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Apr 14 2010, 08:26 AM)
Bro, the Orbs only have 1 model lar...that's the Mod1 (single unit), 1 unit become Mod2 and so on  tongue.gif
You would be surprise how loud it can play for it's small size and using as a surround is very good, only complaint is that it cant go too low so my LFE xover have to cut off at 100-120Hz (recommended is 120Hz but I set mine at 100Hz) tongue.gif
yea ... now I know after going thru their website yesterday. thanks for the feedback. have to think about this one.

QUOTE(scsoo @ Apr 14 2010, 11:45 AM)
I got similar issue... Now I do not have a wall at the back to bounce back rear. Me clever+clever go and re-arrange the living room and now sound quality got compromised. The HM says the living-room arrangement stay-put and I need to think of a solution that have WAF.
I am thinking of something that can be moved around therefore in-wall is out. This is in-case, me got the clever+clever thingy and re-arrange again.. Therefore looking at wall-mounted, placeable satellite that can be moved easily to another location without much ado.. Also prefer satellite that can play below 100Hz. Now wiring is acceptable a bit as some wire no issue.. only speaker must look nice and sleek.. as HM demand it. No boxey shape as so "old-fashion" she say...  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
i think the KEFs will get HM's approval. they sound great too.

http://kef.com/en/surroundsound/kht
poyo
post Apr 15 2010, 03:06 AM

278 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 13 2010, 10:25 PM)
KEF is now being distributed by Perfect Hi-Fi.

Quintet in piano finish :

http://www.klipsch.com/na-en/products/klip...intet-overview/

Add RPW-10 for LFE task :

http://www.klipsch.com/na-en/products/rpw-10-overview/

Plonk in Denon AVR-1910.

It would be slightly above your budget.
can you tell me how much this will be, a breakdown of prices according to items would be nice. thanks sifu!

TSscsoo
post Apr 15 2010, 10:54 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 13 2010, 11:25 PM)
Plonk in Denon AVR-1910.
Heard Marantz SR5004 is available.. price wise think its almost the same with Denon 1910 right?
Marantz got pre-out and curious how this matches the klipsch? Or Denon 1910 the better choice?
butter finger
post Apr 15 2010, 11:40 AM

317 posts

I vote hands and legs for denon. Been a Denon fan for quite some time.
takr
post Apr 15 2010, 02:22 PM

39 posts

Jamo A102HCS5 5.1? Its slightly boxy but git high WAF from my significant other. It won some What HiFi award in 07 or 08 (sorry, not serious audiophile). I paired it with an Onkyo.. I believe I spent around 4k for it
htkaki
post Apr 15 2010, 05:13 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(poyo @ Apr 15 2010, 03:06 AM)
can you tell me how much this will be, a breakdown of prices according to items would be nice. thanks sifu!
Quintet : RM1,470
RPW-10 : RM1,450

AVR-1910 : RM2,500
poyo
post Apr 16 2010, 12:33 AM

278 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 15 2010, 05:13 PM)
Quintet : RM1,470
RPW-10 : RM1,450

AVR-1910 : RM2,500
how's the sound effect it'll be? nice enough to immerse audience? good enough for home use, for those who really enjoy watching movies although the movie is years old? smile.gif but if change the sub to a SVS, how, still can match ah sifu?
htkaki
post Apr 16 2010, 05:43 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(poyo @ Apr 16 2010, 12:33 AM)
how's the sound effect it'll be? nice enough to immerse audience? good enough for home use, for those who really enjoy watching movies although the movie is years old? smile.gif but if change the sub to a SVS, how, still can match ah sifu?
It is entry level system which is good enough for normal movie watching.

If to get SVS sub, even the entry level, I am afraid that it will overpowers the speakers with ease sweat.gif . To have SVS in there, you have to get a better entry level speaker system.
poyo
post Apr 16 2010, 06:34 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 16 2010, 05:43 PM)
It is entry level system which is good enough for normal movie watching.

If to get SVS sub, even the entry level, I am afraid that it will overpowers the speakers with ease sweat.gif . To have SVS in there, you have to get a better entry level speaker system.
hehehehe, overpowered so kenot get boom boom pow pow effect lar eh? what would u recommend? a full SVS setup ah sifu?

anyway, another question sifu, should one do soundproofing work to the walls [ if the house is a terrace unit ] if one wants to go boom boom pow pow whilst watching Black Hawk Down etc? drool.gif

This post has been edited by poyo: Apr 16 2010, 06:43 PM
htkaki
post Apr 16 2010, 08:14 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Depending on how loud that you crank the volume and how hot that you run the sub.

Not necessary to go for a full SVS setup. You still can go for other brands to partner with it. In US, Klipsch, PSB, B&W, Axiom, etc are being partnered with SVS.

You only need to match its series. If 12-Plus, then you need to have midrange loudspeakers system such as PSB Imagine, Klipsch Ref IV series and so forth.

poyo
post Apr 16 2010, 08:22 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 16 2010, 08:14 PM)
Depending on how loud that you crank the volume and how hot that you run the sub.

Not necessary to go for a full SVS setup. You still can go for other brands to partner with it. In US, Klipsch, PSB, B&W, Axiom, etc are being partnered with SVS.

You only need to match its series. If 12-Plus, then you need to have midrange loudspeakers system such as PSB Imagine, Klipsch Ref IV series and so forth.
hhhmmm, dun think the missus will approve something like 12 Plus's price lol.

if one wants a 5.1 system only, do one need those surround speakers like PSB Imagine Surround Speakers?

is there any links where I can learn more about home theater sound systems?
htkaki
post Apr 16 2010, 10:31 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yes, bipole or dipole would be ideal for 5.1 system as it is able to disperse sound wider than conventional direct radiating speaker.
poyo
post Apr 19 2010, 04:06 AM

278 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 16 2010, 10:31 PM)
Yes, bipole or dipole would be ideal for 5.1 system as it is able to disperse sound wider than conventional direct radiating speaker.
how does the the Quintet system in your recommendation compares to the floorstander in this article sifu Mordaunt - Short?
htkaki
post Apr 19 2010, 08:49 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, a satelite will never ever outperform a floorstander due to physics smile.gif . The MS will outshine it by a considerable margin with ease due to its dual 6.5" woofer as well as its volume.

soulquarianz
post Apr 19 2010, 09:33 AM

556 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 19 2010, 08:49 AM)
Bro,  a satelite will never ever outperform a floorstander due to physics smile.gif  . The MS will outshine it by a considerable margin with ease due to its dual 6.5" woofer as well as its volume.
agreed ! if u have extra space go for floorstander. or else go for satellite but make sure u dont have a noisy neighbour coz no point getting floorstander if u cant shake the whole house !

like me i prefer satellite coz due to limited space.

This post has been edited by soulquarianz: Apr 19 2010, 09:35 AM
pierreye
post Apr 19 2010, 09:34 AM

1,308 posts

This is a universal rule: SIZE does MATTER. Ask your wife, she prefer big or small.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Apr 19 2010, 10:03 AM
ronnt88
post Apr 19 2010, 09:48 AM

2,353 posts

LOL laugh.gif
poyo
post Apr 19 2010, 09:55 AM

278 posts

ooohhhhh! sorry! i am a real noob when it comes to sound system, be it cars or AV lol!

i've compared the specs for both the RPW-10 and M-S Carnival 9. Carnival 9 frequency response is between 25Hz - 150Hz, and the RPW-10's 35-120Hz +/-3dB. this means the Carnival one can give better boom boom pow effects right? but the RPW-10 power is rated at 200 watts whilst the Carnival's only 100 watts? i'm confused about these two. icon_question.gif

i'm budgeting for my house stuffs [ on which i'll only start spending middle of next year onwards ] from now on. i'll open up a new thread here about it so that it won't clutter this thread. be warned, too many silly questions from a real noobie lol!

This post has been edited by poyo: Apr 19 2010, 10:31 AM

0.0207sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:09 PM