Steam Steam Promotion Topic V2, Summer Sales! till July 4th

SUSgogo2
post May 20 2010, 05:21 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

anyone buying sega complete pack at USD89.90? I got none of those game....
SUSgogo2
post May 21 2010, 08:49 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

guyz, I'm downloading dirt2 now... but problem is, my broadband is DiGi broadband limit me to download 10GB only... so... may I know, if I can use other computer to download? means, now I download 5GB with my current PC, and use other PC to download the rest of the files?
SUSgogo2
post May 21 2010, 10:00 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ May 21 2010, 09:01 AM)
why can't you change the line instead of change computer?
i plan to go to my gf house to download.... gf house got line...

QUOTE(noobfc @ May 21 2010, 09:07 AM)
can, just move your steam files to another storage like external hd then, u open it on a pc with streamyx, and dl it there

i did it once, my neighbour maxis giving him 10kbps to dl mw2 so he came over, i tried to fix my screamyx on his lappie but cant, so gave up just stuff his steam file to my lappie and dl  biggrin.gif
really can? thanks... so I just move my steam file? no need in the same pc? because mine is PC... can't move to my gf house..
keke..

so.... I just copy all the steam file ya..thanks...

Added on May 21, 2010, 10:00 amBy the way, anyone can tell me if Sega Mega Pack is worth the money?

Added on May 21, 2010, 10:01 amUSD89.90 is it too expensive for Sega mega pack?

This post has been edited by gogo2: May 21 2010, 10:01 AM
SUSgogo2
post May 21 2010, 11:39 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ May 21 2010, 10:21 AM)
you can just copy the folder of the game you wish to download.
no need to copy all other games.

i dun think sega pack is worth it.
too many crappy games.

i would only play AvP in the SEGA pack.
oo0oo... erm... its tantalizing because so much discount...haha

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ May 21 2010, 10:32 AM)
The other worth it game on the pack would be Empire Total War. Depending on how much you like RTSes you might like or hate it.
I like a lot of RTS...

QUOTE(kianweic @ May 21 2010, 10:38 AM)
Total War series is a lot of fun if you like RTS and TBS.
i see...
SUSgogo2
post May 21 2010, 03:06 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(frags @ May 21 2010, 01:54 PM)
Empire and Napoleon are not available on Steam for East Asia. Yeah all SEGA games. This was an issue a few people complained about when Empire was going to be released. It has to do with SEGA jp and distribution rights.
i saw both empire and napolean... why ar?

QUOTE(kianweic @ May 21 2010, 02:28 PM)
What a bummer man.

Also, the imperial version isn't on sale on Steam only the vanilla version.
imperial better?

Added on May 21, 2010, 3:08 pmhere is not east asia, here is consider SEA rite? sorry sorry

This post has been edited by gogo2: May 21 2010, 03:08 PM
SUSgogo2
post May 22 2010, 04:07 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

I know its crazy.. but I just grab the Sega Full Pack.. lolz..
SUSgogo2
post May 23 2010, 12:41 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

All game bought from Steam is not retail? Can play anywhere?
SUSgogo2
post May 23 2010, 12:49 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 23 2010, 12:48 AM)
All the games bought from Steam are region free,which means that you can play them at any country,regardless of where you bought them.

Tested with games bought from Malaysia, Australia and New Zealand. Also, tried playing most of my games in those countries.

So far, no problems.
Ok, check with my own account. Dirt2 from Ati card is retail. While the Sega Pack I bought is not retail. I guess I can't play Dirt2 overseas...
SUSgogo2
post May 23 2010, 10:56 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 23 2010, 02:19 AM)
A game being retail doesnt mean it cant be played overseas.

It only apply to a rather small amount of games.

I have tonnes of retail games with me and i have no problem playing it overseas.
oic....then I guess it depends...hehe

Added on May 23, 2010, 11:24 amBy the way, when I see my Library of Games, I cannot see DLC like Empire : Elite Units of America which come with the Sega Pack... any way I can see it? By the way, the Sega pack also have The Club game which is not indicated in the list of game...lolz...

This post has been edited by gogo2: May 23 2010, 11:24 AM
SUSgogo2
post May 23 2010, 01:52 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ May 23 2010, 12:36 PM)
Right click on the game in library -> View Downloadable content ?

In Steam that should work
wow, thanks... I didn't know right click works on Steam... lulz...

thanks...

Added on May 24, 2010, 8:51 amhelp!!!

I downloaded Empire : Total War from Steam. But one file is > 5GB... now I can't transfer it to my PC to play.... sad.gif

Windows seems like have problem transferring >5GB single file... to a external hardisk....

This post has been edited by gogo2: May 24 2010, 08:51 AM
SUSgogo2
post May 24 2010, 01:38 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ May 24 2010, 12:42 PM)
that external hard disk is not NTFS and is probably FAT32.
get partition magic to convert that external hard disk into NTFS.

either that, or you could format it into NTFS.
sigh... if I did that, I can't let my RMVB player to read that hardisk anymore sad.gif
SUSgogo2
post May 24 2010, 05:14 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ May 24 2010, 02:02 PM)
oh, rmvb player can only read FAT32 and not NTFS oh?
then you can spend RM100 to buy a new 16GB thumb drive then.
QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ May 24 2010, 02:06 PM)
thumb drive can be re-formatted into NTFS mah.
but yes, thumb drives are FAT32 by default.
QUOTE(Gormaz @ May 24 2010, 02:15 PM)
If it's that 5Gb limit thinggy:

Use a small free tool to break that 5Gb file into smaller pieces.

Copy to USB disk

Copy to destination PC

Use the "merge" function of above free tool

I have no idea on a name of such a tool right now but you can easily find one on google, there are heaps of free ones

Worst come to Worst use winrar and ask him to split it into archive of X size  smile.gif
QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ May 24 2010, 02:18 PM)
can try 7-zip for the above purpose.
QUOTE(kianweic @ May 24 2010, 02:19 PM)
Didn't know can format flashdrives to NTFS.

Here is a guide I managed to find on Google:

http://www.ntfs.com/quest22.htm
QUOTE(alex82 @ May 24 2010, 02:54 PM)
you can just use steam backup funtion and break the file into cd size 640mb

go to steam file menu > backup and restore games > choose total war > select destination of the file backup to > choose cd size 640mb

then after backing up the file  you can copy Disk_1, Disk_2 etc folder into your external hdd until 5gb

after that put all the Disk_1 Disk_2 folder into single folder name "Total War" and open Disk_1 folder and run the steambackup.exe from your pc
Thanks guys... will try out all the ways.... really helpful!

Added on May 24, 2010, 5:17 pmI have problem... when the game ask for login as user... I choose Windows Live and try to login with my MSN account...

then it said I cannot log in because of location issue... what is wrong ya? What should I do because I cannot save game...

This post has been edited by gogo2: May 24 2010, 05:17 PM
SUSgogo2
post May 24 2010, 07:15 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(alex82 @ May 24 2010, 06:33 PM)
try login into your msn account and change your country from malaysia to USA

then use your msn login and login into games for windows live. see if it work
oic... I will try today... so everyone here is using MSN account and change to USA country?
SUSgogo2
post May 24 2010, 11:12 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

I hate Steam now. I can't play online Dirt2 because I accidentally enter the code to my Malaysia MSN account. sad.gif
SUSgogo2
post May 24 2010, 11:23 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ May 24 2010, 11:19 PM)
It's not steam. It's Games for Windows Live. It's an additional service you'd have to sign up for.

Region shouldn't be a problem. What do you mean by "Code"?
If I don't sign up for it, I can't play online... this is bad sad.gif

Code means my Product code given by steam sad.gif sad.gif
SUSgogo2
post May 24 2010, 11:49 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ May 24 2010, 11:26 PM)
You can still play online, what does it say when you sign in to Games For Windows Live?
Region not supported because my WIndows live is Malaysia. sad.gif And I Already enter my Dirt2 Product ID to
link with mY malaysia MSN live account.. i feel so stupid now... sad.gif

Added on May 24, 2010, 11:50 pmthis will stop people from going original...

This post has been edited by gogo2: May 24 2010, 11:50 PM
SUSgogo2
post May 25 2010, 08:43 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ May 25 2010, 12:04 AM)
Calm down first. XD

Alrights, here's what you need to do. Go to http://home.live.com/

Sign in with your Windows Live account.
Top right where the mini avatar icon is. Click on the scroll down list.
Look for VIEW ACCOUNT.
Right under your information. Click REGISTERED INFORMATION
Voila, you have reached the page where you can change your Windows Live account region. biggrin.gif

I'm not entirely sure if this will unblock your account, but it's worth a try!
I tried this thing and change to US. But it still give me region wrong message. I go to Xbox Live
and see that my country is Singapore though.. and I can't change it...

Added on May 25, 2010, 8:44 amIn the future, if I want to play GFWL game, I'll go buy pirate. With this experience, I guess Micro$oft does encourage piracy. smile.gif

This post has been edited by gogo2: May 25 2010, 08:44 AM
SUSgogo2
post May 25 2010, 03:50 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Miracle happened just now. I think my Gamertag in Xbox Live is not setup completely. I'm not sure where is my Windows Live ID pointing to. But in GamerTag, it is always pointing to Singapore. What happened is, I continue setup my gamer's tag. Then I login to Steam again... then to play Dirt2. It ask me my Key again.. weird right, it actually ask me for my key again... so, i enter... and voila... I can online with Dirt2... this is crazy!!!

Let's see if I go home today I can still do the same....

SUSgogo2
post May 25 2010, 07:46 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ May 25 2010, 06:12 PM)
Glad you managed to key in your key again. Hope you can play Dirt 2 online soon. biggrin.gif

Cool. Knew that M$oft couldn't be possible involved in regionlocks. As it has always been the developers' responsibility to code those in.
yes, I manage to log into the Dirt2 and playing with online profile instead of lousy offline profile...

I guess I'm lucky that somehow, my Live Account is set to Singapore..lol..

SUSgogo2
post May 25 2010, 11:08 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ May 25 2010, 11:01 PM)
Good stuff, at least you didn't end up with a dud.
yeah, I was actually quite disappointed at first... and saying that what's the point of buying original if can't
online..

since its solve, i guess original game is the way to go..

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0420sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:25 PM